Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2017
This is a beautiful campsite, especially for tent camping.
Jun 29, 2017
Would like to see pool heated and not so cold. The women's showers had very little water pressure, if better water pressure, could probably save on water, took a long time in shower for that purpose. Awesome staff, very clean bathrooms and laundry. Enjoyed camping other than pool to cold and shower issue.
Jun 29, 2017
The spots were so small couldn't put our awning out. We paid for a pull through and couldn't. Because trees were in the way. Backed out and ok was fine. People were nice. Sites just to small
Jun 29, 2017
Wonderfully shady maintained campground, many thx for a great stay!
Jun 29, 2017
Beautiful facilities
Jun 28, 2017
Super emplacement. Le personnel est très agréable. Seul bémol, c'est à 1 h de denver Downtown.
Jun 28, 2017
Absolutely beautiful. The site was spacious and grounds were well kept.
Jun 28, 2017
Lots of trees. Friendly hosts and employees. By the Black Hills and can be used as a base camp to sightsee that area. A little disappointed with the playground area but kids didn't care...they were tired of riding all day in the truck.
Jun 27, 2017
I wasn't impressed with the price of the accommodations once I saw how sparse the cabin was. we've stayed in nicer cabins in KOA campgrounds and paid less. We enjoy mini golf, but this one needs major upgrades to be any fun at all.
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
Very clean and Quiet campground.We were taken to our site and had help leveling our camper and ,they even brought us step platform! Thanks Todd.
Jun 27, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Clean facilities. The only drawback was the trees in very close proximity to the roads, making manurevering difficult. Be very cautious and if you can, have spotters.
Jun 27, 2017
Friendly staff. Steep hill for the bathrooms was my biggest complaint. I drove to it several times instead of making the hike. Kind of far from the tourist attractions.
Jun 27, 2017
The koa location was perfect. Far enough away from all the chaos but close enough to see the sites. The kids loved the pool, mini golf, play area and the cabin. They didn't want to leave. We will be back very soon!
Jun 26, 2017
Loved this location. Staff was very friendly and park was clean and neat!
Jun 26, 2017
Kids had lots of fun and they had lots of space to run. Bathrooms were clean.
Jun 26, 2017
Nice sites tucked into trees. Friendly and informative staff. Plenty of Onsite activities to do..personally enjoyed the mini golf. Restroom/shower house was clean but could use a few more stalls during peak usage hours. Overall a pleasant experience.
Jun 26, 2017
Friendly people, clean bathrooms. Needs some structural work, trimming, leveling of tent sites w/o rock/pebble platforms so you can still sleep on the ground. Nice place.
Jun 26, 2017
Very well kept up and clean bathrooms/showers. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that campfires weren't allowed when the fire ban in the area was moderate.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for the lovely comment. We are only in a fire ban when fire danger is High. There is a Prairie Area fire danger and a Black Hills Area fire danger rating. We fall under the Southern Black Hills fire danger for our permit.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay & will be going back. The owners & staff were great, and the surrounding area was beautiful.
Jun 25, 2017
Stayed here 5 times over 6 years, Internet service was poor every year and still is, is out most of the time. PLEASE FIX THIS!!! Rest of campground is great!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your return visits! I'm sorry to hear about your wifi experience! We made changes from last year and I thought it was working much better so I'm sorry to hear that was not your experience. I am also working with a campground wifi company to improve it even more. See you next time!
Jun 24, 2017
People and site were both amazing!! Location was great!
Jun 24, 2017
We got in late and just stayed one night...not enough time to fully evaluate
Jun 24, 2017
The owner and staff are great. Well maintained facility and kids had a great time. Thanks Todd and staff.
Jun 23, 2017
Nice Kampground, helpful crew
Jun 23, 2017
Really tight spaces. Wifi was poor to non existent. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. But good experience all in all.
Jun 23, 2017
Very pleasant campground with friendly and helpful staff. We stayed an extra day to relax during a two-week journey.
Jun 22, 2017
Had a great 5 day stay here with a wonderful breakfast served each morning. The hosts were more than helpful and Zoe was a joy.
Jun 22, 2017
Great place. Glenn showed us our site and gave us some tips on local places to go. They even provided us with free wood. Super clean, nice sites, everything was wonderful.
Jun 22, 2017
Over and above from the hosts, even got invited to join their family birthday celebration. Clean, friendly, and we will be back!
Jun 22, 2017
Very nice and hospitable. Made out stay very easy.
Jun 21, 2017
very clean and friendly. Fair rates. We would stay again.
Jun 21, 2017
very friendly, pleasant people to stay with. Lovely location.
Jun 20, 2017
Great Campground
Jun 20, 2017
The front desk guy (he moved from CO) recommended a great hike that made my stay awesome!
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
Site very skinny and lose to neighbors. Good pool and laundry
Jun 19, 2017
A very nice campground and very helpful staff. Only minor issue is that sites are quite tight and not level for today's bigger rigs
Jun 19, 2017
Owners are friendly and helpful. Free mini golf & firewood nice! Cabins need a microwave and fold down table or cupboard no place to put food!Otherwise nice campground!
Jun 19, 2017
This facility was clean and well kept up. Staff was very friendly.
Jun 19, 2017
We stayed in your deluxe cabin. Family of four and we all loved it. Enjoyed having a bathroom in the cabin!
Jun 19, 2017
Beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provided firewood so my our grandkids could make s'mores. Even though the sites are not level someone came and helped you get level with blocks the have at the sites.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Great stay, only complaint wifi never worked or the range was never adequate unless right next to main building

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm so sorry about that! I haven't heard to much about it so I didn't realize guests were having issues. We made changes from last year and thought it was working much better. We are working to improve it even more with new equipment and more bandwidth from the phone company. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 19, 2017
The camp employees were wonderful. The sites were acceptable as well. My only gripe refer to the mattresses: they were rather smelly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yikes! I'm sorry! Please don't hesitate to let us know if you experience that again and we'll get them re-scrubbed!
Jun 18, 2017
nice site, good hosts, kids were happy
Jun 18, 2017
Very uneven sites, the guy on the golf cart only wanted to smoke cigarettes and sit on the cart, nothing like Palmer Gulch KOA where we usually stay at.
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Great KOA....clean, very well maintained, staff very friendly and approachable. Thanks for making it a very enjoyable stay!!!!
Jun 17, 2017
After having to change spots for the third time, the site was manageable, but still not a level site. I appreciate the owner allowing us to move and getting food for the kids. This would be good for a couple night stay, but too far from major attractions for a family who already traveled 700 miles. Has good things to do that the kids enjoyed and a great pool area.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy