Horse Cave KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2019
Gravel sites need work. Erosion and 83 was far from level.
Sep 17, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. The only thing we saw that should be fixed is the pool.
Sep 17, 2019
This was the first time that we stayed in a cabin and we were pleased with it. We are usually travel trailer campers, but decided to do something a little different over the VKR weekend. The campground is well maintained and nicely landscaped.
Sep 17, 2019
Everything was great, and the evenings were very pleasant. The cabin was spotless and in good condition, staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. The condition and cleanliness of the entire Kampground show a level of care and concern by the owners. I will definitely be staying here again.
Sep 17, 2019
We loved the atmosphere at the KOA at Horse Cave, KY! There were so many things to do and we enjoyed seeing the farm animals, too! This campground was a short drive to Mammoth Cave National Park. We will definitely visit again!
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
All the things you love about KOA conveniently located near the highway and all the cave region attractions. We enjoyed the pool since it was still open beyond the normal season! We caught huge bass in the fishing pond! Staff were friendly and the place was well maintained. Thanks. :)
Sep 16, 2019
Had a nice stay.
Sep 16, 2019
Great place We had a lot of fun. The site was on the road though so our dogs had no area and the fire pits were on the wrong side of the site. We had scouts do we were next to the tents so the location was great just not a great site.
Sep 16, 2019
We enjoyed our weekend stay. Did not try the pool. Older KOA but seems well kept. Farm animals provided additional interest.
Sep 16, 2019
Crappy, rocky, narrow site with no flat grassy area.
Sep 15, 2019
It is a nice area. The bathrooms were very clean, as was the rest of the campgrounds. Great pool. The only negative was that it was so close to the interstate, that it was noisy due to the truck traffic that was going past all night long.
Sep 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Located close to many attractions. Back-in sites could use some fill at the rear of the trailer. Rather out of level.
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 11, 2019
It could be a beautiful KOA but the pull thru slot we were assigned was nothing but gravel, dust and dirt. The grass that was present was in a downward sloping ditch. We had NO fire pit no picnic table but we did have a tree so close that we could not open our awning and get better shade. The amenities were well cared for, the dog park was great. But the sites were not up to par.
Sep 10, 2019
Friendly owners and staff, beautiful grounds. We like the rustic look of the place. My husband loved that the farm turkeys, chickens, roosters wandered around and visited the sites. He would say, the school bus just dropped off the kids...as they approached our site. He's never camped and since we now live in our RV, this place is a re-visit MUST as we travel back and forth between MI & Fl.
Sep 10, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
When we got to our camping spot, greeted with chickens and turkeys. they were a nuisance could not sit outside and grilled out and they were all around grill. Had to wash outside rug they pooped on it. No shade. We was wanting a quiet weekend, but had to stay in camper or be brothered with chickens and turkeys around campsite. Water pressure was low , we was on site 87. Wont be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay. You could have came to the office and we would have been happy to relocated you. Have a bless day.
Sep 07, 2019
The early morning Barnyard sounds were a pleasant surprise. Very nice.
Sep 06, 2019
The setting was beautiful and the park was very well maintained. When we first saw it from the interstate we were concerned we would hear the traffic but we didn’t. Overall a great stay including the check in process.
Sep 06, 2019
very nice
Sep 05, 2019
roasters crow all day and night turkeys, chickens, goat roam thru camp sites. No tv connection. Driveway are very rough. Close to noisy main road long wait to check in
Sep 04, 2019
Grounds were very clean, well maintained. My only complaints are the noise from highway and that the campground is built into the side of a hill.
Sep 04, 2019
37 ft Class A with tow. Gravel site 85, very difficult to level, no shade, unable to pick up any local TV stations, no cable, and slow Wi-Fi.
Sep 04, 2019
Problems at this KOA from the beginning. Electric at site didn't work. Was moved to a different site without difficulty, the problem was that the new site was all gravel, not well marked at all, and no privacy. The bathrooms were not maintained and not enough showers or toilets to support the numbers that were using them. Finally, the bathroom was not cleaned often enough. :( :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We clean bath house from 11-12:30 daily there after it is maintained every hour.
Sep 04, 2019
The pull through 50 amp sites were out in the full sun. Maybe not a problem in the fall and winter but definitely very hot in the summer. The sites up on the hill in the trees looked inviting but none of them had full hookups and 50 amp service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are Sorry you could not get in on a full hook-up site that with shaded. We were completely booked Labor Day Weekend. We do have full hook-up back ins on top level of campground.
Sep 03, 2019
Unique
We stayed in the duplex cabin. Very nice!! Clean and comfortable.
Sep 03, 2019
Great campground with reasonably level sites. Good for kids as our grandkids loved it. Close to mammoth cave and other fun activities. Lots of shade. Highway was a little noisy but tolerable and typical. We stayed in 44 foot fifth wheel and daughter stayed in pop up tent.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Stayed in deluxe cabin. Our cabin was infested with black ants. Bed was very uncomfortable. No where to use our Coleman propane stove on our site. We had to walk to the picnic area. Firewood was not good enough to start a fire. I would not recommend this campground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We addressed your ant problem ASAP we do have them treated monthly by a pest company. You were advised you could use your stove outside of your cabin. Again we do apologize.
Sep 02, 2019
Campground was pretty empty but was clean. Close to mammoth cave
Sep 02, 2019
Great KOA! Friendly owners. Very disappointed in the pool. Very dirty with grass clippings, dead bugs and no filter running.
Aug 31, 2019
Staff was very accommodating. We were scheduled for a pull through but the lots were so slanted we didn’t have enough blocks to level us out. Moved to a back in, which was fine.
Aug 31, 2019
Roads are bad, no cable TV, had to find my site in the dark with no help I stay in a lot of KOA’s and this one is one of the worst, glad I has only there overnight
Aug 29, 2019
Very friendly staff, clean facilities & great farm animals. Also very convenient to Mammoth Cave National Park.
Aug 28, 2019
Beautiful campground. Loved the chickens. Staff very helpful.
Aug 27, 2019
WE DID NOTICE THE FREEWAY NOISE AT NIGHT. WE THOUGHT STAFF AT THE CAMPGROUND WAS VERY HELPFULL AND FRIENDLY. OVERALL IT WAS A GOOD EXPERIANCE.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
It was presently quiet and very clean. My children enjoyed the playgrounds.
Aug 26, 2019
This was a pretty good stay for us. There are resident chickens roaming around which is kinda neat. The pool was great. I was surprised that some of their campsites are simply hookups along access paths to other sites where you simply park to the side and connect water and electric. I guess they would be great for a quick overnight stay.
Aug 26, 2019
Really nice place to stay. Lots to do with the family and kids on property including fishing, swimming and play ground. Very clean property and friendly staff. 15-20 minutes away from mammoth cave. The only issue is it's kind of close to the highway but it didn't bother us.
Aug 26, 2019
This was a great way to introduce camping to our preschoolers! They had such a fun time. We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was great. Loved that our dogs were welcome as well. The farm animals were a great addition to the experience and the turkey, ducks and chickens where so fun to see wondering around in the mornings. We would definitely stay again!
Aug 26, 2019
Campground is beautiful and well maintained, my only complaint is the interstate being so noisy but know that there is nothing you can do. We had a great weekend and will be back!
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
Stayed here twice on our way to Florida from Michigan and back home. Great location, staff was friendly, and plenty to do for the kids after riding in the truck all day!
Aug 25, 2019
Clean & nice shade with level sites...
Aug 24, 2019
Nice clean campground
Aug 24, 2019
Very friendly staff. Clean everywhere.
Aug 23, 2019
KOA's have more than most. That said this KOA is below average . Water faucet 4 in out of the dirt limits access. Our campsite way out of level. Sewer line old and stripped threads so sewer didn't secure. Made site smell. Lots of rotten railroad ties in sites. Above average for some, below average for KOA. Good proximity to attractions.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.