Horse Cave KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 22, 2020
Deluxe cabin smelled like smoker . Trash on the floor under air conditioner. Futon holes in it and didn't open. I expected nicer for the money.
Sep 22, 2020
We loved the unique opportunity to stay in one of the covered wagons. My son enjoyed all of the amenities offered at the campground. The bath house was one of the nicest I have seen in a campground. There is a lot of highway noise but it didn’t dampen our visit. The fire pits and sitting areas were a great addition to the space.
Sep 22, 2020
Positives: The bathrooms are very nice, huge plus. Staff was very friendly and helpful, although no one was masked up. The whole place was clean and very pretty. Downsides: The sites are awkward in the lack of privacy, felt very exposed. The location is loud from the nearby highway, but very convenient to area attractions.
Sep 22, 2020
The overall location is very good, near the caves. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the camp has limited resources, first there’s no sewage on the rv site, a bit close to I65, so at night the traffic noise is high.
Sep 21, 2020
The covered wagons were amazing! The beds and pillows were super comfy and cozy.. better than most hotels! It's a bit loud due to the freeway, I think a noise barrier fence around the site could eventually help that. The bathrooms are all brand new and the water pressure is amazing. It's quaint and relaxing and there's a lot of money and love being put into that place. We will definitely be back!
Sep 21, 2020
Awesome stay very friendly people and a nice clean cabin
Sep 21, 2020
Very cramped sight. Could not hook up sewer because site had a large drop off. Noise from the interstate was horrible. Check in was extremely slow and they were taking care of customers NOT wearing a mask. The only thing positive from this trip was the K9 Lamp. Best we have seen, but it does not make up for all of the rest. Needless to say, we will not be back to this location.
Sep 21, 2020
We were camped with rv in #32 and we loved it! Very clean, peaceful!
Sep 21, 2020
We loved the animals that are across from the campground. Nice people and good, clean campground. Good place for kids.
Sep 21, 2020
Great campground not parked super close to each other which we like. The only thing I would change is the curb that we had to drive over to get into and out of our campsite that was a huge annoyance. Other than that it was great and we all had fun
Sep 21, 2020
Sep 21, 2020
Sep 21, 2020
Everything was nice. I was very impressed with the bathrooms. They are super nice.
Sep 21, 2020
It was a very busy weekend. Lots of fun watching kids play. Great updates to the Horse Cave Koa. It is deffintly one of our favorite places to camp. Staff is very helpful and very friendly.
Sep 21, 2020
The deluxe cabin is very over priced. The heat didn't work, the futon couch fell apart as soon as we sat on it, the TV randomly cut in and out, the shower curtain in the bathroom was edged in pink, even though its white. Had it been priced for what it's worth, my expectations would have perhaps been more appropriate. The jumping pillow was a hit with the kids but we won't stay here again.
Sep 21, 2020
Lovely site and great staff! Very close to caves to explore!
Sep 21, 2020
We were assigned site 22. We were not given instructions that was the only blacktop site in the campground. Other campers use It as a drive-thru. We camped in what looked like site 22 for a night, without anyone telling us that was not the site. The next day, another camper arrived, parked within 6 feet of us, then partied (playing guitars and singing) until after 1:00am. You need to do better.
Sep 21, 2020
Sep 21, 2020
Sep 20, 2020
Very well kept campground...It appears improvements are ongoing...Very friendly staff...Bathroom suites were very up to date and super clean...Just an awesome campground to visit...
Sep 20, 2020
Clean park, upgrades in progress, beautiful views by the chuck wagons, excellent staff.
Sep 20, 2020
I loved the bathrooms. Excellent! We stayed at a tent site. The site was missing a table for us and there was no electricity. No biggie except we has electrical at the previous KOA. Overall good.
Sep 20, 2020
We stayed in cabin number 6 the outside of cabin was nice, although the inside of cabin had some issues with cleanilness. The futon had a horrible odor, bedspread had dirty spots on it, the pillows did not have pillowcases on them only zip off pillow case covers and had black hairs on them. Refrigerator shelves were dirty. We left because it was so dirty. I will never recommend the cabins.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I wish you had let the office staff know about this upon check-in. I would have addressed this issue. I will look into this matter and see what could have happened. I apologize for the unpleasant stay.
Sep 17, 2020
Beautiful settings ! Awesome facilities! Loved the covered wagon! Would love to visit again! No complaints at all! Maybe a suggestion. We love campground atmosphere, if we don’t bring camper we stay in cabins. We don’t smoke , but we wanted a fire. Bought firewood from store, had no matches . Lol Would gladly have paid 1.00 more for little box of matches and 1 little stick of fire starter
Sep 16, 2020
Sep 16, 2020
Nice campground, very friendly staff
Sep 15, 2020
Sep 15, 2020
Very friendly staff , small but cozy area with cool barnyard animals.
Sep 15, 2020
We love it staying in the covered wagon. The view was amazing. The fishing and the pool was very nice. The bathrooms were super clean and one of the best at any Koa we've stayed at. The park set up was very nice as well.
Sep 14, 2020
No problems and I shared my stay on fb
Sep 14, 2020
loved the covered wagon! looking forward to doing it again.the bath house was a total surprise, the nicest and cleaned bath house i have ever seem in a campground.the staff was friendly and helpful.wish i had known the pool was still open i would"ve brought my swimsuit i guess i should"ve called before we came but was told it closed on laborday.anytime keep up the good work
Sep 14, 2020
The campground was kept up very nice. We had neighbors staying up past midnight playing music and partying. I sat up because i didn't not feel safe enough to sleep with them nearby. I would've called but did not want to be targeted by them. Left at 5am.
Sep 14, 2020
Many areas in the cabin were unclean, under the sink cabinet there was a rodent trap (which is fine) however there was feces all in the cabinet & various corners of the cabin. Beside the bed, the light over the sink, etc were dusty & unclean. With such a small cabin it would not take long to clean well. Our parking space had nails & screws, luckily we did not get any in our tires.
Sep 13, 2020
Wonderful friendly owners and staff, beautiful new and spacious shower rooms, a pool, great view, even a pond the dogs loved in the midst of the heat!
Sep 12, 2020
Sep 10, 2020
Great place to stay. 2 big dog parks, clean bathrooms with tubs. I'll be back if I'm in the area again
Sep 09, 2020
Nice weekend always like coming here will be back
Sep 09, 2020
Great location. Convenient to attractions.
Sep 09, 2020
Sep 09, 2020
We stayed here Labor Day for 3 nights in a full hook-up site. Our site was in the full sun. There is very little grass and a ton of dusty gravel. What grass was there was was in dire need of being mowed. Our fire pit was pitiful and about 2 feet from our neighbor's sewer hookup. Our water hook up leaked big time. We mentioned it to staff, but it was never repaired. Our picnic table was rotted.
Sep 09, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Very friendly staff, nice clean private family bathrooms/showers, and the Covered Wagons were amazing.
Sep 08, 2020
All of the staff was friendly and helpful. Loved that the roadways were paved. All of the recreation areas were huge!
Sep 08, 2020
We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin! With all of the renovations going on, it looks beautiful! Those are the nicest campground restrooms I have ever seen or used! My only suggestion would be to also upgrade the mattresses on the beds. They were way too thin, we ended up going to Walmart to buy a mattress topper, only because we were staying for 4 nights, which helped slightly. Great staff!!
Sep 08, 2020
Excellent cabin. Housekeeping needs improvement. Food left in microwave. Other than that outstanding place to stay
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Great facility. Lots to do. Other than the occasional loud vehicle, interstate traffic became white noise.
Sep 08, 2020
We had a relaxing and enjoyable LBD weekend stay. The campground is nice, clean, well maintained and quiet. Even a full sun site wasn't an issue with the beautiful weather. The last row of sites do get quite a bit of highway noise and we were in a popup camper so we didn't sleep well. But you can't hold that against the campground as there is nothing they can do about that.
Sep 08, 2020
Booked a tent site with two dogs, was looking forward to a lower trafficked part of the campgrounds. Person working started they over booked and we would be in a RV site. The site was in direct line to the noisy highway as opposed to hidden away behind RVs. Children were constantly running through our site. Very heavy foot and vehicle traffic around site. Very little room for tent on grass.