Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2017
Very family friendly
Jun 12, 2017
Prepare to be busy, the whole family was exhausted after the week-end but the kids rated it their top two places to camp. It's like a mini vacation resort.
Jun 12, 2017
When I got there it was an absolute nightmare. They were under construction and didn't know where they were going to put the tents. I advised them I booked well in advance and no one said anything about construction. They finally figured it out said i would get a discount (never happened) and workers were rude when asking them questions. Almost as if being there was an inconvenience.
Jun 11, 2017
Nice place, we checked in around 8:30pm and the kids wanted to jump on the pillow for a few mins and they said we'd have to pay for a full day, would be nice if you offered a discount after a certain time of day.
Jun 10, 2017
We have neither kids nor pets, but was put next to dog park and playground, other campers walk their dog through our lot
Jun 10, 2017
The one thing would be cigarette containers right outside bathrooms. Very clean bathroom. Clean park
Jun 10, 2017
This camp ground is friendly and very well maintained. We will keep this facility on our travel stops list. Thank you.
Jun 09, 2017
very nice campground, nice staff and a great experience
Jun 09, 2017
Very friendly owners and staff made are stay very nice
Jun 09, 2017
Had a great time and everyone was very friendly!
Jun 09, 2017
Lots of activities for kids and very convenient pull through campsites
Jun 08, 2017
Nice staff. Clean restrooms. Lot's of things for the kids to do. Will stay there again
Jun 08, 2017
Staff is very friendly and make you feel at home. We love the pizza that we can order and have delivered after a long drive from Indiana. Restrooms and showers are clean and very nice. We have stayed here before and will in the future. Great KOA.
Jun 08, 2017
Great staff and lots of activities. Would stay here again while in the area.
Jun 07, 2017
Very obliging and friendly staff. Nice sites and clean amenities. This was the first of a few KOA's not to have grills on the fire pit. Seriously, ....
Jun 07, 2017
This is an awesome KOA Campground! It is so clean, organized, has wonderful features, and is conveniently located off the interstate. It's probably one of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed at.
Jun 07, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
Good camp store. Great, clean bathrooms. Would not hesitate staying here again.
Jun 07, 2017
Great as always. Improvement were also great. Looking forward to next stay.
Jun 07, 2017
the staff were very helpful and courteous, well kept, except that trash was left out all day at sites,extremely dusty could not sit outside even when a golf cart drove by, would not stay again
Jun 07, 2017
Nice campground. The wonderful service from Jared really made the stay great. Good job!
Jun 06, 2017
my kids were sad about not getting to ride the train, but we had fun on the hay ride. thank you for all the fun things you had this weekend we will be back to camp again
Jun 06, 2017
Jun 06, 2017
We stayed for 3 weeks to visit family. Before holiday weekend (rate hiked for a week!) it was quiet, busy with mostly one nighters, and well maintained. Maintenance on the camp roads all day long was a noisy and dusty disturbance. Memorial Day weekend was noisy, packed and smoky. Afterwards, the staff did little to clean up the litter left behind. K9 pens were good sized.
Jun 06, 2017
Nice for a stop over Had to share picnic area with neighbors
Jun 06, 2017
Jun 06, 2017
Plenty of space, level sites, good room, helpful staff. Fresh gravel was a bit dusty, but a good rain will take care of that. If we're back through here, likely to stay here.
Jun 06, 2017
Friendly folks. Nice facilities.
Jun 06, 2017
we had amazing people helping us when we checked in and throught out our stay we loved all the activities for choc. lovers weekend
Jun 06, 2017
Our stay was nice enough. Very kid oriented. With young adults a lot of drinking and smoke from camp fires. Ourfirst time at KOA. Maybe to old for that kind of campground.
Jun 05, 2017
Great family weekend. Lots of fun for all ages. Clean cabins and grounds were wonderfully maintained. We will most definitely stay next year.
Jun 05, 2017
Great stay. Lots of activities for kids. All the staff was fantastic!
Jun 05, 2017
This is one of the very best campgrounds we have stayed at, private or KOA. Thank you for your hospitality. The sites were big and we did not feel cramped at all. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 04, 2017
I and my friends are not local so I would have no chance to tell them where to go. The stay was fine. I was only there a short time so I cannot give 5 stars not having experienced the the whole site.
Jun 04, 2017
Always friendly and helpful.
Jun 03, 2017
Stay was good. Staff is super nice. Bathrooms are VERY clean. Only disappointment was the limited bandwidth of the WIFI.
Jun 03, 2017
Staff very accommodating and courteous. Facilities clean and well maintained. I would most definitely stay here again! Thank you so very much! KOA'S ROCK!
Jun 02, 2017
Jun 02, 2017
The place is fantastic. Will definitely stay there again.
Jun 02, 2017
Quiet campground. Very clean restrooms and showers. Second year we stopped here on way to Montana. Will be back.
Jun 02, 2017
This was a very nice place. The sites were really spacious! The staff were helpful and courteous and the bathrooms were very well maintained. Even the dog park was great for our furry friends.
Jun 01, 2017
Jun 01, 2017
A great KOA! Lots of activities for everyone! Improvements are wonderful! We will be back next year for our Annual Family Campout!
Jun 01, 2017
We stayed 6 nights in a Motorhome. This KOA has made numerous improvements over the past year. It is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. We plan to return, and would recommend this KOA to anyone looking for a nice campground with many close day trip locations to visit. This KOA is a very family oriented location, with alot of activities for kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 01, 2017
well kept grounds. friendly, helpful people
Jun 01, 2017
We stayed for one night. Loved the modernizations of your facility. Bathrooms very clean. Nice gift shop. Appreciated the leveled sites.
Jun 01, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff. I
May 31, 2017
The entire place was clean and had fairly level sites. All pull through so it makes it easy.
May 31, 2017
Stayed 5 nights and spent most of that time in Des Moines. Was impressed with the facilities. Only complaint is the fire pits were a little too close together.
May 31, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award