Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Info: 319-233-3485

Email This Campground

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2018
Not thing wrong is the laundry machines need new ones
Sep 20, 2018
Clean
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 20, 2018
It was our 60th Anniversary and our 5 children picked your campground. I must say that it was great and a very nice place to stay. The area was clean and we enjoyed our stay there. The campsites were very neat and had extra space for relaxing and some games. Gene Bowers
Sep 19, 2018
Nice new and clean facility. Staff was friendly and helpful. Being a member of the Night Sky Initiative, we appreciated the KOA staying "dark". No need for lighting up the campground like a parking lot. Camping "under the stars" is what camping is all about, right? Right!
Sep 18, 2018
Had some issues with check-in, but they were resolved quickly. The cabin couch was in rough condition, the backplash peeling off by sink. Our outside patio swing was broken. The lake was disgusting, moss everywhere! This place has really gone downhill throughout the years.
Sep 18, 2018
Restrooms were clean and quiet. Staff was pleasant. Grounds were well maintained (other than disrespectful campers not cleaning up their trash prior to pulling out, multiple occasions!) Would like to see more campground staff present.
Sep 18, 2018
Overall very good, good fishing, nice walk trail, need to get rid of the geese/poop everywhere, and do something about the lake weeds near shore
Sep 18, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
We had a nice site, and some good food from the convenience store. The diesel was very reasonably priced. It was an appreciation weekend for VKR members, so one night was free---that made it well worth the price. We enjoyed our stay.
Sep 14, 2018
It was great except they put us in a wring campsite from what I booked, and they had shuttles information to the casino out, but whennwe went to book a shuttle they said the service has been suspended for the winter. Unorganized, but campgrounds were awesome.
Sep 14, 2018
Sep 14, 2018
We stayed after Labor Day and missed the summer activity. The Park was sparsely populated, quiet, and pretty. If the park had on-site trash pick up and a bump free entrance, I would have given it 5 stars.
Sep 14, 2018
Very nice campground, nice pads plenty of room. Bathroom could be a little cleaner. Traffic inside the park needs to slow down, we were on a site on what I would take as a main road and cars going well over 10 mph.
Sep 14, 2018
We liked the open feeling of the campground. Lots of room!
Sep 14, 2018
We were not led to our spot which I always liked about KOAs. When I went to pull into my spot there was a picnic table where I was supposed to park, in fact there were many spots with tables in the way. I presumed they cut the grass but did not put the tables back.
Sep 13, 2018
Sep 12, 2018
just OK if you don't have kids.
Sep 12, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
The park has a beautiful setting and our site was a nice pull thru for our 5th wheel and truck. Our biggest complaint was the cable. Nine of the 25 channels did not work which included 3 of the 4 local channels. When checking with the office we were told that they did not have a good connection system with the provider and that was it. I suggest get rid of cable and charge less.
Sep 11, 2018
Nice campground with easy access, adequate interior roads, and fine utilities. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our site was level with a well manicured area around it. Since this was that part of the season when the children were at school, our stay was very quiet. I took time to visit the John Deere Museum and downtown Waterloo, which was pleasant.
Sep 11, 2018
Very spacious deluxe campsites!
Sep 11, 2018
Very nice KOA!!! Everything was great and we enjoyed the short time we were there. Only improvement would be to better prepare your staff on providing best directions for travelers on their way to your campground.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
The only complaint I have was the noise from the roads/interstate highways. Other then that I really liked the campground. We didn’t do the water park as it was closed and to expensive as well. The campground gets a thumbs up.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
Bathroom never had soap by sinks. Bathrooms and showers were dirty.
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 06, 2018
This is the 3 time we’ve been here the staff are great people to work with and very friendly they have a lot to do for everyone at the camp ground very clean love this place
Sep 06, 2018
Host was pleasant and accommodating. Fast check-in. Site was clean and large. No complaints!
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Incredible KOA with a great staff. Sad to say it rained hard during our stay so couldn't enjoy the campground like we wanted. If we come this way again we will definitely be back!
Sep 05, 2018
Very clean and well kept up but not a lot of help in the store only one person working not used to going to camp site without escort seen a lot of people quite confused of where to go
Sep 05, 2018
A good amount of room between campsites, very nice store on the property. I was a little disappointed that the campground did not come around and pick up trash. Other KOA campgrounds I have stayed at, do this. A minor inconvenience. Would definitely stay again!
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Positives - camp sites are good size and pretty level, plenty of activities to keep busy, town close by, bathroom facilities were nice. Negatives - Bathroom facility was not cleaned or re-stocked the 3 days we were there.
Sep 05, 2018
Waterpark wasn’t open due to weather but it looked nice. The campground is still fairly new and no trees or shade. Needs to be more activities for kids. Very close to interstate and city. Not much of a “camping” experience.
Sep 05, 2018
could have been a 5, but 1 of 2 washing machines was inop
Sep 05, 2018
We have stayed at this KOA a few times. It is clean and well maintained. We have a problem with the layout of campsites. It is hard to find your site. We usually arrive after dark and it’s very hard to read site numbers on posts. We needed lp but no one on duty knew how to pump it. The camp store is great.
Sep 05, 2018
Love the camp grounds. Clean. Staff was very help friendly. Wish we got to finish our conoe and kiyaks. But weather wasnt be very nice. .we will be back next year.
Sep 04, 2018
It was great even with all the rain we had a blast. Would like to see more activities though
Sep 04, 2018
Our stay was great, nice large sites, close to town and lots to do. While I was in a RV my sister was in a tent and it may help to put sand or some sort of raised level area for tents to be set up as she had problems with water puddling under her tent. Other than that it was great and we plan to return next Labor day weekend!
Sep 04, 2018
lots a activities to do, very clean and friendly staff
Sep 04, 2018
Was very pleased with our stay! Patio areas were a great perk to have. This place is very clean & our pups loved the dog park! Will definitely be back & next time we’ll hopefully get to come during a time where it doesn’t rain the entire weekend and when the Waterpark is open. Overall definitely recommending to family/friends. Gave a 3 on Waterpark only b/c it looked fun but is closed for seas
Sep 04, 2018
Loved the campground and all it had to offer. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Other than the rain it as great
Sep 04, 2018
The place was very clean All the employees were great and very helpful. Bathroom/showers were great. Other than all the rain on Labor Day weekend it was GREAT PLACE
Sep 04, 2018
Even with all the rain we had a great time! We come for the boat races on Labor day weekend.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy