St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA Reviews

The best way to stay and visit Mackinac Island and Upper Peninsula.

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2019
Nice place they are making it better since the first time we stayed there. Just workers dogs barked a lot and got woke up at about 3 am with people fighting for about an hour. Other then that very friendly and clean camp ground.
Oct 21, 2019
we did not see a camp employee until it was time to check out--note on camp store door that it was they were helping other campers and our keys in box. no ice or firewood available. fruit flies had invaded the cabin. the sink in the kitchen made the toilet in the bathroom bubble. the bathtub filled with water when you showered and drained very slowly. the linens and towels provided were ample
Oct 14, 2019
I cannot believe how big this campground is. The trees are beautiful. The campground is very clean and the employees are wonderful and welcoming. We are very pleased with our stay.
Oct 13, 2019
Great location and some of the prettiest fall foliage anywhere, on site.
Oct 13, 2019
More of a rustic KOA but very nice. Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful. All gravel lots but smooth, many with tables etc. Lots of trees to give that camping feeling. Have stayed here before for Mackinaw/St Ignace outings, will do again! Easily accommodated my motorhome towing car.
Oct 12, 2019
This was the most beautiful campground. Not only are the sites large and spacious, they are level and in great position. The best part besides the wonderful staff was seeing all the beautiful leaves changing. We will be back!
Oct 11, 2019
Over the years I have stayed here and it is astonishing to see all the improvements being made. The best improvement is the staff. They were phenomenal and made our stay even better. They have widened the sites and leveled them out. They closed the back down after labor day but reopened it for us (which they didn't have to) very great.
Oct 11, 2019
This was a cool place to stay. Very impressed how clean it was and how friendly the staff was.
Oct 11, 2019
Very pleased. Clean park, professional staff. Another person was telling at front desk lady over cable issue and she was very respectful and polite to her. She went out of her way to make her happy. Apparently the lady was searching on RF channels. The front desk lady fixed issue for her. 2 thumbs up for her
Oct 10, 2019
happy with our stay. nice staff. clean campground. close to downtown and island. clean bathrooms
Oct 09, 2019
nothing special, sites were very tight, hardly anyone there yet we were all right next to each other. bathrooms were not very warm, park could use some tlc
Oct 09, 2019
The rest rooms were; cold, unclean, no shower curtains, no aerators on three of the 4 sinks, and the women's restroom was locked for days. The roads were full of pot holes and our site was totally uneven.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
I give St ignace koa two thumbs up. I have been going there for years and I see all the improvements being made. They finally have a good staff and will return if staff does.
Oct 08, 2019
I can see the staff takes much pride in their campground. It was very well maintained and clean. The store was large and had a lot of stuff to buy. The putt putt doe need a make over but was still fun to play. Andy, Todd, and Logan were very kind and helpful. They went out of their way to bring us firewood and hook up our rig. Kudos to them. Will definitely be back again.
Oct 08, 2019
Great clean place. Love the shuttle to ferry. Very friendly staff
Oct 08, 2019
We had an issue with someone in our spot when we came in around 2am. I called the emergency number and Andie was very quick to respond and find us a site to stay in. Our site was large and nice. I cannot believe how clean and we'll maintained the park is with only 3 staff members working. The two maintenance guys are very nice and helpful and the front desk lady Andie is awesome. Thanx again.
Oct 08, 2019
We were only going to stay one night but decided to stay another 3. The staff were a blessing and the campground was gorgeous. We didn't like the trees around our first site and we're quickly moved to another site that worked very well. I can't believe how friendly the staff is. Never seen that before in the upper peninsula of Michigan.
Oct 08, 2019
Outstanding staff. Ery friendly. They came to the rescue when our cat got out and climbed a tree. Many thanks.
Oct 08, 2019
We had fun here. The staff was appreciative of us and we're very welcoming. The sites were large and clean. The bathrooms were always immaculate even with all the rain and mud. The staff Andie was on site and cleaning them multiple times a day. We will for sure be back again soon.
Oct 07, 2019
The cabin was cute and clean. Bathrooms closest to cabin were closed for a day and when opened had no heat, no shower curtains and smelled strongly of mildew. The front bathrooms were clean and heated. Did not see a single staff member entire time we were there and although you are supposed to get wood from campground did not see any for sale or anyone to inquire as to where to get it
Oct 07, 2019
Don’t really have much to say as the weather was so bad we really couldn’t get out of the motorhome. It is convenient to things to see. The people were very nice it the bathroom was clean.
Oct 07, 2019
Muddy mess I reserved a site then got there and was given another site, no cable tv very boring, there was a crazy lady talking to herself near the office at 6:00am to strange!
Oct 06, 2019
Horrible place. People don't answer the phone. Our campsite was full of rotting apples. Our of ice and firewood. The desk lady made us feel like we were a bother. We paid for five nights stayed two. We didn't ask for a refund because we didn't want to deal with the office staff again.
Oct 05, 2019
Stayed in a cabin. It was clean and comfortable. Arrived late. Key was in an envelope marked “Your key”. Could have put our name on it. Leaving the porch light on would have been nice too. Clean bathrooms and nice showers. Helpful staff.
Oct 04, 2019
Loved this KOA! Clean, friendly, clean, heated bathrooms, clean KK. What beautiful surroundings and beautiful the island , fun to explore.
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Staff very helpful and kind. Andy went out of her way to assist me. Logan brought me some firewood. Very great and clean place to stay.
Oct 03, 2019
Nice campground. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were clean. A little cold but worth the stay.
Oct 03, 2019
Sites were clean. Had a little trouble hooking cable up but Todd came to our rescue. Great staff!!!
Oct 01, 2019
Stayed in cabin mid September, as management has stated in the past, the entire campground needs improvements, driveway, bathrooms and cabins. Cabin linen was dirty. Store was out of most supplies.
Oct 01, 2019
Our site had no grass and due to rain it was a muddy mess. They also parked the handful of campers all together.
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Great sites nice grassy areas.very friendly service
Sep 20, 2019
Nice facility with a clean, functional laundry room. Suggestion is to update the front of the park (the old, unused, faded putt-putt golf center is not inviting) & have a lit KOA sign to help locate it in the evening.
Sep 20, 2019
The site had little to no gravel in it, as compared to other gravel sites. The office area itself needs a new paint job and power wash it's really dirty looking. The only thing that saved this place is my KOA membership and free shuttle service to the island. I would have stayed at the area casino, better maintained sites. Sorry.
Sep 19, 2019
A little too crowded campground. Nice facilities and staff but everything seemed too packed together. Sharing one circuit breaker for two campsites was odd. I always like to turn off the circuit breaker before plugging in but the next site was already plugged in and nobody around. I didn't want to turn off the breaker without asking anyone.
Sep 17, 2019
We love this location. Close to many restaurants, shopping and the ferries to the Island. Nice staff.
Sep 17, 2019
Sites are small but campground is clean and staff very friendly. They were very accommodating when we had to extend our stay on a busy weekend. Would stay here again.
Sep 17, 2019
We’ve been going to the Truck Show for the past 7-8 years we stay at the KOA and years before that we tented it there. It would be nice if the pool was usable. The new people there are very polite and courteous!
Sep 16, 2019
Lots are roomy. However most of the fire rings are rusted out & broken. Looks like the pool is never used. A lot of places that have mini golf let you play for free, this one didn't. Had a problem with our lot number, but thank you, they figured it out. Koa sign isn't lit very well. Had an extremely hard time finding it after dark.
Sep 16, 2019
Campground could be really nice with some work. There is a serious lack of gravel so everything is slick mud. The water pressure is way too low. Finally, we were charged in season rates and the pool had been closed for several weeks.
Sep 16, 2019
Love St. Ignace and Mackinac Island. Always stay at KOA. Starting to get rundown look to it but it is after Labor Day weekend. All facilities kept clean and campground was pretty full. People who work there very friendly. Will go back next year and stay there.
Sep 16, 2019
Great staff, great campground, great location. Once the mini-golf area is spiffed up, it will have even more to offer.
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
Intermittent WiFi, site fire ring was used as a trash can and ash tray by previous customer, staff notified, no action taken by staff, feral cat should be removed from property and not tolerated by management.
Sep 13, 2019
To be frank I was scared about staying there because of the negative reviews online. Those reviews are wrong. Great place for an old grumpy guy like me. The employees were friendly and helpful, the bathrooms were always clean (even after some ungrateful kids plugged toilets for fun) employee fixed immediately. Great level site. WiFi and cable were good for U.P.. will be back!
Sep 13, 2019
very nice campground, great staff, clean bathrooms, level sites, huge laundry room, shuttle to ferrys, close to town, very quiet place to stay. We will be back
Nov 19, 2019
I forget why I googled this spot
- Thomas Hawkins on Google
Nov 10, 2019
Good clean place but overcrowded . It’s being overbooked by the stuff there
- Bart R. Domanski on Google
Oct 16, 2019
Such a convenient spot! It’s located close to many great sites and places (Mackinac Island, Castle Rock, The Mystery Spot, etc). Tent sites, RV sites, and cabins available. Plenty of tree coverage and we were lucky to be the only primitive campers so it stayed nice and peaceful. They have firewood and a small shop for any needs as well as souvenirs. They do have a laundry facility as well as a microwave there; for if you needed just heat up a snack. The grounds were all clean and staff was helpful. We will definitely be staying here again! I’d have to say my one downfall the two times we stayed- was that one of the showers in the women’s restroom was only freezing water. Definitely recommend!
- Nora Fleenor on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.