Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Tent Reviews

Nov 16, 2019
Great activities for the kids! Pancakes are so good.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
The hot water at the lower bathhouse was not the greatest but overall everything was clean and staff were friendly.
Nov 05, 2019
Camp sites are way to small
Nov 01, 2019
All of the workers and managers go above and beyond. The facilities are kept in great shape. There is tons of things to do for children and adults alike. We tend to stay at Harpers Ferry in the spring and the fall. Their fall festivities are awesome. from hayrides to haunted houses to costume contest to pumpkin carving, and as usual the free pancake breakfast!
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
This was our first time here. Our family ( 2 dogs and 20 month old) came during KOA’s Halloween weekend event. We enjoyed our experience and all the activities available during the weekend.
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Had a great time
Oct 14, 2019
The site was nice and had what we needed (water/electric and good space). The amenities were clean and convenient. We would have preferred it if the sites were a little more spread out so we weren’t so close to our neighboring campers, but otherwise it was great.
Oct 14, 2019
So much fun, great staff! The kids have a blast every time and it’s really great!
Oct 13, 2019
Oct 12, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
One niught campoing at a tent site. Bathrooms were convenient and clean. Like many KOAs, Harpers Ferry used toilet and sink and separate rooms for unisex showers. We only took advantage of one amenity: miniature golf. The check-in representative let us out of a second night reservation with no penalty which was much appreciated.
Oct 09, 2019
We stayed in a tent site. This was our 3rd year. Each year we have noticed a lot of deterioration of these sites. It's sad. Since it's harder and harder to find good tent sites ANYWHERE I'm sure we will be back. Just sucks for us that we know it will not be great. Just ok. I'm providing feedback hoping someone cares to pay more attention to the tent sites, not to be a jerk.
Oct 02, 2019
Lots of activities and always enjoy our stay here. Only negatives were some broken playground equipment and the tent spaces were on a hill next to a poorly maintained “road”.
Oct 01, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
The showers were ok, enough hot water but one of them was not working correctly. Would be nice to have even more hot water. The campsite we had was the most basic one, no electricity and no running water. The terrain was not level at all. I’m disappointed of KOA because for 50$ US, the toilet, the shower and the terrain was only OK.
Sep 19, 2019
The sites are really small and very rocky. Other than that it was very nice.
Sep 18, 2019
We had a great stay at one of the tent sites at the campground. The site was in great condition and the staff were welcoming and accommodating. I have been going to KOA's since I was young but, this was our first time at the Harpers Ferry campground and we will FOR SURE be returning!
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Nearly everything was great, I think if you guys could rake the sights so there aren’t to many rocks that the tents sit on, also maybe specific crossing spots for families, I witnessed several kids nearly get hit by cars coming and going as they ran about in supervised
Sep 16, 2019
The campgrounds are nice but small, and quiet time is not enforced. Staff is friendly, and plenty to do on site. Bathrooms could be cleaner.
Sep 10, 2019
Very nice camp ground. Staff was great!
Sep 09, 2019
Campground isn't to bad but the tent sights are right on top of each other. Way to close.
Sep 09, 2019
Staff were friendly and helpful. So much to do for the kids that was included in the price. Loved that the pitches have a picnic table and fire ring. Toilets and showers were clean.
Sep 04, 2019
Aug 31, 2019
Bathrooms/Showers was very dirty. Hornets were bad, one of our kids in our group got stung.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
The campground overall was very nice, but the showers left a lot to be desired. The tiles had mold growing between the them and there were spiders in every corner. The racks where you place your soap and/or shampoo were nasty. I made sure my son and I both wore our sandals while showering. Eww. Additionally, the first shower I tried had no hot water! No sign to let anyone know.
Aug 27, 2019
It was awesome!! Showers were a little dirty but everything else was amazing!
Aug 27, 2019
This site is close to home, but still far enough away to make it feel like a getaway location. The site exceeded all expectations!! The staff was super friendly, facilities were clean, campsites were nicely situated, and the amenities were great!! Cannot wait to go back again for a longer stay!!!
Aug 26, 2019
This campground has everything you need!
Aug 23, 2019
Aug 21, 2019
Lots of activities!
Aug 21, 2019
The registration staff was ok. But the ground staff are very nice and helpful. My nephew got accident on the bike that we rent. There was no staff assisting you. When you rent the bike they will just give you the helmet and you can go without any further assistance how to use the bike. So my nephew had to go to the emergency room because the brake in the bike was not working properly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is the first we have heard of an incident. The hand brake is manual steal lever and makes direct contact with the wheel to slow the bike. The simplicity makes them virtually fail proof. We are sorry that your nephew was injured.
Aug 20, 2019
Friendly, accomodating front desk staff. Clean restrooom & showers (could use more hooks as they stay wet after use), wonderful breakfast staff for free pancakes! The tent sites were hard to determine which area went to which site. Most on a slope and rocky. Get there early to get a decent site. We were disappointed to not have trees close enough for a clothes line or hammock. 2nd stay will return
Aug 19, 2019
Great time with plenty of fun stuff to go do. Will definitely come back again.
Aug 17, 2019
great time, unexpected amenities that the kids enjoyed
Aug 14, 2019
Overall the park was nice. We had to switch tent sites because the first sites we had reserved were very uneven, rocky, and crammed in really tight with the adjacent sites. The staff was friendly and helpful with making the switch.
Aug 12, 2019
Wednesday night in the tent area was great! On Thursday a large group moved in next to us, and on Friday several more groups moved all around us. Some respected the quiet hours - others not so much. With only 1 bathhouse facility, all tenters want to be at that end of the campsite area leaving the rest underutilized. We were more closely situated than I prefer.
Aug 12, 2019
Everyone was very helpful, and we’ve stayed at this KOA before. This time we tented and the site was clear and clean. We’ve always been dependent on the restrooms. This time I was disappointed with the care and cleanliness. Cob webs hadn’t been cleared away at the tearoom closest to the tent section. Also, there was no hot water. Told the folks at the desk as well. Hope it was fixed.
Aug 12, 2019
Long list of fantastic amenities. Best campground I've ever stayed at. Only thing I'd improve is better water drainage in the shower stalls and the small adjoining dressing room. They're always flooded with water. An extra drain in that dressing room would improve it.
Aug 12, 2019
I have been coming here for over a decade. While I understand everyone is there to have fun, I just wish there was a stricter rules about noise after 11pm. Another campsite kept me and my son up until 1:30am with the level of noise they were making and by shining lights and car headlights into our tent repeatedly. It just takes away from the experience when you cannot get a good night's sleep.
Aug 11, 2019
Nov 17, 2019
The campground was great, only down side was trying to leave it's quite difficult with a larger RV!
- corey stiles on Google
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.