Horse Cave KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 04, 2019
The campground is very clean. They tent site was very small and unlevel. The proximity to the highway made for road noise all night. Otherwise it is a fine campground just not one I would need to return to.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
There was very little directions to camp site. No facilities near where they put us including trash. It rained hard and there was poor drainage around our site. We left a day early
Oct 30, 2019
The grounds were well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful. The weather wasn’t great (maybe the cause of missing activities) but there were not scheduled activities for the kids while we were there. You can also hear the highway (and see it) from the campground. The location was central to many local attractions and we would most likely stay again if in the area.
Oct 30, 2019
Receptionist was very nice. No cable or air TV.
Oct 28, 2019
The campground was nice however I would like to see more blacktop on the campsites. The bathrooms were nice and clean. We did pick a weekend with lots of rain which added to the mud. I think it would be a nice place to camp in sunshine and warm temps. Very friendly and courteous staff.
Oct 25, 2019
Overnight stay while traveling. Pulling 30 ft airstream. Easy access pull through, reasonably level. Staff was organized and courteous. Some reviews have complained about road noise but we run ac fan and did not hear anything.
Oct 24, 2019
We needed a place near I-65 between our stop in Carrollton, KY and our stop in Tennessee and Horse Cave fit the bill.
Oct 24, 2019
Very spacious and clean and well laid-out Park. People very friendly and cordial enjoyed our stay
Oct 22, 2019
Highway noise very loud.
Oct 22, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
Great staff nice little extra they pick your garbage up for you everyday just bag and toss at end of your site. Only complaint I have and it's trivial but dog park is so far from the camping slots not in center or central like most and fence needs a bottom rail to prevent escape
Oct 21, 2019
Super convenient because it's literally right off I65, but as a result it's super noisy so not great if you want to go and relax. If you're looking for a a place to stop overnight, it's very convenient. The other issue we had is at site 87 there is what I suspect to be a septic pump and it stinks! The smell drove us in most of the time and eventually the smell came inside the camper too, yuck!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Nice campground and nice people!
Oct 21, 2019
I really want to visit one more time. Nice place and people also really kind.
Oct 20, 2019
TV would have been nice. Otherwise, it was very good.
Oct 20, 2019
Nice campground, pretty quiet during the week but close to 65 for easy access. You do hear traffic but the noise wasn't too bad.
Oct 20, 2019
Just one night, but you were very accommodating. Park has greatly improved since our last stay! Dump station access needed on the other side of the island. Keep up the good work!
Oct 18, 2019
Grandchildren love to go there, much better than Bowling GREEN Koa, Just a little too close to the interstate highway and the truck stop, so you hear the traffic.
Oct 18, 2019
The highway and farm animals made our stay Very noisy.
Oct 17, 2019
Campsite was part of the gravel road, not worth the $50. Should have stayed in the Walmart parking lot. While I was there someone pulled through, that said they booked a site. And they were turned away. The type of site they booked was not available. We were traveling with two vehicles, there was lots of room for parking on oursite. However when we returned at night someone had parked on our site
Oct 16, 2019
Staff was very friendly. Camp sites really small. Ours was right by main drive which was difficult with size of camp site and having small kids.
Oct 15, 2019
Loved the playground, fishing, and mini golf. Kept our kids entertained without having to go anywhere else if we didn’t want. The store had everything we needed including the things we forgot it pack. We arrived after hours and since it was our first time staying we did not know what to do but called the after hours number and they were amazing! All the staff were amazing!
Oct 15, 2019
The sites are not clearly defined. Some are on the road and have no room to even walk out your door. The staff was ok, not the nicest I’ve seen. The location was convenient and the playground areas looked nice.
Oct 15, 2019
Close to all attractions. Kids enjoyed the petting zoo area, bouncing bag and our turkey/chicken morning visitors!
Oct 14, 2019
The campground was really good. The people were great. The only bad thing is the freeway noise. With that said I will stay agian.
Oct 14, 2019
Very nice campground that is very easy to access some of the local cave attractions. Well kept. Our boys loved the free mini golf, fishing, and playground. We do normally use the bathhouse, but we did use them as we departed and they were well kept as well and very clean. The two things that kept it from being a 5 star was the interstate noise and our site was very unlevel. 4+ inches off!!
Oct 13, 2019
I enjoyed the stay. Site needed to be leveled better, otherwise site was good. Could hear some I-65 traffic.
Oct 11, 2019
A chair and/or end table inside the Kabin would have been nice. To their credit though, the Kabin, grounds and restrooms were all VERY clean and well-maintained and the staff was outstanding. Would definitely stay here again if we're ever back in the area.
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 10, 2019
Things we enjoyed: level campsite, friendly staff, daily trash pick up by the staff, not far from our planned activities, ample things for the kids to do, and reasonable price.
Oct 10, 2019
Great people and service
Oct 09, 2019
One bedroom cabin was clean and even had pillows! Campground was well maintained and staff was super nice. Kids loved all the amenities, bounce pillow, playground, putt putt. WiFi was solid, I highly recommend this KOA.
Oct 08, 2019
Very nice KOA! Close to Mammoth Caves and other attractions. There are barn yard animals here which increase the flies so a bit difficult to eat outdoors at picnic table. Fur babies loved the dog park!!
Oct 08, 2019
The campground seems to be just a sideline to the owners. water facuets leaking badly. Chickens wandering thru the entire place, including the concrete floor of the rec area pavillion, leaving little reminders of their visit. Roosters crowing underneath the RV at 6 AM. Absolutely no TV reception from the air and no cable hookup provided. You can throw a rock and hit I65 South, bad road noise.
Oct 08, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful. The facility could use some updating. All gravel on the upper level, very little grass and no Cable.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Wonderful campground, but the highway is right next to the campground. Plus that highway has an on ramp right there and there is a major truck stop and gas station on the other side of the highway. So all night as the trucks use the on ramp, you can hear the loud trucks accelerating to get up to speed. Kept me up the first night. Purchased some ear plugs for the second night.
Oct 05, 2019
Our stay was very enjoyable. Clean campgrounds loved watching the goat and horses.
Sep 30, 2019
Beautiful young lady at check in made it a quick easy arrival. Very clean , well kept KOA . One of the nicest we have seen . This place is what you think of when you think KOA. Make this campground a must stay when you plan your trip . We will be back !!!
Sep 30, 2019
I stay at a lot of KOA's across the US. I've never paid this much for a cabin. I feel that it was over priced. People were very friendly.
Sep 28, 2019
I came in contact with 3 female desk personnel. All three were extremely polite and helpful in person and on the phone. I was disappointed there was no cable. There are no TV stations that can be used via antenna. We were able to get ZUMI over the WiFi on a computer. The WiFi froze a television and we could not use it. Upon returning home and TENGO was not available all returned to normal. ?WiFi
Sep 27, 2019
Friendly, helpful hosts. Dirt road right next to campsite made for a noisy stay. You couldn't really use the picnic table or the fire ring.
Sep 26, 2019
Sonya, Whitney, & Thanks for a great visit. Ya'll were very nice and fun to talk to. #4 was clean and we hope it was cleaner when we left. The toilet is loose. Someone could tip it over. I really wanted to send a handwritten note, but time is getting on. We hope we were good guests. Thank you for letting us use hot plate in kabin - who was there 9 years ago? - running the KOA. we have a picture.
Sep 24, 2019
Nice place. Only downside is, too close to I-65. Truck traffic can get quite noisy.
Sep 24, 2019
Nice park. We were on the lower level with a pull through just above the horse corral and fishing pond. Enjoyed waking to the rooster crowing and nature.
Sep 24, 2019
Clean and well maintained.
Oct 24, 2019
First time here always stayed at Bowling green KOA. NEVER again we will stay here from Now on. So far they had EVERYTHING they Advertised and it is Much Cheaper. We Had a Wonderful Stay Thanks Everyone at Horse Cave KOA
- Craig Smith on Google
Oct 20, 2019
It is an ok place.
- 80's fan on Google
Oct 17, 2019
Just got here so far so good
- Keith Brown on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.