Yellowstone Park / West Gate KOA Reviews

Explore Yellowstone from the perfect basecamp

Campground Reviews

Nov 06, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
We loved this KOA, everything was well organized, clean, and maintained. Great store, activities, pool, meals, etc. Staff was always ready to assist, and we appreciated the 24 hour attention to camper safety. If we are back in this area, we will stay here again.
Oct 21, 2019
We were at the end of the season and everything is shutting down.
Oct 16, 2019
loved it. Staff was courteous and friendly. Cabin was clean and warm. Price was right. Perfect.
Oct 11, 2019
Beautiful campground. Friendly staff. They picked up our propane tank filled and returned it to our campsite. Great bathrooms/showers. Commercial size washers and dryers.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Late year stay. Campground was getting ready to shut for the season. Had one night it froze but fortunately, the office had warned of it and I had disconnected my water hose. Ended up in a spot near the highway but traffic was light at night. Commuted to Yellowstone park for a few days. Reasonably close. Nice campground and good service.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
It's a nice campground. A special shoutout to Mike, one of the campground employees, who went above and beyond to help us rookies figure out our new TV and program in the stations.
Oct 07, 2019
Nice clean campgrounds/facilities. Friendly/helpful staff. Close enough to Yellowstone park and West Yellowstone town.
Oct 05, 2019
With no information the swimming pool was shout down at 9:30 pm. The advertise says that the pool is open till 10:00 pm. They must honor the time that they say.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
This stay was different than any KOA we've ever stayed at. The front desk was manned by two of the most unfriendly young people we've encountered. We felt like just another cog in the system and not a welcome guest. Our site was actually too small to accommodate our rig, but my husband being a retired over-the-road trucker was able to back it in. Site itself was pretty and we enjoyed the patio.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
We stayed one week at this KOA while visiting Yellowstone National Park. The location was great for entering the park and visiting the town of West Yellowstone. The staff at this KOA was helpful and friendly. Our check-in was done quickly and without ay problems. Most sites appeared a little close together. We had an end site so not a problem. We did not use the amenities. WiFi not so good.
Oct 02, 2019
Even though there were cabins closer, I was placed in a cabin that was far from any washroom. The main washrooms/showers in the office building were not to the normal standard of KOA. The water in the basins took a long time to drain away- Not very impressed, and will not stay there again.
Oct 02, 2019
They need to improve WiFi coverage and capacity. Also in would have been nice to use the hot tube a few more days before they shut in down. The counter staff were nice and helpful when I wanted to change sites for satellite reception.
Oct 02, 2019
Unfortunately the site was shutting down thus everything was being put away. A floor mat by the shower and an entrance door mat would protect the your floors.
Oct 02, 2019
We stayed for the last night of the season and the whole site was practically boarded up so looked really tough an unappealing:( Im sure, or certainly hope that things look different in season ! This was our 4th KOA of our road trip and definitely disappointing after our three previous fantastic experiences ! They are still charging full price, only plus, they did allow an early check in :) Thanks
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Check in was easy, the long camp store hours were much appreciated!
Oct 01, 2019
We stay here every year but feel the price is too high. We are always looking for other options.. They take good care of the property and were very fair about refunding our last night stay when we checked out because of bad weather..
Oct 01, 2019
The cabin was great while the weather was good, but when it got colder it was uncomfortable. (I realize that these are summer cabins.)
Oct 01, 2019
Stay was great! All the staff were very nice and helpful and the facilities were clean.
Oct 01, 2019
What a beautiful place to stay! The hosts were terrific, setup was a breeze... and a great gift + supplies store. 10 stars all the way around!!
Sep 30, 2019
Overall enjoyed our stay. Good location and Cabin was clean and comfortable. Only downside (reason for a three rating) was the borderline rude guy at check-in. Kind of soured our impression of camp ground. Oh and BTW - when you advertise a “full kitchen” that means at least meager cooking utensils. And no - we’re not going to go to another camp ground after driving all day - as suggest
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Last year we had a tent site a little cooler this time. So we got a cabin it’s a view of Yellowstone out of the bedroom window.great staff helpful to a tee whatever you need they will try to help. Thanks. Long time being kind first time I came here was in 1982 in RV
Sep 30, 2019
End of season but the staff was very courteous and helpful.
Sep 30, 2019
Very clean and well organized. Only a short distance from Yellowstone Park
Sep 30, 2019
Beautiful park, designed so that each spot seems much more private. The grounds were immaculate, the staff more than friendly, really a great park. We were there for 8 days. It's perfect for access to Yellowstone NP. We would definitely stay there again.
Sep 30, 2019
We had a great time at the deluxe cabins at Yellowstone Park/West Gate, MT KOA! Everything was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Having a kitchen, bathroom, and small things like space heaters made it such an enjoyable experience, and the staff was very nice and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again!
Sep 30, 2019
The fellas Thursday night when we showed up (a night early) were extremely helpful. However the guy in the kilt the next morning was upset that they even parked us because we were a night early, even though there was open spots. Overall a good stay, just one rude guy.
Sep 30, 2019
10-15 minutes away from park gate. Camping cabin was clean and comfortable. Very pleased with the management, who allowed us to check out one day early and refunded us the night, because we had to leave early to miss a big snow storm coming in. My only complaint was, the bathrooms/showers were a bit longer of a walk than I'd have preferred, but I can't complain too much. I would stay here again
Sep 30, 2019
Good, clean facilities-very warm ! nice wide campsites, Good views. We cut our stay short-at short notice, due to early weather concerns. They gave us a refund on unused nights. Very nice. We have a 35' travel trailer with a 20' tow vehicle & had no problems navigating into site. We would stay here again.
Sep 30, 2019
The location relative to Yellowstone was great and the campground was nicely laid out. The wifi was weak except near the office. staff was cordial but because we were there the last few days of the season the staff seemed short on information and a bit tired which I don't blame them for. I would recommend this campground.
Sep 30, 2019
Un des meilleurs terrains Koa vu à ce jour,
Sep 29, 2019
The pancakes place and bbq was closed - these would have been nice to experience. Other than that everything was fine
Sep 29, 2019
Clean, roomy shady sites on a hill side. Complaints, the laundry room is far away and expensive. One of the woman who answers the phone hung up on me. I had two deliveries made from amazon that angered the manager. I checked their extensive do not’s and that is not listed. I should have asked first I admit but my husband was verbally abused in their very public office.
Sep 29, 2019
Loved the park, nice wide space with patio. Highly endorse staying at this KOA.
Sep 29, 2019
I was warmly welcomed when I entered the office/store to check in. The staff was fun and polite. Check-in was easy as was access to our site. The site was level and, though shaded, I was able to extend my antenna enough to access satellite tv. This park is huge, but it being late in the season, it was not nearly full. It is a quiet and peaceful.
Sep 29, 2019
We didn't fit in the first 2 spots because our fixed staircase hit the raised cement. The man in charge was surly & said other people fit just fine. Nice guy in the cart helped us into another spot. All spots are very nice. B/4 making res, I asked about having my chemo delivered. The lady said they don't accept mail, but FED EX or UPS are ok. Man again was surly & not happy about delivery.
Sep 29, 2019
Friendly staff. Clean, large showers and restrooms. Clean dog area. Standard sites. Easy sites to get in and out of. Close to Yellowstone Park and West Yellowstone. Both cellular and WiFi were significantly below standards. Had to go to office for connectivity.
Sep 29, 2019
Great stay friendly staff campground is clean
Sep 29, 2019
It was rainy and snowy when we arrived so we rented a cabin instead of tent camping. The cabins are clean and so were the bathrooms.
Sep 29, 2019
Used the camp as our base on visits into the Yellowstone National Park. It was perfect! Close to town for essentials, but also had a nice store on site. Easy access into the park as most things we wanted to see were on that side of the park! Staff were all friendly and helpful. Will visit it again!
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
Stayed for the last two nights of our Yellowstone trip. Wish we would have started here as it was so convenient with great access to Yellowstone . Wi-Fi was not the best and we barely had texting, but since we spent most of our time elsewhere it wasn’t a problem. Location is beautiful just outside of the town. Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 29, 2019
great people !
Sep 28, 2019
Nov 19, 2019
You get the best at KOA
- Michael Leathers on Google
Nov 26, 2019
Uma ótima localização fora do parque, boa infraestrutura
- Reginaldo Darini on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.