Cape Hatteras KOA Reviews

Our Vacation Rentals offer beautiful ocean views

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2019
When I first arrived at probably 1145 I was told I could not check in until 1 because they were cutting the grass and weed eating however at 1 when we checked in the grass looked like it has not been cut or weed eated in 3 weeks. I was scared to swim in the pool because there was algae growing on the walls and floor and seagulls use it for there daily baths!! There was bird poop all over the deck
Aug 20, 2019
We stayed in a vacation suite. Room overall was good. However the elevator was broken for half of our stay, designated parking spot was taken by someone else every time we left to do something outside the resort. Roads, campsites and vacation suite parking flood with heavy rain. Pool was dirty with cloudy water and algae growing on the side walls with sea gulls taking baths in it every morning.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 20, 2019
Toilettes et douches malpropre, au prix payé les douches et toilettes devraient être nettoyées plus d’une fois par jour. Prix exessif pourvla glace
Aug 20, 2019
Campground was well maintained. Sites were clean. We spent almost all of our time on the beach!
Aug 20, 2019
We loved the location and beach access!!
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 20, 2019
Realizing the nothing can be done about heavy rain and flooding, we were placed on a flooded site when there were plenty of sites that remained above water the whole weekend. The site we were on was unkept and infested with fireants seeking a dry location and was bitten several times while attempting to connect cable tv. Office staff were friendly and food was great from Sheila's Kitchen.
Aug 20, 2019
The bathrooms and rustic camping cabin were very clean, the entire campground was clean and well-kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our cabin had ants inside, which is the only reason I'm rating it a 4 instead of 5. I told the person at the desk about the ants when we checked out, were only there for two nights/one full day otherwise would have told them sooner.
Aug 20, 2019
Central in OBX to Wright Brothers Museum to the north and Cape Hatteras Lighthouse to the south. Just over the dune is the Atlantic. Nice pool and cafe. But, it’s evident the grounds are not well kept. Pot holes everywhere and grass/weeds a foot high. We camped at the end, which is normally a good spot, but it faced the workers’ rigs, which are rundown and unkempt.
Aug 19, 2019
They need to work on cleanliness! The bath house was dirty. The laundry room was dirty. The pool needed cleaning also. It was very nice to stay just a short walk from the ocean. Good location! The food at the campground cafe was awesome!! We didn’t plan on it but we ended up eating breakfast there a couple times, grabbed lunch and of course ice cream! Mmmm!!
Aug 19, 2019
we've stayed here for many years this year the pool was really dingy, dirty, cloudy, and green
Aug 19, 2019
Great campground.
Aug 19, 2019
Exactly what we expected from the KOA app. Enjoyed the direct beach access. South Padre KOA could learn from you folks!
Aug 19, 2019
Our family did enjoy our time in Hatteras. My only complaint is the bathrooms and the showers. I think staff should clean the bathrooms more often and use a check sheet during cleaning to ensure items are not missed as there was no paper towels after cleaning on two occasions. Showers need to be cleaned more often and better, walls covered in bugs and shower curtain liner was gross in all stalls.
Aug 19, 2019
Despite the massive amounts of rain we received during our stay, it was perfect and just what we needed. The facilities were nice and clean and it was a HUGE perk being so close to the ocean. We can't wait to go back in the future!
Aug 19, 2019
We were definitely shocked that this was a KOA campground. Sites were not even, ground was very much not worthy of a KOA. We experienced a LOTS of rain and the streets were covered! The grass hadn’t been mowed for quite sometime. The best part was the store which was very nice! Also being on the ocean was nice.
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
Staff was incredibly friendly, facilities were very well maintained. Camp store prices were very reasonable. Overall it was an awesome week!
Aug 18, 2019
Thought I was going to get a lean 2 to cover the picnic table. Thought I was going to be able to see the ocean..
Aug 18, 2019
Site needed work, grass not cut and cigarette butts and bottle caps left on ground. Bathrooms were just ok.
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
Our tent site flooded badly, forcing us to sleep in the car and end our stay early. Of course KOA isn't responsible for rain, but the drainage around the campsite was inadequate, flooding several campsites around us with standing water. My family's first experience with KOA, and unfortunately not a positive one.
Aug 17, 2019
The cabin leaked and all our stuff got soaked.
Aug 17, 2019
Great stay super near the beach. The amenities were awesome. We only wished that there might have been a 2nd dog park a bit closer to the back because we often had to make the long walk to the front and rarely used the park because it was occupied with other dogs (not sure how ours / theirs would get along). Really nice location, great restaurant on site, you can even get pizza delivered!
Aug 17, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
Very nice campground. Very friendly employees. Nice amenities with a large pool, bounce area and play area for kids. Beautiful beach area. Some lots are a little small, though overflow parking is available. Some areas flood during periods of very hard rain, more than 3”. Had good electrical power and tv reception.
Aug 17, 2019
Dirty cabin. Bathroom faucet did not work. They said the cabin key was not where I left it so they charged my card $25�Ϫ
Aug 17, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
Friendly staff, great location near the ocean, pool and pillow were great for the kids. Variety of restaurants nearby and plenty of activities. Got caught by tremendous rainstorms, however, and the campground was very exposed. Used to camp in a tent so I was very glad to be better protected in a pop up A frame.
Aug 17, 2019
This was are third time visiting the KOA in the Outer Banks. We have always been pleased with the efficiency of how the campground is managed. The staff is always courteous to everyone. Very kid-friendly. Our nephews loved it! Next time we visit, cancel the rain (wink,wink!)
Aug 16, 2019
Our stay was the worst! cabin was so dirty. BIG crack/hole in the bathtub covered up with a Very dirty moldy bath mat. Also a crack in front of the tub, and when you stepped on it near the crack Water sep up and cover the floor. I’m sure that water was clean though. We got to keep a big pile of towels there. Did not do enough for us to make the rate worth it. We Had to stay in that cabin..
Aug 16, 2019
We arrived a little early and told we could not check in early because they needed to cut the grass and get our sites prepped. Once arriving at the site, nothing had been touched. The bath houses were filthy, especially the one closest to the beach. There was never an employee at the pool area. Children were jumping in the hot tubs and jumping off the slides.
Aug 16, 2019
All great. The bathrooms near the ocean need more cleanings throughout the day, however. We will be back
Aug 16, 2019
We have stayed here many times but this was the first time in the vacation suite. The room was nice but it was very clear that the floors are not properly cleaned between guests. The pool was green, hot tub was broken, activities provided were uneventful with Bingo being the highlight of the week, and the elevator broke on our last day. Overall disappointed. Ladies at front desk very nice though.
Aug 16, 2019
The campground was great and proximity to the beach was ideal. We had some issues with power - the breaker kept switching off. Other than that, everything was top notch.
Aug 16, 2019
KOA Cape Hatteras is a super fun family adventure! Beautiful location, SO much to do and see, both at the resort and surrounding areas - in every direction. Cabins are cozy and quaint. Staff is very friendly/fun, and always happy to help. I recommend this KOA to everyone!
Aug 15, 2019
We had a great time and can't wait to visit again next year! The site was big and in close proximity to the beach - everything was easily accessible.
Aug 15, 2019
Our family really enjoyed our stay at the Cape Hatteras KOA. The resort is just beautiful. Easy access to the beach and fishing. Lots of fun and a super great family atmosphere. Everyone who worked at the resort was very friendly and always helpful. We will always remember our trip and know that we will feel at home at KOA. Thank you.
Aug 15, 2019
The pool was extremely dirty with cloudy water. The morning we left, we finally saw it being vacuumed. Very irritating. The bathrooms were disgusting, especially the ones by the pool/wave room. The activities were severely lacking, rarely started on time, & the sheet of paper showing the activities did not give details/explain what the activity is. The outdoor theater no longer even exists!
Aug 15, 2019
6 nites. For those sites without sewer, pump outs should be part of the rent for stays over 2 nites. Just seems unreasonable to stay at a site for long without sewer service. The rate for pump outs on an as needed basis is too high. If it were lower I probably would not complain. Most staff were friendly and helpful.
Aug 15, 2019
first tie there and it was great we had vacation suite right above pool so nice sitting out there with coffee watching the sunrise the help was very friendly and very nice to talk to.
Aug 15, 2019
The pool was thick, green and dirty with hair. On the second and third night of our stay, it was only slightly better. Otherwise was a safe and otherwise fun trip.
Aug 15, 2019
Nice place but pricey.
Aug 14, 2019
Shower and restroom dirty.
Aug 14, 2019
As usual, we had a great time this year at the Cape Hatteras KOA! We arrived a few hours after check-in time to find our cabin had not been cleaned. But the staff immediately took care of it and we were in within the hour. They gave us a free stack of firewood for our wait! We had a great time at the pool and the beach. I love this place!
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
We really enjoy the campground. Very friendly, clean nice amenities. I would have given five stars except the electric in our section needs an upgrade. We were in a thirty amp section and the cords were running hot even with just one ac running. A couple other campers were kicking out.
Aug 22, 2019
The ocean views are beautiful and lots of facilities.
- Carol Williams on Google
Aug 21, 2019
Great
- steve mingle on Google
Aug 21, 2019
Very nice and large place. The people were very nice also.
- cletus moore on Google