Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2017
Very nice. Beautiful bathrooms.
Aug 29, 2017
Too expensive for what you get! Narrow spaces, crowded for no reason, lots of empty spots! Asked if we really wanted a picnic table because they other people had taken both! Convinced him to move us to another space which once our slide was out was 3 inches from the trailer next to us. $45.00?? Really?? Have you been to any other KOA? Won't be back.
Aug 28, 2017
Everyone was very nice and helpful we will be back!
Aug 28, 2017
Please see attached letter sent to KOA hosts
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice campground for families. Last stayed there 5 years ago, many improvements.
Aug 28, 2017
The cabin was wonderful and the grounds were very clean. There were numerous activities for kids of all ages including "big kids"!
Aug 28, 2017
Very good campground, as always. But the staff ALWAYS seems overworked and overwhelmed. Sometimes to the point of rudeness. That said, we love going there and will come back.
Aug 28, 2017
Nice and friendly. Only complaint was the water leak at the water hook up. Appeared the packing gland was leaking.
Aug 28, 2017
Loved the cabins - they were so clean and comfy! The staff were all so kind and genuine.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I reserved a site for two days and had to cancel the second day reserved and did so in advance more than 24 hours but they still kept my money. If I don't get it back I will bad mouth that camp to all my friend and family
Aug 28, 2017
We had a great experience. Lots of activities for kids. Very nice and clean shower house. Staff was nice and accommodating. I would and already have recommended this place to friends.
Aug 28, 2017
I enjoyed my nice and clean camp site. All employs were very helpful.
Aug 28, 2017
Was good
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
2 nights, clean facilities and great staff. Thanks
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice, clean and well kept, fairly good WiFi (except check in everytime we wanted to read something) at least it worked, and excellent for children with so much to do. Off the road so not too much traffic noise. Tailored to people with children, not retired travelers tho but that was ok. Store has everything. Friendly staff. We've stayed at a lot of KOAs and give this one 5 stars.
Aug 27, 2017
Excellent clean restrooms and showers!
Aug 27, 2017
Bathrooms were very clean and the atmosphere was pleasant.
Aug 27, 2017
Tent sites were set below the RV sites. A very strong series of thunderstorms came through around 4 AM and created minor havoc in tent areas. We were slightly above the run off so we were relatively unscathed but the guy next to us took his kids and bailed. The staff was very helpful in getting people out the next morning. Nice showers and laundry.
Aug 27, 2017
Super clean and friendly staff! Very nice size spots! Granddaughter liked the warm pool!
Aug 27, 2017
Other campers not very friendly. Lot not level. Looks like improvements are being made along with expansion. Should be very nice.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We were in town for the Solheim Cup and could not have picked a better place to stay with our 42 foot fifth wheel. Great long level sites and great staff. Will definitely recommend to all we know.
Aug 26, 2017
Great dog park!!! Very large sites. Easy access to freeway. Only bad thing we're the 2 waste ponds which didn't smell that great. But would definitely go back.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Stayed for a long weekend. Campground was clean, quiet. People working there were friendly and very helpful. we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Nice park, clean.
Aug 26, 2017
Quiet, level sites. Food available. Very helpful, friendly staff. Just a very nice park!!
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
This campground is very neat, and the people are extremely helpful! The owner/manager helped us pick a different site that had some shade, and worked out a redemption from our KOA account. We would definitely return.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
It was so relaxing. Very friendly staff, clean park and cabin, wonderful play area for my 2 dogs. We will be back very soon. This place is a little piece of heaven right off the hustle and bustle of the busy city.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Way over priced. It was clean.
Aug 24, 2017
Only complaint is that trash pickup did not happen as stated and there wer no dumpsters. Otherwise, great place, well-run.
Aug 24, 2017
Sites are too close together, very little shade and sort of smack dab in the middle of a field. The staff and owners were very nice and helpful. The pizza and ice cream were a nice surprise.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We had a great stay there for the Solheim Cup golf tournament. Unfortunately, we spent most of our time at the golf course, and didn't get to explore the campground, but it all appeared very clean, and the staff was very friendly.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Our daughter and grandkids staying in cabin and we stayed in rv. Kids had a blast especially the bikes and dunk tank. Nice accommodations. Would like to see coffee available at 6 or 7. I think our rv site was a little crowded not so private was glad we had our daughters area to visit
Aug 24, 2017
Nice KOA . Would stay there anytime I'm in the area .
Aug 23, 2017
The staff were very friendly but there was such a foul odor that I think was coming from a waste water holding pond that I seriously thought was going to make me sick! It kept me up the first night but a change in the wind direction helped the second night.
Aug 23, 2017
other than the late night storms the stay was excellent, the staff were all friendly and the activities were appreciated
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award