Temecula / Vail Lake KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1873

Reserve: 800-562-1873

Info: 951-303-0173

Info: 951-303-0173

Email This Campground

38000 Hwy 79 South

Temecula, CA 92592

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 94 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 18, 2019
Feb 18, 2019
Flash flood and road wash out was handled quickly by staff.
Feb 18, 2019
Awesome Park. Great people.
Feb 18, 2019
There was some damage from the flooding but it didn't take away from our fun. The place was very comfortable and well kept. I can't wait to go back.
Feb 18, 2019
A work in progress but I see the potential. Our residents is very rural so we appreciate some of the roughness especially after the rains we have had this year. Really enjoyed our stay in Lower Merlot with generous size sites and trails right out the back door.
Feb 18, 2019
It was great, and very clean, even after a pretty bad rainstorm, staff was very friendly and helpful.
Feb 18, 2019
The views are absolutely beautiful from the Chardonnay campsites. I don’t see a difference from what it used to be to now being a KOA. The waterslides have not been open in six years. Because of the heavy rain, most of the campsites were flooded out which is understandable but we should at least get a discount for Those of us that were still there. More to say but not enough characters left!
Feb 18, 2019
The extensive trails are great! As are the trees. I would love to see them stay in their natural form. Though the San Diego KOA is very nice, the rampant "topping" of trees is not something that I would wish for this newly acquired campground. Less manicured, more natural would be awesome! The addition of lower height sinks is an absolutely wonderful feature to see in the bathrooms
Feb 14, 2019
Beautiful views excellent mountain biking trails, and friendly staff. Short drive to wineries.
Feb 11, 2019
Feb 11, 2019
great camp ground. clean and friendly . park needs wifi and better road lighting so do not arrive after dark.
Feb 11, 2019
great camp ground. clean and friendly . park needs wifi and better road lighting so do not arrive after dark.
Feb 11, 2019
It was very nice. Would like to stay longer but had to leave. The roads in and around the campgrounds are very worn from rain, etc. Needs to be repaved, but that is not so bad. Beautiful campsites in the oaks. Will be back soon
Feb 11, 2019
We had a great time, Restraunt and Bar were open - thanks Gary for the great Bloody Marys!! Site 24, the electrical panel is faulty (broken base - folds - exposes electrical wires) and is in need of repair - to make your guests comfortable . We know the property changed hands aprox. 3 years ago and is in need of some updates - so with time this KOA will only get better. We will be back!
Feb 11, 2019
We absolutely love staying here ! It’s always great and the kids have so much fun :)
Feb 11, 2019
Decent campground a for close weekend getaway. They need to fix the roads as some are really bad. They should also charge less in the off season since none of the amenities are open.
Feb 11, 2019
Feb 09, 2019
I would love it if we could fish the lake. Fishing is my favorite part of camping. We loved all the large oaks. We know KOA just took it over. Hope u folks clean it up.
Feb 05, 2019
Glad to see KOA taking over Vail Lake Campround! Hopefully we will be seeing some badly needed improvements, like tables at each campsite and fixing the paved roads throughout the campground. It would also be nice to have a big play structure for the kids to play on. Thanks, See you soon.
Feb 05, 2019
We’ve stayed quite a bit at Vail Lake. First time in Chardonnay Mesa and we loved it. Also looking forward to what KOA will bring to the table in the future.
Feb 04, 2019
Very quiet and serene. We would have given a 4 if the roads had been resurfaced however once in our site all was great. The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We know that upgrades are in the works so hopefully KOA continues with its progress. �
Feb 03, 2019
Roads are terrible. Power pedestals are old and need repair. Whole place needs a cleaning up & fresh paint. No useable wifi at sites. I realize KOA just took over management, and I'm sure this will become one of KOA's premier sites. Once the Bunkhouse Bar and cafe are open, this will be a unique KOA campground. There used to be a remote control track that would be fun to have again. Go KOA!
Feb 03, 2019
We ended up not staying thank you we hope to see you again soon
Feb 02, 2019
have stayed there for fifty years needs repair but koa will take care of that . many pot holes in entry needs repair soon will be back . need 50 amp in Chard. mesa .
Feb 02, 2019
Great employees and nice campground. We were there with our RV group from nearby Fallbrook. Love it if you put in a good size clubhouse with a kitchen for large groups like us. It would bring in revenue during the week when usually the campground is almost empty. Everyone in our group enjoyed the stay except for the roads with all potholes. We have been camping there for about 40 years and enjoyed
Feb 02, 2019
Staff was very nice. Park needs improvement in so many ways but we hear you have great plans. 1) road 2) bathrooms 3) internet 4) clubhouse
Feb 02, 2019
Nice terrain, roads need help, nice atmosphere. Great potential
Feb 02, 2019
Private road in to campground needs repaving badly. Nice facilities but most were closed.Staff curtious and helpful.
Feb 02, 2019
Excellent camp ground now that KOA. Recently took over you can amagine how much nicer it can and will be. It’s very spacious beautiful setting. We would love to come back in a year or so.
Feb 02, 2019
Absolutely love the large sites, firepits and picnic tables! Staff at gate were amazing and very helpful! Roads really need to be repaved-terrible! Check in office staff was not very friendly or helpful. She even said the pool was open but it was locked. We enjoy poolside reading. Other office staff friendly and helpful during interactions. Hope prices don't skyrocket - love to see winter deals!
Feb 02, 2019
We enjoyed our stay there very much. I understand it has recently reopened. The interior roads are in bad need of repair. The water pressure seemed to be a problem for some of our group, However our pressure was fine. We stayed in site 75.
Feb 01, 2019
I realize your just taking over this campground, but before I give you the best rating, you will need to fix the paved roads. They are a disaster with potholes throughout and not enough width to pass. Last time I visited was in the seventies and I don't remember much about it, so can't compare. Probably one of the quietest KOAs we have been to, thanks. Girls at the front desk were great.
Feb 01, 2019
The only negative is the lack of an internet connection in the campground, was able to connect at office area, otherwise a great stay. We stayed during the week which made it very quiet. Employees were friendly and had smiles for everyone.
Feb 01, 2019
Beautiful huge property, with stately old oak trees everywhere. Very uncrowded and peaceful in January.
Jan 31, 2019
We had a great time at the Vail Lake KOA and will definitely come back. We came as a part of the mountain bike race which was awesome! Everyone was very nice at the resort and we look forward coming again soon.
Jan 31, 2019
we stayed for 5 nights in January. weather was perfect !! the campground well kept, very large sites for RV's and the office staff were extremely helpful. thank you Vail Lake KOA
Jan 31, 2019
This campground is very run down and needs at lot of TLC. Hopefully since it just became a KOA, there will be some major updating.
Jan 30, 2019
Great place, just need WiFi upgrade to reach most loops
Jan 30, 2019
It's one of my favorite places to stay, but it does need several upgrades. The sewer connections rarely ever fit the housing, most people just place a rock or something heavy on it. The bathrooms are in serious need of a remodel. We love Vail Lake, but for the price you pay it has a lot to be desired.
Jan 30, 2019
We had a great time!! We only had one issue, the campers near us had their load music on all day until really late night, we were hoping the camp host would have come by at quite time and had asked them to turn it down.
Jan 30, 2019
Vail Lake needs some attention! Spots were nice and large, no neighbors right on top of you. Found sites needing some clean up. Lots of trash on the grounds. Office staff super nice, very helpful. This KOA has great potential to be a fantastic spot close to wine country. Needs a little more support with camp hosts to keep a watchful eye out and tell some speeders to SLOW down.
Jan 30, 2019
We enjoyed our stay very much, everything went well. The site location was great, and the facilities were all clean and well maintained.
Jan 29, 2019
Stayed there for a mountain bike race. Nice campsite. Cheap for full hook ups. Will definately stay again.
Jan 29, 2019
Jan 29, 2019
Jan 29, 2019
A Extremely beautiful campground. The only negative was the sewer line was damaged at my campsite.
Jan 29, 2019
I am very concerned about the changes KOA wants to make to this really cool campground
Jan 29, 2019
Love this Place. VAIL LAKE is Home away from Home!!
Jan 29, 2019
We stay at Vail Lake about 6 times a year. It is close to home and we always enjoy ourselves. Looking forward to all the improvements under the new KOA name. We did have one problem and that was on our departure day we paid for late check-out, however our neighbors sewer (spot 50 in Chardonnay Mesa) got backed up and flooded out campsite with ick. Made for a fun departure.
Jan 29, 2019
Very nice and friendly staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals