Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details

Tent Reviews

Oct 20, 2020
The sites cabin, rv & tent were on top of each other. Early Sunday morning, every toilet in the mens room was overflowed and full of feces ( lower comfort station). In the shower room closest to the entrance, across from ladies room, the shower was a trickle. Water enough to wet my hair, not comfortable enough to add shampoo. For the amount of people, a better job should have been done.
Oct 19, 2020
Overall great place to stay and get away. Great location and amenities. Friendly staff! The only thing that I always wish you guys would improve is the cleanliness of the bath house. With the volume that is usually there. A thorough cleaning needs to be done at least twice a day. At no time should it be filthy and disgusting. 5 stars all the way around if not for that.
Oct 19, 2020
While the campsite was crowded this weekend. We had a great time. It's an excellent location and we plan to visit again.
Oct 19, 2020
Great stay, great location, but rather costly $600+ for 4 tent sites w/o water/elec for a wkend. Additional fee for each site to reserve the reservation which is odd since I rented specific sites.
Oct 19, 2020
Lots of activities. Convenient location. Bathrooms could use more attentiveness for the quantity of people using them.
Oct 19, 2020
Saw photos of wooded tent sites online. Stayed on a cramped plain with too many other campers. It felt like we were in the middle of several large groups. People walked through our site. Lots of noise, bright lights... no respect for curfew. Not relaxing.
Oct 19, 2020
The site was not great being on a steep hill. I'm pretty sure my neighbors had actually taken part of my site and it was extremely loud. My other neighbors split wood at midnight. Quiet hours were in no way shape or form enforced. Social distancing was a complete joke. The only reason I didn't give it a worse rating was the convenience of the location to the many historical and hiking sites.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 14, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
I was charged more then what was online from my original reservation, the campground did not enforce the quiet hours. It was ungodly loud with people partying all threw the night. Overall I do like the campground during our he day but this weekend was rough and not I’m the slightest bit enjoyable at night.
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Oct 13, 2020
Sites are a little crowded and not super flat, but bathhouse was very clean, very friendly staff, great location, and easy reservation. Very family friendly environment, we will be back!
Oct 13, 2020
The tent sites aren’t great. It’s obvious the focus is more on the rv campers. I liked all of the amenities and the location was perfect for visiting the historic area.
Oct 13, 2020
I enjoy my stay. I'm a first time camper
Oct 08, 2020
We have stayed here Several times and Have always enjoyed our time. This time we still had a great time with dear friends- but the bath house was lacking and not kept clean (toilet paper missing In several stalls, a toilet left clogged for most of a day, shower stalls not cleaned). Also On our bill we were charged for an extra kid For three nights. (I’m sure Covid has placed a strain)
Oct 07, 2020
Bathroom was dirtier than I’ve experienced at other campgrounds. We were happy to have activities to participate in. Employees we interacted with were all very polite.
Oct 07, 2020
Great experience, very clean bathrooms! Terrific playground. Very friendly staff, great experience all around
Oct 07, 2020
Oct 06, 2020
Oct 06, 2020
The bathroom near our site was a mess - one of the toilets was overflowing and there was no toilet paper in either of the stalls the next day.
Oct 06, 2020
We did not utilize any of the campground amenitites due to trying to maintain social distancing. The bathrooms were not cleaned or stocked often enough. Otherwise, the tent sites were exactly what we wanted and were well maintained. What a great place to bring kids!
Oct 06, 2020
Bathroom stall was completely out of toilet paper from 3 p.m. Saturday until we left at 10 a.m. on Sunday. One of the toilets had been stopped up and sat that way from mid-day Saturday until we left, even after we notified the front Registration Office. Firewood delivery took 3.5 hours; we ended up picking it up ourselves.Activities were great, the sites were ok.We weren't wowed for what we paid
Oct 06, 2020
All good
Oct 06, 2020
Too crowded, not much protection against Covid and sanitation was non existent.
Oct 04, 2020
The campground is nice, lots for kids to do. Clean showers and restrooms, if we had a camper/RV it would be 5 stars. But we don't, So 4 because the tent sites were incredibly rocky stones very sharp stones walked and looked at the other sites and same situation. Other then that this is an amazing place!
Oct 03, 2020
There was no grate over our fire pit. There was no "sand pit" for the tent, as indicated in the description of the camp site. No enforcement of quiet hours. Overall, we paid $69 a night for a picnic table, access to a bathroom and mini golf (which was the most boring mini golf course I've ever used).
Sep 30, 2020
Los baños se mantuvieron muy sucios durante todo el fin de semana, y las vez que limpiaron (poco antes de que nos fuéramos), sólo limpiaron los toilets por encima, no a detalle. Y el terreno para el área de las carpas es muy pequeño e irregular, si tienes carpa grande como nosotros, no te recomiendo ir acá porque o no cabe la carpa en los sitios, o bien queda inclinada y duermes mal debido a
Sep 29, 2020
My stay was ok. The camping sites are not leveled at all. EVERY TIME I used the bathroom, they were extremely dirty!!! I even saw a piece of floss on the sink. The next morning that was still there. The showers were not so clean either. The amenities for the kids were great and they had a lot of fun. The pedal carts are too expensive ($12 for 30 minutes ride)
Sep 29, 2020
Sep 28, 2020
A little bit crowded, but understandably so. Great location, good amenities, and pleasant staff.
Sep 28, 2020
Sep 28, 2020
Overall, good. Clearness of shower room can be improved. Also, needed more hot water running for shower.
Sep 28, 2020
It wasn't terrible but this was my second time tent camping here. I ended up in a space with zero privacy or tree coverage and everyone around me was confused about where to put their tents. You could hear everyones conversations, folks didn't respect the quiet hours, I had a truck parked a few feet from my tent, folks were constantly walking through, grill was broken, and the wifi never worked.
Sep 27, 2020
Facilities were nice and store was convenient. However, the tent site we stayed on had one of the worst tent pads I’ve ever used. No matter if we used the gravel section or grassy area, there were a lot of large rocks that had to be cleared so they would not puncture our tent and air mattresses inside. Cyclists beware there is a half mile massive hill to climb to get to this location.
Sep 21, 2020
It was hard to find our campground but it was perfect once we did. We paid extra for electric and water for a tent site and it was worth it. We had so much extra space! The last night people were very loud at midnight and I called non emergency number to report. As far as I know nothing was done and they continued for at least another hour. Besides that it was great. Lots of amenities!
Sep 21, 2020
It was a beautiful campground with many amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. We will be back!
Sep 21, 2020
Way too crowded
Sep 21, 2020
Sep 21, 2020
We love it here!
Sep 21, 2020
It was great, if a little crowded for comfort!
Sep 21, 2020
Camped there for the first time this past weekend. My only complaint was the site we got was filled with tree roots and super uneven. I almost killed myself a few times lol also the sites were set up very confusing. When we got there according to the map, someone else was already on our site. But other than that it was great. We will definitely go back now that we know what sites not to choose!
Sep 18, 2020
The campground was awesome. The bathroom setup was nice. There are so many campsites. I love that there are actual remnants of the civil war in the campground. I just wish I would have asked for a different site as my site (i believe it was 128) was right in the middle of everything and right at the crossing of two roads. No privacy whatsoever. The gift shop area in registration was really nice.
Sep 17, 2020
i was run off because they tried to say i could not live out there i was not trying to live out there im a business owner and have 3 very nice homes to live in i was told i had to leave cause i had stayed out there more then 14 days in a year i have brought over 30 clients out there and my family was camping there but not any more i have told them all what happened it need to be cleaned up

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a 14 day maximum stay for everyone. You managed to tent 30 out of 45 days by making multiple reservations, moving sites, etc. Regardless of your intent or living status, there is a 14 day maximum stay.
Sep 14, 2020
Wonderful campground. Clean and good following of the COVID guidelines. We felt safe and had fun. Very pet friendly. However, night quiet hours were not always enforced.
Sep 14, 2020
Lots of activities for kids! Bathrooms were clean and updated. We appreciated bounce pillow was monitored by staff. We would have liked some playground rules-like children under a certain age need supervision or staff actively monitoring # of kids on the playground. We booked a deluxe tent site but once we arrived were told we had a back in RV spot because they are same, this should be more clear.
Sep 14, 2020
I had stayed at harpers ferry koa before and loved it that is why we went again but this time the experience was off. Dirty restrooms/showers , uneven ground sites, no warm/hot water for showers and people were yelling and music till about 1-2am...
Oct 23, 2020
Been going to the koa for years and it's awesome
- Russell W on Google
Oct 21, 2020
Very Clean Pools, been fun, and will always be fun to swim there, thinking about going back when it gets hot outside.
- Adam Frederick on Google
Oct 20, 2020
Peaceful and lots of things to do
- Michelle Garrett on Google