Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 10, 2018
We fell in love with South Dakota. The KOA was a great spot for us as a home base. From this location, we visited the Badlands NP, Wind Cave NP, the Mammoth site, Cascade Falls, Sylvan Lake State Park and Jewel Cave NM. The KOA staff are very friendly and helpful with answers to local questions. The campground and bathrooms were super clean. The town of Hot Springs is super cute. We will be back!
Jul 10, 2018
Clean, hot showers, friendly staff. Great breakfast.
Jul 09, 2018
It was clean and fun! Quiet, respectful and we’d definitely stay again!!
Jul 09, 2018
We enjoyed the pool and the friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2018
Great KOA! Best we have ever stayed at!
Jul 04, 2018
What a beautiful facility! Loved the breakfast! Delicious!
Jul 03, 2018
Nice, clean campground. Loved your breakfast!
Jul 02, 2018
Campground was well kept and customer service top notch. We had breakfast one day and it was just like going to a local restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
NO Air Dryer in Restroom! Never before at a KOA. Parking space at tent sites eroded. need to be near level.
Jun 25, 2018
VERY ENJOYABLE!!!!
Jun 20, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
We stayed just 1 night. Very friendly staff, nice campsite, good coffee in the morning. Only downside was some road noise from highway 79
Jun 18, 2018
Very friendly management, clean restrooms, and park. They even have a inclosed dog park area. We definitely would stay again!
Jun 14, 2018
Amazing campground and staff! Very happy with our experience!
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Very nice. But room for improvement. 1. Install a toilet in the tent camping area. It is a long walk to the main bathroom. It is also a dangerous walk in the dark with numerous trip hazards. 2. The walkways and roads should be marked with solar or low voltage lights. 3. Like a lot of older Koa the shower/restroom is small and outdated and in need of new modern space.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback. We do have plans for a family style restroom to be built in the northwest corner of the campground in the coming 1-2 years, as winter allows. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Nice and clean campground. Staff was very friendly. The ONLY downside is that the campground is right next to a busy road and it was very noisy for sleeping in a tent. My advice for tent camping is to bring those disposable earplugs.
Jun 05, 2018
Beautiful camping space, nice gravel area for tent set up. Friendly family owned. I would definitely camp here again!
May 30, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very happy with our stay!!
May 30, 2018
May 29, 2018
The staff was really nice, and the campground had a lot of trees and green.
May 28, 2018
It was good. Not bad...not excellent. Bathroom was really stuffy; didn’t love it that our sight didn’t have water in it...had to go to another’s camp sight for water. It was clean and the staff was really wonderful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you very much for staying with us! I sincerely apologize that the women's bathroom was stuffy. The exhaust fan burned out over the weekend (arg!) and we got a new one installed yesterday! The tent electric sites do not each have their own water taps. We have two taps over among the tent electric sites. Thank you very much for your review!
May 24, 2018
Rode through town on a new motorcycle. Didn’t feel comfortable staying over night in town. Seamed shady. I was happy to find a KOA in town. The lady was very kind and helpful. The only problem I had was some lose gravel making it hard to control the motorcycle. But hey,...it’s gravel so you gotta be careful no matter what. Loved my day. Always feel safe at a KOA,..
May 21, 2018
It was awesome, Manager/owner was so nice and accommodating! This was our 2nd stay here.
May 20, 2018
The only hot springs we came across that you actually saw and felt in nature other than a pool of cement full of people we experienced it in a small public picnic are
Oct 21, 2017
Todd and Suzanne are the greatest hosts I could dream of! They're friendly, they go out of their way to help in any way they can, they even deliver mail and ice to my campsite! This KOA is full of lovely Ponderosa Pines and nestled in rolling hills with undeveloped land as far as the eye can see in most directions. It's just what I needed - altogether a lovely experience.
Oct 09, 2017
I was just passing through and needed a place to put up my tent. The owners were great, super kind and helpful! I would definitely stay here again.
Oct 01, 2017
cute clean campground - very friendly and helpful owners who helped us with our travel route. Also very accommodating for special needs. Cute little store - we would definitely stay here again.
Sep 22, 2017
We had over-estimated our tent size to tent pad size ration. The folks in the office were great and gave us several options to solve the problem! Everyone was super nice and we had a great time! First KOA stay, definitely coming back!
Sep 12, 2017
The Hot Springs KOA campground was further out of town than we expected -- would have liked to see a couple signs in Hot Springs for the KOA. Appreciated the well lit & clean bathroom facilities. Tent site was nicely set among the pine trees.
Sep 08, 2017
Very friendly stuff Nice , clean and safe campground Comfortable sites I would like to come back here
Sep 05, 2017
We've stayed at a lot of KOAs, and this is one of the best. Just a beautiful setting, and very nice folks. We look forward to booking visits in Hot Springs next year.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
Todd, Suzanne, Zoe and Emmett are the kindest, most accommodating hosts! I stayed at the KOA for a month and THEY are what made the stay most excellent! They operate an exceptional campground and it saddened me to have to leave! Glenn was pretty dang awesome as well! Marjorie!
Aug 28, 2017
Bathrooms could use a little updating.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Camped in a tent, would prefer a few private shower bathroom combo like the KOA in Ft Collins, Co. The fire ring could have been cleaned out and larger. The pic nic table was in poor condition' other then that it was fine.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Our stay was fine. The only concerns we had was that in the site, there was a gravel-covered pad on which to pitch our tent. We are used to setting up on grass, and found the gravel to make for a harder night's sleep. Also, the landscaping timbers that boarder the gravel pad were not in good shape and the front timbers rolled away as we were setting up. Staff said they would address promptly.
Aug 17, 2017
Had quoted an electrical tent site, they had a non-electrical when we got there. Roads are too narrow in the tent area. The tent site we were given was the most compacted hard soil tent site I've ever seen at a KOA, I bent two of my stakes. Also not level, so constantly all night long we were having to readjust in our tent to keep from laying on top of one another. Owner had barking dogs :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your inconvenience! During check-in you were upgraded to an electrical site free of charge. If your site is unacceptable we are happy to offer another or a refund. We keep our personal pets at the opposite end of the campground from where you stayed. We address other dog complaints immediately but must be notified.
Aug 16, 2017
I have stayed at this campground twice. I tented in T 67 and T 64. Both sites were roomy and had good views. We had turkeys and deer within 15 yards of our site. We will come back if we are in that area again.
Aug 14, 2017
This is what people want to see and do when they come to south Dakota. Nature. Wide open spaces. Close to all the tourist sites south of Rapid without having to be in the masses at Rapid. Restaurants and grocery in town near by and full breakfast and pizzas cooked on site for lazy days. Free, high quality firewood and a heated pool....
Aug 13, 2017
Extremely accommodating. Loved our stay here!
Aug 12, 2017
Staff lady in the front office was very accommodating, bath rooms were always clean and impressed how nice they were. We loved how our camp site was so spacious and a little secluded. Only negative would be the cook that makes breakfast was not very friendly, seemed unhappy and just wanted to go smoke, and they need a sign in front of the cook that says go inside to order. We stood staring at
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals