Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2020
Our group paid the $20 VIK fee and tagged three sites together. I was guaranteed site 141. I even got a call from the office stating your site 141 is open and you can check in early.. Got there they gave my site away to someone else. John at the desk very unprofessional stated at one point WHATEVER after we said we may not be back again. Not enough characters left to express my disappointment
Sep 18, 2020
The campground was awesome. The bathroom setup was nice. There are so many campsites. I love that there are actual remnants of the civil war in the campground. I just wish I would have asked for a different site as my site (i believe it was 128) was right in the middle of everything and right at the crossing of two roads. No privacy whatsoever. The gift shop area in registration was really nice.
Sep 17, 2020
i was run off because they tried to say i could not live out there i was not trying to live out there im a business owner and have 3 very nice homes to live in i was told i had to leave cause i had stayed out there more then 14 days in a year i have brought over 30 clients out there and my family was camping there but not any more i have told them all what happened it need to be cleaned up
Sep 17, 2020
Beautiful area and location.
Sep 16, 2020
No one led us to our site; we went one camp road too far; could not navigate the curve at the end of it due to tree overhang; had to back up and drive through an empty site to get back to the office. The site was not level when we finally got to it. The campground is very convenient for visiting Historical Harper's Ferry.
Sep 16, 2020
I thought it was a great campground, only issue was the sight we stayed at was kinda small....other then that it was very clean, the campstor was absolutely beautiful and packed with all kind of goodies...there was a lot for kids to do there and I wish they would have told us about the trails that you could walk to ice cream stand and a couPle of restaurants....we came across that on our last day.
Sep 16, 2020
We've had many great stays, the location is great. However, due to COVID, we called to ask if the amenities were open and were told yes. They failed to say everything except putt-putt was closed during weekdays! No arcade, no jumping pillow = unhappy kids. The website doesn't reflect reality either, the 'blog' is empty and the amenities section still shows everything is going on. Very dishonest!
Sep 15, 2020
I always enjoy my stay and will return next year
Sep 15, 2020
We loved it and plan to go back. The only thing that I did not like was the showers. The water power was very low. Hopefully next time we rent a cabin with a bathroom the water is a little bit higher. Other than that everything else was fine.
Sep 15, 2020
The site I paid for was already taken when I arrived, so I was put into a very small\tight site where I had to wait for the RV in front of me to leave before I could. This is why I wanted a certian site, I knew I would have no issues fitting. My reservation even stated the site I requested but there was a 'mixup' in the 'system'. Other then that the park was nice.
Sep 15, 2020
We have stayed at your KOA in the past. However this time we were reserved for a patio site but did not get one. The clerk told us there were 2 patio sites left and they were reserved. After our 4 days there, the sites were never filled and we were not even asked if we would prefer to still have one. Just bad customer service to say the least. Also wi-fi was horrible. Parties all night.
Sep 15, 2020
Sep 15, 2020
Enforcement of quiet hours was far too lax. I called the help line and personally addressed the issue with the kids playing on the playground after midnight. The condition of the bathrooms was intolerable. One urinal was inoperable the whole weekend and smelled horrible. The water pressure in the shower was a trickle. There was more but I’ve reached my character limit.
Sep 15, 2020
Nice stay everything was great can't wait to come back
Sep 15, 2020
All good but a few minor issues. We were in space 125. Leveling was a little tricky but we managed OK. Only failure was cable TV didn't work. After notifying the front office, it was fixed in a few hours which was good, showing responsive treatment of problems. We'll be back.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
All in all not bad. Sites were a bit tight. Probably the worst thing were the neighboring campers ignoring the 10pm quiet time and no enforcement of the policy.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Wonderful campground. Clean and good following of the COVID guidelines. We felt safe and had fun. Very pet friendly. However, night quiet hours were not always enforced.
Sep 14, 2020
Great experience. Cabin was cozy and clean and we had everything we needed.
Sep 14, 2020
Easy check in. The only complaint is our site had very large roots all over it which made for dangerous walking. We tripped several times.
Sep 14, 2020
I have mixed feelings on our stay. The initial site they gave us had a huge tree root and broken cement. They were able to relocate us to a better spot quickly. The sites are tight but that was ok. I do wish the bathrooms were updated. They were pretty clean but old and in need of updates. Shower heads not working and broken tiles. I would expect more from a KOA. Staff was all great.
Sep 14, 2020
Always love staying at the KOA. Be back soon. Fun Time!
Sep 14, 2020
Lots of activities for kids! Bathrooms were clean and updated. We appreciated bounce pillow was monitored by staff. We would have liked some playground rules-like children under a certain age need supervision or staff actively monitoring # of kids on the playground. We booked a deluxe tent site but once we arrived were told we had a back in RV spot because they are same, this should be more clear.
Sep 14, 2020
Love, love love this campground. Fun, Friendly and crowded, which is the only drawback.
Sep 14, 2020
All good except Friday night several campers not far away were up making lots of noise until after mid-night.
Sep 14, 2020
Had a great time!
Sep 14, 2020
I had stayed at harpers ferry koa before and loved it that is why we went again but this time the experience was off. Dirty restrooms/showers , uneven ground sites, no warm/hot water for showers and people were yelling and music till about 1-2am...
Sep 14, 2020
Sites are crowded, our site was located in a turn that was so tight big rigs were constantly threatening to sideswipe both our car and trailer which were well within the site. This is not our idea if camping. Left 1 day early from this parking lot to return home to nature. Would not recommend or return to this KOA
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Wonderful stay in a Deluxe cabin with all the amenities needed for a couple days of cooking. Very clean facility, awesome pool!
Sep 14, 2020
Loved the campground itself. There was plenty to keep our 7 YO busy. The only con was the site we were on was not level at all and I could not get our 31’ tt level at all.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
We had a big group (not too big) celebrating a birthday, and John was absolutely fantastic helping us all get together. Everyone in the office and store was great. Will be back! Camping is an old/new again favorite!
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Very clean, lots to do, friendly staff. We had a great time and will absolutely be back!
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Staff are really nice!! Always loved it here!! Your a little crammed in! The people beside us had maybe 4 ft of space for there family. If your looking for privacy not the place for you!
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
It was great. The only suggestion would be to have more than one dog park area because the park is so big. There are many people with dogs and that's great. Others who were in the dog park where saying the same thing. Hope you will take that into consideration.
Sep 14, 2020
Great stay, but WiFi was overwhelmed and didn't work.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 14, 2020
The electrical structure behind site #37 could use some attention. The bathroom that’s part of the laundry building needs the occupied indicator on the door handle repaired. And the toilet paper needs better scheduling for replacement, it was out most of the morning Sat. 9/12. The discrepancies may seem minor, but can really ruin a person’s weekend stay overall.
Sep 13, 2020
It was overall good however my 2 daughters campsites were very unlevel.
Sep 13, 2020
The folks at this KOA are very nice and the park has potential to be very nice. Unfortunately they need to enforce quiet hours & vehicle parking to keep the travel lanes clear, especially on the nicer semi-circle spots. Campers would leave their trucks sticking way out and this area is already tight when totally clear. Our rig is 40ft but getting out of some of these spots is difficult.
Sep 13, 2020
Put us in too small of site with no escort to site. Campground sites are too small. Will not be staying at this campground again.
Sep 13, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
Stayed eight days through Labor Day and loved it!
Sep 13, 2020
It was a very pretty area and close to Harpers Ferry. Campsite was nice however, if it were full, could be very crowded. Pool was wonderful and relaxing. I appreciate the mask rule and enforcement. I will stay again.
Aug 30, 2020
Check in and check out were super easy. Staff was amazing with answering questions. (It was our first time visiting). We had a great time. The only complaint i have is that the men's bathroom was kinda gross. Make sure u have sandals for bathrooms and showers.
- Erica Bauer on Google
Aug 28, 2020
Hapers Ferry KOA/HOLIDAY was beautiful. The KOA was very clean and it had alot to do for Children. I can't wait to go back again
- Carolyn Singer on Google
Sep 21, 2020
Small campground with amenities and an adorable general market and store with delicious Grapes and Grinds right next door. Close to downtown Harpers Ferry, has mini golf, bike and go kart rentals, K9 club, and fountain pond. We had some trouble our first night checking in at 9:45pm as a truck was parked in our spot at the hookups, so we went back to the general check in and waived for help as it was past 10pm and they had closed. It took security more than 45" before they finally offered us a different spot as they couldn't find the owner of the truck in question. We were so tired and still had to set everything up, ugh. Other than this, our stay was nice, but I would have appreciated free coffee (they did offer us a free night due to this huge mishap).
- micah b on Google