Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA

Open May 18 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Reserve: 800-562-5640

Info: 406-646-7662

Info: 406-646-7662

Email This Campground

1545 Targhee Pass Hwy

West Yellowstone, MT 59758

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2018
My family and I really enjoyed the location and family atmosphere
Aug 12, 2018
The Campground was great for out stay. It provided the quiet, safe environment we needed to see Yellowstone Park. The Bathrooms were very clean and maintained well. The only issue we had was the availability of the Internet. The Internet was very slow and unreliable. With the number of people using their electronic devices while on vacation, an upgrade in speed and reliability is required.
Aug 12, 2018
Nice and clean park, Wi-Fi throughout was usually pretty bad but everything else was fine here.
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 12, 2018
Great location close to West Park entrance. Clean and well cared for camping spots
Aug 12, 2018
The staff where fantastic. They really need a water park or something there to do. The washrooms should be cleaned at a lot more then once a day. Maybe dump there garbage cans out a lot more. They tell u not to keep your food out because of bears. But the big garbage cans are over full and on the ground.
Aug 11, 2018
Such friendly people that work here. The spots are great, big enough for your own privacy. We would definitely stay here again
Aug 11, 2018
I enjoyed my here, and I look forward to future stays.
Aug 11, 2018
Nice quiet park. Easy access.
Aug 11, 2018
My wife and I just stayed here 3 nights and had a nice time! The campground is a basic KOA, but all the stuff you need was fine! It was a large level site with full hookups and WiFi and cable worked good! It is just a dirt site, with a table and a fire pit and it was located in a quiet, safe area about 10 minutes to the park and west yellowstone. We would stay again on a return trip.
Aug 11, 2018
The top of the sewer hookup was about 12” off the ground. This was above my outlet in the coach which made it very difficult to dump.
Aug 11, 2018
We had a great time, and loved the food from the grill!
Aug 10, 2018
The grassy tent area was dirt. Picnic tables were very warped. Bathrooms we amazing. Camp staff were awesome.
Aug 10, 2018
Beautiful views, amazing bathrooms with heated floors. Super clean!
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
The campground was beautiful with streams and ponds. Mike at the store was extremely helpful, and even volunteered to take me into town when I needed to get my rental car
Aug 09, 2018
It is a very nice campground with large sites
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Spotless facilities
Aug 09, 2018
Excellent facilities, clean, helpful staff.
Aug 09, 2018
Loved our stay at both sites. Just maybe trim back the pine trees. They rub my rv. Causing scratches.
Aug 09, 2018
I have stayed here over the years with different guests. Always clean. Had a nice spot next to the stream. Very nice
Aug 09, 2018
Very clean restrooms and showers.Nice store and adjoining food.septic hookups need to be sealed.Smelled a little at times.
Aug 08, 2018
Nice if there was a pool. ThE speed limit should apply to Koa workers also. They drive too fast .
Aug 08, 2018
outstanding stay-everyone very helpful
Aug 08, 2018
I loved the location of the campground. You're only minutes from the town of west Yellowstone and to the park itself. The amenities at this campground were the best I've encountered at any KOA. I would definitely recommend this campground.
Aug 08, 2018
Nothing there 7 mile from town. Way too expensive for the ammenities they provided. The one about a mile back leaves this one for dead. Staff not that friendly.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Staff was friendly. Cabin was a little smaller than we anticipated. We have 6 in our family and there were only 4 chairs around the table (and there were only 5 forks?). We were mainly pleased with the campground's location, only minutes away from the west entrance of Yellowstone. Good thing too, since we spent most of our time in the park and not much time in our cabin.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Was accused of being too loud by neighbor rv’r on the night we got there. We checked in at 9:00p, CURFEW IS 10:00p. I had problems with my hydraulic jacks. Took me about 2 hours to finally get trailer leveled and slides out. Next evening at 10:00p had a KOA rep. Knock on door regarding noise complaint from prior day. I looked around and saw groups around campfires, outdoor tv’s on, dogs barkin
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Great site, easy to find, convenient. Bathrooms clean and well maintained.
Aug 07, 2018
Got a last minute weekend spot. They were very accommodating. Friendly helpful staff. Clean.
Aug 07, 2018
Thank you for accommodating our stay. The site was great, facilities were clean, and friendly staff. The only negative is there is very low restroom/shower to camp site ratio. The electrical outlets in the bathrooms did not work in some of the showers/restrooms.
Aug 07, 2018
The park shower/batheoom situation was inadequate for the number of campsites. The camp is currently updating , so maybe things will get better. The picnic table at our campsite was falling apart. We were traveling from Illinois to Washington and stayed in 3 other KOA locations al9ng the way. This was the most expensive and poorly maintained of them.
Aug 06, 2018
Campgrounds were small and lumpy. Was told there had been a bear in the area but the nearby dumpster was stuck open and not at all bear proof. Cost was much higher than estimated at booking. One positive is the showers were really nice and appreciated by our group.
Aug 06, 2018
Was not the site I expected from KOA for $100+, I don't care if it was West Yellowstone. The site was dirt with broken concrete at the end. the picnic table was awful and when we asked for a better one they gave us a slightly better one but not the new yellow plastic ones. The staff said that the couldn't bring one of those to our site, nor could they pain the warped and peeling ones. Very Poor.
Aug 06, 2018
Staff was professional. Sites needed to be graded. All and all we would stay again.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Liked staying at this KOA very much. Disappointed they would not even consider a late checkout. If it was full that’s one thing but when we asked it was an immediate “NO”. Other KOA’s have posted to ask about late checkouts. More trees would have been nice like the Journey KOA 3 miles north.
Aug 06, 2018
Everything was great, pizza was great too. One subjection: put something like a redwood grate in front of showers, the floors were muddy.
Aug 05, 2018
Worst KOA I have ever stayed at the restrooms and showers we're very dirty. I paid for a premium site and it was far from that. Sewer hose would not drain because of landscape timbers along the pull through. I always stay at KOA's and never seen one like this. I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone else
Aug 05, 2018
Clean facilities; responsive staff. A bit difficult to discern campsites in tent area, but we figured it out. We would stay here again.
Aug 05, 2018
Aug 05, 2018
We got the last site that was very unlevel and dirt so with dirt and the mud after the rain, it was a mess. There was only a very small playground for the kids. It looked as if they just put the site together quickly to handle the overflow of the other KOA nearby. That said, the people were very friendly and helpful and hopefully they will continue to improve the parking sites.
Aug 05, 2018
Had a good time
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy