Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 09, 2017
I was just passing through and needed a place to put up my tent. The owners were great, super kind and helpful! I would definitely stay here again.
Oct 01, 2017
cute clean campground - very friendly and helpful owners who helped us with our travel route. Also very accommodating for special needs. Cute little store - we would definitely stay here again.
Sep 22, 2017
We had over-estimated our tent size to tent pad size ration. The folks in the office were great and gave us several options to solve the problem! Everyone was super nice and we had a great time! First KOA stay, definitely coming back!
Sep 12, 2017
The Hot Springs KOA campground was further out of town than we expected -- would have liked to see a couple signs in Hot Springs for the KOA. Appreciated the well lit & clean bathroom facilities. Tent site was nicely set among the pine trees.
Sep 08, 2017
Very friendly stuff Nice , clean and safe campground Comfortable sites I would like to come back here
Sep 05, 2017
We've stayed at a lot of KOAs, and this is one of the best. Just a beautiful setting, and very nice folks. We look forward to booking visits in Hot Springs next year.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
Todd, Suzanne, Zoe and Emmett are the kindest, most accommodating hosts! I stayed at the KOA for a month and THEY are what made the stay most excellent! They operate an exceptional campground and it saddened me to have to leave! Glenn was pretty dang awesome as well! Marjorie!
Aug 28, 2017
Bathrooms could use a little updating.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Camped in a tent, would prefer a few private shower bathroom combo like the KOA in Ft Collins, Co. The fire ring could have been cleaned out and larger. The pic nic table was in poor condition' other then that it was fine.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Our stay was fine. The only concerns we had was that in the site, there was a gravel-covered pad on which to pitch our tent. We are used to setting up on grass, and found the gravel to make for a harder night's sleep. Also, the landscaping timbers that boarder the gravel pad were not in good shape and the front timbers rolled away as we were setting up. Staff said they would address promptly.
Aug 17, 2017
Had quoted an electrical tent site, they had a non-electrical when we got there. Roads are too narrow in the tent area. The tent site we were given was the most compacted hard soil tent site I've ever seen at a KOA, I bent two of my stakes. Also not level, so constantly all night long we were having to readjust in our tent to keep from laying on top of one another. Owner had barking dogs :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your inconvenience! During check-in you were upgraded to an electrical site free of charge. If your site is unacceptable we are happy to offer another or a refund. We keep our personal pets at the opposite end of the campground from where you stayed. We address other dog complaints immediately but must be notified.
Aug 16, 2017
I have stayed at this campground twice. I tented in T 67 and T 64. Both sites were roomy and had good views. We had turkeys and deer within 15 yards of our site. We will come back if we are in that area again.
Aug 14, 2017
This is what people want to see and do when they come to south Dakota. Nature. Wide open spaces. Close to all the tourist sites south of Rapid without having to be in the masses at Rapid. Restaurants and grocery in town near by and full breakfast and pizzas cooked on site for lazy days. Free, high quality firewood and a heated pool....
Aug 13, 2017
Extremely accommodating. Loved our stay here!
Aug 12, 2017
Staff lady in the front office was very accommodating, bath rooms were always clean and impressed how nice they were. We loved how our camp site was so spacious and a little secluded. Only negative would be the cook that makes breakfast was not very friendly, seemed unhappy and just wanted to go smoke, and they need a sign in front of the cook that says go inside to order. We stood staring at
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Nice campground however the only bathroom(at the main office) was a little too far from the tent sites where we were (north end) store could have carried a few more food items as well as block ice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! We do have block ice. Next time please let us know if there is something the store is missing. We agree and are adding new bathrooms this winter for the northern and western sites! Thank you for staying with us!
Aug 06, 2017
Fantastic stay, helpful staff. Really enjoyed the Bunnies scattered around the site as free entertainment!
Aug 06, 2017
Very friendly folks. Clean facilities. Dog friendly!!! Could use recycling bins at the front of the property...so much recycling in garbage bins as people won't stop at the back of the property to drop off their recycling.
Aug 01, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome!
Jul 30, 2017
We tent camped 5 nights. KOA had clean bathrooms, tent pad was in shade, camp was full, and all visitors were respectful of quiet hours. A 2.5 hour drive to Badlands, but close to Custer State Park. Breakfast, coffee, pizzas available daily. Hosts and staff are fantastic! Add an hour to any advertised travel times in summer due to traffic in Hot Springs area. I would recommend this KOA.
Jul 29, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 25, 2017
There are better campgrounds in the black hills
Jul 25, 2017
People were super nice and helpful. Tent spaces were flat and clean. Water & electric a big plus! Kids loved the pool. Pizza was delivered to our space, so we weren't exactly "roughing" it. Only negative was that it is so far from the big attractions in the black hills. About an hour to any.
Jul 25, 2017
All KOA's I've been have been first rate. I don't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else.
Jul 23, 2017
Helpful staff helped us out in a jam, and found a place for us to camp on little notice. Clean bathrooms and good breakfast!
Jul 22, 2017
Great stay..friendly staff..even brought some boards to help us level our equiptment. Clean showers..only wish there were less mosquitos..but no fault of the KOA.
Jul 19, 2017
Todd,Suzanne,their children and their staff made me feel welcome as soon as I walked in. They went out of their way to help this newbie to camping feel comfortable. The bathrooms stayed clean during my stay and everything was in working order. There's a very nice pool and a playground for the kids. You have to have their pizza and their breakfast (chocolate chip pancakes!) Delicious!
Jul 12, 2017
Liked the shaded spot I had and it was pretty private.
Jul 07, 2017
Thanks for adding breakfast to your list of fun activities!
Jul 07, 2017
It was our first camping experience!. We liked it so much that we are going to do again quite soon!
Jul 05, 2017
The place is very nice and well positioned to visit mont Rushmore, Custer state park and Badlands. The owners are really attentive. The campground is very clean and quiet. The Swimming pool is pleasant to relax. i definitely command this KOA Kampground !!
Jul 05, 2017
I loved the atmosphere. Very hospitable. The breakfast were amazing at affordable prices. Thank you.
Jul 04, 2017
very friendly,even to bikers which we do not find very often. clean and well kept facilities.
Jul 03, 2017
Three star rating due to cold pool, noise from interstate, and other campers shining headlights and flashlights into our tent during quiet hours.
Jun 30, 2017
Beautiful facility. Nice folk.
Jun 29, 2017
This is a beautiful campsite, especially for tent camping.
Jun 26, 2017
Friendly people, clean bathrooms. Needs some structural work, trimming, leveling of tent sites w/o rock/pebble platforms so you can still sleep on the ground. Nice place.
Jun 22, 2017
Very nice and hospitable. Made out stay very easy.
Jun 19, 2017
This facility was clean and well kept up. Staff was very friendly.
Jun 19, 2017
Great stay, only complaint wifi never worked or the range was never adequate unless right next to main building

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm so sorry about that! I haven't heard to much about it so I didn't realize guests were having issues. We made changes from last year and thought it was working much better. We are working to improve it even more with new equipment and more bandwidth from the phone company. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 18, 2017
nice site, good hosts, kids were happy
Jun 13, 2017
We had the whole tent area to ourselves for 3 nights. What a peaceful spot. All managers/staff were amazingly helpful. Thanks for a great time!
Jun 12, 2017
Wonderful experience. Very nice facility, amenities, and staff. Thanks for recommending Iron Mountain Road and The Garlands. They were awesome!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy