Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2017
One of the best KOAs we've stayed at. No trains, no planes; tranquil quiet country location with ALL amenities. Clean and new with friendly, courteous staff.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Check in was very efficient, especially for a holiday weekend! Pool was very busy which led to you having to get there very early to get a chair. All you can eat pancakes for $3 was a hit!
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Very quiet and peaceful at night. Very eventful week. Bathrooms clean only wished there was another one. Will be returning next year.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We had a 30 amp site and had to share it with another camping couple. We would probably not do that again but if we could get a single site we would most definitely stay again. The campground was clean, the people were so nice and overall a great place.
Sep 05, 2017
A short stay as I was traveling with my cat, but the cabin was nice and was a great overnight. Appreciated the friendly hospitality
Sep 05, 2017
The kids loved it! I DID NOT love the extra $10 per child they charge for the kids to use the amenities- bikes, jumping pillow, trampoline. Every time we went to use these amenities there were a TON of kids that did not have wristbands (showing they paid). No one from the KOA was regulating it so I wasted $30. I would recommend to others but would tell them don't pay extra for amenities.
Sep 05, 2017
One of the VERY best KOA sites!!!!!!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
I'm going to be optimistic and hope that tent sites will improve after further expansions are completed. As it is now, tent sites have been converted to cabin and large camper spaces and all tent spaces have been moved to the hill by the pond. Hard to camp on a hill. Seemed like maybe tent sites aren't as desired as the bigger money that can be charged for campers and cabins.
Sep 05, 2017
Really enjoyable!
Sep 04, 2017
Always a great place to stay. Owners take pride in keeping facilities clean and are always making improvements. Highly recommend staying here. Probably one of of the best campground locations.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
There was soo much to do for myself and my 6 year old daughter! We loved the campground and everyone who worked there was very helpful! We will definitely be coming back!
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
This KOA left me with bad impressions. The highest price of any KOA I have stayed in, especially in a rural area with poor Internet service. My wife is visually impaired, but I was told that I could not stop by the curb to let my wife off at the showers ... it would hinder other campers from leaving that morning.
Sep 04, 2017
Uncertain as to where the boundaries were per site. Not enough fire pits and tables per tent camping. Staff were great and helpful. Tent sites were unorganized.
Sep 04, 2017
Great place! Clean and tidy, great staff, very family friendly!
Sep 03, 2017
very loud and all night long
Sep 03, 2017
Great campground. Sites are spacious and very level. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Far enough off of the freeway (1 mile)so road noise is not a problem. Stayed here 6 or 7 years ago and we pleased then, but what a change. We will be back.
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
One of the best KOA's I've stayed in for years. Very well maintained. Most sites were spacious. Very quiet. We'll stay again when in the area.
Sep 01, 2017
Clean quiet park. Well maintained. They even had kids stuff for them. Especially the train they drive around. I don't even have kids but I thought it was cool! Every site has a fire ring. Laundry room could be bigger with newer machines. Store was average for beer and ice cream. GOOD PIZZA WINGS STATION.
Sep 01, 2017
We always enjoy our stays at West Des Moines KOA!!!
Sep 01, 2017
I have never had another camper not be able to open his car door all the way open because he was so close to my unit. It was really incredible how packed in we were. Park employees were not very friendly. It was my worst experience ever at at KOA.
Sep 01, 2017
great
Sep 01, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Awesome everyone was so nice
Aug 31, 2017
Very nice campground one the nicest we been in. The front desk lady was very nice and helpful.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Only 1 restroom/shower & it was located at office. Sites very close together and thankful we weren't in a double site.
Aug 30, 2017
Second time here in one week...friendly staff, friendly campers, and pet friendly area. We were back in cabin number 1 again..enjoyed the beautiful weather, sitting by the pool, taking the dogs to Kamp K9...this park has it all! Have been telling my friends about this little piece of paradise, and we hope to return several more times before October 31!
Aug 30, 2017
Sites we're roomy, bathrooms clean!
Aug 30, 2017
All amenities and cable TV with very clean restrooms.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Shower/restrooms were always clean. We were there for 5 nights. Our site was closest to the road and we heard some traffic noise. The campground was full but never too loud. Store was fully stocked for whatever you need and they kept a tab for us! Helpful friendly staff!
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice campground. A clean we'll organized place with a very nice staff. We stayed there 2 times in 2 weeks. I would highly recommend this campground to travelers.
Aug 29, 2017
I think you all do a great job; the only problem I have is with AIR QUALITY. You are in the middle of the country in pristine air, and there must have been 20 smoky fires in the camp. I know that a campfire is part of the camping "experience" but I wasn't breathing only wood smoke, there must have been a little trash in some of the fires. Air quality is poor.
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice. Beautiful bathrooms.
Aug 29, 2017
Too expensive for what you get! Narrow spaces, crowded for no reason, lots of empty spots! Asked if we really wanted a picnic table because they other people had taken both! Convinced him to move us to another space which once our slide was out was 3 inches from the trailer next to us. $45.00?? Really?? Have you been to any other KOA? Won't be back.
Aug 28, 2017
Everyone was very nice and helpful we will be back!
Aug 28, 2017
Please see attached letter sent to KOA hosts
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice campground for families. Last stayed there 5 years ago, many improvements.
Aug 28, 2017
The cabin was wonderful and the grounds were very clean. There were numerous activities for kids of all ages including "big kids"!
Aug 28, 2017
Very good campground, as always. But the staff ALWAYS seems overworked and overwhelmed. Sometimes to the point of rudeness. That said, we love going there and will come back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award