Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Info: 319-233-3485

Email This Campground

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 05, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
We made reservations in March - 3 campers. We were all together but when we get there Memorial weekend, our sites had been taken and they split us all up unbeknown to us apond arrival. The front desk people were no help to us. I spoke with the grounds manager and after some discussion he moved us to sites where are Family could be together. Thank you Mr. Manager. Front desk people need training.
Jun 05, 2018
Many things to do so great there. My only issue is we stayed with a group and had requested to be by my sister (had different size cabins) so should have been able to but were the furthest away. We are staying next year and can hopefully pick our cabins. All around great place for all ages.
Jun 05, 2018
Great convenience store and walking path. Campsite had trash from previous occupant but mgmt picked it up quickly after I informed them.
Jun 03, 2018
Jun 03, 2018
While this is a great destination due to the Water Park next door I would not recommend it again, During the two days we were there the temperature reached 99 degrees each day. There is no shade for you our your RV. While the WIFI was better this trip, it was by far the worst we had at the four sites we stayed at. The staff was friendly.
Jun 03, 2018
Nice campground. Very clean. Wished we visited when the nearby waterpark was open.
Jun 03, 2018
Initially reserved 2 spots next to each other but we were separated. A third party to our group was placed further away as well. This was very inconvient as we had planned to have meals together and we had small kids who were constantly trying to cross the road to go to each other's campsites. Front desk staff was unwilling to listen to our concerns and unconcerned. Grass was long and ruts..
Jun 03, 2018
Other than my spot being double booked, I feel that My family and I enjoyed our stay and the accomidations that was made for our stay. The campgraounds are clean and safe. Keep up the good work and thank for the first impression and great stay!
Jun 02, 2018
Had a great time. The cabins was everything that I expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kids had a great time at the beach and on the banana bikes. The only negative is that I wish there were more mature shade trees. I had not stayed at a KOA cabin before but would not hesitate to stay again.
Jun 02, 2018
Jun 02, 2018
Jun 02, 2018
When we booked our reservation for Memorial Day weekend the person taking the reservation told us we could purchase the tickets to the water park when we arrived.When we arrived, we were told the water park didn't open until June 1st.They should've told us that when we asked when booking the reservation. Plus there was no pool located at the campground with 100 degree heat! We drove 3 hours!!!
Jun 02, 2018
The grass was long on holiday wkend. 3 staff on duty could barely handle 2 customers. Shower house was filthy and water scalding. The lake (beach) had so much algae and seaweed people joked about it. Nice location, view. They should get shuttle to casino.
Jun 01, 2018
Stayed at the campground and once again the gal at check did not know how to process a gift card so after half an hour my husband gave in and put it on his credit card. Management please train your staff!
Jun 01, 2018
Nice sites great stay some of the staff went out of there way to make us feel valued, while other seemed liked they did not want to be at work. The surrounding area is excellent for bike riders.
Jun 01, 2018
The best thing about this campground is your manager, Matt. There will always be problems at campsites as busy as this one, but the way they're handled and the way customers are treated will leave a lasting impression. My impression is favorable. Do everything you can to hang onto this guy!!!!!
Jun 01, 2018
Nice campground with large sites. Needed grass cut and trimmed. VERY difficult time checking in. Friends arrived 3 hrs before to fine our site had a "permanent" camper there. Made arrangements with manager to change their and our sites. When we arrived. office had no info about the changes and still waned to put in the original site. 30 min later finally got the correct site.
Jun 01, 2018
Stay every year past 4 years.great place.kids enjoy the lake
Jun 01, 2018
The bathhouses were not air conditioned, so they were nearly 100 degrees inside, with every surface dripping wet from humidity. The showers were the push button style. You push the button and the water comes on for roughly 60 seconds, then have to push it again. My 8 year old couldn't push the button hard enough to engage the water. There was no temp adjustment, and the water was scalding hot.
Jun 01, 2018
Hot, but clean campground, needs to mow more often, especially before a big holiday. They were mowing when we got there, never did get the sites mowed.
Jun 01, 2018
Water park was still closed - so can’t really rate it. The pond/Lake was not maintained. Deep green algae everywhere and the area by the water smelled bad. That camp area itself is great. The restrooms are clean and nice- but no ventilation so it was very warm in them.
Jun 01, 2018
Checked in Friday, went to supper came back, site taken. Given a new site for the night. That site was taken while I was gone that day. Had no site to camp in that night. Given a new site for the final night. Was told manager would call and never did. Was told I would get some kind of refund, never did. Worst camping experience of my life. More details can be found on my travel blog!
Jun 01, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
On the surface this park looks amazing! Large sites, beautiful landscaping, a large playground, and gas on site! However, I doubt we'd stay again. The lake was disgusting in the swimming area. The grass was haphazardly cut (they don't move picnic tables, etc... to cut which results in high spots). Also, the shower house had burning hot water and you had to hold down the button while washing.
Jun 01, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
Bathrooms were not cleaned the whole weekend we where there, squatters moved in next to us in a site that was already rented, noisy until about 3:00 AM. Manager didn't seem to concerned when I told him about this issues. It is a new place otherwise, new, they have planted a lot of trees, but it take some time before they provide any shade. We would go back if ever in the area again
Jun 01, 2018
May 30, 2018
Great time!!!
May 30, 2018
I reserved a spot with a group 7 weeks in advance. When I got to the campground they had given my spot away and had to move me away from my group. No discount...nothing. NOT VERY HAPPY!
May 30, 2018
Firepits were oddly placed. You guys even screwed up our reservation and had to place us in some field that was meant for the new cabins. Not to mention we were told that nothing was supposed to be over there and there ended up being 3 random campers. I'd dispute the charge for the poor quality. The donuts we're good though
May 29, 2018
Overall very good in spite of 97 degrees temps. Had three power surges had to reset breaker. Still need to cut down on the geese(poop) . First time out in an RV everything worked well. Much better than average amenities with store etc.Very good fishing 2-3 lb bass common because is catch and release only. All staff very friendly in spite of busy holiday weekend.Thanks
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
Very nice campground. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. A+ will definitely be visiting again.
May 26, 2018
May 25, 2018
We have stayed at the Waterloo/Lost Island KOA several times. It is one of the best KOA parks we stayed & highly recommend it.
May 24, 2018
Great location and great people
May 24, 2018
We enjoyed a quiet time prior to the water park opening for season.Staff was wonderful! Truly amazing store and check in!
May 24, 2018
Your showers need better attention. The soap dish was on the floor. Also you need instructions on how to run the shower water spicket. Your lots could be more level as we do not have levelers. However it looked like a lot of fun things to do with families. Your front desk help was friendly.
May 24, 2018
Nice and clean campground it will be real nice when the trees get bigger and provide some shade.
May 24, 2018
I wish that when we checked in that they would have told us they were out of stuff and stuff and stuff was not available yet.We called to order pizza that she was sure to point out we could do and they were out.Also there were signs posted all over that you were able to rent bikes, and when my boys went up to rent a banana bike they were told had not opened the shed yet. Sure wasn't any cheaper.
May 20, 2018
May 18, 2018
I sent you an email about my stay and still haven't got a response. � I will try and send it again. Hope to get my issue resolved. If not, my rating won't be as high as I gave. It came from email mcconnellj@newton.k12.ia.us. Next email will come from rjfam@iowatelecom.net. Hope to hear from you soon!! Thanks, Julie A. McConnell
May 17, 2018
Friendly staff, clean campground, returning later this summer to enjoy the beach.
May 15, 2018
Very nice weekend but somewhat cold.very nice campground.activities were very much enjoyed.
May 15, 2018
We love staying at the KOA. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and it is so peaceful there. We also enjoy the dog park which enables us to bring our dogs with us so we are not missing them too much. We love the campsites and how they are arranged and we love meeting new people.
May 14, 2018
Our stay was wonderful
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
We got connected to the wifi, but there was no internet connection with any of our devices. Also, the survey is requiring us to rate the water park even though we didn't go since it was not yet opened so we put an average score of 3.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals