Port Lavaca / Matagorda Bay KOA Reviews

With social- distancing now in place please call 361.893.5120 to check-in once you arrive

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2020
Amazing crew they have there! Family friendly & all smiling faces!! They work hard at keeping everyone safe & happy. Our waterfront spot was perfect!! We’ve been here 3 times in the last 2 months & every time they have had activities and/or more improvements to the park. So wonderful! Can’t wait to book more trips soon!
May 26, 2020
This staff and including the owner are incredibly nice so helpful. The property is immaculate. We loved it so much we will be back in 3 weeks.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
We had a wonderful time even with the Covid precautions. Anything that we wanted from the camp store, we just called and delivered it to our sight including ice and firewood. Everything was clean and many things to do, like shuffleboard which we enjoyed. Also enjoyed the afternoon lemonade Staff were so friendly. We will be back!! Thank you!!
May 26, 2020
The only reason for the 4 vs. 5 is because of location. The grounds itself were excellent from the quality level site, quiet, fishing pier, water views, pool, well run events-plus an awesome staff, we just prefer to be closer to towns with beaches, restaurants etc. It was a 1st time to the coast so wanted to stay midway between Galveston & Corpus so we could explore and this provided that.
May 26, 2020
We will be back for the July 4th weekend
May 26, 2020
Great stay, friendly staff. A boat ramp would be a great addition. Thanks for the hospitality.
May 26, 2020
Holiday weekend with a full KOA. Staff was great and campground was well maintained. We are already planning out next trip.
May 26, 2020
Staff was very nice and helpful, however we were in the new sites, the new sites are very narrow and muddy when it rains. It also has deck boxes that are off the ground very high. If you are old or traveling with small kids i do not recommend the new sites as we had to take a trip to the ER for stitches due to our toddler falling off them.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Excellent staff and nice clean facilities, only complaint was WI-FI was a little weak. It was a Holliday weekend and camp ground was a max capacity.
May 26, 2020
We had a great time, and everyone was very nice, we will come back and we want to try a get the premier sight by the water, thank you for for everything.
May 23, 2020
3 nights and we had a space on the water. On your information you said no fishing in from the shore. So each day we went to the pier. The second day someone moves in next to us and immediately starts fishing from the shore. I talked to them and they said they have done it before. If we would have known we could have gotten more fishing in. Also I think all KOA’s should have cable tv.
May 23, 2020
Everything was in perfect shape. ALL staff members were always working.
May 20, 2020
We had a really great time. The staff was awesome and the guest were all great people. The facility is very nice and the sites are well kept and have plenty of room. I look forward to coming back soon.
May 20, 2020
This KOA is amazing!!! The entire camp is well maintained... beautiful grounds, impeccable bathrooms! I can’t say enough good things about the sweet staff and how attentive they all are, especially how everyone came to check on our family and our tent after a horrible storm the first night. We absolutely loved everything about This camp and will be back for sure!!!
May 20, 2020
Beautiful, well kept campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2020
May 19, 2020
For the amenities, bay views, and friendly staff, I give it 5 stars. I only wish that the sites were spaced further apart for privacy.
May 18, 2020
Great place to stay! Lots of activities for all ages, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff!
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
May 18, 2020
While the site is relatively new, they don't have any dedicated tent camping sites and paying $40 for an RV site to tent camp in the grass is less than ideal. No firepit and no trees made it a less than ideal experience. We had a massive storm come thru and not having any trees protecting us from the wind/rain/hail presented a dangerous situation for us. Luckily we were unharmed. Trashed tent/cot.
May 16, 2020
Stay was great!! Park was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a water front site and it was wonderful. A really good campground. We will definitely be back!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Very nice folks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Serene and peaceful. Excellent

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 15, 2020
Even with the COVID-19 restrictions in place, my wife and I found our time to be very relaxing. Our campsite was right on the water and we enjoyed the view and the morning sunrises. the quietness is unmatched.Facilities including restrooms were immaculate.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 14, 2020
May 13, 2020
This KOA was very clean very well kept. The staff were very nice very welcoming. All around it was very peaceful and we enjoyed it

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Beautiful sites very friendly staff. Wonderful pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Everything was excellent. ALL friendly and helpful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
Great staff and great location! Will definitely plan for a repeat trip soon! Thanks for the hospitality!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
We had a very quiet and peaceful stay. This was a last minute booking and they accommodated us great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 11, 2020
It was amazing little vacation the cabin was perfect can’t say enough nice things about the staff they always go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 07, 2020
It was a beautuful experience. All the immunities were great. Only negative thing is we did not like where we were #142 the patio was facing the side of the trailer. Campers on our row all the patios faced the lake. DiAnne and Misty were awesome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We value your suggestions and will pass it on to the team! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 07, 2020
What a pleasant surprise! We loved the property, had a water view lot by the pool and hot tub, lovely grounds, very well maintained. Will certainly return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 06, 2020
May 06, 2020
Awesome place to stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 06, 2020
Spent three nights. Great location, new park. Owner/operator (O/O) was great. Ended up having to leave a day early, bummer, but O/O refunded last nights stay with no hesitation. Will stay again!! Steve & Sandy (May 2020)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 05, 2020
We had a fantastic time! The property is really lovely with lots to do and the staff was wonderful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 05, 2020
The campground is very nice and clean. The staff are very friendly and accomadating. The store has everything that any person would need. Very nice place to stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
May 04, 2020
May 04, 2020
Wonderful KOA experience- This park is super clean and very friendly staff. The waterfront sights are perfect. with fire rings. Will definitely come back for another week. We stayed in a Motorhome and the only thing I wished they had was a few forward (water) facing sites so we could truly enjoy the bay from within the coach. Still rates 5 Stars.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Beautiful location and amenities with extremely helpful/friendly staff!!! Spotless restrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Second stay in a month!!! Great people and great place!!!! Will be back!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are so happy that we were able to host you again! We look forward to many returned visits!! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
We enjoyed the Port LaVaca campground, it was very clean, pleasant staff, and we will return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Great staff! They were friendly and hard working folks. The grounds were clean and had chairs and swings for relaxing under the shade of trees and looking out over the bay. Only thing that would have made the RV sites better was if smaller rock, road base, were used on RV pads. Our family had a great time fishing on the camp ground pier. Will definitely be returning!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We value your suggestion and will pass it on to the team! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Thank you for being our guests! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
It was nice & clean

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)
May 04, 2020
Great Relaxing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping! :)

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.