Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 12, 2017
Nice facilities and staff. The tent sites need some work. The fire ring was filthy with burned beer cans and old lighter fluid bottle half melted into it. The area needs more trees to block the wind on the bluff. It would also be nice if one of the Kamping Kabins was available for people with pets.
Sep 19, 2017
Amazing! Staff was very very impressive! Definitely stay again!
Sep 13, 2017
Almost perfect.. Everything great except for the large numbers of spiders in the men's shower and toilet area,. Some bugs expected it is camping after all, but... And the fire rings were too shallow...only 6-8" deep. Fire could escape the ring way to easily. Staf was excellent and we loved the aqua-cycle, and game room area!
Sep 08, 2017
Our reserved campsite was given to another group on our second night, so we were not able to stay. We were told the computer system does not have a way of telling staff if someone has checked out. They thought we had checked out, but we had not. The staff handled the situation well by immediately refunding our second night, but we were very disappointed this happened.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Too close to the highway, so loud. Kept me up all night. We ended up packing up our tent and things at 5am in the morning to drive two and a half hours to get home to try and get some sleep.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great tent site. Great store. Will be back again
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice grocery/front desk building, but it sadly ends there. Young man at check in cared more for his buddies than for customers coming in. Women's bathroom: faucet broken, no hand soap in one dispenser, other was broken. Shower curtains didn't cover water spray from getting into dressing area. Trash on playground, full trash cans. Geese! OMG! Would never swim in that pond!
Aug 22, 2017
GREAT GET AWAY!!!
Aug 21, 2017
Not many trees for shade.....beach was kinda a mess which im guessing from other campers. Pretty pricey for cabins/camper rental. Liked it but dont believe I will drive 2.5hrs to come stay again. Wasnt able to go to the waterpark bc of weather, not much of a discount towards tickets.
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground with lots of activities to do for the whole family! A newer campground with not a lot of shade, so need to plan to bring a pop-up canopy for those sunny days.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
My girl scout troop had an outstanding time, my only comment would be that the front desk staff be more familiar with the themed activities. After calling I was directed to the wrong area of the campground for the movie.
Aug 05, 2017
It was a nice place to stay had fun on the kayaks and pedal bikes nice quiet place to relax
Aug 05, 2017
All facilities clean and well kept. Reasonable price. Would highly recommend.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
The positives: The gas station on site, the walking path around the lake, the waterpark nearby, clean bathrooms, and the convenient location of bathrooms. The negatives: The trees were immature and there was zero shade. My girlfriends and I got awoken and harassed at 2am by a couple of fellow campers who drank way too much and were out for a stroll. The tent spot we got was not on even ground and
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Very nice, neat and clean. Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2017
Nice place and friendly staff!
Jul 18, 2017
Wonderful stay!! Escort to tent site...very friendly staff. Clean showers and bathrooms. Kids loved the beach!
Jul 18, 2017
More shade. Clean bathrooms. Friendly and accommodating office staff. Wifi wasn't very strong. Traffic noise on freeway and in campground at night was a problem.
Jul 12, 2017
It's always a fun place to stay. A little disappointed this time that the beach was full of weeds.
Jul 12, 2017
This is by far the best KOA we have stayed at! Location, staff, site, everything was above expectations... Thank you for such a wonderful experience...
Jul 10, 2017
Great place to stay. Lots of activities.
Jul 10, 2017
The campground was great! Our family has a lot of fun camping for 4 nights. However, the bathrooms were NOT cleaned daily. There was human feces in one of the men's shower stalls that wasn't cleaned up for two days. It was still there when we left. Another downfall was the slimy seaweed in the swimming area. Other than that is was a great place to stay.
Jun 28, 2017
The campground was very clean and we were really excited when we arrived. We ended up packing up the tent and going home for the night because it was really windy. At first we thought it was just bad luck, but other guests that had been there for several weeks said it is always windy because of its location on a hill with no trees to block the wind.
Jun 27, 2017
greatest staff ever
Jun 21, 2017
Great place! Very clean!
Jun 12, 2017
Very poor/small tent sights. No shade from trees. Very small fire rings. Lack of parking.
Jun 12, 2017
Enjoyed the stay. Very clean and spacious campground. Kids enjoyed all the activities available. Only negative is lack of shade and moss in lake (woss was being addressed )
Jun 06, 2017
The lake with the walking path was great! The interstate noise was an issue.
May 31, 2017
Very nice and clean. Prices great for site and store. Rental of stuff was great also.
May 30, 2017
We stayed last Labor Day and had a great time. Figured why not Mem. Day The requested site, Not available on check in, even though we had been told it was ours. Asked about the all you can eat Pancake breakfast "yes of course it's on Saturday". We get there it's Sunday. They just have horrible admin skills
May 15, 2017
Campground was clean and well maintained, very nice bath and shower facilities, staff was friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2017
My late check in wasn't left out for me and the power plug was jammed and I couldn't use plug into it.
Sep 26, 2016
This is one of the best KOA's that I have stayed at, over the years that I have been a KOA member.
Sep 07, 2016
Would be great for rv camping but not for tents. No trees or shade, like a parking lot. Our tent site was not level, nor the other two beside us. Tent sites were an after thought. For rv camping, you should be fine.
Sep 06, 2016
Really great camp with park and beach close to tent sites!
Sep 06, 2016
Very nice campground with lots of amenities!! Only drawback is no shade
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
We absolutely loved it. It was a little pricey for a campsite. But we enjoyed it very much we go to lost island every year and look forward to coming back next year!! The campsite was clean and very well taken care of!
Aug 09, 2016
This was a relaxing weekend. The place is awesome. We have been in some other Koa campgrounds and it has always been a great experience. It lacks of kids area games though.No pool was also something we miss. The big jumping pillows of other KOAs is something my kids were looking for. The only place to play was the lake but the water was disgusting with death fish close to the beach .
Aug 08, 2016
The Rec committee was awesome with having fun things to do though I wish we could have seen the schedule of events beforehand as we would have planned differently.
Aug 08, 2016
So much to do for the family at the campground plus close to other activities like the Waterpark.
Jul 20, 2016
Very nice place but in the morning the people working were unfriendly and rude. When we checked in the 2 young ladies were wonderful. They do not deliver your firewood....almost all other KOA'S DO!
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed the roomy tent site, the walking path around the lake, and the movie that was projected on the side of a white building in the evening.
Jul 08, 2016
The Waterloo Iowa koa is a great campground. The tent site we had was a good size and the staff was excellent! My fiancé and I will be returning to this koa next summer..
Jul 07, 2016
Dirty: trash in fire pit, unflushed toilets, dirty showers, shower stall doors did not latch. Free wifi did not work.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy