Cape Hatteras / Outer Banks KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 25, 2020
Best koa yet..fantastic service and staff
May 22, 2020
Excellent time but... Sunday evening, I received a call from front desk. “ I noticed you have a “ tenter” and it’s calling for a tropical storm, would you like to upgrade to a cabin for additional $25”. Of course I agreed, I didn’t want my family wet. But COME ON, the cabins were empty, the park was not full at all. I believe after spending $100 a night to tent, I would have been offer
May 22, 2020
May 21, 2020
Thought the rates were high for this time of the year plus it should've been discounted since all the amenities were not available due to Covid-19.
May 21, 2020
The location can’t be beat, and the staff are super responsive to all our needs!
May 20, 2020
We always have a great time at the Hatteras KOA! The staff are very friendly and the campground is beautiful! We'll be going back again as soon as we can!
May 20, 2020
Beautiful location. Friendly/knowledgable/fabulous staff. Clean facilities. One for the memory books.
May 18, 2020
We will for sure be coming back to stay again! We loved being so close to the beach and with us renting a RV this was our first time at a KOA site. Thank you for memories my family will never forget!
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
Amazing resort. Close to ocean and beautiful dunes. Very majestic sunrise and sunsets. Park nice and clean. Restrooms clean and warm.employees very nice and helpful. Amazing pirate slice will be great fun for kids.cant wait to return this summer with the girls. Awesome place
May 18, 2020
The stay at the Hatters KOA is always phenomenal. Top notch service and the amenities are perfect. It’s hard to find anything to improve on because they are so good. The only thing I would change is the US flag. She looked a bit tired.
May 18, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was most helpful and pleasant. The service was very good. The campground is well maintained. Unfortunately we came in right before a tropical storm. We had to leave early but the staff allowed us to reschedule. We are looking forward to coming back in the fall.
May 18, 2020
Great location, nice staff.
May 17, 2020
Apr 20, 2020
The campground was actually closed...but since we are locals and I'm a first responder they showed us to stay at a huge discount! We were so appreciative for the ability to social distance at such a awesome location..Just us and the dog...and the ocean waves. Aaaaahhh. Thank you so much!
Apr 04, 2020
Spent 3.5 weeks there before and during the start of the pandemic. Everyone was such a great host. The facility was great and seeing the effort and attention in maintaining the property was fantastic! Look forward to returning. The only reason we left was being 4 weeks on the road in a 24ft RV with wife and two dogs! We needed more space as we both started working remotely.
Mar 31, 2020
I would recommend this camp ground anytime of the year. The staff are the best and go out of their way to make your stay great. All new upgrades have been completed and it is very nice. The pool has been refinished and looks beautiful. The hot tub has a new heater and works great.
Mar 29, 2020
We love staying at The Cape Hatteras KOA! They are in the process of upgrading the campground to ensure future campers have more bang for their buck. Ted, the assistant manager, was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Jamie, Josh, and Marcus worked outside on the grounds to ensure that the campground was neat and clean. Dan worked very hard a building new picnic tables for all to enjoy.
Mar 29, 2020
Staff was very helpful and the location was great. The amenities were nice and clean.
Mar 25, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Arrived Feb 2 2020, Stayed 6 weeks. Would have stayed six more but for some family health emergencies. Very responsive to every contact, very friendly and pleasant. I will miss going to sleep to the sounds of the Atlantic ocean breaking on the beach.
Mar 21, 2020
Unfortunately we were there during the corona virus scare. Everything was closed. The KOA hosts were very helpful, and communicated with us about our situation. Very nice folks. We hope to go back in better times.
Mar 21, 2020
Mar 21, 2020
Mar 19, 2020
very difficult circumstances and you folks treated us very well. I hope everything is okay down there, hope everyone is safe.
Mar 18, 2020
Campground is very nice, clean and well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful. Camp sites are spacious and well equipped. I would have rated Cape Hatteras a 10 for recommend and a 5 overall had the Wi-Fi worked. Could not even check weather let alone get some office work done. Maybe I shouldn’t work while camping, but do some of my best work relaxing in the outdoors. Very nice KOA.
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Very nice camping area just steps from the beach. We were there during the off season so some construction underway. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent bathroom/shower facilities. Would stay here again. Dave, Jo-Ann, and Otis the dog.
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Staff very friendly and helpful. The campsites and beach access was nice and clean. I will stay here again.
Mar 16, 2020
We had a very nice stay. The campground and bathrooms were clean and lovely. We especially loved the big jumping pillow at the playground -- that was amazing! And we liked how we could just walk to the beach in the morning. The staff in the office were very kind and helpful. All around, we had a great weekend! Thank you, Cape Hatteras KOA!!!
Mar 15, 2020
Mar 14, 2020
I enjoyed my stay at Cape Hatteras KOA, the staff was very friendly and the accommodations (cabin, facilities, shower-house) were well maintained and clean. My stay was during the off-season, but the website should have made it clear that the pool (listed as open year-round) was closed for maintenance/resurfacing. I plan to stay here again!
Mar 14, 2020
Great! Only problem was we got 2 roaches in our cabin because the door had a little gap but other than that, it was fine. Was very grateful for the little space heater provided, but wished wifi was better around the cabins.
Mar 13, 2020
Mar 13, 2020
Was able to arrive late, had campsite close to the ocean. Well maintained park. Lots of covered patio picnic table areas being constructed as there are no trees.
Mar 11, 2020
Unfortunately upon entering our cabin we found a dirty toilet, dirty sock and dirty kleenex under the bed. Walls, floors and door frames all dirty. Not impressed...otherwise campground was nice, staff were friendly and owner gave us credit for dealing with the dirty cabin. Beautiful area right by the dunes with beach access.
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 04, 2020
Great weather, very friendly staff. Close and convient to sound and ocean. Bath house clean and warm. Can't wait to return this summer.
Feb 28, 2020
Staff was very nice & helpful. Our suite was very clean & lots of room. Our Valentines weekend was just wonderful. We lucked out with beautiful weather. Thanks again!
Feb 25, 2020
Wonderful stay in the visitors center. Fun kid activities even without a pool. Short walk to the beautiful beach. Highly recommended
Feb 24, 2020
Nice location. Very close to the beach. Good weather this time of year. Staff seemed very friendly.Bath house nice and warm.Cabin was nice and clean and comfortable. Will definitely return soon.
Feb 24, 2020
It was the most peaceful and relaxing winter vacation spot ever! The staff was amazing and so attentive. They told us their favorite spots to eat which was so helpful! Even the staff interacted with my dog which was so awesome! We will definitely be back!
Feb 23, 2020
Feb 23, 2020
Great place- clean and friendly. Stayed right near the dunes- within walking distance of the beach.
Feb 19, 2020
I love that it was right on the beach! However the fire ring was so close to the camper/truck it was not an option for a fire. The bath houses are clean but no benches to sit on to put on your shoes. We visited the dog park which was over grown. The office lady was amazing and helpful and the store had exactly what we were missing. Overall it was a nice stay
Feb 18, 2020
Beautiful KOA. Friendly staff. Very clean cabin rentals.
Feb 18, 2020
This was our first stay and we've already booked two more!
Feb 18, 2020
Beautiful KOA. Friendly staff. Clean cabin rentals. Plenty of activities.
- Tina Grant on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.