Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2020
Our stay was very nice, the grounds needed some attention to, the grass needed cut but I guess because of the covid-19 and cut back on staffing is the reason but i only say this because in the past times the place was well groomed and taken care of. Over all this is a nice KOA, and we really like it there and plan on returning again in the future.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
We liked the campground but the grass was very high in our campsite. People that have permanent campers let their dogs run loose. The office was only open between 9am to 5pm.
May 20, 2020
Bathtub and toilet bowl were filthy, black hair in tub, black mold/mildew on side of tub behind shower curtain, toilet bowl black from mildew/mold. We had to go buy cleaner before we could use either one. Mildew in other areas of the cabin, microwave needed cleaning, cobwebs in cabin. $147.00 night for that disappointing cabin? I've never stayed at a koa as filthy as yours. Koa corporate will know
May 19, 2020
Well, it was very quiet...during COVID 19 pandemic. We enjoyed the quiet and the beautiful scenery. The campground is so convenient to the community...we were just 15 minutes from home, but sometimes you just need to get away!
May 19, 2020
It was a nice campground. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, all amenities were closed including restrooms and showers. The grounds were nice and the campsites were large enough to be comfortable. The general area probably had many things to do. Just picked a bad time to camp there. Staff was very friendly.
May 01, 2020
The worst KOA I have ever stayed at. The public bathroom and shower were dirty, no toilet paper. Over prices for the camp site we were in, employees were not friendly at all. Fire wood is over priced. I grew up going to KOA and loved them but this is the worst campground ever. This has nothing to do with covid 19 either,
May 01, 2020
Apr 07, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 04, 2020
Given the current COVID-19 situation, the staff was extremely accommodating with limited facilities available. The park was clean and well maintained. The staff were all polite and eager to help when needed. Having the ability to get out to the fresh air and change scenery during this time of social distancing was absolutely priceless!
Apr 01, 2020
We love this KOA, close enough to home but far enough to forget the “to-do” list of everyday life. There is world class hiking just a few minutes away, cute shops and restaurants, and of course, the convergence of the Shenandoah and the Potomac rivers for on-the-water fun. Most campsites are pretty level. You can choose to have lots of neighbors or just a few, depending on where you park.
Mar 31, 2020
Mar 31, 2020
Really pleasant stay, we were on a fairly level site but a number of site weren't . Loved the little dog park.
Mar 30, 2020
Very pleasant stay
Mar 30, 2020
Most of the amenities were closed and rightfully so. However, I am disappointed that neither of the guest service people I interacted with offered any suggestions. In addition, upon check in, I was not asked about using my KOA membership for discounts. Very disappointing.
Mar 30, 2020
The office was very friendly to a male employee with glasses
Mar 29, 2020
Sites were mediocre. Fire pit had beer cans and garbage in it. Lots of cigarette butts throughout the park. Our last night we got very little sleep as a result of the permanent campers behind us that were up until 4 AM socializing and drinking by their fire pit. Called the office but no answer so we couldn’t get it stopped. These inconsiderate people were less than 50 feet from a managers traile
Mar 27, 2020
Beautiful and easy to reach location, excellent staff, LARGE and clean laundry room.
Mar 27, 2020
It was a brief overnight stay on my home from Florida. It looks like a nice campground, but I think if it was full, it would be very difficult to get around as the sites are too close together.
Mar 27, 2020
Site was very “not-level “. Used 4 boards to bring trailer to level. Was pull thru site but had to unhook as sewer connection was too far away. Would need several lengths of hose too reach. Which I do not have. I have 3 lengths still not enough. We were on site 153.
Mar 25, 2020
Mar 25, 2020
I have camped there several times and I have always had a great time �
Mar 25, 2020
Great KOA and location. Hope to go back when the corona virus pandemic is over and stay when everything is up and running.
Mar 24, 2020
This campground is always clean and the staff is awesome!
Mar 23, 2020
always a great time at the KOA even during this difficult time, it was nice to get away for a change of scenery. We visit Harpers Ferry KOA a couple of times a year, always at Halloween.
Mar 23, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff. The sites were wide and the hook ups were easily accessible. The bathroom/showers were super clean and it appeared as if someone was constantly cleaning and mopping (even at night)
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 22, 2020
Mar 22, 2020
Mar 22, 2020
Headed home to Canada so we only had one night this time. Nice level pull through full hookup with cable tv. Travelling home during the COVID-19 pandemic so minimal contact with anyone from the park. Nice Kamp K9. Good location close to National Parks so we will return when things calm down.
Mar 20, 2020
Great cooperation from staff
Mar 19, 2020
It was quiet and relaxing. Just what I needed.
Mar 17, 2020
We had a great stay. The cabin was relatively clean. Will remember to bring Ant spray or baits next time. There was also a lot of mouse feces under the bed. Other than that we had a great weekend and we will come again!
Mar 17, 2020
tried to get coffee on three occasions and none was to be had. office was helpful in locating places that i could get items that i needed.
Mar 16, 2020
Another fantastic stay at Harpers Ferry KOA. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Mar 16, 2020
It was great! Except for the rain, that you can't control!
Mar 16, 2020
Love this KOA. Great people & great hiking!
Mar 16, 2020
Amazing location! Great camp store!
Mar 15, 2020
Due to us being there in the off season(March) it was very quiet and peaceful. Great friendly staff. An awesome gift shop with nice and unusual gifts! The only problem was the uncleanliness of the laundry room. Maybe it was due to the very small staff that time of year.
Mar 15, 2020
Mar 15, 2020
No hot water in the shower. It was 40 degrees outside and a cold shower was not what I paid for. Perhaps you could figure out a way to adjust the charge for NO HOT WATER! I paid full price, but did not receive full price service .At 8 am in the morning, no body was there to report to. I let multiple showers run for quite a while thinking that the hot water needed to circulate. What a mistake.
Mar 11, 2020
Great place for a small cabin weekend getaway. Well kept campground. Near historical Civil War sites and downtown Harpers Ferry. I would rate this place a five but my room had muddy footprints on the floor when I arrived and the closest shower/restroom facilities were closed for the season and the only other showers were out of order when I walked to them. Besides that, I had a great grimy time.
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
We paid full price, but had way fewer amenities given the time of year. There were no water spigots turned on for the season, so we had to walk around for ages for water. It was great that the camp store was open, but it was only open during prime hiking times, so we barely got back in time for the couple of things we needed. I would have expected an off-season discount.
Mar 09, 2020
Mar 09, 2020
May be a bit pricy for out of season with no amenities open. If you are going to have all year round availability, try to find at least 1 weather appropriate activity.
Mar 09, 2020
We always love staying at Harpers Ferry KOA. We visit multiple times a year.
Mar 09, 2020
Excellent facilities, easy to find and right down the street from my daughter's volleyball tournament
Mar 03, 2020
Mar 02, 2020
Harpers Ferry Koa is a very nice campground. Clean neat and fun for all. My wife brought me to Harpers Ferry back when we were dating and we stayed in one of the cabins they had then. It was a beautiful part to our relationship. She passed 3 years ago and I still take our 2 boys there every chance I get. Making more beautiful memories. Thanks To The Koa and the town of Harpers Ferry! Love it!
Mar 16, 2020
Outstanding location and impressive camp store!
- Stephen Otto on Google
Mar 12, 2020
One of the best camping trip I went to. Tent camped. It was impressive never going to a koa before. They had a sleeping area, arcade, and something was always happening.
- James Braun on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.