Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Oct 18, 2019
I love the campground and am thinking about not camping any more as how the rates are getting to expensive, I rather take my family and stay in a hotel. it use to be cheap to camp but not anymore they want to charge a resort fee on top of what is being paid per night and at another campground I had to pay an additional price for my 12 year old grandson very disappointed.
Oct 18, 2019
We love this campground, has best activities for children/families , cool store, very clean, and staff treat you as a special guest. We will definitely return! Best KOA we have camped at.
Oct 18, 2019
The site's for what you get are overpriced. The site's are not nice in the 30 amp areas. The people at the desk does not know how to assign site's to groups who like to park together.
Oct 18, 2019
It is a very nice campground but I wish our group could have been placed together because we do all our activities and eat most our meals together. It was hard making sure everyone was kept updated with changes. We were scattered all over.
Oct 18, 2019
Lots of fun! Great Halloween celebration!
Oct 18, 2019
Oct 18, 2019
I rented a cabin and came through the week seeking peace and quiet. Frankly, this is not the campground for peace and quiet. It's more like a big RV parking lot tailgate party. That's not a bad thing if that is what someone wants in their "camping" experience, but it just wasn't right for me. It's probably a blast for kids and for adults who like to sit in between huge RVs drinking beer.
Oct 18, 2019
First pad assigned was so tight, could not make a normal septic hose reach the dump. Very close sites with little to separate from others. Wish there had been more info available from front desk on the National Park. Wasn’t even told that there was a shuttle bus from less than ¼ from the Koa. Otherwise great location.
Oct 17, 2019
Things have changed somewhat , don't feel the resort is as particular as they were when we fist started camping there. A few disappointing things like the hey ride , bingo the upkeep of the porch at the office with birds having nest in the light fixtures ! Also some of our groups sites were already gone before we had a chance to rebook we never had to rebook before we came to camp.
Oct 17, 2019
The folks on the desk had our club scattered all over the place. I was placed at the very end of the campground. There were plenty of spaces where the rest of the club was in the 30 amp area. The site I was to have I could not have leveled a class A motor home. The personel had no idea what was needed for a site. Low limbs were another issue. The 50 amp area is very nice.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Very disappointing that others were allowed to book our site for the following year for the exact same weekend before we could. We tried to book the same weekend next year and it had already been given away. Most campgrounds do not operate that way.
Oct 16, 2019
Very expensive, hidden fees, lost electricity Saturday and Sunday in super tent area, no hot water in showers Saturday morning and very dirty/messy bathrooms. We will not be back. Worst KOA I have ever been in and we are 28 year KOA members.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Great campground! Perfect location close to downtown/historical area. Will defiantly return!
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Great
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
The shower was the dirtiest we have seen and we have stayed in a number of KOAs, Good Sam and independent parks. There were no hooks to hang anything, but there were holes in the door and wall where hooks had been. Wish I could post pictures. There were probably 49 - 5O vacant sites around us, however, a rig was assigned the spot right next to ours. Good location is about the only good thing.
Oct 16, 2019
We booked our stay in June for an Oct weekend and specifically requested a more private/wooded spot for our RV. Instead we were assigned to a location right next to the registration building that was on the corner of multiple intersections. They moved us to a location that typically is only rented to workers right next to a maintenance building. It was not a good site or experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It looks like you made your reservations online, for a 30amp back-in. You then "requested" a wooded 50 amp site, which does not exist. You were assigned a wooded 30 amp site like you booked, it was near the office. Sold out Halloween weekends with over 1000 campers do not allow for "private" camping.
Oct 15, 2019
Nice enough campground but not sure what the resort fees get you...not close to being a resort. Quiet time on Friday and Saturday nights should be 11pm...10pm too early. 11am checkout is also too early since roads are narrow and everyone trying to leave at same time. We waited extra 40 mins just to be able to leave our site due to backup.
Oct 15, 2019
As always had a great time we stay in the pull thru 50 amp sites very tight and there is a tree when I leave that sticks out and scratches my motorhome when we leave and your prices are getting very high especially for fall camping
Oct 15, 2019
Unhappy with our site. Tight and extremely unlevel. Very pleased with the staff and the options of activities for the kids.
Oct 15, 2019
We stayed in the deluxe cabin that had a bathroom, fridge, and microwave. It was cozy and cute. We were, unfortunately, misinformed from a KOA employee before our arrival that we had a stovetop and toaster, too. Those are only in the larger lodges. Our 3 year old loved the playground, arcade, and special events held over the weekend. Great location to hikes and parking for bus into Harper's ferry.
Oct 15, 2019
We were pleasantly surprised with the 1 room cabin. We especially liked the rustic setting and privacy. We had 2 large dogs and they had plenty of room in the area. The only problem we had was all of the garbage in the woods. My dog kept finding someone's garbage that had been thrown in the woods. There is still a good bit there and it needs to get cleaned up.
Oct 15, 2019
Had a great time
Oct 15, 2019
We first had site #101 which was very tight and difficult to get into straight. I believe his name is Billy Ray came right away to help us he was a big help, we did decide to move to site 111. Just wanted to give him a shout out for all his help and delivering wood !! He really is a nice guy and VERY helpful Please thank him for us again!
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Was told by staff my dog was restricted breed even with emotional support Animal identification. That is illegal. Been coming to this campground for 15 yrs. I think I’m done now.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not allow Rottweilers, Dobermans, "Pit bulls", or mixes there of. Animals covered under the ADA are always welcome and have been trained or work to perform takes with those with disabilities. Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify as service animals under the ADA.
Oct 14, 2019
Great place to stay. Very friendly staff!!!
Oct 14, 2019
Everything was great except for the wifi
Oct 14, 2019
Love the deluxe patio site. Halloween weekend was great. Booked twice for 2020. Thanks
Oct 14, 2019
we were shocked to see that the quiet time is 10:00pm we were there in the past and our kids were outextreamly late. and i asked the patrol if he wanted me to sent them back and he said no they are not bothering anyone, this year they were shutting things down, turning lights off at 955 and chasing the kids back to their campsites. thats the only gripe i had!!! other then that we loveit
Oct 14, 2019
Great stay lots of fun. Only negative would be towards the other campers. Would appreciate it if the guests would tone down scaring the young kids a bit. Had a few grown ups take it a little too far and our kids didn’t want to trick or treat anymore. Please redirect it to the older kids and other adults. Making young kids cry isn’t funny and it takes away from their fun.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Great time, friendly staff very helpful. Liked so much made reservations for next year.
Oct 14, 2019
Campsite is great for kids! The sites are extremely tight though and seem to laid out backwards. It was very hard to hook up, when you have a very long camper and they're jam packed in there.
Oct 14, 2019
Check in was easy, store was fantastic, Greg at check in was very welcoming. We were party of 4 separate units, all 38'+. Our sites were very difficult to get into or out of during checkout. We had to wait for other campers to check out before we could leave. Also, the $10 fee is not necessary for every every camper...there are many people that do not care to use any of the amenities included.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
It was wonderful, definitely will be back. Have to schedule for next year. Thank you again
Oct 14, 2019
Site's were on the small side along with being close together. The facilities were good. Camp store was one of the best we have been in. Close to area historical sites.
Oct 14, 2019
Great time will definitely be back again
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great time during our stay. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Billy Ray who assisted us when we were setting up and then stopped by our site a few times during our stay to make sure that everything was OK and that we were enjoying ourselves there. It was our first time camping there but he made us feel right at home. Would suggest sites be made more level.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
It was wonderful as always
Oct 14, 2019
Great location for visiting Harpers Ferry and surrounding area.
Oct 14, 2019
Fun and entertaining
Oct 14, 2019
The site was nice and had what we needed (water/electric and good space). The amenities were clean and convenient. We would have preferred it if the sites were a little more spread out so we weren’t so close to our neighboring campers, but otherwise it was great.
Oct 14, 2019
So much fun, great staff! The kids have a blast every time and it’s really great!
Oct 14, 2019
The person who took my reservation never entered my VK account, so we didn’t get neither the discount nor the points. We told the worker at check in, they said they could do it then, but it was never done.
Oct 08, 2019
Real clean, family oriented place. A lot of activities at the KOA for all ages.
- Jose Castillo on Google
Oct 14, 2019
Nice campground overall but big rig units beware! We had a difficult time getting our unit into our spot and we had to wait for units around us to leave before we could exit. Would suggest big rigs only request the premium spaces or otherwise be prepared for a challenge. Campground is a great meeting spot for groups to meet.
- Teddy Householder on Google
Oct 11, 2019
Extremely beautiful location, amenities are well above par. We would highly recommend!
- Edge Entertainment on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.