Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
A nice place to stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The place is not as shady as we had hoped for tent camping in the summer. The pool was a great amenity and the kids enjoyed it a number of times. An excellent place to stay when touring the Black Hills. We had one complaint. The bathhouse wasn't climate controlled & turned hot sauna and so we were sweating upon exiting the shower.
Jul 16, 2018
Small quiet KOA convenient to Hot Springs, Custer National Park, The Needles, Crazy Horse National Monument and Mt. Rushmore. Really nice hosts. They let us park our RV after checking out, so that we could drive the Needles road. Best breakfast so far!
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Cabin 76 worked out very well for us. Despite extreme heat, AC kept up acceptably well. Everyone was very nice to work with. Thought breakfast prices were a little high for what was received. Store prices very competitive - no issue there. Would recommend and stay again.
Jul 14, 2018
Some KOA’s are beautiful... this isn’t one of those.
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
Nice spots, lots of trees
Jul 14, 2018
Perfect spot. Clean and quiet. The owners were friendly and helpful in offering information about the local area and providing maps.
Jul 14, 2018
We’ve been staying here for many many years. Always excellent. We forgot to make reservations this year and didn’t realize how busy this week was. So we were very grateful to be able to stay in the overflow area. However there was no cable or WiFi available at that site. It was weird only a few feet from the “boundary” to not have that. I am addicted to my phone so I was surprised. Again a
Jul 13, 2018
Our stay was great, nice clean campground, it was quiet and relaxing. Thank you for your hospitality.
Jul 12, 2018
We were pleasantly greeted and had our very own guide that helped us into our spot. Our kids loved the pool. It was very clean. I caught up on my laundry after a week on the road. The dryers worked in less time than I expected for 3 huge loads. Breakfast on the grill poolside was brilliantly done by Terry! Thanks for the great tip; Cascade Falls was a beautiful detour!
Jul 11, 2018
Very nice campground with excellent staff.
Jul 11, 2018
One of the cleanest KOA's we have ever seen. Quiet, comfortable, and the breakfasts were awesome!
Jul 11, 2018
Great place to stay. Would definitely return
Jul 10, 2018
We fell in love with South Dakota. The KOA was a great spot for us as a home base. From this location, we visited the Badlands NP, Wind Cave NP, the Mammoth site, Cascade Falls, Sylvan Lake State Park and Jewel Cave NM. The KOA staff are very friendly and helpful with answers to local questions. The campground and bathrooms were super clean. The town of Hot Springs is super cute. We will be back!
Jul 10, 2018
Fun and comfortable stay!
Jul 10, 2018
Staff was very nice and accommodating to our needs. We didn't eat breakfast there but they breakfast looked really good. We stayed in a cabin which had a t.v. and fridge. It was clean and had a bunch of extra electrical outlets. The mini golf and fun for us to play. The fan in the bathrooms was not working at the moment but staff was aware and had extra fans in the bathroom to help with the temp.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
My daughter and I do a lot of road tripping and we love staying at KOA. Hot Springs was nice, stayed in a cabin which was very nice. The only thing that could have used some attention were the bathrooms. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and I would recommend this KOA to anyone staying in the southern Black Hills area.
Jul 10, 2018
Clean, hot showers, friendly staff. Great breakfast.
Jul 09, 2018
The KOA was nice. Enjoyed the campground, very clean and the staff was very nice. Hot Springs itself was a little underwhelming. We wethere on July 4th and for a small town, Hot Springs did put on a nice fireworks show. We watched it from Butler Park. Pls know it is a bit of a drive to the main attraction areas in the rest of the Black Hills so make sure you calculate that into your travel timing
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
We stayed in a deluxe cabin which provided quiet & comfort after full days of sight-seeing with 2 young kids The pool was also nice & the staff were very friendly. Our biggest complaint, and the reason I would not recommend this campground, is the smell of sewage that seemed to more often than not waft pass the cabin. It made it unpleasant to sit outside and could be smelled at the pool as well.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Overall good one night stop. But we put slideout on reservation and there was a tree where the slideout has to extend and the site was so short that we had to push branch out of way. Kids said pool was clean and staff was great!
Jul 09, 2018
stayed over the 4th. we loved the dog park and loved all the places you can walk your dogs. the made to order breakfast is great and the gals working there did a great job. lots of family things to do there with the pool and games. we were there for 2 nights and were comfortable. the showers were clean
Jul 09, 2018
It was clean and fun! Quiet, respectful and we’d definitely stay again!!
Jul 09, 2018
We enjoyed the pool and the friendly staff.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
Very nice campground and friendly staff. The breakfast was wonderful,
Jul 08, 2018
Nice quiet campground. We stayed for 4 nights to see the tourists stuff. Close enough to all. Nice pool that was clean. We stayed in a 40 foot 5th wheel and had plenty of room on our site. Trees for shade.
Jul 08, 2018
This was the perfect spot for everything we needed. The KOA staff were a great help for any and all questions we had about the area. It was my first stay at a KOA camp and I was highly impressed with everything they had to offer. I will be staying at a KOA from this point forward on future trips if possible.
Jul 08, 2018
Great KOA! Best we have ever stayed at!
Jul 08, 2018
Everything was awesome except the flies and mosquitoes were insane at our cabin. Someone mentioned that a rancher had a stagnant pond not too far behind where our cabin was and the mosquitoes were just nuts. We all were getting bit non stop the whole time we were there. Other than that, everything was great!
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Overall the stay was great. We only stayed 1 night on our way west. Quaint and not too large. Restroom facilities were adequate and kept clean.
Jul 06, 2018
Nice facilities. Love the shade. Easy access to all the sights. Excellent breakfast grill. Recommend.
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Very well run. Friendly staff. Oh a great pizza
Jul 06, 2018
Staff was amazing. Very courteous and helpful. Site could have used a little more stone. When the rain came, the ground on the entry side of the camper got pretty muddy. I used some of our leveling blocks as stepping stones to cut down on grit in the trailer. Due to the slope of our site, there wasn't really anyplace to sit outside (other than the picnic table), but the pine trees were great!
Jul 06, 2018
Staff were great. Didn’t get the chance to spend much time in camp. But it was nice.
Jul 06, 2018
Great park!
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Nice hosts. Really enjoyed the breakfast, good idea!
Jul 05, 2018
Great stay, nice group.
Jul 05, 2018
This KOA is located in a very beautiful part of the country. The facilities were clean and well kept. They have one of the nicest game rooms ever and the breakfast can't be beat. Be sure to try the loaded hash browns and the pancakes with chocolate chips and whip cream. Delicious! We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 05, 2018
Accommodations and atmospherie was great. Room to play n swim.
Jul 05, 2018
Staff and facilities were wonderful. Will surely return.
Jul 05, 2018
No cable for all the RV sites poor showers hard to get into your site

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Are you sure you are reviewing the right campground? All of our RV sites have cable and we receive many compliments on our showers and our guided parking. Thank you for your stay.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award