Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Info: 270-786-2819

Email This Campground

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 25, 2018
Nice clean restrooms, very nice personnel and for us was ok for one night. But because it's close to highway it's pretty noisy. Could have a bit more grass between differnt sites but serve well the purpase.
May 24, 2018
Great wifi, but really close to the highway noise. Close to Mammoth Caves Park and plenty of shopping, but pool was closed, pond and bridges were closed. Good stop over to see the caves.
May 21, 2018
Did not like the gravel camp sites And we kept tripping over the lumber borders
May 21, 2018
May 21, 2018
the location is not terrible and there was plenty of space. I had to ask to be moved from those sites closest to the highway, which certainly helped. all and all not a bad place for the night.
May 19, 2018
May 19, 2018
Very nice
May 19, 2018
Was slightly disappointed. Called in advance/booked and requested two spots next to each other as we were meeting our parents. Our parents called after us and booked and referenced us. Arrived the very next and we were not next to each other. There were MANY spots open and available during our stay. If you have traveling companions and want to be next to each other, find another park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that this happened. I assure you if it is requested we put family together if possible. I will check into this matter and see what may have occurred for this to happen. Have A Bless Day!
May 18, 2018
Would like to see cable service

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We a pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully in the future we will have cable hook-up. Have a Blessed Day!
May 15, 2018
we have been coming for many years. the ratings would be perfect except my child got hurt pretty badly on a rotted fishing deck. I thought I may hear from the owners, hear from management, or have been asked how they could make us happier after that; but I did not. we will be back, but that situation could have been much worse.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Dear Mr. Settles, I am the owner and was not available when this occurred due to Death in the family. I just returned today and was told about what happened. I wish you could have waited on rating us until I was able to call you. Again I apologize. This was roped off due to repairs and was removed with out my staff being aware. Please give us a call. Thanks Sonya Owner HCKOA
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
These weren't "camp spots " it was a parking lot with a picnic table attached. I won't be staying there again.
May 13, 2018
May 13, 2018
Great Country atmosphere, most sites shaded, but VERY uneven gravel. Stayed in a Class A motorhome. Restroom/Showers were sufficient, but not great. Wonderful play areas for kids and dogs and a nice fishing pond.
May 13, 2018
Park was nice except for two things, highway noise and the bathrooms were always plugged even though the park was only a tenth full. Proximity to mammoth caves is a plus.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the unpleasant stay, Yes we were aware of the plugged toilets. But it was due to kids playing in bathrooms. The situation was taking care of.
May 12, 2018
No cable and lots of trees so your satellite might not work.
May 11, 2018
Vert good the only complant was the rosters @ 6:00 AM
May 11, 2018
Not enough space to describe this great place. Beautifully groomed and maintained, lots of trees, tiled bathrooms, great amenities, wonderful owners and staff, perfect location to caves! Farm setting (ponies, horses, chickens, ducks), lots of grass, awesome views. Should be a KOA Holiday. We've been to a lot of KOAs-this ranks right on top.
May 10, 2018
Nice park. But ALOT of highway noise and NO TV reception except local PBS. Did think the doggie park stuff was cute.
May 09, 2018
No trash collection and the dumpster was sooo far away. Dog park was quite a hike also. Highway noise was annoying. Couldn’t hear a bird chirping if you wanted to. Bathrooms were ok and clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay, we do offer trash pickup as long as it is set out at your site by 11:00 Central Time. I will make sure that the front desk clerks tell every camper this. Have a Bless Day.
May 08, 2018
Real nice folks in charge
May 07, 2018
Campground itself was pretty quiet. Unfortunately the highway noise does hit the lower campsites, but overall was still a nice place to stay. The manager/team kept the bathrooms in great shape (one of the cleanest we've seen). The lady manning the front desk was very nice and helpful with information. We most likely will stay again.
May 07, 2018
Very clean and nice large sites. A bit noisy due to proximity to highway but other than that, nice location. TV (cable) hook up would of been nice. Don’t normally use it much but when it’s raining all day it’s nice to have. Really no reception without it.
May 07, 2018
We were there just overnight but would like to visit again someday and use the amenities. It is very well kept and the person I spoke to for the reservation was extremely helpful. Great location and very close to numerous attractions. It is definitely on our list of places to stay in the area. Thank you for accommodating us on short notice.
May 06, 2018
Reserved a pullthrough yet tried to give me back in site to accommodate proximity to bathroom. Pull through site was finally given and points used to cover 2nd night. Receipt said $9.50 cash back but I got nothing. Site was under street light so hard to get to sleep with this shining into my trailer all night. Otherwise stay was fine.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We strive in making your stay perfect. As for the cash back you used points meaning the cash back is give back on credit card used. Please allow 5 to 7 business days to see this on you card statement. Have a Bless Day.
May 04, 2018
I had a great stay there. The only think is there is no cell phone service. Could not receive or make calls.
May 03, 2018
May 03, 2018
May 01, 2018
We stayed at the pull through sites and here is a list why we won’t stay here again. Highway noise was bad, a small farm with roosters were within 50 yards and very early risers, no cable tv and due to location very few over the air channels. I really wished I had satalite tv.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feed back, unfortunately we can not do anything about the highway noise, We due not advertise we have cable, you should have been able to pick up a few channels with satellite. In the future we due plan on getting cable. Hope you have a Bless Day.
May 01, 2018
We were looking for a pull-thru spot and they said we got the only one, but it was curved and not level, even after putting a board under one side tires on our fifth-wheel. The whole campground was on a hill. Not friendly for older people with bad knees.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant stay. You were on a site that guest always try to get. That site is a prime site for many. I will look into this matter. We due offer pull-threw by the office but they are not full-hook-up. Have a Bless Day
Apr 29, 2018
We loved the campground however the truck traffic was loud....but it was a nice clean facility thank you
Apr 28, 2018
Apr 27, 2018
We stayed in mid-April while traveling home to Michigan after being down south for 2 1/2 months. This was not our first stay here, it's conveniently located right off 65. Our stay was extended to 4 nights due to a freak ice storm in Michigan. The staff was very friendly, the campground and bathrooms were very clean. We will definitely stay here again.
Apr 26, 2018
Although there little you can do about the noise from I-65, it is a problem. The lower 40 is a cow pasture, no grass or trees. The trees would help reduce the road noise. Although I like farm animals the pony is inappropriate on camp sites. You are very friendly but the site is far from a $40.00 site. Best of luck! Keep working.
Apr 24, 2018
Everything was clean and staff was friendly. Other campers were quiet and polite.The highway noise was REALLY loud so recommend bringing earplugs. Also we bought some firewood from the campground that was really wet and wouldn't burn. The wood dripped out water, sizzled and made too much smoke, so we put it out so as not to annoy other campers.
Apr 24, 2018
Easy to find, quiet, plenty of room, and close to all the attractions in the area. The shower facility was immaculate, the grounds were well kept, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Apr 23, 2018
Clean and well maintained. Nice and close to Mammoth. Some freeway noise but that is to be expected so close to freeway. Will stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, look forward in see you all again. Happy Camping
Apr 22, 2018
Clean, friendly staff. The playground facilities were AMAZING. Our kids really enjoyed all that this KOA had to offer. It was our first night with our new camper and they made it a great experience. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so Blessed in making your first stay a Great one. Glad you enjoyed what we have to offer. Hope to see you soon.
Apr 18, 2018
Clean, level gravel site. Close to caves and day trip to Bourbon trail distilleries. Great stop for exploring western KY.
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 15, 2018
Very nice park. Close to highway for quick overnight stay with plenty of activities for kids.
Apr 14, 2018
Apr 13, 2018
Eberythimg was bery comfortable.
Apr 13, 2018
Nice rv grounds. Will stay again when down that way.
Apr 12, 2018
gals in office nice. sites NOT level. it s/b a requirement to be a member of KOA the lots ALL "NEED TO BE LEVEL". I give the wifi 0 stars for disconnecting me 25+ times a day (email/FB/google) frequently after less than a minute! the longest continual service was 3 hours of the 3 days I stayed. restroom was clean but it was difficult to adjust the middle shower head flow & temperature.
Apr 09, 2018
Stay was awesome! Cleanest bathrooms I have seen in a campground! That says alot as much as I camp! Fishing was a let down, but it was 50 outside too. Only complaint was the poor kitty outside freezing that belonged to the office. Its ok though, we fed and watered him and let him in our camper! He’s adorable!
Apr 08, 2018
The campground was clean and well maintained. The staff was very nice and helpful. The amenities were great for the kids meals. The sites were very small and very close together. Most of the sites are sandwiched between roads so the kids didn't have a lot of space to play and roam. Also there was hardly any grass on the sites. The interstate was also extremely loud all day and night.
Apr 08, 2018
One night stay. Looks like a nice park for kids. Site could have used some leveling. Could pick up no tv channels. Would spend another travel night there
Apr 06, 2018
Water pressure was low. Traffic noise from I-65 very loud. Very clean. Lots to do for kids. R&S Salvage in House Cave is something to check out.
Apr 05, 2018
We checked in Friday, asked to move sites. Said no were full but weren’t We paid fri & sat. we decided to stay another night asked for a late ck out on mon. She said that she was not sure that she thought it was 10$ a hour. We paid for mon. Mon weather was bad our excursions were cancelled. At 1pm asked for refund they said no. We are KOA members and there were 7 campers in park Disappointed!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals