Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 14, 2019
We would have slept better, if we had pulled to the side of the road on I80. We were parked less then 200 ft. next to I80, we always run a fan and the air conditioner but that did not help. The workers were very friendly and the park is beautiful.
Sep 14, 2019
The hosts were delightful people. Very kind and accommodating. The campground was clean and easy to access. My low rating is solely based on the proximity to the freeway. Extremely noisy!
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
I liked the park except for the highway noise!
Sep 12, 2019
New KOA. Our sit was a barren gravel site away from the other amenities
Sep 10, 2019
everything was great except the map/campground info was a copy that you couldn't read....at least make a good copy for shame.
Sep 10, 2019
Great people and park. Cable tv signal was very bad but we did have a lot of rain so might have affected it � See you in about two weeks (reservation already made!) Mike Fisher
Sep 10, 2019
It kind of stunk at the site we were at and the space was small
Sep 10, 2019
Though short, we enjoyed our stay. I enjoyed the nature walk and the folks were very inviting and welcoming.
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice camp ground,clean and well organized. If we ever get a chance to stay there again I would try to stay away from the sights by the interstate, the truck traffic was loud.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
The park is very clean and well organized. The staff is very friendly and helpful, even brought me fresh eggs! Great stop over place.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Very nice site. Very quiet.
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Sites are too close and the noise from the Interstate is almost unbearable! But they do have a real nice hiking trail!
Sep 06, 2019
Thanks for site 25�
Sep 06, 2019
Stayed for one night on way home. Fairly level sites, high water pressure... need a water regulator., friendly staff, bit it is a bit noisy due to the expressway. But location is within minutes of the off and on ramps. We will stay here again on our way to see our Granddaughter at the USAFA in Colorado.
Sep 05, 2019
As many reviews before mentioned the freeway traffic noise- it’s true, it’s loud. Thank goodness I’m a heavy sleeper but I feel sorry for light sleepers. My biggest disappointment in this KOA was even though the staff was nice they were not accommodating at all. I always put a special request in my reservations that hasn’t been a problem to fill and this campground couldnt be bothered, I w

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This customer made their reservation online...5 days before a labor day weekend stay. We were booked and there were a limited number of sites available by that time. Her request was for a "satellite friendly location". We had spaces up in our new section which were totally satellite friendly but did not have internet access yet and were farther from the pool and amenities. LVM no response
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Little noisy from interstate other than that really nice
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
The noise from the highway was way to much for us to handle for sleeping and just hanging out! The area was beautiful the people were very nice but I would comeback because where we were parked the highway noise was very disruptive! Maybe you could get the county or city to build a sound barrier wall! I know neighborhoods that are next to highways have been able to get these walls built! J
Sep 03, 2019
Loved all the stuff for the kids to do!!
Sep 03, 2019
I have stayed at this campground several times and always had a great experience. On my latest trip I stayed here two different times. On the first time they stayed a little past closing time to guide me to my spot. The second time they looked at the lot I had chosen and then recommended a better one that would be easier to pull into.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Wet dirty and way to many fies
Sep 02, 2019
This campground was convenient for a one night stop. Staff were very nice. Pretty setting. Fellow campers were quiet and respectful of others. There is noise from I-80 but it didn’t bother us. We actually enjoyed watching the traffic. The bathrooms were not as clean as we’re accustomed to at most KOA’s. The fee for a campsite was greatly over priced.
Sep 02, 2019
This is a campground we come back to often - service is always very good. We like the expansion going on and will request one of the "upper sites" next time. Easy to get to though there is some highway noise.
Sep 02, 2019
Very friendly staff and nice campground. Great pancake breakfast on Saturday morning.
Sep 01, 2019
A very nice KOA. We have stayed here several times. Our only complaint is the traffic noise from the interstate.
Sep 01, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Nice KOA but narrow sites. Convenient to the Interstate but there is noise. Good TV & wi-fi. We stayed here one night on a trip to Indiana. We did not use the facilities.
Aug 30, 2019
Site number 1 was awesome!
Aug 30, 2019
Although our stay was for only one night we found the campground and site very clean, pleasant and comfortable with June and Bob truly accommodating and very courteous, friendly. Having full hook-up with sewer was excellent! Only our second experience at KOA but certainly won't be our last. Plan to stay there again on our next trip west. Thank you!
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
A little noisy from truck traffic on I-80. Good place to stay.
Aug 29, 2019
Too noisy. Right next to the interstate. Small lots also. Very tight.
Aug 29, 2019
Typical OLD needs UPGRADES. Staff was Great. Right up against freeway. They sure don't say anything about that in their ads!!
Aug 29, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean, site was level and staff was very nice. Thank you
Aug 29, 2019
Great stay like always! Staff is beyond great! My only complaint is the low trees. I wish that all the trees were cut to 14' whenever we park below we run our camper down trees. I am not a fan of scratching our camper.
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 28, 2019
We always stop at this KOA while traveling cross country. The people are friendly and the park is clean. Our site this time was a bit tight but we were only staying 1 night so it didn’t bother us. Plus it was the week before Labor Day so the park was a bit more full than usual so the roomier sites weren’t available.
Aug 28, 2019
Just an overnight but coming in and departing very easy. Clean grounds. A little noisy near the freeway but to be expected when you're looking for easy on/off. But if we were staying several days, I would still elect this place. Great place.
Aug 27, 2019
Just one night on our way to Colorado. A little noisy because you have e great access from I80. Staff is friendly, didn't use any facilities. Will stay here on our way back from Colorado.
Aug 27, 2019
Very friendly staff. Location next to the interstate took some time to get used to.
Sep 17, 2019
Beautiful park with great employees!
- Connie Mayes on Google
Sep 01, 2019
Nice
- John Isenberg on Google