Temecula / Vail Lake KOA Reviews

We Are Open for Camping! Check here for the current status of amenities and recreation openings.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately the power went out Sunday about 3am in the morning. One of our family members has a C-Pap machine. We were informed later in the day it was a planned outage. The park should have told us about the planned outage so we could have made other arrangements. Thank you for all the fun activities.
Jun 30, 2020
Very nice/helpful employees. Lovely campground. One significant complaint. The large party with many campsites involved across the street from us played loud music from morning until 10 pm ALL DAY SATURDAY. Loud base hammering away. Ok to play music, but our experience is that campgrounds usually restrict sound level to not extend beyond your own camp. Nice people. Disrespectfully loud music.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Very friendly staff! Great terrain for my morning run, Loved, loved, loved dancing outdoors to great music! Thank you, Valerie! (I think that's the DJ`s name) Tried to make reservations for a family group in the next few months. Not surprisingly they're booked several months out. Just wish we had a "heads up" re the planned power outage by Edison the morning we left.
Jun 30, 2020
Our stay was awesome even during COVID and a slight power outage. We really enjoyed our time away. Thank You
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Great family time! Volleyball, frisbee and just relaxing. Love all the green grass! Already looking forward to our next stay!
Jun 30, 2020
Great stay, clean camp site, easy check in and out.
Jun 30, 2020
We had a power outage but that isn’t KOAs fault. Fortunately the weather was great. The roads are in terrible shape and need repacked. The sites are not level, some are unusable for my RV. Really need to upgrade this campground. The wifi is outstanding as are all of the facilities.
Jun 30, 2020
We had a great trip. Fast curb side check in. Great friendly staff. Nice large shaded camp sites.
Jun 30, 2020
There were way too many people and the sites were too close together.
Jun 30, 2020
We have been to Vail Lake several times and have always enjoyed ourselves. Since becoming part of KOA, we believe that the campground has gained in appearance, the service has always been good. We think that Vail Lake is a great place to camp. (We also hope the frog pond comes back.)
Jun 30, 2020
The ppl near us had extremely loud extremely extremely loud generator I don’t know how that was allowed then the ppl next to us had about 30 ppl when we ready to leave we had to wait for them to leave first otherwise we couldn’t unhook they used every bit of space overcrowded
Jun 30, 2020
We tried to get a golf cart and we were given the wrong number. We also wanted to go fishing but we didn't have a golf cart. We were not told about the pool having limited people and needing an appointment when we checked in so by the time we tried to go to the pool it was booked. I also felt the camp sites were a little small and close to each other.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
i love the places is safe for all family
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Everything was great, staff very friendly. Spots were great, lots of space and shady. Only thing is we didn't have power one from around 3am till noon the next day but we were fine, not KOA's fault Already booked another stay. Thank you, looking forward to our next camping trip there!
Jun 30, 2020
Stay was great except for very very loud both Friday and Saturday night after the 10 curfew. Friday night went on well past midnight and Saturday night till midnight. Generators going and people yelling and howling. Other than that the stay was amazing..... We were out in the Arroyo Seco and it would be nice if someone patrolled the area after quiet time to ensure this rule is being followed.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
We liked the campsite, but wish there was enforcement of quiet time. Unfortunately, certain groups of campers were loud and obnoxious until the early morning hours, which was disruptive to the enjoyment of everyone around them. No one wants to risk retaliation for speaking directly to those individuals who are already acting in a disrespectful way. A KOA rep doing that task would have helped.
Jun 30, 2020
Vail Lake was awesome with many fun things for our family of 6! It is close to town if you need it but far enough away to feel remote. The campground is still undergoing some renovations and has a little ways to go in order to be a nicer KOA. The buildings/bathrooms and roads throughout the park need some maintenance. The camping spots could use a fresh layer of gravel so as to have less dirt.
Jun 30, 2020
Staff was outstanding, every single person very helpful and knowledgeable. Campground AND restroom/shower was clean. Large pool area accommodate lots of people.
Jun 30, 2020
Overall, the stay was fun for all, and the staff seemed to be responsive and helpful. I think it will be helpful if the KOA Staff implements the Quiet Hours policy since there are families who want to get a somewhat peaceful night of rest during their stay. It may also help if there are more clearly defined guidelines in regards to mask-wearing. We had a memorable time!
Jun 30, 2020
We stayed in arroyo seco. I've been to the campground many times. But never in a arroyo seco before. I won't stay in those sites again I have an RV with a generator, which I used very little. Too many people want to run their generators from 7 a.m. till 10 p.m. every night. you can't hear anything but generators running the whole day into the night. Generators should be limited to 9am to 8pm.
Jun 30, 2020
Smooth and fast process for checking in. Had a nice spacious site in the shade within the Arroyo section, but found no fire pit or picnic bench. Called back to the front desk and they quickly brought in a fire pit, which was great. None of the sites in this section have picnic benches. Wish they would enforce the quiet time, as we had neighbors up partying until 2:30am - bad for a family camp.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Best campground ever!
Jun 29, 2020
We reserved Chardonnay spots 66-81 as a group. We’d planned to use the grass area quite a bit. Upon checking in on Thursday, we requested that it be mowed so that the bees in the area would disperse. We were told it would be completed but it was never mowed. The power was out beginning at 3AM on Sunday. Apparently it was a planned outage but we weren’t told by KOA. This caused a lot of problem
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
We loved the amenities, and the staff is phenomenal! Well run, we had a great time!
Jun 29, 2020
Pump track was a hit!
Jun 29, 2020
Awesome place had a great family trip
Jun 29, 2020
Had another nice and relaxing weekend at Vail Lake KOA, The best thing is even though it was rather full, the Campsites are spaced out so you're not atop each other. Lots of activities for everyone! Can't wait to come back.
Jun 29, 2020
Temecula KOA is the best, with COVID 19 we found ourself stuck in California, we are from Ohio. A couple other campgrounds kicked us out when the virus erupted. Vail Lake allowed us to stay past their 28 day limit. We appreciate that very much as we are traveling retired full timers. Thank you so very much.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Beautiful and ready to go back .���������
Jun 29, 2020
Our only complaint was a power outage in the middle of the night that lasted until we left. Campers should have been made aware of the outage as I'm sure they were notified by the power company (based on the major work being done out on the main road).
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Usually Vail Lake/Koa is a great spot to camp with the family and we love the campground, however the power went out at 3am and was not restored and no one from the campground came around to tell us. I was a bit Disappointed. Other than that it was great as usual
Jun 29, 2020
Our daughters soccer team went to hang out and do some activity together. We stayed for 3 nights and it was wonderful. Since KOA has taken over there are more activities abs more workers taking care of things. Every single family can’t wait to return.
Jun 29, 2020
Our site was very nice. Open space with good views all around...Space was quiet at night and full of activity during the day. Kids playing and riding bikes and have a great time. Very nice. We were in lower Chardonnay, and it was perfect. Our spot #33 was open. Shade trees and a nice breeze completed it. If someone finds our step ladder we left by the BBQ let us know and we will pick it u
Jun 29, 2020
I didn't like the pool hours I feel if you can have 60 people that you should be able to at least a hundred at a time and be able to go multiple times through the day and didn't like no power the last day feel We should be refunded or comped for that do to the fact that's what we pay for when we have full hook up camp spots.
Jun 29, 2020
Campground was a great experience for the kids and as a parent I appreciated all the social distancing and face mask requirements. Lots of fun activities for the kids and enjoyed the three pools. We were unable to get internet all weekend and power was down from 3:30am Sunday to when we checked out Sunday which made it hard to cook food or pull in slide outs. Overall great experience.
Jun 29, 2020
I Still think it needs work to meet KOA standards. My water connection didn't have a handle on it and I had to use a pair of pliers to open it but water pressure was OK. It appears that over time it has not been kept up. One of my biggest complaints at this KOA Campground is the lack of enforcement of noise. All day long some sites would plan music that half the campground could hear.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Great stay, except that we had no power the last day June 28). Also, can I suggest that you put up a couple of hooks in the shower stalls. It would help tremendously to be able to hang your clean clothes and towel away from the dusty and smoky clothes and the toiletries.
Jun 29, 2020
Our stay was quite okay, only issue is wifi code is provided, however there was NO SIGNAL OR CONNECTIVITY AVAILABLE, NEITHER FOR AN EMERGENCY, IF NEEDED. AND THE WORSE, NO ELECTRICITY AVAILABLE AT CAMPING SITES 328...327... HOW COME??? WHY OTHER CAMPERS CAN HAVE AN ACCESS AMD WE DIDN'T? TIME TO STEP UP AND MAKE IT FAIR AVAILABLE TO ALL.
Jun 29, 2020
We have been coming there for years... thru all the owners and mgmt companies. KOA is doing a great job in fixing up this place and keeping it going.
Jun 30, 2020
Great camp ground. Great customer service. Pool was open, but had to make appointment or be on wait list due to COVID regulations. Mountain biking was awesome. Access to lake was closed. Road washed out. But we were able to ride on a maintenance road on a ridge above it. Great night life, has a bar, with outside DJ, music offered fun dancing. Has a cafe, store and lots of games like miniature golf. Highly recommend!
- Tracy Hild on Google
Jun 21, 2020
Cool, Welcoming place to stay
- jeff lowden on Google
Jun 21, 2020
Great family camping
- Travis Cohn on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.