Outer Banks West / Currituck Sound KOA Reviews

Start Planning Your Summer Getaway!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

May 31, 2020
The Campgrounds were surprisingly well maintained for the opening week, looking forward to a return visit hopefully all the amenities will be completed and open. The staff were very friendly and helpful
May 31, 2020
This campground is way over priced for what you get. The campsites are too tight. The decks at each site are too high with no step. One of their ponds is covered with scum. The swimming area has no beach. There was a golf cart running around with loud music thumping like we get in the city. Overall it was not a good stay. We will not go back.
May 31, 2020
People are super nice but sites are super small. Loved being by the water. Brand new KOA not quite ready to open quite yet. Staff tried hard to accommodate the visitors. Shower house needs cleaned way more frequently and hopefully grass grows soon.
May 31, 2020
Overall a nice stay. Campground just opened and are still getting things situated. Our second night there they brought in cabins on big diesel trucks from 10pm until 1245am. With two little kids it would have been nice if they would have done this during the day. Otherwise a nice stay and once everything is established it will be a really nice campground
May 30, 2020
Should work on website, allot of things they say they have are not even built, should not have charged full price, that was mentioned, staff smiled! Sometimes no water pressure 80 percent of the time, decks should be on the side, not rear, rentals are on side, bathroom/bathhouse not keeping clean, allot of scrap wire, metal strands on spots. Should have waited longer to open, personal friendly.
May 30, 2020
The staff here, as well as many guests, did not social distance or wear masks in the indoor Welcome Center and store, despite KOA signs on the doors asking them to do so and NC Health Dept regs. Dozens of strangers come in these indoor places every day, hundreds on a weekend, thus a perfect venue for spreading virus. VERY risky for seniors like us. EZ to comply, why so discourteous?
May 30, 2020
Too cramped site. Low water pressure.
May 30, 2020
Was very excited about this new park, however, we were little disappointed about the amenities and entertainment facilities. We understand that maybe caused by the epidemic. We enjoyed the view. The staffs was friendly.
May 30, 2020
Low water pressure, small muddy sites, booked waterfront deluxe but received a site on the marsh. The road leading in was also very narrow. Felt that they opened prematurely.
May 30, 2020
We arrived around 8pm and our site info was hanging on the office door. The site was a long way from the bath house. There were golf carts, but we had no way to rent one. I called the number in our packet and there was no answer, so I left a message. No one ever called me back. The water pressure was almost non existent. I informed the office of our concern yet I am not sure it mattered.
May 29, 2020
This campground has a lot of potential but wasn’t there yet on Memorial Day weekend. I was disappointed that many of the amenities weren’t “there” yet. Not being able to go over to Corolla on the water taxi was most disappointing. Also they need to work on how they assign lots. We have a 40 ft rig with front and back slides and were put in a spot so narrow we had no room for our truck.
May 29, 2020
Nothing for little kids to do. Misleading about what is available at this campsite. No sand beach or anyway for families to meet little ones get their feet wet. Bought 3 bundles of firewood and it was soaked. Has to drive into town to get good dry firewood.
May 29, 2020
Had a fun time, amenities were nice. Things I would change/ work on, 1st, water pressure was so low I was forced to fill my tanks and utilize my trailers pump which took about 20mins to fill. 2nd, the patios are to close to the RV sites. Would have been nice if they were all placed at the back of the site instead of next to. 3rd, to much standing water when it rains.
May 29, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was awesome! Very dog friendly. Used the laundry room, nice new equipment. Store was well stocked which was great as we forgot a few items. Poor water pressure which sucked but we managed to fill our tank and use our own pump. We really enjoyed our stay at this campground!
May 29, 2020
I had requested a water front site and was told they were all taken, My stay was to be for 1 night or 4 if all was nice there. Instead I got a site that was all gravel and dirt. It rain that night and my site was a mud hole. at least half of the water front sites , which were dry and not muddy, were still open in the morning. This is a new camp ground that may have opened too soon.
May 28, 2020
When this KOA is complete I see it as top notch, right now it is still under construction and needs a lot of work, the prices that are charged are out rageous
May 28, 2020
Price way too expensive for where it’s at and how small. Within the waterfront category ours was behind the marsh, trees and brush but priced the same as bigger true waterfront sites. Poor water pressure. See Google review. D.Lee
May 28, 2020
The setting is beautiful, the facilities and amenities are very up to date, the sites are large and flat, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a KOA at it's best.
May 28, 2020
The waterfront spots have an amazing view! Water access for boats or swimming is easy. If/when there are kayak rentals, etc. it will be perfect! Staff was very friendly, camp store was nicely stocked, and it was peaceful on our site.
May 28, 2020
For a brand new campground this place is going to be beautiful. Only issue is water pressure problem everyone had it and can be a problem
May 28, 2020
The views are amazing and the location was great but the sites were just to close together. I felt bad for our neighbor which had their picnic table next to our sewage drop. We were fortunate enough to be able to move our table towards the end of our site to get away from the drop for our neighbors. Bathhouse was not adequate for the number of campers staying there.
May 27, 2020
Came for a long holiday weekend with friends and family and had a great time! We will be back!
May 27, 2020
Overall it was fine. Much tighter sites than we are used to. I will say I think overall the staff did the best they could with challenging weather and COVID-19 concerns. On are that needs immediate attention however is the bathhouse, we didn’t use it but when I looked in to see the facilities they were disgusting. That is simply unacceptable.
May 27, 2020
No hot water for showers next to playground our first night. Low water pressure at both our sites. Shoreline is bulk headed; no swim beach. Campground is still being developed, everything is brand-spanky new. Sites are close to one another but level with easy access and many with shade. Great fishing access, nice playground and bath houses. Once work is completed and the bugs are worked out th
May 27, 2020
Was a good stay except the water pressure was so weak at times the shower valve wouldn’t stay locked in. The spot I was told I would be in was “flooded” so they put us in a much tighter spot. Next day there was someone in the spot. Disappointed. Campground wasn’t fully ready for the opening. Store was poorly stocked and they were still working on some amenities.
May 27, 2020
Beautiful location. Had a great time. New KOA so they are still working on amenities. All employees were great to work with.
May 27, 2020
Reservation stated/charged for cable and internet. We got neither-they weren't working/up. Also they pack you in like sardines. Like 4 feet between you and the next guy. Super muddy all around the grounds. Wood you can buy literally has mushrooms growing out of them. There is no pool, abd really nothing to do unless you have a boat/water toys.
May 27, 2020
The Kayak rentals were unavailable. They cited Covid as the reason for not allowing people to use them....yet they rented golf carts. I dont understand that. The bugs were horrible there. Bring your bug spray. The Waterlilly Police were running RADAR on all folks coming into the campground. This is a huge turnoff for campers. Nothing wrong with Radar, but dont sit near entrance of campgrou
May 27, 2020
Beautiful campground. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We have already booked another visit!
May 27, 2020
Nowhere near ready to be open even with amenities closed due to Covid. Smallest lots EVER seen, ground uneven, not graded after sewer work and muddy. No directions of where butterfly garden was located. Had a drive around to find lakes. Just NOT KOA standards by a thousand miles. Don't care if I never return.. Not to mention the cost; over $500 for 4 day weekend. $$$$
May 27, 2020
Brand new! Opening weekend! The park was beautiful. It is arranged perfectly to take full advantage of the sound. Hope to return soon. But they do need to add a pool. It is unsafe for children to swim in the sound.
May 27, 2020
Staff is very nice and helpful. Lots of work still on going and will be very nice when finished. Water pressure was very low, tough taking a shower
May 27, 2020
The views are absolutely gorgeous. We had a waterfront site. I do wish all the driveways were paved and the sites were hard surfaced. It was very dirty tracking in all of the outside elements into the camper. Especially with 2 small dogs. We will visit again.
May 27, 2020
The good: The view from the campsite was best we’ve ever had. The bad: The septic tank exploded next to our site and leaked sewage onto our site. They ran out of ice on Sunday in the camp store. There was just dirt/mud around the playground and dog park area which caused everyone to get muddy. The volleyball court had no net. There was no sports floating zone or jump pad setup.
May 26, 2020
Crowded, tight sites Poor water pressure Sites too small. Reserved a patio site but there was no patio
May 26, 2020
My wife and I spent Memorial Day weekend camping here. The staff was very friendly and the campground was nice. We will definitely be back.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Well, upon arriving we were taken to our spot but were not provided a map, any activity list or information about the campground. No authority figure to patrol the speeding by vehicles- with or without their boats and/or campers, golf carts which also included staff. Water pressure was gone and very intermittent for two days. No one provided details to guests. Trash, cords, wires thru out grounds.
May 26, 2020
This KOA is not ready for full time business. There are no amenities, even though they are advertised. The lpacal people do not want the KOA there and the road is heavily policed by the local sheriff and State Troopers, strictly enforcing the 25 mph limit. We did discuss this with the GM and we received a one night refund. We met many people who said they would not return, and some who left early.
May 26, 2020
Even though we were separated from our group (no fault of the campground - it rained and flooded our original sites) it was great and we will be back!
May 26, 2020
Staff was great, there was a problem with our site that was beyond their control and they took care of it for us with no issues. We'll be back.
May 26, 2020
Understanding it was opening weekend, things went pretty well. Was not happy with the “C” area way too muddy. Camp sites are super tight in many of the areas. Water pressure in “F” was poor had to use on board pump to use sinks and showers. I know the punch list will get addressed and the campground will be improving and will make the stays even better. Great location and Staff was awes
May 26, 2020
Had a great time and staff were amazing. Special thanks to Robin for helping us out. I know its still a work in progress and can't wait to see it when it's completely done.
May 26, 2020
It was a great opening weekend considering the minimal amenities available (understandable due to the Pandemic). Already booked for the same weekend next year! Oh and staff was amazingly nice! Some suggestions... 1. Hose on swimming pier to spray off bird poop. 2. Bathhouse - Tile lip in showers to prevent water everywhere. 3. Medium heat setting in showers. It's either scalding hot or ice co
May 26, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. We would've liked to have been closer to friends as we had requested, but I understand that flooding issues prohibited that. I do wish that people had been spread out a little more, it was difficult to get our camper in and situated just so our slide was not over our neighbors fire pit. Great relaxing opening weekend though. We will be back in July.
May 26, 2020
The facility was not completely ready for full operations. No pool, no children activities, community buildings (rest rooms/showers) not cleaned on a routine basis. Lots of ants on my site ....which lead to ants in RV. This didn’t reflex in the ballooned prices for the holiday weekend. Some consideration should have been taken for lack of amenities.
May 26, 2020
Not fully open as we were told on several conversations. Our site# F 5 was changed to D 3”under water” to site G 3, septic tank dump to tall. We complained at arival? Was told they can and will correct the to tall dump pipe. Saturday 2 Nd mgr said they will take care of it, Sunday another mgr Erica, sent someone to lower the pipe, he said he could not to this one.”sorry”. We lost water
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
None of the amenities were available yet we were charged KOA rates. Showers were a mess. Water pressure at camp site was nearly nonexistent. The one upside was that your employees remained professional and courteous. This KOA opened prematurely. It has potential and I will try at a later date. In my opinion a large partial refund is in order. I feel cheated.
May 26, 2020

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.