Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

RV Reviews

Nov 11, 2019
The stay was nice enough. I had reserved 3 sites and had to cancel one on Thursday, the day before we were to arrive due to two medical emergencies affecting our friends. I realized there would be a penalty for late cancellation, but didn't think it would be the entire deposit - especially since the site was occupied by others when we arrived so the KOA made twice the money on the same site.
Nov 11, 2019
we had a great time and the staff was wonderful
Nov 11, 2019
We had a great time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Common areas and bath houses were always clean and stocked. The sites were spread out and for the most part it was quiet during quiet hours. Our spot was not even so it took a little leveling on our end to get it right, but next time we'll read the descriptions better and look for a level spot. Overall great trip!
Nov 11, 2019
As most of the amenities were not available I don't understand why we were charged the same rate as peak times. The cost to stay at this time of year should be at least a quarter less dollar amount. Very disappointing . I feel I deserve a partial refund. Also, leaf blowing should stop by 4pm and not disturb dinner hour. Our than that I enjoyed my stay at the KOA and in the general area.
Nov 11, 2019
Loved our stay, good site alot of people. Looking forward to next season of camping
Nov 11, 2019
For our first time staying in our new RV, it was fabulous!! Great accomodations, great people, great time!
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Very helpful staff. Location was perfect for hiking. Need a ladder to do some repairs on the rv and staff brought one to us in minutes.
Nov 08, 2019
Clean, and well maintained, and great location. I will definitley stay here again.
Nov 08, 2019
Nov 08, 2019
Easy checkin. Friendly staff. Site 29 was level although the gravel needs to be smoothed. There were puddles at both the door to the rv and the car doors where the gravel had been pushed away, making it a little muddy at our site.
Nov 08, 2019
Beautiful, historical place, wish id had more than a night here
Nov 07, 2019
Great campground and great staff. I have been to this KOA 10 times and it keeps getting better. Hope to get back next year.
Nov 07, 2019
Site 162 was very disappointing. Not nearly large enough for our 5th wheel. Site 161 Water, Electric and sewer lines were too close to our trailer. We had to unhook the neighbors sewer line in order to get into the site. Otherwise we would have to run over it. Also, just noticed that my VIK membership discount was not applied. Usually love your camp but not this time.
Nov 07, 2019
Very nice and clean, great camp store, sites are tight in some areas but not all. Employees very helpful. Went in fall and was very pretty.
Nov 07, 2019
Wonderful area, beautiful surroundings. Unfortunately, found the camp store staff unpleasant. No smiles, poor information when checking in. Not very helpful with additional questions. The back in sites are very un-level, several with trees directly in the center of the sites or staggered inconveniently. The distance between a tree on our site and the electrical pole was a very tight squeeze.
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 07, 2019
Friendly staff, great location. Most sites are to close together. Lots of large group partiers as neighbors. Nice camp store. Enjoyed full hook up, wifi and laundry facility.
Nov 06, 2019
We had a good time, a lot of the 30 amp sites are narrow unless you are on the end. When we called and made our reservation we told them how big we were and that we had slides on both sides. The first site that we got was very narrow and we couldn't open the slides all the way. They were very accommodating and moved us to an end site so that we could have more room.
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Great time only thing I find wrong with the campground are the roads are very narrow
Nov 05, 2019
Sight was clean and people were very friendly.
Nov 05, 2019
Always our go to KOA for a weekend getaway. Love this place
Nov 05, 2019
Fantastic! !!! We truly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Friendly staff. Clean reatrooms and a lot of things to do. Location was perfect with shuttle to Harpers Ferry. We"ll ne nack!
Nov 05, 2019
The campground was very well kept. The kids enjoyed the activities.
Nov 05, 2019
Had a 34' RV and was given a sight that had a big drop that my levelers wouldn't come out. We had to change sites at dark and was given a terrible one that was all mud. I know things happen but they should know what sites can handle a certain length.
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely come back again. Easily accessible and close to a lot of history. Great location, clean & well maintained
Nov 02, 2019
It's a lovely park. I just object to the $10 resort fee. We didn't have to pay it because the amenities were closed, but I would be very unhappy to have to pay it. We stay at KOA because they're mostly very nice but we NEVER use the pool etc. How about a wristband for those who want to use them and pay the fee. After about 30 different KOA stays, this is the first to have a resort fee.
Nov 01, 2019
Overall experience was good, we loving Halloween camping. We reserved a year in advance and were still out in a crappy spot right at the front parking lot though, which was disappointing. Kids activities were meh & there weren’t many. Haunted house was great! Kids on the jumping pad were allowed to misbehave, fight, & target black guests, also very disappointing. Playground is also meh.
Oct 30, 2019
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice camp store. Clean bathrooms. Convenient location.
Oct 30, 2019
Love it hear. We return every year. This was our second time this year !?.. I call it our home campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Fast check in, friendly helpful staff, enjoyed learning Harpers Ferry history and campground located where some artillery encampments. Two nits, sewer hookups not threaded so hard to stack wood on top to hold elbow stationary and purchased wood did not burn. These are not big deal but sewer hookup improvements prevent accidental spills
Oct 29, 2019
I was only able to stay for one night, but even so, my contacts with various staff were helpful, positive and friendly. The facilities were awesome and I was pleased and surprised by your location right next to the National Park Visitor Center and Civil War battlefields. I will be back!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We had a ground of 6 come in on Thursday. Maintain lot had camper already on it. I went to office to check it out and the gentleman I talked to was very rude. He Shrugged his shoulders and said she didn’t book until Friday. We all was in the office last year and booked for 2019 so that wasn’t a true statement. Not sure if we are coming back. My aunt to to leave Thursday night with her camper a
Oct 29, 2019
always a great time at the KOA, don't like to additional $10.00 Resort Fee, or $20.00 lock in fee, I feel as a KOA member shouldn't have to pay, it should be a perk of being a member, not all KOA's charge these fees.
Oct 29, 2019
Every thing was very good
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We usually love the KOA in Harpers Ferry. It is one of our favorite campsites. However our last stay over the weekend for Halloween was not the experience we are used to. On Friday and Saturday nights there were several campers that were blaring music and being rowdy after 10pm quiet time keeping our two year old awake. I would also like to see the campground out in WiFi.
Oct 29, 2019
I had three camping sites for all my children and grandchildren. Everyone had a wonderful time.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Arrived on a Thursday- it was very noisy until 2am, even though quiet hours were supposed to be from 10pm. Campground was very crowded as it was Halloween celebration. Probably perfect for families with kids, but not for us, as we were also charged for activities that we did not want to attend. Sunday night was the only night that was quiet enough for us to enjoy a fire.
Oct 29, 2019
Good stay. Sites are a little tight. Halloween weekend was nicely done. Restrooms we're clean. Our site had the remains of a tree that had been cut down and the stump ground out leaving a bit pile of debris right next tonthe fire pit. Grounds responded promptly to our request to clean it up. He removed three large tractor bucket fulls but left two.
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google
Nov 02, 2019
Our first RV camping experience happened here. The staff were great and the amenities were excellent. Its the only campground I know of that is also a battlefield. The gift shop was great also. This KOA is about a mile from Harpers Ferry town and right next door to the parking area for the historical park transit system. We will definitely return.
- only1kirk on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.