Port Lavaca / Matagorda Bay KOA Reviews

With social- distancing now in place please call 361.893.5120 to check-in once you arrive

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

May 23, 2020
3 nights and we had a space on the water. On your information you said no fishing in from the shore. So each day we went to the pier. The second day someone moves in next to us and immediately starts fishing from the shore. I talked to them and they said they have done it before. If we would have known we could have gotten more fishing in. Also I think all KOA’s should have cable tv.
May 23, 2020
Everything was in perfect shape. ALL staff members were always working.
May 20, 2020
We had a really great time. The staff was awesome and the guest were all great people. The facility is very nice and the sites are well kept and have plenty of room. I look forward to coming back soon.
May 20, 2020
This KOA is amazing!!! The entire camp is well maintained... beautiful grounds, impeccable bathrooms! I can’t say enough good things about the sweet staff and how attentive they all are, especially how everyone came to check on our family and our tent after a horrible storm the first night. We absolutely loved everything about This camp and will be back for sure!!!
May 20, 2020
Beautiful, well kept campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2020
May 19, 2020
For the amenities, bay views, and friendly staff, I give it 5 stars. I only wish that the sites were spaced further apart for privacy.
May 18, 2020
Great place to stay! Lots of activities for all ages, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff!
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
While the site is relatively new, they don't have any dedicated tent camping sites and paying $40 for an RV site to tent camp in the grass is less than ideal. No firepit and no trees made it a less than ideal experience. We had a massive storm come thru and not having any trees protecting us from the wind/rain/hail presented a dangerous situation for us. Luckily we were unharmed. Trashed tent/cot.
May 16, 2020
Stay was great!! Park was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a water front site and it was wonderful. A really good campground. We will definitely be back!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Very nice folks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Serene and peaceful. Excellent

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Even with the COVID-19 restrictions in place, my wife and I found our time to be very relaxing. Our campsite was right on the water and we enjoyed the view and the morning sunrises. the quietness is unmatched.Facilities including restrooms were immaculate.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 14, 2020
May 13, 2020
This KOA was very clean very well kept. The staff were very nice very welcoming. All around it was very peaceful and we enjoyed it

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Beautiful sites very friendly staff. Wonderful pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Everything was excellent. ALL friendly and helpful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Great staff and great location! Will definitely plan for a repeat trip soon! Thanks for the hospitality!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
We had a very quiet and peaceful stay. This was a last minute booking and they accommodated us great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 07, 2020
It was a beautuful experience. All the immunities were great. Only negative thing is we did not like where we were #142 the patio was facing the side of the trailer. Campers on our row all the patios faced the lake. DiAnne and Misty were awesome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We value your suggestions and will pass it on to the team! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 07, 2020
What a pleasant surprise! We loved the property, had a water view lot by the pool and hot tub, lovely grounds, very well maintained. Will certainly return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 06, 2020
May 06, 2020
Spent three nights. Great location, new park. Owner/operator (O/O) was great. Ended up having to leave a day early, bummer, but O/O refunded last nights stay with no hesitation. Will stay again!! Steve & Sandy (May 2020)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 05, 2020
We had a fantastic time! The property is really lovely with lots to do and the staff was wonderful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 05, 2020
The campground is very nice and clean. The staff are very friendly and accomadating. The store has everything that any person would need. Very nice place to stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
May 04, 2020
May 04, 2020
Wonderful KOA experience- This park is super clean and very friendly staff. The waterfront sights are perfect. with fire rings. Will definitely come back for another week. We stayed in a Motorhome and the only thing I wished they had was a few forward (water) facing sites so we could truly enjoy the bay from within the coach. Still rates 5 Stars.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Beautiful location and amenities with extremely helpful/friendly staff!!! Spotless restrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Second stay in a month!!! Great people and great place!!!! Will be back!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are so happy that we were able to host you again! We look forward to many returned visits!! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
We enjoyed the Port LaVaca campground, it was very clean, pleasant staff, and we will return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Great staff! They were friendly and hard working folks. The grounds were clean and had chairs and swings for relaxing under the shade of trees and looking out over the bay. Only thing that would have made the RV sites better was if smaller rock, road base, were used on RV pads. Our family had a great time fishing on the camp ground pier. Will definitely be returning!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We value your suggestion and will pass it on to the team! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Thank you for being our guests! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
It was nice & clean

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 29, 2020
Very relaxing and comfortable. We were in slot 131, and the view was spectacular!! We understand the camp is "a work in progress, still, we were sad to hear cabins were going to be placed between the RV's and the water's edge! It will certainly spoil the relaxing view! The staff was very amenable, & had a very effective process for accommodating requests during the "Stay Home, Stay Safe" time
Apr 29, 2020
We were very happy with our stay last summer.. as for last weekend we were unaware they had added on to the park with no trees nor shade in our area & almost complete rock.. plus we were the only camper on the new addition. We have more trips planned but know now to request my own spot. Also our spot was supposed to be a patio spot but wasn’t finished. They were working on it during our stay.
Apr 27, 2020
Wonderful staff! They are always friendly and helpful. It is so exciting to see all the growth. The park is so different from our first stay shortly after they opened. See you again next month.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
Very nice. Pleasant surroundings. Really nice staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
The staff and campground was very nice. We can't wait to return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
The staff is fantastic! Extremely clean facility!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
Loved it! It was a nice clean park and everyone was super friendly! We will be back in May!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
This was our first time staying at this KOA and we were very pleased with our stay. The facilities are new and clean with scenic sites. We showed up at 10:00 PM and they were waiting to give us our site map and direct us to our location. Due to the virus, we checked in on the phone the next day and ordered ice cream from the KOA shop, which they delivered. A+ friendly & service. Highly recommend!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
Very friendly and clean facilities! Will go back

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 27, 2020
The staff was very helpful and polite! The campground is maintained very well and had nice amenities. We will definitely be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 26, 2020
Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and hard working!! Our site was regularly maintained as we wound up staying 4 weeks longer than planned, this was important.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We enjoyed hosting you during your extended stay! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
Apr 26, 2020
Very helpful staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels!
Apr 25, 2020
It was nice and very clean. we got to fish and swim in pool, had a great time!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to host you again! Safe travels and happy kamping! :)
Apr 25, 2020
The staff here is beyond phenomenal. Unfortunately, we stayed during the CV-19 period and were unable to enjoy many of the amenities that the campground offers. Despite that, we did enjoy our waterfront site for the duration of our stay. The only downside that apparently some of our neighbors felt the same way about as well was that the sites are way too close to one another.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review. We would love to host you again and have the ability to enjoy our many amenities once COVID-19 is behind us! Also, for a more spacious site, we recommend one of our back-in exterior sites, as they are more private. Safe travels an
Apr 24, 2020

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.