Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and friendly helpful staff. Clean restrooms
Aug 08, 2017
Liked the campground, was not treated well at check in. One man started the check in then dropped it to go do something else. He told a girl working there to finish my check in without telling her where we were in the process. Made a mess of the whole process. The girl did good despite his dumping it on her.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Great place for the kids!
Aug 07, 2017
We absolutely loved it, the staff, environment, cleanliness, and most of all the activities for the kiddos. Thank you so much we will be back!!
Aug 07, 2017
Great family time. Pool is amazing as is the bouncing pillow. Kids' activities are really nice. Love the new swing set/climbing playset.
Aug 07, 2017
The best KOA we have stayed at. So many activities for the kids. So many things to do in a very clean kept up campground. Many improvements since last year when we were there. Highly recommend especially to campers with kids
Aug 07, 2017
There was construction underway over by the tent sites, but it didn't seem to be any inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and attentive in the disruption and all the campers seemed to have great attitudes as a result.
Aug 07, 2017
Nice place that is expanding to accommodate more guests. Tons of activities for the kids. Chris and Jamie and the staff are awesome!!
Aug 07, 2017
Clean, the sites are decent size. Adequately staffed. Lots os activities for kids Internet unsatisfactory, seemed overloaded Most peddle bicycles were broken Overall we will do it again next year
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
We love staying here!!
Aug 07, 2017
love the size of the campsites!! Everything is kept so clean~there is so much for kids to do~only complaint is it gets a little dusty from the gravel
Aug 07, 2017
very nice place for stay
Aug 07, 2017
Lovely campground, spotless and comfortable Kamping Kabin, and SO many wonderful weekend activities for the kids!! This was our first stay... and it won't be our last. Thanks to all at the KOA who made it such a nice family destination. :)
Aug 07, 2017
Fricking Awesome
Aug 07, 2017
My only complaint is that there aren't many showers compared to the number of sites.
Aug 06, 2017
Had an Awesome time. Loved dunking my grandkids in the dunk tank. Great place for FUN Family bonding.
Aug 06, 2017
Outstanding service!!! Fabulous amenities!!! Absolutely great place for the Grandchildren!!! Will definitely stay again!!!
Aug 06, 2017
We really enjoyed the activities that were planned and the friendliness of the campground. However, we would have liked to have been told that our campsite was adjacent to a construction area. During the day (until 7 pm) there was a lot of construction noise that made it pretty unbearable to sit at the site. In general it seems that the place is much more set up for RVs then for tent camping.
Aug 05, 2017
Nice KOA, showers are awesome and the people are great! Only cons is small pool for the size of the campground and the gravel is very dusty as you drive on the roads. Would have been nice if they used a washed gravel for their roads.
Aug 05, 2017
WONDERFUL as always!
Aug 05, 2017
Awesome KOA, picturesque, clean, one of the BEST we have stayed in.
Aug 05, 2017
Very friendly. Well kept with amenities and activities for the kids.
Aug 05, 2017
not ideal for tent camping, but the staff did work to make it as good for us as possible when an enormous group came taking all available spots
Aug 05, 2017
ok
Aug 05, 2017
A great place to stay, first class setting and great staff.I'll be back
Aug 05, 2017
This camp ground is always good. They are expanding so that will help the downside which is trying to get in. The staff is great.
Aug 04, 2017
I have camped at KOA across many states. This is the first one I didn't feel welcome. The site I was given was pretty tight for my 32ft TT. The electrical was a mess. Pretty sure there is a lot code issues here. Sewer Hookup was not position so the connection would stay secure. Nice they are expanding to a year round sites should probably correct the existing sites first.Ran out of room more 2 say
Aug 04, 2017
Well the staff was very nice an helpful. But we didn't care for the gravel roads at all. Tracking in dust an it being in the air all day long. Had to just watch regular TV because cable didn't work. Then there was a riding toy to close to the site we first was assigned an it put a dent in our R V. Didn't notice it until we got home.
Aug 04, 2017
Kids loved it and did not want to leave. Very friendly and accommodating staff! We will be back.
Aug 04, 2017
I thought the swimming pool, dunk tank, jumping pillow and playground were great for my 6 and 4 year. I was really disappointed with the construction equipment at 8:30 am right by our camp site. It was so loud you couldn't talk. This was not really mentioned prior to reserving the site. The younger staff (young girl and African American boy were very helpful). Other staff not enjoyable.
Aug 04, 2017
Real nice camp ground.
Aug 04, 2017
A dust bowl !!!!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Nice property with helpful, attentive staff
Aug 03, 2017
very nice park and your staff was helpful in directing us to sites to see during our stay.
Aug 03, 2017
we had a 1 night stay with good water pressure and good sized sites BUT we were very disappointed in the chalky white dust from the gravel on the park roads and sites that got on everything as we had to drive thru the whole park just to get to our Site. Our coach and tow vehicle were a dusty mess and we're still trying to get the dust off 2 days later!!
Aug 02, 2017
Provided a superb venue for our family vacation, and we will be back!
Aug 02, 2017
Very fun place, great for kids, so much to do. Grounds are clean. Showers and BR very clean. Great sites. Lots to do in the area from Des Moines to the Bridges of Madison County.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Great Camp facility.
Aug 02, 2017
We had a good over night stay.
Aug 02, 2017
Great, Quiet park set in rural area. Can't hear freeway. Nice big, level, tree shaded pull thru. Lots of things for kids to play on and ride. 20 minutes to John Wayne birthplace museum.
Aug 02, 2017
Small site, but it was good that they were back to back
Aug 02, 2017
Clean, quiet campground. Only one night passing through but very pleasant stay.
Aug 02, 2017
I gave this park 4 stars instead of 5 only because I felt they were a bit pricey.
Aug 02, 2017
Warm swimming pool, modern showers and grassy tent site. Great.
Aug 01, 2017
We had a very nice reunion. It was during the Christmas in July weekend and we participated in many of the activities. The staff was kind and helpful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award