Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 16, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
Though short, we enjoyed our stay. I enjoyed the nature walk and the folks were very inviting and welcoming.
Aug 12, 2019
We had a tent site. Tents sites are away from the camper jungle. VERY nice area for tent sites. Flat area and grassy with shade trees. VERY NICE!!!.. Great pool, small area for little kids but went to like 8 feet deep. SUPER NICE campground. Well maintained. Extra helpful and friendly staff. BEAUTIFUL park. Lots of things for kids as well as adults to do. We missed the ice cream social! :(
Jul 21, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 08, 2019
Loved the staff, the area of the campground. Only thing the family had to say were the restroom facilities were a bit out dated. But we plan to return this summer!
Jun 27, 2019
Nice little campground, but it was like camping in the middle of interstate 80, very loud, no sleep
Jun 17, 2019
Was there for one night for race weekend and wasn't on property much. Bathrooms and showers very clean and working properly. Will stay there again.
Jun 08, 2019
Excellent campground; clean and well-maintained, with a well-stocked store, and not much highway noise. Staff is helpful and efficient. My only regret was that because I had to leave before 7:00 am, I didn't have the opportunity to try the "KOA Breakfast". I would stay again at the Newton, Iowa KOA.
Apr 16, 2019
Lady at check in was so very nice. Very clean. I felt safe and comfortable.
Nov 28, 2018
Glad the Newton KOA was opened through the end of October. Will use this KOA again when the need arises. Thanx!
Oct 13, 2018
The road was closed, so I followed the detour. I could see the KOA sign, but not the entrance. I was pulling a u-haul, so I couldn't drive down the unpaved roads to try to find the entrance in case I couldn't get turned around. KOA staff should have told me about the closed road and given detailed instructions when I spoke with them on the phone. I slept in my car at a rest stop that night.
Oct 09, 2018
Facilities looked pretty rough - spiders and bugs hanging out in the shower stalls etc. Laundry wasn’t 24 hour and was in a small room with no windows (felt like timeout). The grounds were pretty, but I don’t think we would make a point to stop here again. An ok place to spend one night when on the road.
Sep 24, 2018
People running the campgrounds were very helpful. They let me borrow something for the weekend without making me buy it. Much appreciated! I will stay there again next year!
Sep 17, 2018
We weren't there for long but the customer service over the phone was great! The mosquitos were bad and there were several spiders in the bathroom but overall it was a good stay! Thank you!
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Owners were very friendly. Showers were a bit small, but the water pressure was great, and there was plenty of hot water! Also liked they had paper towels in the bathrooms, so we could wipe down the countertops. It POURED when we were there, so hopefully next time we can enjoy more of the campground.
Aug 28, 2018
This campsite has a great location. Right next to interstate 80. A very clean and well kept campground, with a friendly staff. Why 4 stars? Being so close to the highway, there is a lot of road noise.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 19, 2018
Aug 18, 2018
The first visit was in 2010 during cross-country trip.. 8 years later and this little gem was as great now as it was then! Please people, clean, great showers, well maintained and nice and quiet! :)
Aug 15, 2018
Easy access, nice facility, friendly staff. For E/W tent camping, sites are next to I-80, so road noise is a big issue, and distance to the restrooms/laundry/etc. is about as far as you can get at the site.
Aug 13, 2018
We arrived at night and the tent sites are directly under the interstate. Not what the website depicts at all! We drove to Grinell at 10pm and got a hotel.
Aug 13, 2018
Nicely groomed grounds, clean bathrooms and pool. Campground staff is awesome!
Aug 05, 2018
I loved my short time here. Very friendly staff and met good people right off in the campsite. I hope to make this THE place I stop when coming back from the west from now on. Thank you for the beers, Dwayne! Des Moines is the halfway point roughly from Rapid City S. Dakota, and if I make it here, I know I'll be home the next day in Dayton, Ohio
Aug 04, 2018
This was a very nice campground. The workers were very kind.
Jul 31, 2018
Lots of fun stuff for the kids to do. Very clean and well kept. All of the staff was very nice. Highway noise was pretty annoying all night last night (which I realize they have no control over). Only down side they could fix is that the bathroom is really far away from the tent area. Would have been great to have at least a port a potty or something closer.
Jul 12, 2018
Love the campground. Only problem is that the sites are really close together and the sewer drains are right next to the a joining campsite picnic table and uphill from the camper. I thought no it needs to be redesigned sometime. I'll stop again it's a half way point between Mo and Wis.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Very friendly place with lots of lovely trees. Unfortunately it is located right beside I-80, which gave off lots of truck noise all night long, so not pleasant for tenters.
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Great and friendly staff, easy on and off location from the freeway. We had a beautiful tent site, made more delightful by a number of lightning bugs flashing away around us. We were disappointed, however, to discover our site was right next to the RV dumping station and we had to deal with campers coming through after 9pm and before 8am to empty their tanks.
Jun 25, 2018
Great people, great campground, and great amenities! Newton KOA was a perfect place to stay while attending a race at the Newton NASCAR track. Only bad comment is the interstate noise but everything else made up for that!
Jun 25, 2018
thought we would have a fire ring at our site but was not one there kinda disappointed
Jun 18, 2018
The site was clean, the staff was friendly, and the bathrooms were always in great order.
Jun 07, 2018
My husband and I stayed at a tent site without electricity. The folks there were absolutely wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The site was excellent, on level ground. They did have a pool, which was in great shape, and afterwards read a couple of books they offered in their game room. Overall I loved our stay, brief as it was. I most certainly will keep this KOA in mind in our travels.
Jun 06, 2018
Tanya was very accommodating to our schedule and gave us easy-to-follow instructions and great tips for how to best enjoy our stay at the campground. I enjoyed the beautiful landscaping, trails, and pond and found the campground to be clean and very convenient.
May 20, 2018
This campground was gorgeous, close to where we needed to go and the people were extremely nice.
Sep 27, 2017
The lady was very helpful, we are a small family of three with a toddler staying in a tent only on a rainy night and she offered to gave us a covered shelter for our use near the office in case the weather gets really bad. We stayed in there to get our dinner but we went back to our tent but she was really thoughtful for offering us that place.
Sep 21, 2017
Great rate for tent camping. Large and well kept K-9 area. The best K-9 area out of the five KOAs that we stayed at during our road trip.
Sep 05, 2017
Had a great time. Plenty of things to do to keep kids busy.
Sep 05, 2017
Nov 16, 2019
Cozy clean. Fun giant shuffle curling.
- Brent Wahlstrom on Google
Nov 14, 2019
Love it
- Jacob Esuph on Google
Nov 12, 2019
Love kamping kabins
- Candi Harringa on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.