Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Dec 09, 2019
Clean, convenient and friendly staff! We had an electrical issue and the maintenance staff was out looking at it before I got back to the camper and they corrected the issue quickly.
Dec 09, 2019
It was a bit chilly, but such a fun weekend!!!
Dec 09, 2019
Dec 07, 2019
I stayed in a Deluxe cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. I was traveling down the coast alone and it was much better than staying in a hotel!
Dec 06, 2019
Always great
Dec 05, 2019
The grounds looked good for typical fall weather. We did have an issue with the electric post (breaker) however Maintenance rectified immediately. In our opinion the per night charge is a bit on the high side based on other campgrounds we visit this time of year. Staff is friendly. We will return to this KOA in the future.
Dec 04, 2019
It was wonderful I really enjoyed the camp grounds. The cabins were nice and clean. The only suggestion I have is that this KOA could clarify on the website that Bathrooms (besides the main one) are closed and the water spouts are shut off in the off season.
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Delightful
Dec 02, 2019
Our only issue is that the bath house close to our cabin is shut down and there is no water close to us - not even someplace that we can wash our dishes! If the other half of the camp ground can have water - why can't we?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The water at the back of the campground is not winterized, so it must be shut off once it begins freezing overnight to prevent breakage and infrastructure damage. The water at the front of the campground is winterized and all hookups are frost free hydrants, which can still freeze in extreme temperatures. If we were any further north, we would most likely have to shut the entire campground down.
Dec 02, 2019
Great location! The heat in the cabin made us all get colds- extremely dry and poorly positioned over the queen bed. Also would’ve loved a larger blanket on the queen- it was chilly at night and that heater was too much to have on all the time! than that we’d love to come back will probably just bring a small humidifier and our own quilts for the beds! Thank you!
Nov 28, 2019
The sites are really cramped and it was difficult to get a 38’ 5th wheel into the site.
Nov 25, 2019
Stayed in the off season, nice park and great staff. Left my water regulator and splitter and they are going to mail it back to me. Thanks!! Stayed on a deluxe site and we enjoyed it, clean, level, and easy to get to.
Nov 25, 2019
It was my 1st time back camping in six years an it was great to be back here again. My family has come here for several years. Now it’s just me an staff was great. Campers are still friendly as always. I definitely will be back soon!
Nov 24, 2019
Great three day stay in mid November! Glad the campground is open all year so that we can take advantage of cold weather camping! Yes, we understand the ameneties are not as varied as during the warmer months, but it makes for a nice quiet and cozy camping experience.
Nov 22, 2019
The campground was clean and well maintained.
Nov 21, 2019
This was our very first stay at this KOA. There were lots of activities for the kids to do. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Some lots are small but, we stayed along the trench and had a larger lot with shade. The pool did show some age but the water was crystal clear and we all had a blast swimming! Miniature golf was fun and they have a dog park. Great weekend!
Nov 18, 2019
Great Halloween camp out. The kids had a great time decorating the camper, painting pumpkins, going through the haunted house and trick or treating. This is our 4th year in a row that we have camped at Harpers Ferry, and we already are booked for next year. Friendly employees and well maintained facility.
Nov 18, 2019
Great staff! Tons of family fun!
Nov 16, 2019
Great activities for the kids! Pancakes are so good.
Nov 16, 2019
It was very peaceful. The scenery was beautiful and Harper's ferry was a cool little town.
Nov 15, 2019
Nov 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the dog park.
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
It was a "Campgiving" weekend with friends! We enjoyed our stay so much that our group of 12 are planning on making KOA at Harpers Ferry a tradition!
Nov 12, 2019
It was EXTREMELY and uncomfortably crowded.... However, we got the best possible spot in the entire campground! A cute little cabin on the end up against the woodline, away from the chaos of all the other guests. It was quite wonderful. I loved the breakfast offered, but unfortunately it's only offered amidst an intense throng of people. The wine and coffee shop there was UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Nov 12, 2019
Cabin's heater was broken - they gave us a space heater but it didn't really do the trick. the Wi-Fi is horrendous. Camp store was out of stock of a lot of items. In the summer it might be a nice place, but after Nov 1 the place is a ghost town and it shows in the people working there.
Nov 12, 2019
Very nice, well maintained campground. I have stayed here several times.
Nov 12, 2019
We called to ask if they sold firewood before we got there. Left a message and never got a call back. Our 50 amp site we had issues with the power going out. Electric box was hot. So when we left we called to let them know to have maintenance check out the electric box. Site 38.
Nov 12, 2019
Lots of great activities for the kids, and we loved the pancake breakfasts! Super close to the National Park and Battlefields. My only complaint is that the sites are really jammed together and difficult to get into. We had a back in site (which in itself was great), but had to ask our neighbours in front to move their vehicle as we couldn't get in the spot.
Nov 12, 2019
We had a great time! First time to the campground, the staff was friendly and the sites were clean.
Nov 12, 2019
We live in central Maryland and were looking for a late fall getaway with our pop up camper. The Haprer's Ferry KOA was a perfect destination and was only an hour from home!
Nov 12, 2019
Wonderful site for a last minute overnight Thanks so much We will be back!
Nov 11, 2019
Great location and place.
Nov 11, 2019
The stay was nice enough. I had reserved 3 sites and had to cancel one on Thursday, the day before we were to arrive due to two medical emergencies affecting our friends. I realized there would be a penalty for late cancellation, but didn't think it would be the entire deposit - especially since the site was occupied by others when we arrived so the KOA made twice the money on the same site.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
we had a great time and the staff was wonderful
Nov 11, 2019
Our cabin that I paid a lot of money to be in for two nights - didn't have working heat. They had to bring us heaters. A fuse blew - they had to come over for that, then in the middle of the night the toilet stopped working so had to open up and fix that. Just not an overall good weekend.
Nov 11, 2019
We had a great time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Common areas and bath houses were always clean and stocked. The sites were spread out and for the most part it was quiet during quiet hours. Our spot was not even so it took a little leveling on our end to get it right, but next time we'll read the descriptions better and look for a level spot. Overall great trip!
Nov 11, 2019
As most of the amenities were not available I don't understand why we were charged the same rate as peak times. The cost to stay at this time of year should be at least a quarter less dollar amount. Very disappointing . I feel I deserve a partial refund. Also, leaf blowing should stop by 4pm and not disturb dinner hour. Our than that I enjoyed my stay at the KOA and in the general area.
Nov 11, 2019
Loved our stay, good site alot of people. Looking forward to next season of camping
Nov 11, 2019
The hot water at the lower bathhouse was not the greatest but overall everything was clean and staff were friendly.
Nov 11, 2019
For our first time staying in our new RV, it was fabulous!! Great accomodations, great people, great time!
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Great stay at cabin. The cabins are heated. Clean. No bugs late fall camping. Best time to camp.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
I had to change my dates and staff there made it very easy. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Nov 10, 2019
Very helpful staff. Location was perfect for hiking. Need a ladder to do some repairs on the rv and staff brought one to us in minutes.
Nov 08, 2019
Clean, and well maintained, and great location. I will definitley stay here again.
Nov 08, 2019
Nov 28, 2019
This was an outstanding KOA and has plenty of things for everyone to do. The pool is huge and was busy while we visited. A nice touch is the indoor basketball court but the balls were all deflated so we could not play. The cabin we were in was on the edge of the grounds and down a hill. Inside this was clean but the building was leaning and it was hard to close and open the door. Overall a great experience and but a couple items to mention. First, the they have the dreaded Resort Fee per night. Second, the pool has signs all over to not dive but there were teenagers diving in the shallow end and the staff who was standing nearby did not say much. At most KOA's the rules are strictly enforced but not here. I guess an injury and lawsuit will help that.
- Jim Petykowski on Google
Nov 23, 2019
This place was an awesome place to camp very family friendly lots of things to do the river is right there
- jeffrey taylor689 on Google
Apr 01, 2019
Sehr sauberer gepflegter Campground auf KOA-Standard. Zufahrt problemlos, die Ein-und Durchfahrten sind ausreichend breit, die Stellplätze sind großzügig bemessen und befinden sich meist unter Bäumen
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.