Cape Hatteras KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 252-987-2307

Reserve: 252-987-2307

Info: 252-987-2307

Info: 252-987-2307

Email

25099 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 18, 2018
We have visited the KOA Campground the past 4 years with a group of approx. 25. This was the first year we encountered a very rude and unprofessional manager. The booking was a disorganized mess, which resulted in many inconveniences to our group upon arrival. However, everything could have been worked out in an adult manner if it were not for the extremely rude manager. We will not return.
Apr 18, 2018
Trop cher surtout en avril. Le restaurant ferme trop tôt. Il n’y a rien d’ouvert.
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
The Cape Hatteras location is perfectly located right next to the beach and is well maintained by the staff. The bath houses were large and private. The property across the street from the campground is also beautiful and has a prier where you can see the sunset.
Apr 16, 2018
Very rude and unprofessional management. We have been there the past 4 years with a group of approx. 25 each year, this will be our last. Booking was a disorganized mess, multiple calls was required to get the booking process completed, cabin numbers were given to me for our group, upon arrival cabin numbers were different. To sum it up in short, the main problem was the extremely rude manager.
Apr 16, 2018
Staff was was very polite and helpful. Camp was clean and well maintained! Extremely happy with our stay!
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 15, 2018
Great resort, the beach is perfect as well as the sound access across RT12. Staff terrific and so helpful resort very clean with a number of nice amenities. Lot size good too.
Apr 11, 2018
Great friendly service, escort to our camp site. Dog park pretty good, although our girls would have appreciated a little more grass and less sand. The location of being just over the dunes from a beautiful expansive beach is breathtaking! Easy to get food in walking distance from campground when you did not feel like cooking. Cable was great, but wifi not so much. Nice glamping :)
Apr 11, 2018
Apr 10, 2018
Great staff, great facilities, wonderful area. We stayed here based on recommendations from a friend and loved every minute of it. My family is totally eager to go back.
Apr 09, 2018
I called for rates early this year and was given a per night stay. I then reserved the dates of April 1 thru Apr 6 under the assumption that the price was correct. When I got there to check in the Holiday rate was applied for the 1st and 2nd. I was charged $65 more dollars than was quoted. The person I spoke to never told me about the Holiday rate. Very dirty trick. Not happy.
Apr 09, 2018
Absolutely loved it! Everything was superb. Our little guy had a blast as well. The staff was incredibly wonderful!!!!
Apr 09, 2018
My only complaint is the deficiencies of doing online reservations. The description of the campsites are not true to what you are choosing. The worker at check-in stated that I should call. I'm assuming by her reaction, that I'm not the only person who has had this issue. The staff and facilities are very good and family friendly.
Apr 09, 2018
Loved the area and the campground. Very clean and well kept. Will definitely make another visit!
Apr 09, 2018
Other than some unfortunate weather, the stay was perfect. Beautiful facilities, great location. Will return.
Apr 08, 2018
Friendly, accommodating staff. good amenities. Very clean and well mantained property. Plan to return. Thanks for a great vacation!
Apr 08, 2018
Enjoyed our cozy cabin and the friendly staff. If that big pool was heated ... it would have been perfect! The restrooms were fantastic. Always clean. My one complaint: The toilet paper dispensers that are increasingly standard are SO HARD to use. I heard families struggling just as mine did and I cut my hand trying to get the full roll to "drop down" after the prior one is empty.
Apr 07, 2018
Nice and clean and the staff was great. The beach was awesome! Too expensive for the amenities, every site $85 to $125 a night should have a concrete slab and a sun shelter.
Apr 07, 2018
Everything was terrific. Beach access, fishing, dog area, kids activities—all well done. Staff was always helpful and kind. Two sewer hookups at our site was rare and awesome. For an RV with two bathrooms, it’s a real time saver. For an RV with one tank, it gives options as to where exactly to park. Very nice attention to detail.
Apr 07, 2018
even more than our expectations
Apr 07, 2018
Apr 06, 2018
I always enjoy staying at the Hatteras K away and would highly recommend it for family time as well as personal time period
Apr 04, 2018
The facility was very nice. We rented a deluxe cabin and it was perfect. We took our dog with us and was pleasantly surprised that there was an outdoor kennel and that food and water bowls we’re provided! We were disappointed in the planned activities for the kids. You should post on the website that there will be limited activities during off season.
Apr 04, 2018
This is the perfect campground to enjoy the beach. There's lots for kids to do at this KOA along with the beach. We are not used to a campground without a single tree! Great pool area. Just can't imagine on a HOT summer day, no shade and RV's on top of each other. But if you just want to chill on the beach its perfect.
Apr 03, 2018
Very good stay. Staff was friendly and hard working. Bathrooms were the best I have seen in a KOA
Apr 02, 2018
Great staff and facilities...we come every Spring Break with our kids!
Apr 02, 2018
Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Apr 02, 2018
Great place for a family, or a couple. We loved it. Right on the beach!!!!
Apr 01, 2018
Although the weather was cold & windy, our site was great & the staff was so helpful & friendly.
Apr 01, 2018
Everyone was so nice, and welcoming. The bathrooms and showers were spotless,site was perfect. We got sunrise and sunsets, location was quiet and still close to everything.
Mar 31, 2018
Awesome facilities and staff! Can’t wait to return!
Mar 31, 2018
Bad ant problem in Deluxe Cabin we were in, but still had a great time.
Mar 28, 2018
Very nice KOA! Love the bounce pad, and although it was too cold outside, the pool looks awesome. Laundry facilities very nice and clean. Great location.
Mar 28, 2018
Stayed in off season. Heated bathrooms were great. Heater in the cabin set up and running before we got there. Women at the desk were nice. Downfall, they replaced the roofs of 3 cabins around our cabin. No one told us. Thankfully we moved the car. Afterward there were nails in the parking space and around cabin. We come here every year. Not sure if I will again. The man that was told blew it off.
Mar 27, 2018
Excellent staff; quiet; secure; love the shelters; level but small sites
Mar 26, 2018
The campground was super well maintained, clean and bath house/restroom like new. Spic and Span. Staff was SUPER!!!!!! NO ISSUES!!!!
Mar 22, 2018
Beautiful campground with friendly staff. We stayed in off season but really enjoyed our stay.
Mar 21, 2018
Mar 21, 2018
One of my favorite places. Though the weather was not great, I woke up my motor home after a winter in the Adirondacks and relaxed a bit before heading west.
Mar 20, 2018
Our stay was great! The staff was wonderful. We were there during the off-season so most of the town was shut down. It was extremely peaceful. This KOA is top notch and in a beautiful place.
Mar 16, 2018
Mar 09, 2018
The Cape Hatteras KOA was so accommodating. We stayed in the small cabins that were clean, cozy and warm. It is so nice that the staff turns on the heaters before the guests arrive. We were stranded in that 5-10 mile stretch of land due to roadway flooding and overwash and the staff did everything they could do ensure we were taken care of. Thank you!
Mar 08, 2018
We came during off-season so many of the amenities we did not use. We just wanted to get away from our home for a few days. The KOA is in a great location. The staff were super accommodating since we were stuck due to highway 12 washout for about 2 days. Very friendly folks. When we come back we will definitely come back to the KOA.
Mar 07, 2018
Few hiccups this time. The cabin I rented didn't have power, I discovered this when I arrived after the office had closed for the day, and the after hours number provided to me went to an answering machine, and my message was never returned. Still giving a positive review because this is one of VERY few problems I have had, even staying multiple times a year for nearly 27 years now.
Mar 05, 2018
It was a nice time. We were ahead of the spring break rush, so we had the beaches mostly to ourselves. Weather was cool but pleasant. When we wanted to leave a storm blew in and we had to stay another night due to high water and gale force winds. The KOA personal we’re very nice about letting us spend another day to wait out the storm. All in all it was a good time.
Feb 28, 2018
Feb 26, 2018
This is a nice resort to visit..if it's Summer. Everything is closed during the Winter months. Bathrooms next to the beach were locked. Shower house was locked. Cafe was closed. Pool and hot tub were closed. Not sure why an outdoor pool would even be open this time of year anyway. They gave us a deal on a 2 bedroom deluxe cabin that had a full bathroom and kitchen. We wouldn't have been to s
Feb 25, 2018
Although our stay was very pleasureble to be off season, we did have just a few problems. We were told that a gas grill was provided, but when we tried to light it, it didn’t work. There was a grill next door & it didn’t work either. Also there was no lighting under the cabin nor for the stairs, which was on stilts. We had to use a flashlight just to go down the stairs as it was really da
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award