Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 07, 2019
We came in late due to some traveling challenges and was warmly welcomed and guided to where we needed to be.
Nov 05, 2019
Tonya was great at check-in.
Oct 29, 2019
Very efficient at check in and friendly. We have stayed here before and will return.
Oct 29, 2019
Great, helpful hosts. This was our second stay at this KOA, and we will be back.
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Very just wished we had more time and it wasn’t raining. Not much you can do about weather
Oct 24, 2019
2nd stay it is still great
Oct 23, 2019
I have stayed at this site before AWESOME folks AWESOME campgrounds
Oct 21, 2019
Conveniently located with great sites that include fire pit.
Oct 21, 2019
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Lots of magnificent, mature trees of many different varieties. 24 hour traffic noise from the nearby interstate Hwy was loud. No paper towels in the Men’s shower area for the three days and nights I was there.
Oct 20, 2019
Services were present and functional. We only stayed one night just passing thru, but the accomodations were adequate. Closeness to interstate traffic made for noise all night though.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Very nice clean campground
Oct 20, 2019
GREAT customer service!!!! very helpful and friendly staff. worked with me to solve a problem i had. will def be back again every chance i get. for other travelers looking for info on the park itself... spaces are a little tight together, some are a little unlevel but not horribly so. wifi is strong and fast. bathrooms and laundry a little dated but clean. noisy highway nearby - use a fan.
Oct 19, 2019
Pulled in with no reservation, the woman who checked us in was super sweet, very helpful and accommodating. Nice campground, clean and well laid out. Definitely will stop again.
Oct 19, 2019
Very clean ,very Nice but too close from highway
Oct 17, 2019
Although it is close to the freeway for convenience, it is a little noisy. Cat, the camp staff who checked us in was super helpful and moved us upon my request. She stopped back twice to check on us. Lovely gal. Nice quiet and clean campground with great level pullthroughs.
Oct 17, 2019
Good clean place to stay.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Was a long term patron. They have great amenities and the staff is always nice. They have a very nice dog park and the pool was really nice this summer.
Oct 16, 2019
Nice park but too close to expressway.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 12, 2019
Just overnight stay
Oct 12, 2019
Friendly accommodating staff!!! Clean. Quiet.
Oct 10, 2019
Traffic noise was horrible
Oct 09, 2019
Overall, pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites seemed a little narrow, but in good working order. Road noise was noticeable, but there's not much you can do about that. Would stay there again.
Oct 09, 2019
Friendly hosts and very helpful. Campsites were large and level. Didn't make use of amenities as it was an overnight stay. Close to interstate so could hear traffic noise but not offensive. Good park.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Friendly staff, nice sites, but close to highway and heard truck traffic all night
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 05, 2019
Good place to stay traveling through the area.
Oct 05, 2019
I arrived at Newton Ia. KOA on Monday afternoon and left on Friday morning. The folks running the kampground were very helpful and friendly. The facility is very close to the highway so it was rather noisy and it rained most of the time I was there so the were some issues with mud. But overall for a brief stop on my journey it fit my needs well.
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Stayed here off and on for many years. Had a weather related problem this time, no fault of the owners/staff. All was resolved with their help in a timely manner so we could get back on the road. We'll be back!
Oct 04, 2019
nice camp ground just a little to much road noise
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
As always, our stay here was fine. It's the first time we have had to go into the laundry room and it wasn't to do our laundry. It was shelter from impending danger of an oncoming tornado. Staff did not seem a bit phased by the siren or the local newscasts of imminent danger. They kept guiding new arrivals to their campsites. I wish they would have checked on us.
Oct 04, 2019
Very exciting! After setting up and as we received our pizza a Tornado warning was issued and the staff saw to it everyone was aware and knew where to head. After 20-30 minutes we were told the warning was over. A ride back to site was offered to a lady on Oxygen. Well handled
Oct 04, 2019
Campground was a 4 and the stay could be a 7 or 8 but it is way to close to highway 80. Very busy traffic and the heavy noise is 24/7.
Oct 03, 2019
Very clean and well organized, and the staff were kind and polite. The only problem was the noise from I-80 about 100 yards away required ear plugs to keep it from interfering with our sleep.
Oct 03, 2019
Lots of empty, high and dry sites that would ha e put us away from others directly for a quick pitstop with late check-in (dark-9:30-ish), and early breakdown as we spoke and requested. But no, they wedged us tightly between 2 others that I am sure we disturbed, in a muddy site. Noisiest campground ever! Super highway road noise all night. Never again!
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
Only there for an overnight stay, but the site was great as was the staff.
Sep 29, 2019
Only stayed overnight, but the site was great and the staff friendly and helpful.
Sep 27, 2019
Narrow sites, no escort to site, VERY loud highway noise, site map was a photocopy that was hard to read. Will not stay again.
Nov 16, 2019
Cozy clean. Fun giant shuffle curling.
- Brent Wahlstrom on Google
Nov 14, 2019
Love it
- Jacob Esuph on Google
Nov 12, 2019
Love kamping kabins
- Candi Harringa on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.