Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2020
Jul 05, 2020
Due to COVID instead of flying from Colorado to Michigan we drove and decided to tent camp along the way. We couldn't have had a better experience. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if the opportunity arises.
Jul 05, 2020
Packed in like sardines. Did not feel clean
Jul 05, 2020
Grass wasn’t mowed when we got our spot. WiFi and cable wasn’t working. We checked out a day early because I don’t think they took real good care of their spots.
Jul 05, 2020
It would have been 5 stars but the wifi wasn't available which was one of the things you really need when traveling with kids.
Jul 04, 2020
Mary and Curtis were very helpful and friendly. Recommended places to grab some dinner. Very pleased
Jul 04, 2020
Spaces too close together. Would not stay for more than a night.
Jul 04, 2020
Very nice place. Had a lot of things for the grandkids to play at the playground and a great pool. The 3 feet was actually 3 feet deep. Really friendly staff. Would stay again.
Jul 04, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Internet was not working, everything else good
Jul 03, 2020
Very nice park but the Interstate noise is really loud a row of trees would help some
Jul 03, 2020
Nice area - CLEAN bathrooms and pool area. Our only real complaints were that the pool hours weren’t consistent. With two teen boys they were annoyed :) Noise from the highway was really loud by the tent sites but we knew picking this place it would be that way. Overall the campground seemed very quiet, not very many people out and about. Our experience was positive.
Jul 03, 2020
The free wifi was not working
Jul 03, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great site.
Jul 03, 2020
Campground was very nice, and well maintained! Owner was super nice; and even took our picture for us! Thanks for the hospitality!
Jul 02, 2020
Highway noise
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
great joint!
Jul 02, 2020
The road noise from the interstate was way too loud! They had just put down new sand and gravel and put us on a site that hadn’t been graded yet. It was very dusty and dirty and it was way too high a step from our bottom step to the ground. We did enjoy the hiking trail and it’s nice that there’s fishing. The staff was very friendly. The camp sites were way too close together.
Jul 01, 2020
We had to come to the area for a death in the family. The mgmt was very accommodating with our long stay there. Customer service was top notch. The camp hosts were also very friendly and helpful as we came in late one evening to get set up. The campground had a wonderful nature path we enjoyed walking and watching the birds and enjoyed fishing in the pond. Close to Newton's bike path & parks.
Jul 01, 2020
Wonderful customer service!
Jul 01, 2020
It was excellent. Very family friendly place and my kids had a blast. We didn’t feel like we had to leave to find entertainment.
Jul 01, 2020
Customer service is the saddest. Not a smile- willing to let you know how busy and stressed they are and the older man who escorts you to your site was stressed out of his mind and rude. He was throwing his clipboard around and in a snit with whoever the woman was working the front desk. Not a fun place to stay at all!
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
Excellent site with wonderful hosts. Beautiful grounds. Pet and kid friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 01, 2020
Great facilities and pool friendly staff. The noise from I-80 is pretty significant if your not in a hard sided camper.
Jul 01, 2020
Very clean, very friendly people, the only downfall is highway noise.
Jul 01, 2020
Excellent customer service. Cabin immaculate. So surprised to find a bathroom in the cabin... loved it. Great idea. Lots for kids to do. Absolutely wonderful experience although it was just overnight. Next time we'll make sure to plan for a longer stay.
Jun 30, 2020
Great
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
such nice people working here. Ok sites but a little too close together, but we would stay again due to all the fun amenities and nice grounds. Quite a bit of highway noise too but we see this a lot on easy on/ off sites
Jun 29, 2020
People super friendly. Place is clean and inviting
Jun 29, 2020
Everything was clean, well organized, and the staff were friendly and efficient.
Jun 27, 2020
The man that confronted should not be in customer service. I manage an RV resort and I would never have anyone work with me that had that type of behavior. The lady in the office was awesome, this man needs to hang it up. Work camping days are over for him. I made my reservation on line and told me they should have told me when I called. Told him I made on line, said they made mistake
Jun 27, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Very nice place. Well kept, friendly place.
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Office staff very nice. Pool very nice. Only restroom/showers were connected to office—none to serve the back of campground. Gravel pad uneven. Very noisy due to nearby interstate traffic. Shady areas available.
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Got in late and the stay started out bad with no Wifi. But, The staff corrected it in the AM and we were able to get online classes completed and they were accommodating for us checking out late to complete my daughters on-line schooling. Great and friendly staff. Paul
Jun 26, 2020
Very nice campground. If we had time would have stayed longer.
Jun 26, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
I really enjoyed this KOA. The sites were really nice, and the grounds were lovely. Looked like people there were really enjoying themselves. I will definitely go out of my way to return to this facility.
Jun 24, 2020
Great location. Nice amenities. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Thank you.
Jun 24, 2020
Nice park but right next to I-80 very very loud
Jun 23, 2020
Stayed in the studio cabin. Very cozy, could use an update on the mattress but otherwise we lived it. Tons of trees and the stage was great! Will definitely be back!
Jun 23, 2020
Friendly and very helpful staff! They went out of their way to find a plunger for us to use and offered their own snake from their home if needed. Very clean facility with lots for the children to do!
Jun 23, 2020
I have stayed at The Newton/Des Moines KOA several times. My favorite thing about the campground are the employees, they are very helpful and accommodating. I enjoy the friendly smiles and positive attitudes, I especially appreciate Tonya, I have had interactions with her every time that I have stayed and she is delightful! Thank You, Newton/Des Moines KOA, Roy
Jun 22, 2020
The staff is awesome. We love staying at Newton KOA
Jun 22, 2020
We were there 9 days and it was great except that there were a couple washers and a couple dryers out of order which made laundry day take longer than it should. Otherwise very nice little park for weekenders.
Jun 30, 2020
Thank you Curtis and Dana VanGilder for 3 days in paradise. All the kindness and caring you and your staff provide is immeasurable 🙏🏻 Your campsite 🏕 is pristine, from activity’s to the facility’s you provide. We hope to see you again one day. This is a must stay!! Jon and Jana Black.
- Jana Black on Google
Jun 21, 2020
Great KOA. Everyone was very friendly!
- Rebecca Schembre on Google
Jul 08, 2020
Spent a night on our travels from Texas to Wisconsin. You never know what you're going to come across on the road but this was a lovely experience. Super clean and the grounds are meticulously maintained. Very friendly staff and Phoebe is a rockstar! Thank you very much for a pleasant stay! 😊
- Darla Ferguson on Google