Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 20, 2020
Dec 30, 2019
Campground clean and well kept. Bathrooms old outdated and not very clean. At least the one day we visited the restroom. We had full hookups so we didn’t need to return to the restrooms.
Dec 16, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
Nice KOA. Very friendly staff. Some sites not level. Bridge going in and out can be unnerving and had water flowing over it the day we left. This was our second stay here.
Dec 02, 2019
Great place to stay to visit pigeon forge and Gatlinburg, away from all the traffic and noise. A little noisy from interstate traffic but not to bad. Great camp host and and staff.
Nov 21, 2019
Nov 15, 2019
Narrow bridge is a concern so went very slowly. and had no problem. The transition at the highway (making a right turn) was harrowing. Things fell over and the coach rocked. The staff was very friendly and helpful, Pam was very nice and should get a raise (she was very helpful).
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 09, 2019
Nov 08, 2019
The staff were very friendly and pleasant. Our truck had mechanical issues which delayed our planned departure of 0800. We got our truck back from the dealer and the didn't get on the road until 5:30 that afternoon. The staff was very accommodating.
Nov 06, 2019
I like to stay at this KOA and have many times. The only thing I wish they would have done was turn the heat on in the cabin before we got there. It took quite awhile for the cabin to warm up.
Nov 06, 2019
just a overnight on the way South,,, The only thing that was not to good is the Entrnce come in which you had to watch.,,,,,
Nov 04, 2019
Stayed 3 days to visit the Smokies. Location worked well for us...easy off and on highways, close to grocery stores, Wal-Mart, etc. Bathrooms and showers were clean. A little noise from the highway, but that's a trade- off for the easy access. We'll be back.
Nov 03, 2019
I was only there for one night but loved the staff. They put me in a different site as I didn’t want to unhook. Would recommend this campground to anyone visiting the area. Beautiful scenery and if I return in the future I’ll definitely try to stay there again.
Nov 03, 2019
Stayed one night, and the interstate traffic was so loud and not enough bathrooms had to walk all the way to office to use bathroom.
Oct 31, 2019
Nice place but A LOT of road noise from the freeway (I-40 is right behind it). So be prepared. Bring ear plugs.
Oct 31, 2019
Reasonable price. Nice friendly host. Clean bathrooms. Full hook ups and pull through sites. Close to the Great Smoky Mountains and towns for exploring. A little too close to the hwy and truck road noise through the night.
Oct 30, 2019
It was just OK because the store was mediocre but the surroundings were alright and the service was good.
Oct 29, 2019
Older wooded park which sadly has become "home" to most of the quests. Park is clean, staff friendly, very helpful. Bath house desperately needs update. OK for night, not much going on in the immediate area. Cable with box from office, good cell on Verizon, WiFi slow, but usable.
Oct 29, 2019
This park is located in a beautiful park of Tennessee close to the Smokey Mtns and that's the real attraction here. The park iteself is pretty bare bones (It is a Journey, after all.) The spots are VERY close together and the campground is right next to the road which was pretty loud overnight. The people who work there are so nice, but the park itself has little to offer.
Oct 29, 2019
Quiet, helpful, clean. Bathrooms are clean but need upgrading.
Oct 29, 2019
Nice area. Shaded, convenient and easy access. Only negative was an occasional sewer smell.
Oct 28, 2019
The staff were very friendly. The cabin was clean along with the shower houses. I'll happily recommend to others and look forward to staying again
Oct 28, 2019
Helpful and friendly staff. RV sites are really close together, more so than most KOAs Ive stayed at. Also heavy interstate traffic noise from I-40.
Oct 27, 2019
Office staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi was weak but everything else was fine
Oct 24, 2019
Very happy with the staff . I had a problem with my coach that required an added day’s stay. Considering the site I was on had a client coming in immediately after my departure. The staff was very accommodating and made the necessary adjustments so I didn’t have to move. Greatly appreciated! Thank you and your staff !
Oct 24, 2019
Nice people and shady sites. Roads are gravel and sites were fairly level. Close to the Bush Bean Plant.
Oct 24, 2019
The campground was nice, friendly staff and location was good but it needs some maintenance. The entry off the main road has a big dip and caused items to come out of our refrigerator. When we left we noticed several scrape marks on the roadway showing that the dip was too deep. There were tree branches that were too low and scraped the top of my RV.
Oct 22, 2019
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was clean. It was quiet.
Oct 22, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. Bathhouse was very nice.
Oct 22, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
We appreciated the pull through since we were only staying one night and wanted to stay connected to our truck. The RV Park was nice and the staff was fine. We were a little unhappy that they ran out of cable boxes so we weren’t able to watch the football game that we were looking forward to.
Oct 20, 2019
Our stay was great your the only place that would except my big dogs and I'm greatly appreciated it we had a great time. The only thing that can be approved is more info on what to bring for the cabins.....Blankets,TV etc Thank you!!!
Oct 18, 2019
Sites were tight. Needs updated. No cable which was advertised
Oct 18, 2019
Great place to stay. Nice and quiet with a great staff. We will definitely be back.
Oct 17, 2019
Loved everything except the interstate noise was loud. Not good for biking and to far out of gatlinburg and pigeon forge for us to spend the time we wanted to there. Could not get cable tv to work but not really an issue for us. Staff were great and all was clean.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
We were only there for the night and arrived after the office closed but instructions were clear to our campsite. Dog park was nice but pea gravel isn't the best for dog paws. Grass would be ideal. Women's restroom was dated, updating needed. Also found mold on toilet around rim.
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Pleasant and quiet. Campground was clean and well kept.
Oct 15, 2019
Sites too close. Heard my neighbor yawning and I have a hearing disability. Very small and narrow roads. Had to cross over a single lane bridge to get to the campground. No sides on the bridge. Kinda hazardous for a Motorhome.
Oct 13, 2019
Quaint campground Very quiet. Great mountain scenery. However the dog park was full of poop!!! It needs to be better checked by management. I picked up 10 piles that were not my dogs so I would not step in. Only blemish of the stay.
Oct 13, 2019
The campground was just ok. The people where great, however I had just washed my 43 ft motorhome and they didn't tell about the Walnut trees leaking sap and I now have a filthy dirty motorhome. The roof is. Black with the sticky sap And I just got it washed before my arrival at blue beacon truck wash. That was a wasted $70.00! Very unhappy ����. Camper.
Oct 13, 2019
Pam did everything to make our one-night stay memorable.
Oct 12, 2019
Overall, it’s a decent campground. The playground needs an upgrade. Our sewer hookup was in the back of the space and was uphill. Needless to say, it was difficult to empty the tanks. It’s also so close to I 40, the constant road noise makes it hard to rest, unless you have a fan to drown out the noise.
Oct 11, 2019
Friendly staff. Our site was bad. We had electricity power posts out our camper door and the garbage dump across from us. Had no desire to sit outside or build a fire to enjoy the outdoors. Maybe it was just the site location but I didn't like the campground. Won't go back again.
Oct 09, 2019
Entrance road into park has very narrow bridge on a turn that has deep sides! Be very careful not to get off! Sites were not very level and there were many permanent campers in disrepair. Staff was friendly and courteous.
Jan 06, 2020
(Translated by Google) I recommend KOA of Newport TN. (Original) I recommend KOA of Newport TN.
- Mike Rivera on Google
Jan 06, 2020
Outstanding park for an overnight stay, very courteous people, easy in-and-out access. Would definitely say again
- Lester Bouler on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.