Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Jan 24, 2020
Jan 21, 2020
While it was colder than we hoped when we booked, our family loved it. Still lots to do there.
Jan 16, 2020
Off season? No escorts, no trash pickup. All reasons for picking this location were closed. Sites difficult to enter with 32 ft class a motorhome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, January is our off season. The office is open 9AM-5PM with limited staff. Most amenities are available April-October. We are sorry you had difficulty getting into the 50' pull through site. It look pretty simple to us as you cut through other sites and grass to get to the assigned site. We recommend using the designated paved roads, which provide proper angles for turning.
Jan 11, 2020
Difficult to check in after hours, even with reservation. Tight spaces, hard to negotiate with trailer.
Jan 09, 2020
Jan 06, 2020
After asking the KOA employee that was attending to the laundromat about cleaning and removing the trash, she did mop the shower for me to use it. However, when I walked in, most of the dirt was still present. Understandably, she hurried for my benefit. But my main request was to have the STINKY trash removed from both the shower and restroom. I had cleaned both areas, but the trash NEVER left
Jan 03, 2020
Wonderful site and staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Jan 02, 2020
Beautiful campground!
Jan 02, 2020
Very nice cabin!
Jan 02, 2020
This was our first trip with our new RV. Getting into the spot was great (although may of been tight if the campsite was full). We definitely want to come back and take advantage of the campsite amenities and more in the Harpers Ferry Area.
Jan 02, 2020
Dec 31, 2019
My family was staying deluxe cabin with bathroom, but after 5pm, hot water was not available. Our family could not take shower. Also, we could not find trash dumpsters and camp site map was not correct. I don't want to visit here and not recommend to people.
Dec 31, 2019
I wanted to get out of DC for the weekend, so this was a last minute trip. I'm still shaking out issues with my new RV, so I wanted to stay sort-of close to home. Everyone who worked here was friendly and helpful. While I'd have preferred to be a little further away from the main entry road, the place quieted down in the evening. Can't wait to come back in summer.
Dec 30, 2019
Dec 29, 2019
We had a terrific visit! The cabin was everything we needed and in close proximity to the trails we explored. It was great that we could bring our dog too! We look forward to returning again next winter!
Dec 28, 2019
Nice cabin, few minor maintenance issues, no water pressure in shower, but over all nice stay.
Dec 23, 2019
Dec 22, 2019
Dec 13, 2019
Dec 11, 2019
Dec 09, 2019
Clean, convenient and friendly staff! We had an electrical issue and the maintenance staff was out looking at it before I got back to the camper and they corrected the issue quickly.
Dec 09, 2019
It was a bit chilly, but such a fun weekend!!!
Dec 09, 2019
Dec 07, 2019
I stayed in a Deluxe cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. I was traveling down the coast alone and it was much better than staying in a hotel!
Dec 06, 2019
Always great
Dec 05, 2019
The grounds looked good for typical fall weather. We did have an issue with the electric post (breaker) however Maintenance rectified immediately. In our opinion the per night charge is a bit on the high side based on other campgrounds we visit this time of year. Staff is friendly. We will return to this KOA in the future.
Dec 04, 2019
It was wonderful I really enjoyed the camp grounds. The cabins were nice and clean. The only suggestion I have is that this KOA could clarify on the website that Bathrooms (besides the main one) are closed and the water spouts are shut off in the off season.
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Delightful
Dec 02, 2019
Our only issue is that the bath house close to our cabin is shut down and there is no water close to us - not even someplace that we can wash our dishes! If the other half of the camp ground can have water - why can't we?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The water at the back of the campground is not winterized, so it must be shut off once it begins freezing overnight to prevent breakage and infrastructure damage. The water at the front of the campground is winterized and all hookups are frost free hydrants, which can still freeze in extreme temperatures. If we were any further north, we would most likely have to shut the entire campground down.
Dec 02, 2019
Great location! The heat in the cabin made us all get colds- extremely dry and poorly positioned over the queen bed. Also would’ve loved a larger blanket on the queen- it was chilly at night and that heater was too much to have on all the time! than that we’d love to come back will probably just bring a small humidifier and our own quilts for the beds! Thank you!
Nov 28, 2019
The sites are really cramped and it was difficult to get a 38’ 5th wheel into the site.
Nov 25, 2019
Stayed in the off season, nice park and great staff. Left my water regulator and splitter and they are going to mail it back to me. Thanks!! Stayed on a deluxe site and we enjoyed it, clean, level, and easy to get to.
Nov 25, 2019
It was my 1st time back camping in six years an it was great to be back here again. My family has come here for several years. Now it’s just me an staff was great. Campers are still friendly as always. I definitely will be back soon!
Nov 24, 2019
Great three day stay in mid November! Glad the campground is open all year so that we can take advantage of cold weather camping! Yes, we understand the ameneties are not as varied as during the warmer months, but it makes for a nice quiet and cozy camping experience.
Nov 22, 2019
The campground was clean and well maintained.
Nov 21, 2019
This was our very first stay at this KOA. There were lots of activities for the kids to do. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Some lots are small but, we stayed along the trench and had a larger lot with shade. The pool did show some age but the water was crystal clear and we all had a blast swimming! Miniature golf was fun and they have a dog park. Great weekend!
Nov 18, 2019
Great Halloween camp out. The kids had a great time decorating the camper, painting pumpkins, going through the haunted house and trick or treating. This is our 4th year in a row that we have camped at Harpers Ferry, and we already are booked for next year. Friendly employees and well maintained facility.
Nov 18, 2019
Great staff! Tons of family fun!
Nov 16, 2019
Great activities for the kids! Pancakes are so good.
Nov 16, 2019
It was very peaceful. The scenery was beautiful and Harper's ferry was a cool little town.
Nov 15, 2019
Nov 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the dog park.
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
It was a "Campgiving" weekend with friends! We enjoyed our stay so much that our group of 12 are planning on making KOA at Harpers Ferry a tradition!
Nov 12, 2019
It was EXTREMELY and uncomfortably crowded.... However, we got the best possible spot in the entire campground! A cute little cabin on the end up against the woodline, away from the chaos of all the other guests. It was quite wonderful. I loved the breakfast offered, but unfortunately it's only offered amidst an intense throng of people. The wine and coffee shop there was UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Nov 12, 2019
Cabin's heater was broken - they gave us a space heater but it didn't really do the trick. the Wi-Fi is horrendous. Camp store was out of stock of a lot of items. In the summer it might be a nice place, but after Nov 1 the place is a ghost town and it shows in the people working there.
Nov 12, 2019
Very nice, well maintained campground. I have stayed here several times.
Nov 12, 2019
We called to ask if they sold firewood before we got there. Left a message and never got a call back. Our 50 amp site we had issues with the power going out. Electric box was hot. So when we left we called to let them know to have maintenance check out the electric box. Site 38.
Nov 12, 2019
Lots of great activities for the kids, and we loved the pancake breakfasts! Super close to the National Park and Battlefields. My only complaint is that the sites are really jammed together and difficult to get into. We had a back in site (which in itself was great), but had to ask our neighbours in front to move their vehicle as we couldn't get in the spot.
Jan 27, 2020
Beautiful, everything about Harpers Ferry
- C M on Google
Jan 21, 2020
It was quiet, everyone knows everyone for the most part, small and intimate, very nice trip!
- Nicole Shields on Google
Jan 14, 2020
Great place to camp and lots of activities
- David Baker on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.