Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 11, 2018
A great campground! Very clean facilities including the restrooms and showers. Friendly owners who care about your stay. I would definitely go back!
Oct 05, 2018
Again with the workers out on the camp ground just rude. Sadly!
Sep 20, 2018
Nice campground; right off highway. I use earplugs so no problems with noise from passing traffic. I had tent site #65 nestled in trees. I would rate it the best of all tent sites. It was debris free and pad was leveled pea gravel. A picnic table and fire ring was positioned nicely. Showers were hygienic and within acceptable walking distance. Friendly, thoughtful hosts. 5 stars all the way!
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
We stayed here so we could visit Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, and Wind Cave National Park. It was convenient to all. The bathrooms were super clean and attended well. Staff was very friendly. The store was well stocked. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would come back.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Great experience with this KOA staff was super friendly and helpful. The campground was clean the bathrooms were always clean. All around great place to camp.
Aug 29, 2018
Great place to stay! A+++
Aug 27, 2018
Why is it that so few KOAs can manage to have hot water in the showers? I thought that was one of the main things we're paying for...
Aug 27, 2018
Had a great time, everything was nice and clean, friendly employees and helpful.
Aug 14, 2018
Beautiful campground. Tent sites had ample room and electrical/water hookups were great to have. Bathrooms clean and well kept. The only down side to our stay was that several families occupying the cabins next to us were very loud into the night. I was thankful for earplugs. Next time we will ask for tent site 69 - away from the others. We will definitely be back. Nice family environment
Aug 13, 2018
It was only one night; however, the lovely sounds from the highway will probably keep us from coming back. We were also a little confused when an employee kicked us out of the pool 20 minutes before the posted closing. Overall, not a bad stay and not a great stay.
Aug 13, 2018
Restrooms were always in need of cleaning. WiFi was much too slow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We clean our restrooms every day and check them all throughout the day. We receive many compliments about them. I am very sorry our restrooms did not meet your expectations! Thank you for staying with us.
Aug 11, 2018
Nice place, excellent bathrooms. Location is weak point--it's on a busy 4-lane highway several miles from town, so no walking access to anywhere. But everything is nice in the campground.
Aug 11, 2018
Great Breakfast, nice bathrooms, tents spots should be switched with RV spots. RVs already have bathrooms in them.
Aug 10, 2018
Todd and Suzanne are amazing as always. Clean, quiet, friendly, beautiful! I actually requested my favorite tent site and Todd made it happen. My trips to the Black Hills aren’t complete without a stay here. Truly.
Aug 08, 2018
We were all very happy with your facility it was very clean and comfortable for my family and the staff was very friendly and helpful!! Thanks for making our vacation a memorable one!
Aug 08, 2018
nice people, nice place, clean restrooms. Great breakfast. Just wish there were out houses on the outer edges of the camp. I stayed in the non-elect tent area. Quite the hike to the restrooms and no real direct path (that I saw). However, that will not stop me from staying again. And longer the next time if I can. Thank you.
Aug 06, 2018
traveling to sturgis via motorcycle... excellent help, service, bathrooms excellent, staff like old friends you met for the first time...LOVE IT.
Aug 05, 2018
We absolutely Love staying at this KOA!! The staff are so friendly, helpful, and are so thorough !! Camp grounds & bathrooms are super clean too! #Sturgis2018 #TNT
Aug 01, 2018
We arrived late, past the closing of the offices and forgot to inform them that we were doing that, but in the night drop box they had an envelope there with our name on it with instructions for our stay! It was great and relieved a lot of stress about being able to have a place to stay that night. It was dark but everything seemed tidy; the showers/bathrooms were clean.
Aug 01, 2018
Great campground, great people, lots of services. Very friendly, lots of shade for the sites, close to many things to do in the area. Thanks.
Aug 01, 2018
Great, friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful location and great for exploring the black hills. Secure..would certainly stay here again
Aug 01, 2018
Jul 19, 2018
We had a great time exploring the Hot Springs area and Mt. Rushmore! The campground was the perfect base camp for all of our activities.
Jul 18, 2018
The only issue I had, which forced me leave a day early, was the flies. No barn, paddock, or farm building I have been in or worked in had such monsterous numbers of flies. I suggest putting in an outside screened window in the bathrooms to assist w airflow for the smell.
Jul 16, 2018
A nice place to stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The place is not as shady as we had hoped for tent camping in the summer. The pool was a great amenity and the kids enjoyed it a number of times. An excellent place to stay when touring the Black Hills. We had one complaint. The bathhouse wasn't climate controlled & turned hot sauna and so we were sweating upon exiting the shower.
Jul 10, 2018
We fell in love with South Dakota. The KOA was a great spot for us as a home base. From this location, we visited the Badlands NP, Wind Cave NP, the Mammoth site, Cascade Falls, Sylvan Lake State Park and Jewel Cave NM. The KOA staff are very friendly and helpful with answers to local questions. The campground and bathrooms were super clean. The town of Hot Springs is super cute. We will be back!
Jul 10, 2018
Clean, hot showers, friendly staff. Great breakfast.
Jul 09, 2018
It was clean and fun! Quiet, respectful and we’d definitely stay again!!
Jul 09, 2018
We enjoyed the pool and the friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2018
Great KOA! Best we have ever stayed at!
Jul 04, 2018
What a beautiful facility! Loved the breakfast! Delicious!
Jul 03, 2018
Nice, clean campground. Loved your breakfast!
Jul 02, 2018
Campground was well kept and customer service top notch. We had breakfast one day and it was just like going to a local restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
NO Air Dryer in Restroom! Never before at a KOA. Parking space at tent sites eroded. need to be near level.
Jun 25, 2018
VERY ENJOYABLE!!!!
Jun 20, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
We stayed just 1 night. Very friendly staff, nice campsite, good coffee in the morning. Only downside was some road noise from highway 79
Jun 18, 2018
Very friendly management, clean restrooms, and park. They even have a inclosed dog park area. We definitely would stay again!
Jun 14, 2018
Amazing campground and staff! Very happy with our experience!
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Very nice. But room for improvement. 1. Install a toilet in the tent camping area. It is a long walk to the main bathroom. It is also a dangerous walk in the dark with numerous trip hazards. 2. The walkways and roads should be marked with solar or low voltage lights. 3. Like a lot of older Koa the shower/restroom is small and outdated and in need of new modern space.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback. We do have plans for a family style restroom to be built in the northwest corner of the campground in the coming 1-2 years, as winter allows. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Nice and clean campground. Staff was very friendly. The ONLY downside is that the campground is right next to a busy road and it was very noisy for sleeping in a tent. My advice for tent camping is to bring those disposable earplugs.
Jun 05, 2018
Beautiful camping space, nice gravel area for tent set up. Friendly family owned. I would definitely camp here again!
May 30, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very happy with our stay!!
May 30, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award