Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2019
Wonderful campground with great WiFi ! Looking forward to visiting again!
Jun 21, 2019
Jun 21, 2019
Fantastic...good staff, grounds are kept very clean and facilities are clean
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
We stayed 3 nights. Shower houses were great and probably the best we have come across so far. Free pancakes in the morning was a very pleasant suprise. Pool and other amenities for the kids were great. Would have liked to see an updated playground. Overall very pleased with our stay. Have already recommended to others!
Jun 20, 2019
Everything was perfect, we did things around the camp ground, visited the historic town of Harpers Ferry, the battlefield and explored the area of Charlestown and Ranson.
Jun 20, 2019
Nice campground, could use some tree trimming though, we had to hold the branches off the side of our fifth wheel to get parked. We are only 12'6" tall. Watch your roof pulling in, saw one have to do some minor repairs due to low branches. Fills ups on weekends but was well organized.
Jun 19, 2019
I loved the area the campground was clean. The pool could use some work. The liner had water under it. I would used the camp site I booked before. The other issue we had we the sewer hook went up hill and had to drain.
Jun 19, 2019
Staff was very pleasant. Went down into Harper's Ferry which was nice. The spots around us were long and narrow which meant campers were parking their large tow trucks very close to (or in) our area. We enjoyed the pancakes every morning! All the activities for the children were great.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Unique
Our Girl Scout troop rented the bunkhouse and cabin next door. It worked out great for us! Everyone had a great time. The KOA was clean and well staffed. The free activities are such a plus!!
Jun 18, 2019
Come here every year. Don’t even have to leave the compound. Love this place!
Jun 18, 2019
Loved the facility, great staff, site was nice... quiet at nights. Already booked for a return trip.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
lots of fun activities for the children. very clean and friendly. A little crowded
Jun 18, 2019
Sites are pretty tight and there didn't seem to be any enforcement of quiet hours. Also the campground was SMOKY due to the wood being sold. It didn't burn. Every campsite around us had trouble unless they used some sort of fire starter (such as the can that was being sold in store which the clerk said was dangerous to use ) or brought their own wood. Doesn't seem right that we spent money on it
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Really enjoyed the walking tour.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
This was a weekend stop over for us. We arrived just as store was closing, staff VERY helpful. We were in site 152 and needed extra length for sewer hookup. The campground was very crowded, site small, no extra room for tow vehicle, but we worked that out. Lots of activity! Kids loved it. Hubby and I wanted something a bit more peaceful. This is a great place for an activity filled weekend.
Jun 18, 2019
Busy busy campground, $$$ wise a lot; location was great. Staff was Friendly n hospitable; maintenance helped set up our cable tv promptly. Recommend mgt install landscape barriers as the sites are naked bare bones and tight. Parking is minimal but no harassment. Plenty of kids, n dogs. The firewood st the store was CRAP. Pine fence post stave cuttingthat we’re wet. They wouldn’t bu
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
We enjoyed ourselves very much the only things i see needs to be changed is not selling pine firewood at the campstore. I think people would be willing to pay a few more dollars for wood that doesnt just smoke the entire time.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
First KOA stay. Very impressed! It was the quietest and cleanest camp ground I've ever been to. Kudos to the staff!
Jun 18, 2019
I liked all the amenities that KOA offered such as the large pool, game room, activities, gym, free pancakes and such; however, most of the toilets didn't work properly and I found only 1 shower with hot water.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
The weekend was labeled SUPERHEROS but I saw no sign of anything related. My grandchildren brought costumes based on pictures they saw promoting the weekend. I was disappointed there were not any father/son related activities, actually there weren't many activities at all. We had 4 generations there with 3 being fathers and were hoping for more. Also the arcade is a joke!!
Jun 17, 2019
Campground and amenities were very nice and well maintained. Located next to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park was convenient for free bus travel to historic lower town. Sites were level and easy to enter and exit. Some, but not all, of the pull thru 50/30 sites were very small and close together which would not be good for families. Should all for a recommendation if this is a concern.
Jun 17, 2019
We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the grounds & cabin, the amount of activities, and friendliness of the staff. My only 2 complaints: there was no coffee machine (just a Keurig) and coffee was $2 a cup at the pancake hut, and the bundle of wood we purchased at the store was damp & hard to light. Pancakes were AMAZING and a very fun way to start our days! We will be back for sure!
Jun 17, 2019
Most enjoyable and relaxing. New paved roads and mini golf are great.
Jun 17, 2019
We stayed for 2 nights in luxury cabin that sleeps 4. The cabin was clean and comfortable for two of us. We did notice ants in the cabin on the second day and were assured would be dealt with after we reported the problem.
Jun 17, 2019
Bathrooms were clean and facilities were great. Big playground missing and the Kia ground was too much congested.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
It was a great stay! Lots of things to do! Would love to come back!
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Excellent Weekend!
Jun 17, 2019
We had a great time. Lots to do and see and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We're already planning our return trip.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
First time at a KOA- Staff was great, very friendly and helpful, Kids had a great time, will defiantly be back
Jun 17, 2019
I stayed 2 nights in a one room cabin with 4 other people. We all had a great time. I rated a 4 instead of a 5 because of the bike rentals. I expected normal bikes but instead had family bikes and go cart type peddle bikes. The ground wasent flat enough which make riding them bikes impossible. Other than that, it was awesome. I'd love to go back soon.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
Campground and activities were great. Shower/bathroom need improvement. Entire weekend the bathrooms/shower building was pretty much flooded with water from showers. Floors were EXTREMELY slippery and hazardous.
Jun 17, 2019
Clean bathrooms, pool, activities and an awesome staff make the KOA the best. Pet friendly too, you can't beat that.
Jun 17, 2019
Cabins are very close with each other. No large space for small group to seat. We booked 11-14 cabins, and in hospitality business at least there should be effort to help customers. We requested multiple things that were rejected. ( Late checkout for 1 cabin so we can watch India/Pakistan world cup game, using TV room to watch the game). Pan cakes were good. Other than that we had fun.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cabins are made for 4-6 people, it is difficult to fit 50 people in an area that size. I'm not sure what you had in mind, but we are unable to physically move/build cabins each week for different size groups. We do not allow late check out for cabins as we need to clean them for the next guests. The TV room is available 7am-10pm on a first come first serve basis.
Jun 17, 2019
stayed on site #29. These sites are narrow and not shaded. Did not care for 11:00 checkout--would have preferred 12 or 1.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would love to have check outs later and check-ins earlier, but two RVs generally don't fit on the same site. You can check with the office on the morning of your departure and if the site is vacant you are welcome to stay until 1pm. All check outs past 1pm must pay for the next day.
Jun 17, 2019
While the amenities are nice, this campground felt like inner city camping. It is SO crowded and loud and smokey. Seems someone was shooting off fireworks on Friday night too... we left a day early as it just wasn't what we were hoping for... you want some semblance of privacy when in the woods, you don't want it to feel like a squatter city.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very busy each weekend with families just like yours. We are sorry their camping impeded on your camping experience. The neighbors down the street were shooting fireworks, we do not appreciate it either, but they are legal in WV, so there is not much we can do. You can try us during the week, that maybe more of the quiet camping you're looking for.
Jun 19, 2019
My favorite of all the sites and KOA's
- Stephanie Johnston on Google
Jun 15, 2019
porque es limpio agradable lugar
- Esmeralda Lopez on Google
Jun 15, 2019
I stayed here for about a week and came with a minor injury. They sent the grounds keeper to help me unpack the heavier of my luggage and items which was a nice surprise. They even came to help me move to another cabin my last night there since the once I booked was not available for the entire stay. We ended up seeing alot but there's so much to see between the battle field and the historic town so there's never enough time to see everything! The grounds were nicely maintained. Here are just a few pictures of the sight seeing I did.
- Jeriami Logston on Google