Mt. Lassen / Shingletown KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 08, 2020
We’ve been to this KOA in an RV and now, as tent campers. The family friendly environment is awesome and the kids always have a good time. We liked having water and electricity in our tent site and the site was very clean. We stayed in site T6. The owners, Diana and Jim with their great staff, do a great job of making every guest feel welcome. I would highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 30, 2020
The cleanest campground we have ever been to. Great pool for your use. And Friday night was the highlight with a movie outdoors under the stars with popcorn. The host Jim and Diana are the nicest people and makes you feel like family. We have been there on 3 different visits and already planning for next summer.
Aug 27, 2020
Aug 24, 2020
Our stay was perfect as always. Every time we stay at the Shingletown KOA we notice little improvements here and there. This time we noticed the grounds keepers and cleaning staff were being hyper vigilant in cleaning and disinfecting to protect the campers from the China flu. The staff is always nice and helpful, and willing to go the extra mile. My whole family loves the Shingletown KOA.
Aug 06, 2020
Very clean, quiet campground with great amenities. Excellent staff. Close to Lassen. I will definitely be recommending it to friends and family.
Aug 05, 2020
So much to do here my daughter and myself loved it very much!
Aug 04, 2020
Enjoyed the small campground feel. Restroom facilities were clean.
Aug 01, 2020
One of the nicest cleanest campgrounds. The staff is very friendly. The bathrooms and showers we're clean. The pool was clean and our campsite was great
Aug 01, 2020
This place is clean, staff is friendly, lots of fun activities but there are dog that bark ALL NIGHT LONg!! I got no sleep the entire stay;)( I will not ever come back because of this problem

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Jennifer, you were here for 4 nights and never approached us about the barking dogs. Everyday I go around and talk with our tent campers and not one other camper heard the dogs. You spent a lot of time in the store and talking with our maintenance man and never brought it up.
Jul 31, 2020
Great hosts! Pristine property. Cleanliness was outstanding for bathrooms and overall property.
Jul 31, 2020
We truly enjoyed our stay, the kids had a blast & the staff & other guests were extremely friendly! On our first night my husband lost his wedding band that was also my fathers before he passed not realizing until we got home 3 days later. A kind guest turned in the ring to the front desk to which we are able to recover the ring! Thank you to whom ever you are, & thank you to the staff!
Jul 28, 2020
The campground was very nice, bathrooms clean. Kids loved the tree swing. Our spot was small (T3), and felt like an overflow sport, but if I could get a site in the back with the trees I’d come again!
Jul 28, 2020
Very nice. First stay at a KOA. Clean & family friendly. Only recommendation would to install more bathrooms near the tent camping areas. (The RV's have their own.) Looking forward to my next visit.
Jul 27, 2020
Wonderful shady sites. Very pleasant and upbeat staff. Beautiful area.
Jul 24, 2020
Cleanliness of the camp was meticulous! Bathrooms were very clean. Impressed that the garbage can lids, sides and handles, were wiped down several times a day! The dog park was clean and safe for our furry friends. Pool, lawn area and playground was kept clean as well. The staff was very friendly and immediately resolved any issues that occurred. Fun things to do here!
Jul 24, 2020
We had a wonderful stay! The tent site was perfect, a bit of shade. The staff was extremely kind. The bathrooms were clean. The pool was the ideal temp. Even little things were appreciated, such as the very modest prices of necessities and treats at the little store. Very sweet place to camp amid beautiful Lassen.
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Nice place. Clean restrooms.
Jul 18, 2020
Nice campsite location
Jul 18, 2020
Very friendly staff and a very kid friendly and family friendly camp ground
Jul 18, 2020
Jul 14, 2020
Friendly hosts, CLEAN bathrooms, WiFi, and plenty of on site activities. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Jul 13, 2020
Really nice KOA. Tent spaces are large. Multiple restrooms and showers. Pool, playground and other recreational areas are well kept. Staff and store are great.
Jul 08, 2020
The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were very clean. The bad. None of the employees were wearing facial coverings during the state mandated period. Dogs barked constantly all night long every night we were camping. Near-by campers were very loud until 230 A.M. most nights. Talked to staff about dogs, and they said the owners would be informed. The barking dogs were 2 sides.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi Eric; Campgrounds/outdoor recreation, swimming pools and playgrounds are exempt from having to wear masks. Check out the state mandate. Several of our employees have Asthma and can not wear masks, others in our store do wear masks. In addition we have Plexiglas barriers at the front desk, sanitizers all over the store and property. We disinfect continuously. Dog issue is being addressed.
Jul 06, 2020
The staff was super friendly and prepared for COVID-19 protocol. The place was all booked and still felt cosy and quiet on our tent site. The Tesla charger is a plus and the reason we found this place, we will come back!!
Jul 06, 2020
Very nice stay. We would have liked it if staff also wore a face covering
Jul 06, 2020
We had a great time and have already reserved for next year! Thank you.
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 05, 2020
Both nights there was a dog barking consistently ALL NIGHT. It didn’t sound like it was from the campsite, it sounded like a Koa neighbour leaves their dogs out at night - it severely diminished my stay. I would totally stay again and recommend to others knowing this dog (maybe two dogs, large) have been brought inside their house or trained.
Jul 04, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Our tent site was not the ideal tent site (location-wise), but the staff members were so wonderful it more than made up for it. The entire campground was clean at all times.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
Very clean site and friendly staff.
Jun 30, 2020
The campground was clean and beautiful the staff was very nice and friendly, the owner Jim and his wife was wonderful and very Nice and helpful the whole time that we stayed there. We love it so much so that we book the same site for next year. Thanks to all of the wonderful staff at Shingletown KOA.
Jun 29, 2020
Beautiful, clean park. The employees were great and jim was very hospitable. We will be returning!
Jun 29, 2020
What a nice place to stay! Our family and grandchildren loved the campground and asked if we could please come again sometime. The bathrooms and showers are super clean. It's such a kid friendly place! They loved the playground, pool, movie night, and especially the ice cream social. All staff were very helpful. We have already booked our next stay!
Jun 27, 2020
Excellent place to camp.
Jun 27, 2020
It was great, very kid and teen friendly
Jun 27, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
Our reserved spot needed to be changed because of our sleeping arrangements. Staff made the efforts to accomodate our needs and we had a wonderful camping spot. Everyhing was perfect for two days. Except, a chipmunk ate a corner out of our bread package : )
Jun 25, 2020
Very nice place, thank you!
Jun 24, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
This is a smaller KOA with well thoughout sites and amenities. It is the perfect location for entrance into the Northwest side of Lassen Volcanic National Park and within a short few miles to groceries and other needs. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. The camp itself is one of the better kept that I have seen. Will definitely stay here again in the future.
Jun 21, 2020
Lassen KOA is just perfect. If you’ve never camped before, make this your first place! If you have, get ready for the bar to be raised! The tent pitches are HUGE and immaculate - water and electricity supply on the pitch and a spotless campfire base. The store has everything you need. All the bathrooms were spotless - all the time. The owners are also so friendly and helpful. The perfect tri
Jun 20, 2020
Jun 18, 2020
Jun 17, 2020
We stayed in a tent site with water and electricity. The site was very roomy with lots of trees and it was really convenient to have the water and electricity -- pretty much luxury tent camping in my opinion! The KOA is very well maintained and staff are friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are very clean and nice too. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit again.
Jun 16, 2020
High-risk takers only. Disappointed that the staff was not wearing masks. The staff was very friendly, but that does not stop the spread of infectious disease. The campground in general was very tidy and good times were had. Going the extra mile by requiring masks in the store and bathroom would go a long way towards a recommendation from us. After COVID, this will be an exceptional campground.
Jun 16, 2020
By far the best of the 10+ KOA I have stayed at. Quiet tent site surrounded by trees. Pool and playground open with covid precautions and hand sanitizer. Lots of things to do for older kids: tree swing, fort building, bike trails etc and little kid playground also. Near national park. Highly recommend!
Jun 16, 2020
Sep 24, 2020
Great staff, quiet and clean!
- Grant Thurman on Google
Sep 24, 2020
My sister and I visited Lassen NP and stayed here for 1 Night in Cabin #2, about a 15 minute drive from the Park. We have stayed at many KOA's and thought this one was Top Notch! The gentleman at check in was awesome! Very friendly and helpful as there was a current burn ban due to the wildfires so we couldn't have a fire, he mentioned that there was a gas grill that we could use next to the cabin, also gave us info./directions in to town, to the grocery store that had a deli/cafe inside of it. We walked around the campground and enjoyed the swings, played some tetherball and ladder golf....just acting like kids! The bathrooms and showers were clean and well maintained, a nice hot shower! Wish we could've stayed longer but highly recommend and would stay again if ever back in the area!
- MelissaLasVegas on Trip Advisor
Sep 18, 2020
Very Clean and friendly.
- Ron & Cindy Lassonde on Google