Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Rocky campsites with no place to put tent donor does not overlap neighboring sites. We were harassed by our neighbors most of the night for having our tent overlapping into their site a small amount when they had a very small tent and only 2 people. They were so rude that half our party packed up and went home, because they didn't feel comfortable camping with such rude threatening people.
Oct 11, 2017
Would cautiously suggest it for a novice or inexperienced campers or campers with small children. Still not sure if the price is worth it compared to other campsites. I typically camp at state parks where sites are around 20/night. Also, the grounds can be very crowded though it seems like Monday thru Thursday might be okay during offseason.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised to receive a bundle of firewood and tablecloth for my reservation. I had not ever received that before.
Oct 10, 2017
Great location. Lot of amenities. Felt like I was being price gouged everywhere I turned. For one adult and 2 kids, I got slapped with an extra child fee (for a tent site). Seriously?? Also, this facility is clearly an RV Park first and foremost. The tents are an afterthought and pushed to the edges. Iâd rather stay in a quieter place more focused on camping in future stays.
Oct 10, 2017
Nice enough location. Not very good tent camping facilities. Tent camping was at the upper end of average prices to start with, but then there are ridiculous hidden extra fees that are normally included elsewhere: sneaky business and not very good value.
Oct 10, 2017
All and all we had a good time, but the site felt a little cramped. Tents were too close together. The floor was very rocky and uneven so it was hard to put the tent together. Bathrooms were clean.
Oct 10, 2017
We had a great time and WILL be returning.
Oct 10, 2017
Very good amenities. Showers/bathroom, sink station, nice, lots of fun for kids-playground, blob, free pancakes, etc...I didnât really like the actual tent area very much. It was pretty crowded and our spot wasnât nice (on a hill, all rocks). Fire rings and picnic tables were good. So this is a good spot for staying and doing family stuff but not so much for natural beauty. Local trails are gr
Oct 03, 2017
Hello! We enjoyed that there were lots of fun things for the kids to do at this KOA. However, our tentsite, site 205, was NOT smooth- lots of rocks and acorns. For $56/night, it would be great if the tent site was on a place where it was already smooth- grass, perhaps? Also, the tables at the pancake hut were not cleaned between days and the bathroom in the activity building could have been clean
Oct 02, 2017
Everyone at KOA was friendly, nice, and went out of their way to help with questions about the campgrounds and area attractions. Great pancake breakfast, clean facilities, bathrooms and showers. It was a great weekend for a large group of us that reserved several campsites. Thanks again KOA!
Oct 02, 2017
This is the best KOA in existence.
Sep 28, 2017
Friendly staff, fun for kids, and relaxing environment!
Sep 25, 2017
The campsite was nice and clean, however I do believe the lighting and road conditions need some work.. it was extremely dangerous checking in at night.. the price was definitely high for off season and camping with Boy Scouts. $1038 for 7 sites for 2 days was a little too high... paying $20 per site for a resort fee which was also never disclosed

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our records indicate that you paid $884.05 for 35 people for two nights of camping.
Sep 19, 2017
We like to stay at KOA's because we are always assured of the quality consistency. Unfortunately, we cannot say this about his visit. Please use our resort fee to first offer warm showers with shower heads which are not so high intensity they are painful and then second to fix the mini-golf course which was enjoyable albeit run-down and dangerous in some places.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
The staff here was amazing! Super nice and helpful. I especially liked that on closing day of the pool we were allowed to bring our dogs swimming. The pancake breakfast was also great! I wish the sites weren't so rocky. Grass always feels better for tent camping. We also had horrible neighbors, a group of boy scouts. It was actually the adults that had us up by 6am both days being too loud!!
Sep 11, 2017
This camp ground is absolutely fabulous!! There is just so much to do and with kids (ages 3 and 6), I never had a moment where I had to "find something for them to do to entertain themselves." The staff were so courteous, at each activity, they were so helpful and positive! Having free pancakes and then all the other free activities like chili dogs and smores; I was just spoiled at this place!
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA. Our only issue which isn't huge is that we have a roof top tent. We were placed in an RV spot. We rode around and found a few tent spots that we preferred and were suitable for us. But ultimately the front desk attendant placed us in an RV spot. We believe that more campgrounds need to become more familiar with the roof top tents.
Sep 06, 2017
Love the KOA but do not love the fact that it is MANDATORY that you PAY for ACTIVITIES even though we do not use them. The public is allowed in to enjoy Activities and pool for the same price that campers are paying and we ALL have to wear wrist bands to participate. This leads me to ask WHY is paying the Activity Fee Mandatory? We are over 50 Years old and do not participate. Thank you.
Sep 06, 2017
Sites a little hard to figure out as far as boundaries/location, some tent sites very rocky which makes it extremely difficult to stake the tents.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Fantastic staff, lots of activities. Clean restrooms.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
You tried to put us in a site with a dumpster. Place was very cramped. Toilet issues.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Not many tent sites with flat grassy areas for tents. Need to maintain tent sites better so you can place tent on flat grass and not rocks.
Aug 14, 2017
I loved the campground amenities and the courtesy of the staff. The morning breakfast at the pavilion was great, I enjoyed the game room, the pool, the theatre and many more activities held in the campground. I would certainly recommend it. Lastly,the location is awesome! Close to Harpers Ferry town and National Park!
Aug 14, 2017
Lot 197 was awful. very small strange shape, hard to park and still keep vehicle off roadway. lot had no grass area, and was very very rocky. Rest of campground looked very nice, clean showers and restrooms. Pancakes in the morning were a nice touch. Pool was large, jumping balloon thing was neat. Would stay again, was in town for hiking portions of AT, and sight seeing.
Aug 09, 2017
Had a blast on 2 wet camping weekends this summer. Coming again Labor Day weekend. Picked KOA for the extras. Laundry a life saver when our bedding was drenched. Main office & pool open late. Staff worked hard at pancake breakfast. Would be nice if not so busy that pancakes undercooked. Bath & showers clean. Love path to River Riders & Tavern. The woman at the coffee shop a great start to my day.
Aug 07, 2017
I was awesome! Even better than I remembered as a child.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Don't get me wrong...the staff is nice and tries very hard to be helpful. BUT- this location tries to pack far too many campers and tents into one area. The sites are rocky and uneven; tent spots are spotty at best, some on an angle and not clearly marked.
Jul 24, 2017
Been coming here for many years with friends. Always a blast! Even when it storms while there and our canopies are demolished we still make the best of it and have a great time. Love the movie theater, arcade and pool.
Jul 24, 2017
All in all it was a nice stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wish the dog area had water for the dogs. (pump/hose). Deluxe tent sites are over-priced considering what you get (minimum grass for tents and no grill). Ours didnt even have a fire ring when we arrived. Had to get one from neighboring site (not a big deal). Great place for kids to stay busy. Bathroom AC was a welcome treat.
Jul 22, 2017
The tent sites were not as advertised. Very little shade. Very rocky. The mini golf had lots at rotted wood. The pool was cloudy. The arcade needs newer games. They could use some new basketballs as the majority of theirs were misshapen and just old. The facilities were very clean. The staff was friendly. It was very quiet. This facility is definitely more geared to travel trailers.
Jul 22, 2017
We really enjoyed the amenities but did not like that the tent site was all gravel. Glad it didn't rain because from the ruts looks like a drainage issue.
Jul 19, 2017
The facilities are well kept! The amenities are excellent- especially for children! The pool was fun, we loved the bounce pillow and the fun activities including the flashlight candy hunt. All was fantastic - we will be back. Thanks KOA Harpers Ferry for a great weekend!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Book at the Harpers Ferry location at least twice this summer because it is the best location in the United States. Lots of things for the children and adults to do
Jul 06, 2017
I would describe this as anaging facility that needs much TLC roads are hazardous. Because I have joint issues I requested a site near bath house when the reservation was made. they gave us a site too far to walk. then 1 that had no room for a tent... we finally picked our own. your road situation is a lawsuit waiting to happen
Jul 05, 2017
Absolutely, loved staying here so much to do, family friendly too. Great place to camp.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a great time for the 3 days we were there!
Jul 05, 2017
A perfect place for a family vacation.
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Great stay as always, but much more humid than usual. I'm thinking you should invest in a giant air conditioning system, hang duct work from the trees, and have a huge blower over each tent site...that would definitely be an improvement.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals