Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 30, 2017
New to RVing & had some questions. Camp was open year round but office is closed on Sunday so no answers. Online fee was $61. Camp board had $46. I asked next morning & she said the board was being renovated & that was an old price. Then the board should say that. Seemed like false advertising. Price seemed steep for hook ups and electricity-too cold for much more. Nice facility. Near Mammoth.
Nov 28, 2017
Friendly staff. Difficult to find the driveway. Kind of pricey, considering everything was pretty much closed down for the winter.
Nov 25, 2017
Sites are uneven (not level) gravel with stormwater erosion cutting deep cannels through the sites and roads. Sewer, power and water connections were located at the far end of the campsite requiring power and sewer extension cables to make connections. Bathrooms we clean but old and in need of updates. Bathrooms were inconvenient to the majority of campsites. Camp store was poorly stocked.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize that you had an unpleasant stay. We plan in the near future to pave our sites. This is our off season that is why the store has what is required by KOA, again I do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Have a Bless Day.
Nov 22, 2017
Nov 22, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Sites are not level and I could not extend my wall slide.
Nov 18, 2017
Very nice campground with lake. The pull throughs were a little short. I have a 41 foot motorhome towing a car and had to un hook.
Nov 13, 2017
The staff was very nice and we had the tent area all to ourselves. The playground was in ok condition. The slide had a huge crack at the bottom. The kids were disappointed that they couldn't play on the bounce pillow, our firewood was rotted and would not catch despite 2 hours of constant tending, and only one of the showers worked properly. We probably wouldn't consider staying again.
Nov 12, 2017
Personnel very friendly and helpful. Campground needs to upgrade. No cable, WiFi difficult, very few full hookups with pull through. Easy access to Interstate so for one night it is ok. For longer, may need to think about it
Nov 10, 2017
Too close to the highway. No firewood available to purchase on Friday night when we arrived at 8pm. Friends stayed in the cabins, but one had a beeping smoke alarm that the staff couldn’t fix, so we drove to the truck stop ( visible from the campground) to buy a battery that fixed the issue. Overall we had fun, restrooms and amenities were as described and available.
Nov 08, 2017
Pleasantly surprised to find The Rustic cabin had electricity a small fridge, heater and AC and right across from the bathroom.
Nov 07, 2017
I was staying at Horse Cave KOA while working in the area. Staff was very helpful and polite. Campground was well kept and included several family friendly amenities. Would likely stay there again next time I'm in the area!
Nov 07, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
The cabins were cozy and the bathrooms were clean by the office. The campsites weren’t too close together. So besides the early morning rooster and the highway being next to the campground, it was very relaxing and enjoyable!
Nov 06, 2017
These were the worst KOA showers we have found in 41 years (men's and women's): really hot water or really cold, nothing in between. The shower knobs did not adjust. Shower did not drain. And there was no barrier between the shower area and dressing area so you stood in water. The bathrooms were clean, however. There was no scrub sink on the premises to wash dishes. We would not return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

On behave of our staff and owners, We would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay. We are in the process for having a small kitchen in the future on premises. we have new shower knobs ordered. Thanks for your feed back and hope you reconsider checking us out in the future. Have A Bless Day.
Nov 05, 2017
Sites were full of red mud. They don’t have enough gravel over the dirt. Truck and trailer were covered when we left. Site was also extremely unlevel. Toilet facilities are a long way from the sites.
Nov 04, 2017
Good location for visiting Mammoth. Excellent WiFi. Well laid out sites. Was not up to KOA brand standards we have experienced... trash all over our site, Site was not level, picnic table was moved & very heavy to move back, very muddy. Sewer drain was full of water. Showers in bathhouse didn’t drain well. Half of machines in laundry were out of service, not all labeled.
Nov 04, 2017
No cable, fair wifi, poor tv reception, terrible laundry, road noise.
Nov 04, 2017
It was an overbite stay. We come thru in April and October on our winter snowbird flight to Florida. The place is easy to get to..very clean..great bathroom/showers.
Nov 04, 2017
Fairly empty this time of year. Trees were pretty but not the best looking location around it but park was good.
Nov 02, 2017
Oct 29, 2017
When I checked in, I wanted to use my Value Rewards and was told I could not use them, since my credit card had already been charged and they couldn't undo the charge. BULLSHIT! You can reverse a charge on a Credit Card. The park is old, very dated. Only good thing is the WIFI. No Cable TV, in fact you can't even get a TV signal down in the hole. DO NOT STAY AT THIS KOA!
Oct 28, 2017
Very nice. First time camping and it was clean, comfortable and relaxing and convenient to Mammouth Cave.
Oct 27, 2017
Site we had (45) was poorly laid out. As we departed, we saw several other sites lower down that looked much better laid out. We would not stay at this camp ground again if we had to stay at the upper level sites.
Oct 26, 2017
We pulled in after hours for a one night stay. The rate posted on the board ended up being different than what we were charged. We called the next day after receiving our email receipt and were told "the board needs updated". We said they should honor the posted price and were told they would call us back. Never heard from them again. It was only $6, but it's the principle of the matter.
Oct 26, 2017
Awesome. Loved all the trees and friendly staff. Close to lots of fun attractions.
Oct 25, 2017
It was very beautiful! I loved seeing the chickens every day. It's a great place if you have kids too! Loved being there!
Oct 24, 2017
Check-In & location good. Pretty spot. Have more to say but not enough room re the laundry room. It was terrible. 2 of the 4 machines not working. Of those 2 one did not spin out so had to wring by hand. 1 of 2 dryers worked. I had 4 loads as had been on road 2 weeks. Told the clerk 2x. She was aware - repairman coming. Also no folding table, paper towels and area was not clean.
Oct 23, 2017
The Kampground was fair, showers needed new plumbing, picnic tables around resort needed updated, some were broke and dangerous by the pond, the playground and dog area were excellent. The road noise was awful due to the closeness to the highway entrance and exit. We used earplugs and tried to ignore it because we couldnât move, kids and dog were happy.next time I would stay somewhere else.
Oct 23, 2017
Nice place, but too close to interstate. Too noisy in the bottom area where I had a pull thru. Kids enjoyed the bounce pillow and playground equip.
Oct 23, 2017
the bath room need to be undated
Oct 23, 2017
Always great at KOA
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
We have a large motor home and tow a car so having the KOA right off the highway is convenient, despite some road noise at night. It also was not too far from the Mammoth Cave National Park. Entertaining to see the barnyard animals on the edge of the property and our dogs loved the K9 playground. Campground was clean.
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 19, 2017
There was a lot of iInterstate noise, no cable TV and very poor antenna reception. The campground clean and well maintained and the staff were courteous. .
Oct 19, 2017
Made reservations by phone and arrived after hours. Reservation was clearly posted. Most of the campsites were small and right next to the driveway. Ours was a nice size with shade. Laundry was older, only one dryer in service. Dump station was on the wrong side, had to turn around the camper and then drive back through the campground when we left. Fine site for an overnight stay.
Oct 18, 2017
Very enjoyable. Came for some relaxation, and got it.
Oct 17, 2017
Showers not good, need a plumber. Right next to highway and very noisy. But the chickens were entertaining. Good if you can't get into mamouth caves campground which is why we were there
Oct 17, 2017
Pros can cons. Playground was awesome! Lower level pull thrus looked nice. Upper level pull throughs - what's up with facing your neighbor across the road? We tried to enjoy our fire but couldn't because neighbors 12 feet away with no obstacles between had music going and their kids playing in the road literally a few feet from our fire. The dump station is facing the wrong direction.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
Very nice and clean campground. Staff was friendly and helpful. The dog park was a great bonus as we were traveling with our lab and Great Dane. Great place to stay for the night. If you are looking to truly camp this is probably not your best option due to being close to the interstate. But it was great to stop in for the night!
Oct 17, 2017
Extremely nice place to visit. Horses and goats to see. Very much country feel. Great internet but no cable. Awesome stuff for kids to play on. Very very small dog park, pretty but too small.
Oct 16, 2017
Very clean facilities. The kids loved the playground and the jumping pillow. The dog park was great too. Our camping spot was really ideally located close to everything. Great location close to mammoth cave and dinosaur world! The only drawback was the noise from the interstate.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Nice small campground. Staff was very freiendly and its very close to all the cave adventures in the area. Clean campground with excellent fishing in the pond
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
The staff was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 13, 2017
We enjoyed our time there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. only question is why the thumbs down?
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy