Cape Hatteras KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2019
Water was turned off 2 times without notice and could do a better job with explaining and coordinating planed activities. But, its a campground, on the beach, so.........
Jun 23, 2019
The people were friendly, the lot was great, and the weather was terrific!
Jun 23, 2019
Overall stay was nice. Little more wind then expected, and couldn’t eat outside as much, but out of the hosts control. Housekeeping a little rude for the facilities, but not a deal breaker.
Jun 23, 2019
Just great camping near the beach, nice pool, and Sheila's Cafe was awesome.
Jun 23, 2019
Cape Hatteras KOA is such an amazing campground. It's so relaxing and beautiful. There's plenty to keep children entertained, between the beach, pool with water slides, playground, train rides, jump pad, etc. So much for the kids. The sites are spacious and the employees were helpful as well. This was our second time visiting this campground and we'll definitely be back!
Jun 23, 2019
Our deluxe cabin fit the needs of our family of five perfectly. I was pleased to find it very well-stocked. We loved the beach & the pool. The staff at this KOA were all very friendly and helpful. The few needs we had were met quickly and easily. Thanks for a great vacation!!
Jun 23, 2019
Nice camping. Good facilities and a fantastic area to see and be part of. OBX!!
Jun 23, 2019
Very clean Don’t make big issues out of small ones. Like boat parking. Staff very down to earth and willing to help at anything. Pool was clear and clean around it. Bathrooms were kept clean and supplied. Great time. 12 hrs. Away and will come back
Jun 23, 2019
Great room, beautiful views. WiFi needs fixed on vacation suites.
Jun 23, 2019
One pet peev I have is golf carts, it seems that neither the staff or campers pay any attention to the speed limit, there is no excuse for it, and at most campgrounds it is a general problem, especially with so many young children around and riding bikes. Also it seems no policing is done by the staff to ensure the drivers are of legal age, there were several that definitely were not legal age
Jun 23, 2019
Nice location and nice people. Spots are very small. Wifi doesn't work.
Jun 23, 2019
Karen in the office/store was AMAZING!! She is very welcoming, explained the process (as we were experiencing this for the first ever), answered all our questions, and genuinely cared about us and getting the experience we wanted. We will absolutely be coming back and recommend everyone to check it out. It was an awesome first family vacation!! Thank you Karen and Cape Hatteras KOA!!
Jun 23, 2019
Just a great campground lots to do and pretty quiet. Beach access was a plus and the fact that the dogs were allowed on The beach made it that much more enjoyable. Bath houses were clean and the WiFi was surprisingly good. Can’t wait to head back!!!!!
Jun 23, 2019
Had an amazing time. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Campground was clean and nicely landscaped. Will definitely come back and refer friends and family.
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
Our family of four stayed for five nights in a deluxe cabin. We loved our stay with you all! The staff was incredibly friendly. My fiance’ is a fixer and noticed a loose drawer handle (he can’t help himself!) and the maintenance staff found a matching screw and allowed him to fix the “issue” he spotted. The pool was fun and the area was kept clean!! Thank you KOA for welcoming our family :
Jun 22, 2019
Very clean, large sites, great beach front, friendly staff, relaxing stay. Will definitely go back.
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
Staff was very friendly and always helpful. The accommodation was clean and we had everything we needed for a great summer stay.
Jun 21, 2019
Jun 21, 2019
Great staff, they were so helpful and nice
Jun 21, 2019
Always a pleasure to stay here,staff is very friendly,snack bar has plenty of good food at reasonable prices,bath houses are always clean along with rest of campground and sites have plenty of room wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting outer banks .
Jun 20, 2019
The site was clean and well placed close to the shower house based on a request for a walking limited member of our party. The staff were polite and helpful. The sites are small and the roads are narrow. The showers are clean but the floor design holds water and sand without a platform or seat for changing. Easy ramp access to the beach.
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
What a great place to stay. Friendly staff. Clean nice bathrooms and nice laundry rooms. A block to the ocean and sound. Nice good sized campsites and some of them have covered picnic tables. In fact we liked it so much we extended our stay 2 nights. Great place for families lots of activities for the kids with a great playground, jump pad and swimming pool! Thanks to the staff!
Jun 19, 2019
Many things were wrong with our cabin. It was an inconvenience to keep reporting things.
Jun 19, 2019
The staff was very friendly. The pool and hot tub was fabulous. It was great to have the small store with a few things you may need. The prices were very comparable to the main grocery stores. We had a great week
Jun 19, 2019
Jun 19, 2019
One of our biggest problems is the deluxe sites flood bad with rain. We had to set out camper up with about 4” of water all around the camper and truck.
Jun 19, 2019
Great place to stay. I grew up around there and so things like wind, sand, lack of trees doesn't bother me much, LOL. The staff was great, the park was clean, pool was awesome when tired of the beach. Had an issue with my 30 amp cord, Charles helped a ton finding me a new one! Thanks Charles! The only complaint I would have, if I had to make one, was that the grass could use trimming more often.
Jun 19, 2019
It was a great time the only complaint would be that from 6pm-11pm the bathrooms could have used a cleaning but other than that I had a great time!
Jun 19, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Restrooms were clean and the activities were entertaining. I love the area! However, For the price we paid per night we were hoping for better WiFi. Everything else was fine.
Jun 18, 2019
The campground is very good and we will be back. Our only issue was with the shower houses that were shower/toilet combo. There were many times we walked in the room reeked of urine. It seems they weren’t cleaned frequently enough. The other suggestion I’d have is to put in better floor drains in the shower rooms so when water comes out of the shower it doesn’t drain out but lays on the floo
Jun 18, 2019
Internet is impossible to connect, parking at the office is very inconvenient if you are going there for any reason other then check in. Pool is excellent, Beach access is great. Sheila's restaurant has very good food with generous portions.
Jun 18, 2019
We enjoyed all the many amenities for our children (4 & 8) and would definitely say this was our favorite campground we’ve ever been to. Our family really loved the daily planned activities like crafts, water wars, tie dyeing shirts, glow parade, pirate treasure hunt and jumping pillow to name a few. The Sunshiners were always so kind & attentive. Thank you for making our time at CH so memorable
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
The campground was so close to the beach! It was clean and quiet with a huge pool, restaurant, store and lots of activities. It is very family friendly! Highly recommend. The sites were level with nice grass clean fire pits and plenty of space
Jun 18, 2019
Bathrooms always have a huge amount of mucky water on the floor. Dirty toilets. Guided to the wrong site and left there for 3 days and then told we had to move because we were in the wrong site , with no apologies. Dog poop and trash at the site when we arrived. Way overpriced for the condition and service of the place. A shame, because it's on a beautiful beach. Did complain to no avail.
Jun 18, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back soon. Kids had a blast and the food at Sheila’s was very good.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Staff was great
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
It looks like several areas look hard to exit, we had to back out about 3 lengths of our RV and trk lengths. Also if u can mention to future RV pullers not park thier vehicle in front of others RV and leave the area. Overall we really enjoy the stay.
Jun 18, 2019
This was our first time visiting Cape Hatteras. KOA staff was helpful with concierge services, showers were clean, and I liked our site that backed up to beach. Prices for renting bikes and golf carts seemed high...we will bring our own next time.
Jun 18, 2019
Awesome stay as usual. Clean and fabulous amenities!
Jun 18, 2019
Very frustrating not having internet access. That issue needs to be addressed
Jun 17, 2019
When I reserved my site it was confirmed that my 34ft trailer would fit into the space. Upon review the week before we checked in I discovered the site was for campers up to 31ft. We were able to fit in the spot but lost most of our space do to parking truck beside camper. Most nights there were teens smoking marijuana in the bath house near us. Was disappointed that store was only open until 7pm.
Jun 25, 2019
Great campground! One of the only places on OBX to photograph sunset
- Ellen BridgesSmith on Google
Jun 20, 2019
With private beach access and on-site amenities like restaurant, pool, and hot tub this is definitely a great campground to choose! Biking distance to shopping and small restaurants, even a DQ, it is a great location for getting away!
- allisonk835 on Trip Advisor
Jun 23, 2019
Great location, friendly staff, nice amenities. Some things I loved, some things I didn't. Proximity to the beach is fantastic, but if you get a beachside spot, be ready for lots of blowing sand and stickers. Stickers everywhere. Also, I was not able to tether my awning because the stakes wouldn't hold in the sand, so I had to keep the awning rolled up - it is VERY windy. The sites are very level, I only had to use a one or two leveling blocks, but they are very narrow, pretty much packed in like sardines. Pool is great, but not heated, and with the constant wind it does get chilly. They do have a big hot tub which was nice. Some of the nicest bath houses I've ever seen. Overall a great campground, lots to offer. If I had to do it over again, I would not choose a spot on the beach row, and I would try to find one with the most real-estate available.
- William S on Google