Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2017
Nice KOA. Good location to shoot out for a run too. staff is super nice. Great place to layover for the night.
Jul 24, 2017
I don't have a reference to compare it to but we were pleased. Mostly pleased that my children didn't break anything. Thank you for the clean cabin.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice campground with all pull through sites which is very convenient when just over-nighting. Staff had error with reservation and did not have a site ready. We had to wait for nearly an hour to resolve. After long day of travel, was a unwelcome end to the day. They did treat us very fairly in resolving.If I stayed here again, I would call to confirm time of arrival to make sure site is ready.
Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful staff and campground. We stayed there again on our way back home!
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Super - SUPER Friendly staff. Fun activities for the kids. Delicious pizza and buffalo wings. Nice pool with numerous chairs and loungers.
Jul 24, 2017
I told the staff that we would be arriving late. When we arrived, there were no clear instructions on where we were supposed to put up our tent. It didn't look like there were any designated spots, there were already a lot of tents in the area, and the tent area wasn't flat.
Jul 24, 2017
Had a great time! Grand babies enjoyed all the kid friendly amenities. Very clean and friendly folks. Will recommend to family and friends.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Staff is very unprofessional- had to listen to an argument over who was going to check us in (3 staff at desk and none of them wanted to). Gravel badly needed filled at our "luxury patio site" so much that it is a tripping hazard. Tried to call main office multiple times and no one will answer the phone. The pool is filthy. Lots of extra cars blocking roadways. Worst KOA we have ever stayed at
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Great place! Easy in and out, pleasant staff. Like most KOA's way too many dogs.
Jul 24, 2017
I booked a specific campsite that was heavily shaded on Thurs and was told they would make sure nobody was there. I arrived a little after check in time and my spot was given to someone else and there was only 1 spot left. I was able to camp and they gave me a free pizza but I wasn't too happy about not getting the spot I requested at time of my reservation.
Jul 24, 2017
This was our second time staying here and just like the last, we really enjoyed the stay. We highly recommend you stay here!
Jul 24, 2017
Well taken care of property wth a lot of amenities to keep kids busy! My only dislike is that privacy is compromised by have patio areas face each other.
Jul 24, 2017
Our second stay here, and we would stay again. Very clean, comfortable, with a great staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Friendly staff, well kept park.
Jul 23, 2017
grate for overnight stay
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Nice grounds, outstanding bathrooms, fantastic hosts. Highly recommended.
Jul 23, 2017
Everything was very clean and well kept. All people were very nice and friendly in a happy manner.
Jul 23, 2017
Nice place! Sites are a little small but not bad. Friendly staff and the grounds are neat and clean!
Jul 23, 2017
It was great
Jul 23, 2017
we stayed one night in a very cramped side by side site. The sewer hook up was broken so someone had to hold in the required sewer cap when opening the valve.
Jul 23, 2017
What a beautiful KOA, nicest ever and very friendly staff
Jul 22, 2017
Super clean. Very friendly and inviting. Great location to tour the covered bridges. Lovely shaded K9 park for the pups....with scented bags =)! Quiet and inviting. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Loved the place although its showing its age. Also it let someone bring in a school bus full of little kids to the pool and that was disruptive--we wanted more peace and quiet. Customer service was awesome though! People were amazing. Laundry machines were from the 70's and the pool was old as well and very small.
Jul 22, 2017
My kids love this campground. It's beautiful, lots to do, and friendly. Far enough from the hwy to be quiet, but close enough that it is convenient. Book early, cuz they fill up quick
Jul 22, 2017
Easy off/on from interstate. Very clean and staff very courteous. Wide pull through and great dog run.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
TOO MUCH CHAOS AT THIS KOA. We had reservations for 2 units to be side by side. When we arrived we were split into separate sights. Their sights adjoin by coming in at opposite directions, causing dueling slide outs. WiFi also a problem. I asked to speak to the manager and I was told he was not on sight. It appears no one was in charge and explains the chaos. You have been warned. Avoid this KOA
Jul 22, 2017
We stay at a lot of KOAs. This one is awesome! The staff are super great! Highly recommend!
Jul 21, 2017
Nice, comfortable campground.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The staff were very freindly, many activities for children, a great doggy park, adult activities, park and facilities very clean. Really enjoyed my stay.
Jul 21, 2017
Very nice place. Bathrooms were very nice. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 21, 2017
Clean nice
Jul 20, 2017
Great from start to finish! Modern, clean, and NICE!!!
Jul 20, 2017
it was awesome love thisplace
Jul 20, 2017
We were disappointed when we arrived a little early and our cabin wasn't ready. The person said they would get someone right on it. We waited on the patio over an hour for someone to show up to start cleaning. The campground is very well maintained and a great place to stay. We have had better interaction with staff in the past. We only had one staff member make us feel wanted
Jul 20, 2017
Great place only a couple tweeks we'd recommend...put a sliding door lock up high on inside of front door to not allow kids to reach it and possibly a short 5' wall between deck areas.
Jul 20, 2017
We stayed at your campground on our way out west and again on our way home, very pleased
Jul 20, 2017
Very helpful staff. The park appeared to be in transition - creating more sites and/or equipping sites with all amenities
Jul 19, 2017
Excellent stay and very friendly staff! Our 2 golden retrievers loved the Kamp K9 area!
Jul 19, 2017
no issues here, road needs some help, other than that nice KOA
Jul 19, 2017
Roads are very narrow, uneven gravel and corner or turns are sharp for longer rvs. Surrounding communties are more industrial than tourist friendly
Jul 18, 2017
We had a very good time. The cabins were nice and much better than being cooped up in a hotel while we visited Des Moines. The restroom facilities were quite nice and the kids enjoyed the activities. The pool was too small for the number of guests and the cabins and some sites were way too close to each other and it feels more like a parking lot than a nature type camping experience.
Jul 18, 2017
Great time. Very clean. We had the deluxe site with the patio. It was wonderful. Lots for the grandkids to do. The pool is awesome. Only negative is lack of shade.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award