Cape Hatteras / Outer Banks KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Mar 31, 2020
I would recommend this camp ground anytime of the year. The staff are the best and go out of their way to make your stay great. All new upgrades have been completed and it is very nice. The pool has been refinished and looks beautiful. The hot tub has a new heater and works great.
Mar 29, 2020
We love staying at The Cape Hatteras KOA! They are in the process of upgrading the campground to ensure future campers have more bang for their buck. Ted, the assistant manager, was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Jamie, Josh, and Marcus worked outside on the grounds to ensure that the campground was neat and clean. Dan worked very hard a building new picnic tables for all to enjoy.
Mar 29, 2020
Staff was very helpful and the location was great. The amenities were nice and clean.
Mar 25, 2020
Mar 23, 2020
Arrived Feb 2 2020, Stayed 6 weeks. Would have stayed six more but for some family health emergencies. Very responsive to every contact, very friendly and pleasant. I will miss going to sleep to the sounds of the Atlantic ocean breaking on the beach.
Mar 21, 2020
Unfortunately we were there during the corona virus scare. Everything was closed. The KOA hosts were very helpful, and communicated with us about our situation. Very nice folks. We hope to go back in better times.
Mar 21, 2020
Mar 21, 2020
Mar 19, 2020
very difficult circumstances and you folks treated us very well. I hope everything is okay down there, hope everyone is safe.
Mar 18, 2020
Campground is very nice, clean and well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful. Camp sites are spacious and well equipped. I would have rated Cape Hatteras a 10 for recommend and a 5 overall had the Wi-Fi worked. Could not even check weather let alone get some office work done. Maybe I shouldn’t work while camping, but do some of my best work relaxing in the outdoors. Very nice KOA.
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Very nice camping area just steps from the beach. We were there during the off season so some construction underway. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent bathroom/shower facilities. Would stay here again. Dave, Jo-Ann, and Otis the dog.
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Staff very friendly and helpful. The campsites and beach access was nice and clean. I will stay here again.
Mar 16, 2020
We had a very nice stay. The campground and bathrooms were clean and lovely. We especially loved the big jumping pillow at the playground -- that was amazing! And we liked how we could just walk to the beach in the morning. The staff in the office were very kind and helpful. All around, we had a great weekend! Thank you, Cape Hatteras KOA!!!
Mar 15, 2020
Mar 14, 2020
I enjoyed my stay at Cape Hatteras KOA, the staff was very friendly and the accommodations (cabin, facilities, shower-house) were well maintained and clean. My stay was during the off-season, but the website should have made it clear that the pool (listed as open year-round) was closed for maintenance/resurfacing. I plan to stay here again!
Mar 14, 2020
Great! Only problem was we got 2 roaches in our cabin because the door had a little gap but other than that, it was fine. Was very grateful for the little space heater provided, but wished wifi was better around the cabins.
Mar 13, 2020
Mar 13, 2020
Was able to arrive late, had campsite close to the ocean. Well maintained park. Lots of covered patio picnic table areas being constructed as there are no trees.
Mar 11, 2020
Unfortunately upon entering our cabin we found a dirty toilet, dirty sock and dirty kleenex under the bed. Walls, floors and door frames all dirty. Not impressed...otherwise campground was nice, staff were friendly and owner gave us credit for dealing with the dirty cabin. Beautiful area right by the dunes with beach access.
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 04, 2020
Great weather, very friendly staff. Close and convient to sound and ocean. Bath house clean and warm. Can't wait to return this summer.
Feb 28, 2020
Staff was very nice & helpful. Our suite was very clean & lots of room. Our Valentines weekend was just wonderful. We lucked out with beautiful weather. Thanks again!
Feb 25, 2020
Wonderful stay in the visitors center. Fun kid activities even without a pool. Short walk to the beautiful beach. Highly recommended
Feb 24, 2020
Nice location. Very close to the beach. Good weather this time of year. Staff seemed very friendly.Bath house nice and warm.Cabin was nice and clean and comfortable. Will definitely return soon.
Feb 24, 2020
It was the most peaceful and relaxing winter vacation spot ever! The staff was amazing and so attentive. They told us their favorite spots to eat which was so helpful! Even the staff interacted with my dog which was so awesome! We will definitely be back!
Feb 23, 2020
Feb 23, 2020
Great place- clean and friendly. Stayed right near the dunes- within walking distance of the beach.
Feb 19, 2020
I love that it was right on the beach! However the fire ring was so close to the camper/truck it was not an option for a fire. The bath houses are clean but no benches to sit on to put on your shoes. We visited the dog park which was over grown. The office lady was amazing and helpful and the store had exactly what we were missing. Overall it was a nice stay
Feb 18, 2020
Beautiful KOA. Friendly staff. Very clean cabin rentals.
Feb 18, 2020
This was our first stay and we've already booked two more!
Feb 18, 2020
Very nice place. Great location and plenty to do.
Feb 18, 2020
This was our first time down here and we were so happy we stayed at the Cape Hatteras KOA. Very clean , loved the beach right there and the warm, clean bathrooms and showers were great !! When we come back again, we would definitely love to be able to stay there again !
Feb 17, 2020
Feb 16, 2020
Feb 16, 2020
Hello, My wife and I Highly recommend this place! We booked this campground for a month in December (off season) and ended up staying an extra month. When we arrived, they had everything all set for us and all we had to do was to swipe our credit card. They escorted us to our site and out of 800 some sites we were put just 200 yards from the ocean and it was great to sit and listen to the ocean
Feb 15, 2020
Feb 15, 2020
Clean and friendly; the reservation staff was helpful and polite; checking in and out was made easy by the campground staff
Feb 12, 2020
Wonderful location and great facilities
Feb 12, 2020
Nice clean facility. Very quiet even thoughit was the off season we still enjoyed everything.
Feb 10, 2020
Excellent accommodations with a friendly staff
Feb 10, 2020
This is a very quiet time in the Outer Banks. As a photographer, it's the best time to visit the natural wildlife. We were backed up to the dunes, just off the beach access. The sun rise was breath taking with the high waves hitting the shore. Great location! Friendly staff!
Feb 07, 2020
Staff is super friendly. Everything you need is right there. Great beach access. Clean campground. Bathhouse was nice and warm (stayed in Feb.) and clean. Water pressure to showers was great and plenty of hot water. Have stayed there 2x now.
Feb 03, 2020
It was off season so dont judge summer on this review but hot water in shower took 20 minutes, staff said hot tub was open (wasn’t) and beach has large debris. I kicked a bolt from buried debris right in front of the koa steps. Would not stay here again for off season price now that Oregon Inlet is open in off season but I didn’t know until i stopped at National Park.
Feb 02, 2020
Jan 31, 2020
Nice location. Close to the beach and sound side. Staff very friendly and always accomaditing.Front desk staff seemed friendly and willing to help.Bathrooms clean and warm.Weather that day was nice and warm for this time of year. A very nice getaway for the off season. Will return soon
Jan 28, 2020
Very relaxing. Staff very polite and helpful.
Feb 18, 2020
Beautiful KOA. Friendly staff. Clean cabin rentals. Plenty of activities.
- Tina Grant on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.