Waterloo / Lost Island Waterpark KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2483

Info: 319-233-3485

Email

4550 Hess Rd

Waterloo, IA 50701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
3 months! Not one complaint! Office crew was the best!
Sep 08, 2017
Our reserved campsite was given to another group on our second night, so we were not able to stay. We were told the computer system does not have a way of telling staff if someone has checked out. They thought we had checked out, but we had not. The staff handled the situation well by immediately refunding our second night, but we were very disappointed this happened.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Activities are not organized and beach is filthy. Expensive for what you get
Sep 07, 2017
Just as good as every other time we've stayed. Nice job!
Sep 07, 2017
Family friendly, well kept and polite staff
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Stayed many times over the last three years. Always loved it til recently. The staff is a bunch of young kids who know nothing and just horse around. The bathrooms are suppose to be cleaned daily but the same gross band aid was in the shower all weekend. It's a nice campground and I sincerely hope they get some mature staff hired.
Sep 06, 2017
Na
Sep 06, 2017
Nice stay great activites for kids during holiday weekend.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Nice grounds Could have an escort to site like other koas
Sep 06, 2017
Came in on a Friday evening labor day weekend and smooth check in, staffed correctly
Sep 06, 2017
Good location near highway but not so close as to be noisy. Clean restrooms. Very good dog exercise park. Very much appreciate having automotive fuel pumps on site.
Sep 06, 2017
This has been our favorite KOA for 2-3 years, but something has changed. The facility is not kept up like it use to be. The employees use to bend over backwards to help you but they do not anymore.
Sep 06, 2017
It was good, we go here 2-3 times a year. I'm assuming it is under new management as it doesn't seem as organized or kept up as before. When checking in I couldn't use my points because he didn't know how to do that. Which is not a huge deal as I can use them elsewhere, just an example of how the staff is not as informed as they once were. Water bikes and boats not returned,just sitting along edge
Sep 06, 2017
The dog park was a mess, the gates were broken and the trash was full, if you had a small dog it would escape due to the gap between gates. The park needed maintenance, mowing and trees trimmed plus some trash pick up. The women behind the counter was grumpy because the kids that took my reservation didn't ask for a deposit but had to really let me know she was going to let management know
Sep 06, 2017
Too close to the highway, so loud. Kept me up all night. We ended up packing up our tent and things at 5am in the morning to drive two and a half hours to get home to try and get some sleep.
Sep 06, 2017
I'd give it a better rating but..they don't lead u to campsite...and they need a good caretaker to spruce the place up a little....just a lot of little things need cleaned up some...
Sep 06, 2017
The water park advertised being open through Labor Day and it was not...weather would have been perfect. Part of the draw to come was the water park. Service of staff in the office wasn't great. Disorganized, not knowledgeable and didn't share or seem to know information abouttactivities in the Kampground or at the water park.
Sep 06, 2017
We had a wonderful weekend. We enjoyed the group cardboard boat building and races.
Sep 06, 2017
This was not as good as previous stays. Staff not helpful. We were not escorted to our site upon arrival. We were not informed of any activities for the holiday weekend. Two staff members were busy flirting with each other when we checked in so another staff member helped us after he was finished proceeding another camper. Site was smaller and not level.
Sep 06, 2017
Loved the fishing pond, beach, walking path, and disc golf course! There was a bit too much moss in the pond for my liking though, and I wished the KOA staff drove around to patrol the campgrounds a bit more. Still, we would stay again! Staff was friendly and made activities fun for families!
Sep 06, 2017
Great time for the family.
Sep 05, 2017
The kid riding his dirt bike around the lake for hours on end put a damper on our stay. It was our first time staying in a cabin and overall, we really enjoyed it and will be staying in one again. This KOA is really nice and I hope it's the standard of KOAs and not the exception as we plan on utilizing KOAs for future trips.
Sep 05, 2017
The lake is absolutely horrible, they need to add fountains or something to help with movement to decrease the algae formation. And for being a holiday weekend I was surprised the grounds were not mowed or trimmed of weeds.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a little "staycation" with my grandchildren ages 7-12. They all had a great time and especially enjoyed the recumbent bikes!! It was quiet and seemed very family-oriented. I know it is a newer property and so the trees haven't had time to grow, but I would like to suggest maybe an awning over the deck or the ability to rent a big umbrella or something - not much shade.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great tent site. Great store. Will be back again
Sep 04, 2017
Had issues with sewer drop it was app 1 foot higher than our discharge. Campsite had ruts that we unable to see till we almost fell. The speed of guests & staff entering & leaving the camping areas were excessive. Did not see a speed sign posted. People were driving in excess of 20 MPH.
Sep 04, 2017
They let us move to a different lot because the sewer connection was too far away on our first lot.
Sep 02, 2017
great campground close to waterpark. Plenty of activities onsite as well. Will consider staying longer next time.
Sep 02, 2017
This camp ground was quite large & we loved the beach. We were quite upset however that our dog was attacked & bitten by a neighboring dog the first day we arrived. It looked as those they lived at the camp ground. When we mentioned the incident to the lady at the campground we were told the dog has its shots as they had to go through the vet & get the vaccination info last time it attacked a dog!
Aug 30, 2017
1st family getaway with all my children and grandchildren. We had a great time! Would definitely stay there again .Allready looking for other koa's in Iowa with cabins.
Aug 30, 2017
Our bedding was sandy and I found a bug between the sheets and bedspread. The floor was swept but not moped. I'd wipe up our spells but would also get plenty of dirt. The set up is darling and we had a get time.
Aug 30, 2017
This was one of the best campgrounds we've been to, we will definitely come back and recommend to others! Only issue we had was with the majority of people not driving the speed limit...and we were located right by the park with kids around. Recommend more speed limit signs for awareness as well as a kid zone sign or something! Majority of Cars were probably going around 25-30 mph.
Aug 30, 2017
The Park was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The site was set up well with no crowding by the adjacent sites. We did not get a chance to use the water park.
Aug 30, 2017
you were our first stay at a KOA it was fine just one nite nothing to compare to was restfull no problems.
Aug 29, 2017
Reservations we're messed up
Aug 29, 2017
Stayed for three nights in a cabin - everything was great! Very clean & quiet and beds were comfy.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Very nice grocery/front desk building, but it sadly ends there. Young man at check in cared more for his buddies than for customers coming in. Women's bathroom: faucet broken, no hand soap in one dispenser, other was broken. Shower curtains didn't cover water spray from getting into dressing area. Trash on playground, full trash cans. Geese! OMG! Would never swim in that pond!
Aug 29, 2017
Short stay. Enjoyed the enclosed dog park. Nice playground.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Everything was fine, except your wifi it needs some attention.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Largest KOA I have been to. Nice big lots. BUT garbage on beach. Wind blew beach furniture into lake & I removed some of it. Next day still had furniture in lake, also tipped over on vacant lots. Garbage on grounds. Set up your furniture on the beach like a resort. Would be beautiful.
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice the only thing and in time the trees are growing need more shade from sun but will sure be back the next time we camp at waterloo
Aug 26, 2017
We enjoyed the upgraded lot we reserved with a patio set. The lack of shade was disappointing, most of the trees in the campground were half dead. It was a quiet weekend, so it was nice and peaceful. Having a firewood delivery to your site would have been nice, it's a far walk from the gas station/gift shop to the camp sites. We utilized the shuttle service offered to get to/from the water park.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy