Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2019
We had a wonderful time. They are very helpful and friendly.
Jul 26, 2019
Great park, nice sites, friendly staff...aside from the interstate noise it was great. And we would stay there again!
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 25, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
We stay here often for the races. First time bringing family and grand-kids. Everyone had fun, lots of things for the kids to entertain themselves with. Stayed an extra night to include a trip to Adventureland. Will definitely do this trip again next year. Staff is great as always. They keep updating and upgrading the place to stay current. Could use better Wifi but still a great place.
Jul 23, 2019
Here for the IRL Iowa Corn 300. Good facility, perfect for my needs. Nice pool in the heat, good staff.
Jul 23, 2019
The facility was very nice, but the road noise was a bit overwhelming. There should be a way to built a noise abatement wall out near the interstate to block the noise. Otherwise the stay was very good.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
It was okay but too close together. We couldn’t put our awning out. Men next to us were outside talking until very late. Woke us up
Jul 22, 2019
A bit confusing when talking to owners/hosts getting our reservation squared away. Just seemed liked lots of confusion as always with this park
Jul 22, 2019
We have stayed here several times and always found all the employees friendly and helpful. But this year one of the staff was exceptional. Dana went the extra mile when we were faced with an uncertain situation (not related to the campground). We really appreciate her calm and efforts. The campground has always been well kept. I know we will visit again.
Jul 22, 2019
Curtis was amazing and so friendly! We felt so welcome. We stayed in the upper camp ground and it was ok, it looks like they may be adding more sites and doing improvements. It’s very far from the main camp ground and there are no trees. But we had a good night there and we were on our way!
Jul 22, 2019
TV cable didn't have a signal. Sites are very tight.
Jul 22, 2019
Dana was very kind in helping us find a spot since they were so busy. We were in the newer area up on the hill. It had full hookups but the gravel was more like big rocks which was difficult to walk on. It is right next to the freeway and across from the speedway which we did hear. The freeway was more annoying with a whistling sound as cars and trucks drove by.
Jul 21, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 21, 2019
Nice place but to much noise from interstate.
Jul 21, 2019
Very close to the expressway. The new section is completely in the sun. The cable and internet did not work in the new area. Sites were unlevel. The older section would probably have been okay. We did not stay.
Jul 20, 2019
we have stayed here twice before and found this campground to be very nice, but a bit small for our trailer and truck. So I up sized the trailer and we got a very good spot for it. The time we have stay it has always been late but the paperwork was always there and ready for us. Lovely area and very nice surrounding
Jul 20, 2019
You always know what to expect from a KOA -- easy on and off route, friendly people, smiling faces.... almost always flat, level spots!
Jul 20, 2019
Very pleasant staff and very nice sites. Very accessible from highway for easy in and out. Will use again.
Jul 19, 2019
Jul 19, 2019
Lots were extremely close (maybe 3 ft between the one next to us when the slides were extended. Our lot was hard to get onto. Because we were next to the interstate, traffic was very loud.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 18, 2019
Stopped in around 6pm for the night, very friendly welcome and very nicely kept grounds. The pool was clean and even got to 9ft at the very end (good when your son is 6'2") the bathrooms were clean. We loved playing gaga ball as a family, the jumping mat was a fun addition and given more time we would have liked to try their frisbee golf. Easy off and on the freeway and we had a nice level spot.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Easy on and off I90. Sites are very close.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Great people on my check in and very informative
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Good for 1 night. Highway noise. Site had sewage hookup but was told not to use. Guess they had drainage problems
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Very clean very very friendly I just wanted a little bit of ice and she gave me a gallon bag full of ice without charging me I would recommend this place to anybody
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Needs trees in the new section
Jul 15, 2019
Super nice people! The facilities were older but well maintained with quality materials. The pool was very nice. Everything was clean and easy to get to. Our campsite was on grass and we loved it! We did not use it but we all really liked the smart car kiddie train. The only downside of this place was the nasty highway noise. My family would stay here again in spite of that.
Jul 14, 2019
Very nice and clean
Jul 14, 2019
Sites are too close. The staff are friendly, and facilities clean. Showers are good size and water hot. However if you have a slide out you’re practically in the neighbors site
Jul 13, 2019
Well kept, neat campground. Staff very friendly and helpful. Laundry is small, and could have been cleaner, so had to go to laundromat to do 6 loads. Pool was nice but no hot tub. We were there over 4th of July. Would suggest adult swim hour. Sites extremely close together.
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 12, 2019
Fabulous campground. Lots of things to do and and the staff are so friendly!
Jul 11, 2019
Just stayed one night, but really enjoyed it and the camp host are very customer oriented.
Jul 10, 2019
I spent two nights and had great WIFI and clean site but road noise was excessive . The management was fine .
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Noise
Jul 10, 2019
Sites were very narrow. Couldn’t put our awning out , the next trailer was too close.
Jul 09, 2019
Everyone was so courteous and made sure we knew where everything was and how to get there and made sure we were well taken care of. Thanks Bob & Teri
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 08, 2019
Staff was very helpful! They were always around if you needed anything. Really clean campground. Pet friendly, they even had a dog park!
Jul 08, 2019
We booked a 10 day stay. First the hosts put us into a spot with no dump. When we asked for full hook ups they switched us to their “new” section which had no trees, was up a big hill, no internet, and had large jagged rocks for a pad. I bruised my feet walking in shoes on those rocks, and our dog hurt her leg on them. Good spots were open during our stay, but KOA opted to cater to one nighter
Oct 09, 2019
Great campground. Highly recommend!
- Carol Warner on Google
Sep 29, 2019
Wonderful campground, great amenities and facilities! Look forward to returning
- Thomas Ballard on Google
Sep 28, 2019
You are right next to the interstate for easy on and off camping. So yes, there is some good interstate noise. The staff here is absolutely wonderful! We camp here often and can not praise them enough! Some of the spaces down below are tight. The end lots are great! Up on the hill is newer less noise as well. With the newer spots I feel they are a little bit bigger areas. The area is more rock but give it time and it will be wonderful there.
- Jonathan Niece on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.