Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA Reviews

Explore Yellowstone from the perfect base camp!

Tent Reviews

Nov 10, 2019
Very nice facility with friendly and helpful staff. The showers and restrooms were clean and well equipped. I will definitely stay there again.
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
Mike Jackson, i believe is the manager? He was amazing! He picked our camp spot for us and it was perfect! All the folks there were awesome!
Sep 23, 2019
Clean bathrooms and kind service!
Sep 23, 2019
Very nice camp host, lead us to our site when we checked in after dark. The bathrooms were very nice and clean. Site was lovely. Awesome place to camp!
Sep 21, 2019
Very dirty restrooms
Sep 20, 2019
Fantastic Koa. We had a tent site. It was very quiet. Spacious site. Nice bathhouse, very clean, updated and well taken care of. The pizza place was fantastic.
Sep 17, 2019
It was my second time staying there. It is great for the cost and easy to get to off the highway.
Sep 16, 2019
Planned on only one night, it was so great I stayed for two.They gave me the best site along the forest& stream.
Sep 06, 2019
Great location close to West Yellowstone. Clean grounds, nice tent spots by the creek. Very friendly and helpful people. Wi fi was spotty and we couldn't stay connected, but otherwise we really enjoyed our short motorcycle overnight.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Great service. I liked being nestled in the tree line.
Aug 28, 2019
Wow. This KOA has the nicest bathroom/shower facilities of any campground I've EVER stayed at. Totally private, not stalls! Plus, I came in 2 mins before the office closed to find I'd booked the wrong night. Office staff got me settled no problem and led me to the site (which is SO helpful when you're coming in after dark). Did I mention my site was creekside?! Quiet, beautiful, great stargazing.
Aug 27, 2019
Nice location.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Always a great place.
Aug 25, 2019
It was a great camp ground but a pool would be nice as well.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
We loved the friendly hospitality and the helpfulness of all the employees thanks so much
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Very nice, clean.
Aug 13, 2019
We loved the people who ran the KOA, definitely nicer then some of the other people at other KOAs. The pizza they sale is delicious. The mining is fun for the kids but over priced. There’s literally nothing there to do other then the mining and playground for people who stay with kids. No shade at the tent sites which sucked because we had to find other things to do during the day instead.
Aug 12, 2019
As always a wondereful place.
Aug 12, 2019
Tons of mosquitoes! Otherwise nice. Great workers, nice camp store.
Aug 11, 2019
Nice facility but not happy with my tent site. No grass to set my tent on and with the rain, I had a muddy area. Also, being close to stream I had to deal with mosquitos
Aug 11, 2019
Aug 09, 2019
The front desk staff were friendly, informative & helped us immensely to ensure we had a great stay!
Aug 09, 2019
Loved the location of our tent along Denny’s Creek, but not the misquitoes!
Aug 06, 2019
We didn't realized it was going to be cold this time of the year. We were fearful of bearing warning and we were unable to rest well.
Aug 05, 2019
We had a tent site next to the creek, which was nice. The laundry/shower/bathrooms are very nice!
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Two things really irked me during my stay... They sold the lot next to us to an RV which really crammed us into already tight tent spaces which was pretty sad. The other thing that bothered me quite a bit was a big bright ‘street light’ that they said that they had no way to turn off even after inquiring. So if you’re looking for a even partially secluded stay... this isn’t it. Nice staff
Aug 05, 2019
Our stay was amazing and we can't wait to return. The only thing I would say is maybe a little more upkeep on the bathroom/shower area. This was our first time to the area and it was fantastic, friendly staff, clean camp area and very beautiful Thank you so much.
Aug 04, 2019
I liked it a lot...the tent sites could be a little more level but all and all a great campground...exceptionally clean bathroom and shower
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 02, 2019
Great location, tent sites were next to a cute, babbling brook. I would definitely stay again. Facilities were very nice.
Aug 01, 2019
Loved our spot by the creek. Liked how the showers and toilets were in private rooms. I only give it 4 stars due to the bathrooms were fine, but needed more constant cleaning. Very busy week when we were there so more attention to the bathrooms was needed. There was hair in the showers and slick dirty floors and soap left empty by sinks. Nice playground, office and store. Overall great time.
Aug 01, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
Very basic campground. Few amenities. The store is well stocked though, and the staff is super friendly.
Jul 29, 2019
Tent campsite was nice with a stream just feet away from the campsite. The bathrooms / showers / laundry were very nice and kept clean.
Jul 28, 2019
We loved our tent site that backed up to the creek and pond. The staff was friendly, the bath house and facilities were clean and maintained! Great jumping off point to roam Yellowstone all day!
Jul 28, 2019
Great spot and ideal location near the entry to Yellowstone. Nice showers and toilets.
Jul 27, 2019
Improve your WiFi for your overpriced tent sites. Otherwise my stay was great!!
Jul 25, 2019
The staff were very friendly and the gift shop had some nice and reasonably priced souvenirs. The downsides were: very few sites with shade (none in ours or the neighboring tent sites), further away from Yellowstone than expected, bathrooms and showers were always dirty (garbage full, hair/soap in shower, floor wet) no matter what time of day.
Jul 25, 2019
I wish I could give more stars! Super accommodating, friendly and joking.
Jul 24, 2019
Wonderful. The manager is too notch. Saw to our every need and really made us feel welcome. Thank you so much!
Jul 23, 2019
Great stay! Great bathrooms, great view, helpful staff
Jul 22, 2019
My only complaint is the lack of bathrooms/showers....you literally end up waiting for a minimum of 30 min to get in and people are rude and start banging on the doors! Other KOAs we have been to are set up into.men or women bathrooms with several toilets and showers making it so their is no wait. Other than this issue the campsite was quiet and the staff was very nice.
Jul 21, 2019
Great campground. We pitched our tent on the stream. The only issue was some bizzare weather and wind that came through. Wish you had more showers. Otherwise, a perfect place to stay right outside the gate at Yellowstone.
Oct 26, 2019
Great place to camp outside of West Yellowstone. Second KOA going west
- Clayton Jenkins on Google
Oct 20, 2019
We go to Yellowstone every September and we have stayed here for the past three years. It's always clean, the staff is very friendly and the office/giftshop has a good variety of stuff. The man at the office even lent us a tool we needed, that kind of hospitality is the main reason we stay here. They also have a nice play area for kids and a nice fenced off dog area. This KOA is beautiful year round!
- Jessica Nielson on Google
Nov 01, 2019
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins in Sept 2019. We were running a little late and weren't going to make the 9 pm check in so we called and the manager was more than willing to wait for us. We arrived around 9:15 pm. He was very polite and courteous. The cabin was spotless and we couldn't wait to rest for the night. The beds were comfortable (I slept in the top bunk) more than met our needs. We have stayed at many KOA's on our travels and this was one of the best. The only little complaint was the numbering to the cabins is hard to see in the dark. Other than that it was excellent. I have never seen a shower area like this place has. You enter a building with a heated floor and each person has their own room and shower. Very Nice! I would recommend this to anyone traveling through the area.
- R S on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.