St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2019
I understand there are new owners & they are trying to fix a lot of issues. I did not like the fire pits placement. They were too close to other sites. The people next to our site were extremely close with their fire pit. I was a little concerned. The people on the other side of us left their barking dogs for over 10 hours. Nothing said to them. Pool was closed 2 out of the 4 days we were there.
Jul 19, 2019
Campground is in need of TLC,
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
Quiet and enjoyable! Local ferry will pick you up! Plenty of staff! Fixed cable service when requested in minutes! Friendly staff! Nice place! Will come back again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We look forward to seeing you again.
Jul 18, 2019
Very well kept and quiet. No internet although they give a code to access.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Jul 18, 2019
Everything was even better than last year, the only issue was my granddaughter never got to ride the bikes because kids took them out and didn't return for others to use.everything else was excellent

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
We stayed a few nights in July. Mostly a good experience after the electrical issues were resolved. They have been doing a lot of construction at the place. I think it will be a great campground in a couple of years when the construction is complete. The original sites need a little TLC, leveling and grading mostly. The new sites will accommodate large units.
Jul 17, 2019
Very nice campground. Staff were wonderful, quite helpful.
Jul 17, 2019
Laundry was more expensive than other KOA’s and rules about quite time weren’t enforced (loud music after midnight) but the staff was kind and helpful when we needed a jump for our truck. Showers were gross and needed some attention due to very clogged drains but the town is fun.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
The good news - they FINALLY have cable TV. The bad news - it doesn't work throughout the park. Before you book a space, ask if the cable TV is working at that site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for letting us know know about this. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. We are working to get cable connections to our back sites soon.
Jul 17, 2019
The people are ferry frendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This review made our day!
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
The best sites do not have full hook-up. Those that do are small and close to your neighbor. Staff very friendly and helpful. Amenities are marginal I.e small cold pool right next to a busy highway. Appears to be in transition, so I wouldn't write it off.
Jul 16, 2019
Place needs work needs gravel and dirt full hookups ROK make sure you bring extra water hose and or power cable to reach some services check your side first before going in get a ride and see if they have a good site available some are bad shape
Jul 16, 2019
Great location to Mackinaw Island.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.
Jul 16, 2019
Nice campground, great area.....love st. Ignace....will be back

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Jul 16, 2019
The staff were great. Very helpful and welcoming. The pool was beautiful and refreshing. Very clean park. Will be back again. Thank you to the staff there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Jul 16, 2019
Be clean and excellent staff!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.
Jul 15, 2019
The hosts were friendly and helpful, but the park is old and needs a lot of updating. We noticed that the rickety old picnic tables are slowly being replaced, and the bathrooms were clean. But the sites are full of roots and we didn't even put out our rug. The dump station has only one spot, and its so tight to get in and out of that we didn't even try to dump, just drove home. Needs a lot of love
Jul 15, 2019
Staff would not honor request to be neighbors w family tho there were many empty lots between us, some never filled. Lots poorly designed w water right outside our steps which was very uneven. Lot was too small for our trailer with pickup. Had to park partially in a tree. Pool not heated, was filled 2 days prior to arrival mid-July-COLD!! Deck around pool unsafe w pipes, holes. Not returning
Jul 15, 2019
Problem free
Jul 14, 2019
We spent the week and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and the cabins were wonderful. Our only complaint was the pool was only open for one day and it closes way too early
Jul 14, 2019
Sites and roads are very narrow & trees not trimmed. Too many vehicles on sites with no alternate parking available. Unable to swim due to pool being drained. We were told due to poor water quality. When firewood we ordered never showed up I went to the store and was told they already delivered it. They had, but to the wrong site. Noisy campground due to quiet hours not being enforced.
Jul 14, 2019
We were quite disappointed with our stay. When we made our reservations 2 months back we asked for jointed lots so our family could stay together. When we arrived we were told they could not accommodate our request and we were put 10 lots between us. The whole week we were there the lot next to me was empty and also the lot next to our other family's lot. I think they could have done better.
Jul 14, 2019
sites cramped, the entire park needs maintenance, roads, pads, utilities, everthing. We stayed a week in a fifth wheel
Jul 14, 2019
Will not be returning, need a lot of upgrade to land scrap very uneven and grass area swampy. Wooden Picnic tables falling apart etc. Can’t get wifi. We we not impressed!!!!
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 13, 2019
Overall nice place, but our site was un-level, and the electrical was a considerable distance from our small trailer, making set up complex. Staff was not most welcoming we have come into contact with, however, this may be a Michigan thing.
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 13, 2019
Stayed there two different times this July and it’s summer and the pool was closed. We will try somewhere else the next time we visit the UP.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologies for the delay in having the pool re-opened. The length of time to have the inspection completed was higher than our expectation. The pool is now open for our guests.
Jul 13, 2019
Very lovely campground with great tent sites. Large space, shade, picnic tables and fire pit. We enjoyed the serenity of the campground and the new playground, Gaga ball, and mini golf. We also took the shuttle bus to the ferry and spent a nice day at Mackinaw Island. There are nice sand dunes and a hiking trail by Lake Michigan. Overall, the peace we were looking for, we found at St. Ignace.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Jul 12, 2019
Campground was nice and staff helpful. Kids liked the playground and the mini golf, and we liked the Shepler's ferry shuttle. After checking in we discovered that the bathrooms were closed due to a water pipe break - it was fixed in a few hours, but would have been nice to be alerted to that when we checked in.
Jul 12, 2019
Overall it was ok. The K9 area needs to be bigger for sure- you know not all dogs are 17lbs or less!! Looks like they are trying to improve the campground as a whole.
Jul 12, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Only problem was no cable that originally they said was our cable not working.. When another RV came they did not have cable either. We got a small refund but either they should not advertise having cable or fix it.
Jul 12, 2019
Wifi doesn’t work at site, won’t even come up as a choice, sites are small. I would stay again but would ask for a site in the back
Jul 12, 2019
Stayed in the new cabins built and it was very nice. O

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience at our new deluxe cabin we look forward to seeing you again.
Jul 10, 2019
We were very disappointed in the condition of the Rv site that we were assigned to because it was so rough and uneven,we asked for a different spot and they moved us to a much better site.The mini golf is in bad need of repair ,and not just putting some sections of new green carpeting down.It needs to be reframed and painted.It really looks to us that it needs some better maintance.
Jul 10, 2019
Everything was great except the pool was not operating the week we were there. Understanding that we felt like we were getting the run around regarding when it would be up & running. 2 weeks before we were told it would be open. Then passed inspection waiting on permit. Then Friday draining pool? Felt like we got the run around. No discount or compensation offered. Very disappointed ��

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologies for the delay in having the pool re-opened. The length of time to have the inspection completed was higher than our expectation. The pool is now open for our guests.
Jul 10, 2019
The campground was in a construction state as the owners were caught by poor weather during updates to the power and water installation. They did their best to get things ready but the continuous rain stopped them. The pool was not ready and parts were on order. Likely a late start to the repair. We will return again with renewed hopes

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for noticing the improvements at our campground. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Jul 10, 2019
Quiet and clean stay. Nice shuttle service to Island

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Jul 10, 2019
Stayed in Tent. Very private. Was fun to see the Teepees.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.
Jul 09, 2019
It seems the new owners are trying very Hard to improve this park and doing a good job.
Jul 09, 2019
Quiet hours were observed July 3 but not on July 4 at the tent area ( more like 2-8am). Mini golf was really fun. Pool was not operable. Tent area is hard to drive through during rainy periods. Staff did there best to accommodate during very busy holiday.
Jul 21, 2019
Lake Michigan campgrounds. We are staying all week. 🇺🇸👍
- Brian Walton on Google
Jul 15, 2019
Both are amazing places that everyone should visit. Peaceful surroundings and miles of gorgeous landscapes and shorelines
- julie renkema on Google
Jul 13, 2019
friendly staff good service. clean facilities
- Rand MacIntosh on Google