Temecula / Vail Lake KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2019
Always worth the trip. Everything met our expectations!
Sep 20, 2019
Our family enjoyed staying at Vail Lake KOA. Your site is close to the Temecula Wineries that we enjoy visiting. The many family activities that you have going on, a full bar both alcohol and ice cream is great.
Sep 20, 2019
The staff is doing a lot of work so we're excited to see the improvements to the facilities. Overall it was a peaceful midweek stay.
Sep 19, 2019
Enjoyed the wildlife on the grounds.
Sep 19, 2019
We stayed in a 50 amp space. All of the 50 amp spaces are quite uneven including the cement spot. This needs to be greatly improved before we would return. The area on top of the hill is lovely but it needs showers, bathrooms and trash cans. Would be nice to have a refrigerator, microwave and a sink in the gathering room for group rallys.
Sep 18, 2019
I will ask for a different site next time but the staff were so kind to the kids and helpful to us. All the amenities were great. We enjoyed our time there.
Sep 18, 2019
Very peaceful! Great pools! Great night entertainment! Awesome Bloody Mary's!
Sep 17, 2019
Everything was good. The only thing that I didn't understand is the place was pretty empty. So why did they put 4 RVs next to each other and there was lots of empty spots. We had some annoying neighbors they had 4 dogs and the lady was very loud before 7am.
Sep 17, 2019
We like thew park but something has to be done about the potholes in the campground roads
Sep 17, 2019
Great place to camp especially with children. Only issue is the availability and access to dumpsters for day to day trash.
Sep 17, 2019
Potholes so deep that you'll need to rebalance wheels and realign your rig. Old & run down facility. Not worth $5 / night IMO.
Sep 17, 2019
Staff are top notch! Camp ground was clean and concert was entertaining, thank you. Pricing for a nights stay seemed a bit steep. $80 bucks, wow!
Sep 16, 2019
Beautiful location with lots to do. Pools were freezing! Would love to have jacuzzis. Need to have parking at check in if it's going to be done in the office instead of at the front entrance.
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice bathrooms very clean.
Sep 16, 2019
The KOA Staff is always fantastic. The facilities are in need of much repair/updating. The interior roads are worn out and the campsites need to be modernized. For $70 a night I would expect better facilities. Perhaps there are plans for this upgrade since KOA has only been managing since February.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
The staff are super friendly and nice. Lots of activities. The campground is beautiful lots of trees. We had a great time and will definitely go back.
Sep 16, 2019
We’ve been camping here for years, we love it and usually bring other families who camp too. However, the paying to hold a site thing we don’t agree with when the person doesn’t show up all weekend . We had asked for spots 52/53 and were told they were booked all weekend , un used all weekend when we were camping directly across from these sites, we have a big trailer please . Not happy abou
Sep 16, 2019
Good time had by all. But almost everyone was also unhappy with the almost total lack of cell service. Only complaint by my group..
Sep 16, 2019
KOA has done a great job of upgrading this huge property. My main concern with staying here is the lack of water... as in you need to be able to access the lake. I understand it is closed to everyone right now. But I hope KOA is working to gain access for the campers staying at the KOA.
Sep 16, 2019
Staff was amazing. Bella who checked me in and a young man who offered to take my propane tanks from my campsite to fill them at the bottom of the hill was great. Gary who made the drinks was an absolute joy to be around. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The only thing I would suggest to fix is the power boxes. My cord kept falling and unplugging itself because of the design.
Sep 16, 2019
Nice shade trees,
Sep 16, 2019
Love the place, however you guys need more staff.....
Sep 16, 2019
This was our first stay and first time using our new trailer. We stayed on the Chardonnay Mesa, which was perfect with trees and grass area. The staff was all amazing, and Gary’s bloody Mary’s are the best! Looking forward to coming back!
Sep 16, 2019
Beautiful,clean bathrooms &kid friendly.Pool is a little cold but worth it.My one issue is the tent camping is usually empty & the farthest from cell services.We had an incident,someone threatened us & we were far from the top where there is service.Told security we were afraid and they said call the cops.Security drove that same person back to our campground. Scary moment and not a lot of help
Sep 16, 2019
Lots of different spots to stay if you like active or quiet campsites. Plenty of things to do during the day. Professional and friendly people at the reservation desk. The only problem is the ranger/pickup truck driving around all night. He is driving quite fast and shows up every 5 mins. Can be overwhelming and offputting to campers looking for peace and relaxation.
Sep 15, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
There was broken glass in my campsite. 6 large pieces. I called the front desk and left a voicemail and no one called me back or did anything about it. We wanted to ride our bikes to the wineries and asked an employee if a certain road would I get it us there. She said yes. We rode for 3 miles and there was a large gate that read no trespassing. Then we had to ride all the way back. Waste of time.
Sep 14, 2019
Enjoyed our stay but seems like upgrades are still in process.
Sep 14, 2019
What a pretty site. Looking out over valleys and mts. I really enjoyed the space between sites.
Sep 10, 2019
One of our best camping experiences to date! From start to finish, the staff was friendly, helpful and present, without hovering. Most beautiful, spacious site with the best view ever! Delightful cocktails at the bar - enjoyed the opportunity to connect with other campers there. We'll definitely be back!!
Sep 10, 2019
peacefull at our off week stay but hot. wish we had cable.need more for grand kids to do,store needs a little more to offer, incase of food run out.
Sep 10, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
The only issue we had while we were there was the electricity would go out, a technician was on it right away but I felt like the system may be out dated. We liked what we saw of the facility and how KOA is updating and bringing back the old vail lake resort.
Sep 05, 2019
reserved campsites over 6 months ago (february) sites given away to other campers 3 months ago (may). reserved specific sites, and did not get those sites because we did not pay "site guarantee fee". never had to pay a guarantee fee in the past, AND WE WERE NEVER OFFERED THIS SITE GUARANTEE OPTION. Shame on KOA for changing policy and not notifying loyal campers!!!
Sep 04, 2019
Overall, great camping, and super-nice staff. But we camp in a van without a bathroom. The first morning, two of the three men's room toilets at Chardonnay Mesa were completely clogged, disgusting, and unusable. The second morning, all three were like this. They were in this condition until well beyond 9am both mornings. That was a pretty big problem.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
I will start out by saying the staff was friendly and for the most part professional. We stayed there Memorial weekend in Chardonnay Mesa site18. It was hot and had little shade. Our power went out twice that weekend but the young man that they sent to fix the problem was prompt and concerned and got us back up in no time. I wish that I could remember his name because he deserves some recognition.
Sep 03, 2019
Great stay! We really liked the kids activities, our 2 had a lot of fun. More control on the pools is necessary. People were allowed to set up easy ups inside the pool gates before the pool opened. These easy ups took over the whole pool deck and it was really crowded. I think you should make easy ups go on the grass outside the fence. It was Labor Day so I’m sure the campground was extra crowd
Sep 03, 2019
Great camping area! clean, very organized, easy to get around the campground. Very nice Happy Camper Café, good food. Entertainment was great, music, plenty of seating for all. Cute projects for kids. Overall a great place to relax and camp. We enjoyed the whole weekend. Swimming pools were great to cool off and meet other people who were also camping. Very happy place to cam
Sep 03, 2019
It was a busy holiday weekend. Gold carts are out of control. Kids driving them back and forward. No quiet hours with golf carts driving around all hours. The grass area was occupied and mud pit with wet jumpers and people taking up the grass area.. been here several times and never had this issue.
Sep 03, 2019
It would be great if the KOA updated the facilities and we were able to access the lake.
Sep 03, 2019
They gave us the best spot with the trees/views. Staff accommodated our late check out. Our surge protector needed at least three bungee cords to strap it on/ upside down because of the electric set up. The sewer hookup was tight and secure, but there was sewer gas that occasionally blew by. We enjoyed the full hookups without worrying about filling the tanks or running down the solar.
Sep 03, 2019
The pool was great. I was disappointed that the tent area had no picnic tables or some kind of grate for the fire pit.
Sep 03, 2019
One particular staff was very rude to my daughter who has bad anxiety
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Enjoyed our stay at Vail Lake. Enjoyed the music at the pool.
Sep 03, 2019
Managed to get cancellation for a Labor day weekend. Kids had a fantastic time with all the activities and pool. The bathrooms were always clean. We had a great time!
Sep 18, 2019
Dog friendly, nice pool
- Stefanie Ford on Google
Sep 15, 2019
Great place for family and friends. Kids have lots of activitys and the staff is great. We will make the trip back for sure.
- John Riel on Google
Sep 01, 2019
Nice local camping. Now managed by KOA!
- Papa Dan the Uber and Lyft man on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.