Coloma / St. Joseph KOA

Open April 12 - October 13

Reserve: 800-562-5341

Reserve: 800-562-5341

Info: 269-849-3333

Info: 269-849-3333

Email This Campground

3527 Coloma Road

Benton Harbor, MI 49022

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Luxury "Glamping" Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 10, 2018
Sep 14, 2018
Hosts/check in was very friendly and made sure I had everything I needed to be comfortable. This was my very first stay at a KOA and they were thorough and made me feel welcome!
Sep 05, 2018
The campground is very nice and has a lot of activities for all ages. The staff is helpful and friendly and just an overall good experience. We are making this a yearly trip for us.
Aug 21, 2018
Very impressed of the appearance of the camp site. New picnic table and the outdoor table and chairs that I noticed at some of the RV sites. Also the wood swings at some location. Front office landscape is beautiful compared to the others and the pool and fence is really nice. Mostly I have never been to a rest room and shower facility hotel style compared to others. The owner did a remarkable job

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a great team of staff and volunteers who have joined us in putting a lot of sweat equity into our campground for the enjoyment of all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the result of our efforts!
Aug 20, 2018
So much fun for people of all ages. Our group was ages 6 to 70, and we all enjoyed ourselves so much! St. Joseph and silver beach were beautiful!
Aug 20, 2018
Great tent camping location. Lots of activities and friendly staff.
Aug 20, 2018
99% of it was really great. They had great customer service and kept the place very clean as best they could with many people in the campground. We did find it a little out of place that the ceramic tile on the floor in the back bathrooms was all cracked up and seemed to move a little. We would for sure come here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for being with us! Replacing the tiles in the Family bathrooms are indeed on our "to-do" list as we plan to tackle some repair projects yet this year.
Aug 20, 2018
Overall OK. But there is alot to do about baths and showers and privacy in this packed campground. Lots of fun for kids and good swimming pool. Last year we stayed in Wisconsin dells and they have really nice modern looking shower bulging that's what I was expecting in Coloma.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As new owners, we have been excited to make many upgrades to our older park over the past two years. Sadly, we cannot do everything at once. However, you'll be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of lining up contractors to bring our main restrooms into the 21st Century during this next off season. We hope you'll plan to come back and see us again!
Aug 14, 2018
Very friendly and clean campground . The staff was very nice and helpful. They looked as if they were happy to have us there . Our family enjoyed the stay and would return again . The only thing I would like to see next time would be more bathrooms. �
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Always great ; ) Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was our pleasure!
Aug 07, 2018
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. All of the amenities were great although the hot tub was out of order. We definitely had a great stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you had a great stay and feel badly that the hot tub was out of service due to unscheduled maintenance as the result of damage caused by another guest. We are working to get it back up and running ASAP before the end of the season.
Aug 06, 2018
Nice facilities. We stayed in a primitive campsite and it was nice and quiet. The kids loved the pool on a hot day. Not as nice bathrooms as other KOA we have stayed at. Also it was very crowded on a summer Saturday night. If in St. Joseph area we would stay again.
Aug 06, 2018
We stayed in site 117, rustic tent no hookups and were very pleased. The kiddos loved the jumping pillow and pool the most! The store items were reasonably priced and the staff made our stay very welcoming!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. As avid campers ourselves, we always disliked it when we believed we were being "ripped off" by higher-than-usual costs at a campground simply because we were a captive audience. Therefore, we are pleased to carry only high-quality products in our General Store and Cafe, and to provide our guests with reasonable prices.
Aug 06, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. This was our first time camping with our kids (3 and 6) and they loved it! We stayed in a tent and loved that the area was surrounded by large trees. The site was very clean and I felt very safe letting the kids roam a bit with us just nearby watching. The barrel train ride and movie under the stars were both a hit!! We are very excited to plan a trip back next summer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As a family-friendly campground, we are pleased to hear that our setting and activities helped you create great family memories. We are also pleased to know you're planning to come back and see us again next year. Better yet, why wait? We've got some fun fall camping available yet this year through October 14th, when we'll celebrate our Halloween Harvest and Second Annual Chili Cook-Off!
Aug 04, 2018
First time camping as a family and we had a blast. The kids really enjoyed all the activities available.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love it when we can help guests who are new to camping have a great time. You are well on your way to being a seasoned camper, and we hope to see you again!
Aug 03, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
Our second time visiting and we had a blast again. But we missed the Tuesday night train rides! We also want to thank your staff for helping jump our car when the battery was dead the morning we were to leave.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
The sites are not clearly marked and we were given site 101 which was very small. Our fire pit was basically on the outside of our property line. The sites need to be remarked and made to be similar in size.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that our site boundaries on your rustic tent site was confusing to you, and can appreciate that during our peak season how that did not help your weekend come off to a great start. We hear you, and are in the process of adding split-rail fencing to serval sites that will help provide improved understanding.
Jul 30, 2018
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Mark and his staff went out of their way to accommodate our cross country team and make us feel welcome and special! Our kids will remember the trip long after they remember the workouts!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was a pleasure to have your cross country team stay with us. It is incredibly rewarding to know that we are able to help them build a common bond between one another, and enjoy a bit of the outdoors. Hope you have a great season!
Jul 29, 2018
It was nice big showers but small toilet stalls. Beautiful shady spot.
Jul 28, 2018
I loved your site and would most likely return if given the opportunity. I would, however, strongly recommend that you reduce the poison ivy growth. The tent sites are lovely, but most people would not recognize the elephant-ear sized leaves hanging from the trees as poison ivy. I stayed at site #97 and it is EVERYWHERE. Your tent sites can be natural and wooded and green without the health risks.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you had a nice time, and are excited we may have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. While we work hard to maintain our grounds, including spraying against poison ivy, such realities are a constant reminder that we are in a wooded environment, as opposed to a field or parking lot. We will take steps to work to reduce it during the remainder of the camping season.
Jul 24, 2018
We had a great time. Even with the weather not being so great it we had a good time in St. Joseph walking around and exploring the town. The camp ground was nice. It was very busy but that is to be expected with summer. We were lucky enough to only have neighbors to one side of us so that helped keep noise levels down. It would have been a bit close having a tent to the other side of us as well.
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 17, 2018
Nice facilities. Very large wasp nest in the rafters of the women’s restroom that leads to the pool. Positioned right above the light

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate you letting us know about the wasp nest, but wish you had you let us know when you noticed it. It was not immediately evident, as it was hidden behind the light. However, you'll be pleased to know that as soon as we read your online review, we took care of the problem and the nest has now been removed.
Jul 16, 2018
Tent site was just too close to others. Otherwise we really like your campground!
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
New updates were very nice. Bathrooms could be a bit cleaner, or more often.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed our updates. Please know we are committed to the cleanliness of our facilities, and have them cleaned at least three times daily during our peak season. Weather, heavy use, and the sand that gets carried in from the bottom of people's footwear also plays a factor. Regardless, we work very hard to stay on top of it.
Jul 09, 2018
Ants

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ants are the uninvited guests to a picnic and camping, but are at times unavoidable. While we take time to mitigate annoying insects in our outdoor environment, we cannot eliminate them from what arguably was their home first.
Jul 03, 2018
Another great stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Jun 27, 2018
Every staff person we ran into was very friendly & helpful. Kids loved all the things to do! The pizza & ice cream was awesome! Bathrooms were always clean. Bathroom/shower combos could be slow. Improvement needed is the back tent sites. They HAVE to be redone & more privacy. Neighbors tent was 1 foot from our picnic table. Sites in front of bathroom should be removed. Loved patio sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your constructive feedback. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay, but also appreciate the suggested improvements. Please know that we are already considering various options for the section you were in. While it's great for groups, it gets little tight for guests don't know one another. We believe the changes we have in mind will avoid similar situations in the future.
Jun 25, 2018
We usually go to the Warren Dunes State Park when I'm in the area but was very pleasantly surprised by the St. Joseph's KOA! Despite the rain, we had a blast. It's so nice to have so many family activities at our disposal for free! The pool and hot tub were a perfect respite for us and we really enjoyed the giant bouncy pillow and the mini golf! All of our neighbors were great, too.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you were pleased with all our campground offers and our "Full Access Rates." Rather than making guests feel nickled-and-dimed by paying for each thing separately or discovering there are hidden resort fees when they arrive, once your reservation rate is determined, you and your family have full access to all our amenities (hence the name). We look forward to seeing you again!
Jun 20, 2018
Fantastic location, close to St Joseph and silver beach. Great amenities and activities for the whole family.
Jun 19, 2018
Everyone was friendly and helpful! One of the workers even came back after dropping off firewood and raked up our fire pit for us beceause there were leaves all around it. So thoughtful! We would definitely like to come back.
Jun 11, 2018
Great staff. Very accommodating. Will return to this site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your vote of confidence in our fantastic staff, and are honored to have earned your repeat business. We look forward to seeing you again!
Jun 03, 2018
great time!
May 30, 2018
The only complaint I have is with the people next us because they were up partying until 4 a.m. each night and very loud. The other complaint would be another camper who does not know how to control their child that screams at 6:00 a.m. after only a couple of hours of sleep. Otherwise, the staff and the campground are excellent! I would recommend to anyone!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As a family-friendly campground, we love it when groups enjoy special times together. However, we do everything we can to urge campers to be courteous to our other guests all around them at all times of day and night. We also agree that a screaming child at 6am isn't ideal, but hope you were able to have some empathy for the parents who may have been just as frustrated with their little one.
May 29, 2018
May 21, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 26, 2018
Needed a place to camp out on our cross country trip. The owner was warm and welcoming, eager to help us out on very short notice. Would stay again if passing that way again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for making us a part of your travels. Enjoy the journey across the country and we hope to see you again!
Oct 09, 2017
Store was closed almost every time it was supposed to be open. I feel very ripped off like I completely wasted my money. I will definitely not recommend KOA in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your one night's stay. During slower periods of the season, especially on mid-week days, at times we lock the door as we multi-task in the back office or out in the park. However, as the note indicated on the door, guests simply need to ring the door bell or call our main number and we will be happy to provide immediate assistance.
Oct 02, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award