Cape Hatteras KOA Reviews

Experience the best in cabin camping with our Fall Cabin Deal

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2019
It was great! We love this place. Great staff, great campground, great location for being at the beach. Sheila’s kitchen is nice to have a restaurant right there with good food and good service. Other than a night of lots of rain and two days of winds it was a really good stay!
Oct 11, 2019
Hot tub was awesome
Oct 11, 2019
We had a wonderful time at the Cape hatteras KOA. The staff was extremely helpful and very courteous.
Oct 11, 2019
The next site took over part of our site. They moved the fire pit closer to our site and their chairs were directly behind our RV. We did not complain, but we're annoyed. They also had music playing 24 hours a day. It made it hard to sleep.
Oct 11, 2019
The location is awesome and the facilities are very good. The one thing that is very disappointing is we have stayed here multiple times and the same issue is never resolved and someone is going to get injured at the pool. There is no supervision and kids climb up backward hang on the slide when one kid is comming down another is standing on the bottom instead of going out it. KOA will be sued !!
Oct 10, 2019
Great place! Clean, friendly, and awesome location!!
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Loved our stay at the OBX KOA! Bathhouses were exceptionally clean! Campground was kept very neat! And the breakfast at the on site restaurant was awesome!!!
Oct 08, 2019
Been here several times and have enjoyed it but This time was put on site 405 in middle of several long stay roofers with trucks and enclosed trailers parked along road. This made it extremely difficult to unhook and hook up camper. Site so small couldn't be outside without practically sitting on sewer line of neighbor, too small for our rig Why cram us with 3/4 campground empty. Disappointed
Oct 07, 2019
We were there a week late Sept 2019. Lot site 322 very small and fire pit was on top of RV-couldn't use it.We delibertly requested a site close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms were filthy. We finally asked the office to send someone to clean them.They did so immediately BUT they did not do a very good job.Feces remained on the back of one toilet the whole week were there. Floors NEVER cleaned
Oct 07, 2019
Had great site next to bathroom and boardwalk . Heard ocean all night. Loved it.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Great pool and nice campground.
Oct 07, 2019
We love the deluxe cabins. We come every year.
Oct 07, 2019
Great place friendly people thank you
Oct 07, 2019
Clean facilities, spacious lots, friendly staff as well as a fantastic playground, pool, hot tub, arcade, store and restaurant!!! We always look forward to our trips to KOA Hatteras!
Oct 07, 2019
Quite,cozy and relaxing.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
The campground could be a little cleaner. It was a bit shady with some of the campers on the side of the campground and commercial vehicles. The sand spurs were absolutely HORRIBLE. They were ALL over. We constantly had to pull them off our feet and shoes and the dogs paws. We will be staying at the Camp Hatteras next year. It is the campground right next door to this one.
Oct 06, 2019
The campground had an amazingly large, clean pool. All workers were very friendly. Bath houses were kept clean considering all the sand in the area. We loved that the shower and toilets were in private rooms. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay an extra day.
Oct 06, 2019
Oct 05, 2019
Excellent stay, peaceful and quiet. The staff was phenomenal and very helpful. See you again soon.
Oct 05, 2019
I loved it.. every time I come down here I have a great time this has been my 3rd or 4th time ...and I plan on coming back in November....whether its hanging out on the beach or watching the sunset ..I come down here to relax and chill ..and this place allows me to do that ..I can interact as much or as little as i choose ..the staff has always been friendly.. checking in after hours is easy
Oct 04, 2019
We come here every year the same week. I understand that hurricane's are part of our vacation but this year has been the worst so far. Camping rates went UP! there were several issues in the campground, shower faucets not working , clogged drains, no hot water, fans in the cabin didn't work or only worked on low speed. Our group has been coming to this campground for 20 years with no consideration
Oct 04, 2019
Very disappointed in the grounds and condition of the roads. They obviously don’t own a weed wacker!!! Also a lot of weeds growing up through the decorative stone areas. The wooden access ramps and steps to the beach were buried in sand. Somebody needs to supervise and delegate!!!!
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Great campground. Always good people in the store and around the campground. One thing this time that was not up to the usual high standards were the restrooms and showers. Mens restroom near the beach had toilet seats that looked nasty. Showers needed cleaning. This could be because we're out of season and they are trying to get by with fewer staff.
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Great unit (1503). Perfect weather. Friendly folks.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Very nice campground and facilities. Could have used our grass mowed during our stay.
Oct 01, 2019
Absolutely love this place. It was our 5th time staying there. One complaint this time, whoever was in charge of cleaning the showers did a very poor job. When we arrived Monday the showers were dirty. Before our departure of Thursday, the same shower was still dirty and had the “same clump of hair” on the floor. Other stays, the showers were clean.
Oct 01, 2019
How can you not like it! Its right on the ocean! We had an oceanfront campsite, our friends had one of the new deluxe suites. We were all happy! The staff was super friendly. We did have a weather challenge as there were gale force winds for Hurricane Humberto it was amazing how the sand dune protected us from the whipping sand. It was crazy windy but on the ocean side of the dune it was whipping!
Sep 30, 2019
I love the Cape Hatteras KOA. My ratings would have been higher, but the clean up following Dorian, even though 3 weeks after, was not good. The fish, dish, and dog washing stations sinks were clogged and filled to the top with filthy water. The bathrooms/showers were never pristine as I am used to. The pool had round black mold all around the bottom and steps, and sand.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Very nice camp gounds.
Sep 30, 2019
Great location. Very nice and friendly staff. We cant wait to go back.
Sep 29, 2019
This is our 3rd year at Cape Hatteras and my husband and I just love our stay there. We enjoy camping at the dune so we can get as close as we can to the beach. We also love lunch at Sheila's, the café has great food selections and the warm hospitality is very much appreciated. It also is so awesome to watch the sunset every evening! LOVE IT HERE and we will return! Debby from Pa.
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
Wonderful time as always. The ceiling fan in the cabin was not working and the air conditioners were really old and loud. Other than those two small items, we were very pleased with our stay.
Sep 28, 2019
This was our second year to stay here and as always, we had a wonderful stay. Great, well cared for grounds and pool area with great beach access.
Sep 28, 2019
We had our first vacation in our Airstream here and it was fabulous. Great staff, responsive to needs, good service, clean facilities, great beach access, awesome sunrise and sunset views. Off season was quiet, cool and relaxing.
Sep 27, 2019
Great stay with the exception of the camper next to mine didn’t clean up after their 2 dogs.......right next to my camper. If I clean up after my dog then they should also!? Staff was great and friendly
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Our stay was not pleasant due to the recent storm and a second one that stayed out to sea but produced strong winds . Our trailer rocked for 2 days straight and you could not be outside because of mosquitoes and sand blowing . My black truck was gray with salt spray and a lounge chair rusted even though it was never near the water . Dryers in laundry needed cleaned and the trash was never emptied
Sep 25, 2019
Visited our daughter.....had 2 english bulldogs with us (my wife and i). The cabin was great and just what we needed. Loved being close to the pool and beach...laundry, food, and the KOA store. Great stay as usual.
Sep 25, 2019
The sites were not kept groomed- the equipment was rusted and broken from statues to outdoor seating- the premium site I paid for was a buddy site which I didn’t reserve so had to move and was charged an huge fee and not even a site that had adequate pads. The pool was dirty so was hot tub - no outdoor tiki functioning as promised- no music by he pool- the pool was extremely cold solar wasnt use
Sep 25, 2019
Clean park, very friendly staff. Nice dog park. Ocean front lots are superb and I was lucky enough to get one.
Sep 24, 2019
We've stayed in Deluxe cabins at this KOA for years. This past trip was very disappointing. We arrived at the end of the season and just after Dorian but had many issues: a vent problem in our bathroom that was so noxious, it rendered the bathroom useless, the patio chairs were falling apart and unusable, the sink drain fell apart. We love OBX and this KOA and hope this was just a one time issue
Oct 13, 2019
Highly recommend this place! We were stuck in Waves due to Highway 12 being closed because of high tides from a tropical storm and decided to book several rustic cabins for the night. Well, the cabins were really nice, but the officials managed to get the road cleared that evening so we wanted to head home AND THEY GAVE US A FULL REFUND. Not only that, but they said that we could come back if it didn't work out for us to get through. That was really going the extra mile and we really appreciated it! Plus, their cabin rates were the best prices we could find in the area for a night's stay.
- zachary morgan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.