Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2020
Jul 31, 2020
Harpers Ferry was wonderful, the Harpers Ferry KOA was very nice. Clean facilities, nice shaded campsites and of course that good old West Virginia Hospitality was everywhere we went.
Jul 30, 2020
We have been staying here for years we always have a great time. All staff is extremely helpful.
Jul 30, 2020
Great stay. Only wish is for the pool to stay open later than 1800 on weekdays.
Jul 30, 2020
The campground was packed. It was crazy. No distancing. It was impossible. Every site was full. The woman at the pool pretended to take temperatures but the temp gun does not work from 6 ft away. There was so much trash burning in fire rings. Used to love this campground.
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Some issues with clogged and dirty toilets. Water pressure in the showers could be higher. Otherwise a very amazing stay all around!
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
We had fun. It was extremely hot Sotheby’s pool was nice. KOA did a good job keeping things open during Covid. Hit the new ice ream spot out front. Nice!! I have pre teens and they love WiFi. We did not have good luck w the WiFi. My wife was able to connect and get work done, but tablets and phones did not fare as well. All in all, great stay.
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Water is very slow in some shower rooms. Replacing shower heads will help a lot.
Jul 29, 2020
Paid $20 to lock in a site. When we showed up, that site was taken. Picked another site out and it turned out to be the catch all for all water in the center section. When I inquired about getting my $20 back since the site I locked in had been taken, no one could tell me if I had already received a credit. Worst KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 29, 2020
Very friendly place. Very clean and everything you could possibly need. This is our second time and we will be back. Dania
Jul 28, 2020
1. Men's tiolets were very dirty/disgusting in several stalls during our stay. I noticed this on several visits to both bathrooms... office and bathhouse with showers. 2. Water hookup at the cabin. The spiket behind 129 was damaged and we couldn't connect a hose... spray was a mess.
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Very disappointing. We reserved a site with cable, and were not given a site with cable. Our site was not level. Picnic table with dirty. Game room - very dirty, not vacuumed the whole time we stayed there and many games that would take our money but then didn't work. Jumping pillow dirty, no pool chairs/umbrellas as in the photographs. Staff unfriendly. Will not be returning.
Jul 28, 2020
Great time great place
Jul 28, 2020
I was surprised at how close the campsites were to each other. It was very noisy, but luckily quieted down after 10 or 11. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and I was happy about that. I wouldn’t go back though, because I prefer to be further away from other people and have less noise.
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
Excellent, No problems with anything.
Jul 27, 2020
Fantastic location, great staff. Enjoyed the stay. Would like to see the path between the KOA and the Clarion Hotel get paved. Liked the addition of the lighting to be able to see at night.
Jul 27, 2020
We had a good time but I have to say, I do not like that you all allow kids to drive around on golf carts. We saw numerous 10-12 year olds driving around with 5 or 6 other kids crammed in...some riding on the front of the carts. The parents should be ashamed for letting them in the first place but you should implement a rule that you must show a drivers license to be able to operate a golf cart.
Jul 27, 2020
stay was fine but sites are way to small and roads to tight
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
Had to deal with the smell of marijuana all weekend. I went to the front desk to make a complaint and I was told that they aren't the police. Very unproffessional
Jul 27, 2020
The camp sites are too close together. We stayed in spot 96 right in front of the tent area. We smelled marijuana all three days there and we have two small children. The spaces in the front of the campground were nice and had concrete patios. We will not be returning to this campground and wouldn’t recommend it.
Jul 27, 2020
Wonderful park! The weather was too hot, and we missed the free pancake breakfast. Will return again next year.
Jul 27, 2020
There is no way our cabin was cleaned prior to us getting there. The entire floor was covered in silt. We cancelled the second night of our stay because of the condition of the cabin. The only positive is the front desk was very polite and professional. Also it was shocking the amount of trash being burned in campers fire rings and the odor it gave off through out the campground.
Jul 27, 2020
This was our second time at this camp site. Welcome it there. It's a great location and super friendly. We plan on returning !!
Jul 27, 2020
We will definitely be back! We loved everything about it!!! The pool is beautiful, bathroom/bath houses very clean. The store and really everything was exceptional! The Campers were respectful of others. Our camper site was beautiful!! Really enjoyed our stay
Jul 27, 2020
enjoyed our stay as always called ahead of time. to get a spot next. to friend and they said they couldn't move us but saw plenty of other Friday Saturday campers in our same area we could of easily been about to stay next to each other next time please take the effort to help fulfill these requests
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
We always enjoy our stays at HF KOA. Only issue every time it the cable goes fuzzy on and off all day long. Very annoying. And it is NOT our TV or connections. We were in site 155 this last time. This site was not very level. Especially for a 32' class c with a trailer. We were also surprised no one was monitoring how many people were in the pool during this COVID outbreak.
Jul 27, 2020
Only 2 nights, wish could have been longer.
Jul 27, 2020
Very clean and nice camp store. Only reason I didn’t give it a five was the sites were too close. Campers side by side.
Jul 27, 2020
Most of the sites are very tight and really close to another; bathrooms very clean; mask policy was not reinforced around facilities and I know it is hard, but if you are going to allow for a full campground then please keep policies enforced for safety.
Jul 27, 2020
Lovely site,everyone was nice,great campground
Jul 27, 2020
Have stayed at your facility many times over the years. No complaints. Missed all the special events/activities normally scheduled especially the pancake breakfasts but understand based on the covid constraints. Staff is always helpful, facility is clean. Only suggestion would be to stock the propane lantern manties.
Jul 26, 2020
Good!
Jul 26, 2020
Great time. Only negative is the site we were on, 123, has power lines and cables to support the pole.
Jul 26, 2020
The older man at the front gate does not wear a mask that was scary, as he popped his head close to our car window. The store staff are professional & welcoming. Great store! The bathrooms are clean. What I did not like is the deluxe tent area. During Covid we were too close to other people not in our group. There is no privacy or shade. This was open concept camping, in a backyard.
Jul 26, 2020
The staff was very friendly and helpful but the park itself is far too crowded. The front area looked like an RV sales parking lot! It sure seemed like many people enjoy this type of “camping”, but it’s not for us.
Jul 26, 2020
I enjoyed everything. Had to do a lot of backing up for a pull thru site though. Other than that great time. Please bring back a pin ball machine or two.
Jul 26, 2020
The park is very well maintained. The site we stayed in was 189. We were lucky to be in this particular site. Spacious, shaded and empty space beside us. The empty site could not be used due to its location. Even though amenities were limited due to COVID they appeared clean. We would visit again.
Jul 26, 2020
Overbooked, overcrowded, smallest sites I have ever experienced, and our site should not have been a site. It was on a side of a hill, no gravel, and picnic table was 2 feet from the side of the camper. If I would have moved it, it would have fallen off the side of the hill that you put us on. I had a two night stay, and left the morning of the second day. Won't be back
Jul 26, 2020
Grass not cut. Bees at the site and the crew came by with an almost empty can. We had to go buy our own spray. No covid signs at clear display at the pool. Cable and internet is poor. Sites are to close, had to move my truck 3 times so people could get around the corner. Pool lady very rude.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There are over a dozen signs at the pool in regards to the virus. Not including four sidewalk sandwich boards (2'x3') as you enter the pool.
Jul 25, 2020
the campsite cabin was great....espscailly with the air conditioner...it was 95 degrees everyday
Jul 25, 2020
We are not RVers, but with pandemic going on decided to rent one for vacation and change of scenery! The camp ground offered everything we expected and more! Great stay, great location and felt very safe! Thank you!
Jul 25, 2020
Sites are kinda close together and prices are a little high for camping other than that well worth my time. The amenities are very nice.
Jul 30, 2020
Cleanest and friendliest KOA I have been too. Walking distance from river fun and the staff was extremely accomidating.
- Vivo Cloudy on Google