Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 17, 2018
We only stayed one night but your facility has to be one of the nicest KOA's we have ever stayed in. I even took pictures to show family. :)
Apr 15, 2018
Too cold for any of the activities but great site. Glad you are open year round!
Apr 13, 2018
Stayed overnight early in the season. Park nearly empty. Friendly staff. Water wasn't yet turned on, but easy to fill at the convenience store. Cute cabins. WIFI was good. Site level. Easy in easy out.
Apr 05, 2018
It is a very nice park and the fuel and propane on site are extra very much appreciated benefits. The only comment I would make is advertising “open all year” is not quite true in that no showers or bathrooms were open. Suggest stating that limited services in winter depending on weather. Otherwise very good park
Apr 02, 2018
I cleaned the toilet and fridge out when we arrived. But the floors and linens were all clean. The place was nice, maybe slightly spendy since no kayaks or paddle boats available this time of year. The lady that checked us out was VERY nice!!! We are looking forward to trying this place again in the summer. It worked out well for my family.
Mar 31, 2018
We were tired after a long day of driving on snow-covered roads.and arrived when the Campground was in the process of being plowed out from a major snowstorm. We got stuck in the campground. The manager stopped his plowing and went out of his way to help us get into our reserved site. Those in the office were extremely understanding in getting us situated for the night. Jerry and Donna T
Mar 31, 2018
Mar 27, 2018
Was here during snowstorm. They did a good job of plowing. There is a lot of road noise. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will deliver pizza to your site.
Mar 26, 2018
When we arrived to our site - it was very dirty. Garbage left all over, in burning pit and all over the site. I had to remove garbage from parking spot so we could park without damage to our rv. There was also a knife on the parking area. we told the staff about it - we stayed two nights, nothing got cleaned up while we were there.
Mar 24, 2018
Mostly empty in the back area and water is still off due to cold weather. Gravel pull-thru site was good overall but not level side to side. Sewer connection was a bit far from the pad but we could reach it with one hose pulled full out.
Mar 20, 2018
did not use showers or laundry. We were there in March so there were not many people there. Very nice fenced dog area. good places to walk. Had pizza delivered to our site from the on site café.
Mar 17, 2018
Mar 13, 2018
We stayed here in early March. Happy that it was open and available, but with NO bathhhouse available (including showers) they are price gouging at $40+ per night for only electric hookup!!! Looks like a nice KOA, but obviously the owners have one thing in mind: Money!
Feb 25, 2018
Feb 19, 2018
I have other places I could stay but I choose this location is awesome. The employees are very friendly and willing to help out with anything to accommodate you. I also stay at the Waterloo location during the summer and everything that's provided, is definitely a double thumbs up!!!! Thank you very much for letting me provide info about this location...
Dec 15, 2017
We have been at this KOA for 2 years. Loved the campground and the people we met there!
Nov 19, 2017
Nov 16, 2017
just a stop over stay in October 2017. Staff very friendly. Campground lightly occupied
Nov 15, 2017
We had a girls weekend with 7 of us and stayed in a cabin. It was the perfect place to hang as a group, gather around the bonfire, play cards, and just enjoy our time. Everything worked great and the weather cooperated. It was off season, so not a lot of activity, but we made our own! :)
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 15, 2017
Awesome place to stay!
Nov 15, 2017
We didn’t use the water park. Just the campground. Have stayed at this campground several times and has always been good.
Nov 15, 2017
We always recommend this KOA to anyone going through that area even if they have to go out of their way a little to use this KOA. This is our favorite KOA. Nice to find a campground where they understand they don't have to put everyone right next to each other if they have space. This KOA still has a speed limit problem with their permantees not understanding what a speed limit means.
Nov 15, 2017
Nicely laid out, our dogs were very happy to have their own space. Quiet and clean.
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
It was off season so we got in very easy.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
It was our very first camping trip. The campground was well set up, we enjoyed having a deluxe full hookup! The patio set up and fire ring were well worth the additional price. It provided a great environment to get together with friends and make memories. We will be back again!
Oct 22, 2017
Great place
Oct 18, 2017
The campground is picturesque in the Shenadoah Valley. Campsites are nice and maintained to 5-star standard.
Oct 18, 2017
Are site could have been a little closer to level otherwise we were glad for our overnight stop
Oct 13, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Overall good time. Nice place. Fun stuff for the kid's on the Halloween weekend. We like coming here, but the one thing I really really wish was better was the wifi. it isn't really usuable at all. soo slow.
Oct 12, 2017
I have been camping there for several years and always loved it til a few months ago. Staff knows nothing! A bunch of kids who havent been properly trained. Checking in is a nightmare. My husband argued for twenty minutes with the girl because she said we couldnt use a koa gift card. This is the same gift card we had been using all summer. Wont be going back next year if changes arent made.
Oct 12, 2017
Everything was great! We will see ya'll again in October 2018!
Oct 12, 2017
Great stay as usual. Had a problem with the 30amp circuit which was immediately repaired. On this survey add a NA response for the Waterpark. It was closed during our stay and not everyone goes to it when it is open!!!!!!
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 12, 2017
Great stat
Oct 12, 2017
Park was clean. Staff nice.
Oct 12, 2017
Nice facilities and staff. The tent sites need some work. The fire ring was filthy with burned beer cans and old lighter fluid bottle half melted into it. The area needs more trees to block the wind on the bluff. It would also be nice if one of the Kamping Kabins was available for people with pets.
Oct 10, 2017
I prefer staying in the small cabins versus a hotel room. This was my 3rd time staying since I discovered the place this summer. My only complaint was the noise created by some of the other guests. They were extremely drunk and loud on Friday night/early Sat. morning. Is there someone on the premisis who handles such events?
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
We have stayed at this park a number of times. Staff is very helpful. Nicely laid out park.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Great Park but the shower pressure/valves need help.
Sep 29, 2017
Nice campground Good location.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals