Kennebec KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

May 05, 2019
The road in the park needs gravel, it was very soft. Not sure if it was due to early season, but the pool was disgusting. It was good for an in and out overnight stay only. There was only 2 other guest in the park. Bad representation of KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience. South Dakota has received a tremendous amount of rain and snow this spring resulting in a large amount of flooding and softening of roads and site. The problem will be addressed when the weather drys.
Nov 04, 2018
Served its purpose as a stop on the way home. There's nothing wrong with this KOA. The people were friendly and helpful. Place just needs a little TLC. It looks tired and needs some freshening up.
Oct 26, 2018
Oct 26, 2018
It was a good stopover for an overnight stay. The park needed a lot more gravel in the RV spots. It was mostly dirt.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 20, 2018
It is a clean little campground and all the staff were very friendly. This is very much a campground that is basically there for a convenient place to stop, which is not a negative comment. I am just saying there is not much reason to visit Kennebec. It is a small farming community with not much diversion. We had to drive 9 miles west to get a meal. But we wouldn't be afraid to stay here again.
Oct 17, 2018
Oct 13, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Not our favorite KOA but OK for an overnight and appeared to be priced out of line with other KOA’s on our travels. Restrooms not as clean as expected.
Oct 06, 2018
We stayed here on our way to our destination and then on our way home. Both times were good experiences. When we had stopped for the night on our way home we discovered that our car that we tow had a dead battery. The owners were very helpful in getting us a local garage to come and give us a jump start at a more than reasonable price.
Sep 29, 2018
Very close to the highway
Sep 28, 2018
Nice, friendly people.
Sep 28, 2018
Sep 27, 2018
Sep 22, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Nice, quiet, clean. Good for a quick overnight. Nice staff.
Sep 21, 2018
Good for an overnight stay. We stayed here twice. Once on our way to Mt. Rushmore and then on our way back. Quiet clean. Friendly staff. Only bad was the black flies. Not at all campground fault. Could not sit outside until dark unless you had a swatter. Would go back on our next trip across country.
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Seulement pour une nuit , situé à proximité des grandes routes , et très propre
Sep 17, 2018
Us campers are used to "camping under the stars". As a member of the dark sky movement, I was appalled at how bright your lights in the campground were!!! Other KOA's we have stayed at aren't lit like this one! Please lower or eliminate the wattage of the lights! We had to inconvenience ourselves by putting towels over our camper blinds in order to sleep after a long day! You should be ashamed!
Sep 17, 2018
Great place to stop for the night on a ride down I 90.Friendly, helpful, level spots.
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Friendly fly staff, quiet place to stay.
Sep 14, 2018
It is a dry dusty gravel yard with few trees and NO cable
Sep 13, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Was ok clean bathrooms. Lawn and camp site could have been better maintenance
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
Nice clean camp. Quiet place to stop overnight. Nice dog run. Great hosts. Don't give 5 stars to anyone yet, but most would.
Sep 09, 2018
Close to HWay ... clean bathrooms... good overnight spot
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
As we travel in our RV, we need to stop to eat, refresh and sleep. So far every KOA we have visited afforded us exactly what was needed. Close to the Interstate, easy to find and great friendly staff. Thank You KOA’s
Sep 08, 2018
No water at dump station.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We discovered that the water had been shut off by another camper. If you had let us know about this, we could have resolved it for you very quickly.
Sep 07, 2018
Nice staff, clean restroom/shower area, level space. Access road could get nasty after a rain though.
Sep 05, 2018
We had a nice quiet stay. The staff was friendly and the campground was clean..
Sep 05, 2018
The bad thing about this site is no market close by. However, the staff was excellent....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words about the staff, they have been passed on. Unfortunately, the market is beyond our control. The price you pay for small town quiet.
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Nice campground, restrooms and showers are about due for an update.
Aug 31, 2018
It was just an overnight stop over with no expectations! Campground ���� had basic amenities and friendly staff.
Aug 31, 2018
Nice camp. Friendly people.
Aug 31, 2018
We got in a little late but the office was still open which was nice! The staff was very friendly. Our RV site was clean and spacious. We just stayed overnight but our stay was comfortable.
Aug 30, 2018
Long haul from Virginia to Montana, and this campground looked like a good place to stop. Well, let me tell you...it was a GREAT place to stop. Very well maintained, easy check-in, friendly staff...and very quiet! Best sleep I've had thus far on the trip. Thanks for an enjoyable, restful camping experience.
Aug 29, 2018
Really great KOA - easy in, easy out & the laundry was excellent.
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
My only complaint were the flies. They were very assertive and annoying (but likely drawn to human habitation). Host was super friendly!!
Aug 28, 2018
There was a storm that we weren’t prepared for. Just the unknown!
Aug 27, 2018
Nice park. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again. Easy in and out.
Aug 27, 2018
A good place to spend the night while traveling on I-90 through South Dakota--we will stay here again in the future when passing through the area; easy on and easy off from the interstate with long pull-thru sites for big rigs. Make sure you pack groceries in your RV since the closest Walmart is almost 65 miles away. A nice friendly staff that took care of us with a pleasant smile. mw
Aug 27, 2018
The staff was very helpful and friendly! The spaces were all pull throughs which was nice, but the pool and the baths all needed major revitalizing. Since there are no nearby attractions, the amenities offered at the campground are important, which is why this is a 2 star review. If I only rated the staff it would be 5 stars. (*The bathrooms were all clean, just aging.)
Sep 06, 2019
Nice campground to stay at, when it's up and running. They have had a bad time of it with mother nature flooding them out.
- Lyle Gerling on Google
Aug 18, 2019
This is a very nice well ran Campground, with the kind of owners that will treat you like you treat them. The layout of the campground is very good it was very easy to park our 45-foot fifth wheel. Park was quiet slept all night with no problem. Stopped here on the way to the Sturgis bike rally. It is right off the interstate easy in easy out.
- Timothy Gray on Google
Aug 11, 2019
This was probably a very nice park before it flooded. Currently (8/11/19) the pool and all buildings are out of commission, dog park very overgrown, flies and mosquitos pretty bad and roads super muddy. Hope for speedy recovery.
- Bavette Goes Mobile on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.