Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.
May 20, 2020
Bathtub and toilet bowl were filthy, black hair in tub, black mold/mildew on side of tub behind shower curtain, toilet bowl black from mildew/mold. We had to go buy cleaner before we could use either one. Mildew in other areas of the cabin, microwave needed cleaning, cobwebs in cabin. $147.00 night for that disappointing cabin? I've never stayed at a koa as filthy as yours. Koa corporate will know
Mar 25, 2020
I have camped there several times and I have always had a great time �
Mar 23, 2020
Mar 19, 2020
It was quiet and relaxing. Just what I needed.
Mar 17, 2020
We had a great stay. The cabin was relatively clean. Will remember to bring Ant spray or baits next time. There was also a lot of mouse feces under the bed. Other than that we had a great weekend and we will come again!
Mar 16, 2020
Another fantastic stay at Harpers Ferry KOA. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Mar 16, 2020
It was great! Except for the rain, that you can't control!
Mar 11, 2020
Great place for a small cabin weekend getaway. Well kept campground. Near historical Civil War sites and downtown Harpers Ferry. I would rate this place a five but my room had muddy footprints on the floor when I arrived and the closest shower/restroom facilities were closed for the season and the only other showers were out of order when I walked to them. Besides that, I had a great grimy time.
Mar 02, 2020
We had a great time staying in one of the cabins. Everyone at the park was very friendly and helpful. The Deluxe cabin is great for a group of people. It has a lot of space and was very clean.
Mar 02, 2020
I called several times with questions and someone picked up only once. I left a message and nobody called me back. The guy I spoke with on the phone was so not in a happy mood. Not rude, but very monotoned and disinterested. Sort of same with the guy behind the counter at check in/out. Overall, good experience. There's mold though and ants in the cabin.
Mar 02, 2020
Feb 24, 2020
Was awesome as usual!
Feb 19, 2020
Jessie, Robin, and the whole team are amazing! They take care of us every year, and we always leave wanting to return. Fantastic job, Team Harpers Ferry!
Feb 18, 2020
Awesome stay thanks!
Feb 17, 2020
There were ants that came out when we put sweet stuff by the kitchen, thats the only negative experience we had at the cabin. And it wasnt clean underneath the burners.
Feb 17, 2020
Our cabin was nice and clean and the staff was super friendly!
Feb 17, 2020
Feb 16, 2020
No one answers the phone. Tried several different days and times. Management very rude. We asked for extra towels and washcloths for our cabin since we had 8 people staying. She told us they prefer for us to reuse them. Ants all over the cabin in the bathroom and kitchen. Cabin was dirty and we found women’s underwear in the couch and 2 vapor pens. Nothing is open in the winter not even the gym.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Each cabin with linens has the number of towels that each cabin sleeps, so, in this case, 8. You asked for an additional 8 towels for the second night of your stay. We do prefer that guests use towels more than once, just like you would at home, but we did provide you with 8 more towels. Most amenit
Feb 11, 2020
Jan 27, 2020
Jan 24, 2020
Jan 21, 2020
While it was colder than we hoped when we booked, our family loved it. Still lots to do there.
Jan 09, 2020
Jan 02, 2020
Beautiful campground!
Jan 02, 2020
Very nice cabin!
Dec 31, 2019
My family was staying deluxe cabin with bathroom, but after 5pm, hot water was not available. Our family could not take shower. Also, we could not find trash dumpsters and camp site map was not correct. I don't want to visit here and not recommend to people.
Dec 30, 2019
Dec 29, 2019
We had a terrific visit! The cabin was everything we needed and in close proximity to the trails we explored. It was great that we could bring our dog too! We look forward to returning again next winter!
Dec 28, 2019
Nice cabin, few minor maintenance issues, no water pressure in shower, but over all nice stay.
Dec 23, 2019
Dec 09, 2019
It was a bit chilly, but such a fun weekend!!!
Dec 07, 2019
I stayed in a Deluxe cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. I was traveling down the coast alone and it was much better than staying in a hotel!
Dec 04, 2019
It was wonderful I really enjoyed the camp grounds. The cabins were nice and clean. The only suggestion I have is that this KOA could clarify on the website that Bathrooms (besides the main one) are closed and the water spouts are shut off in the off season.
Dec 02, 2019
Our only issue is that the bath house close to our cabin is shut down and there is no water close to us - not even someplace that we can wash our dishes! If the other half of the camp ground can have water - why can't we?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The water at the back of the campground is not winterized, so it must be shut off once it begins freezing overnight to prevent breakage and infrastructure damage. The water at the front of the campground is winterized and all hookups are frost free hydrants, which can still freeze in extreme temperatures. If we were any further north, we would most likely have to shut the entire campground down.
Dec 02, 2019
Great location! The heat in the cabin made us all get colds- extremely dry and poorly positioned over the queen bed. Also would’ve loved a larger blanket on the queen- it was chilly at night and that heater was too much to have on all the time! than that we’d love to come back will probably just bring a small humidifier and our own quilts for the beds! Thank you!
Nov 18, 2019
Great staff! Tons of family fun!
Nov 15, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
It was a "Campgiving" weekend with friends! We enjoyed our stay so much that our group of 12 are planning on making KOA at Harpers Ferry a tradition!
Nov 12, 2019
It was EXTREMELY and uncomfortably crowded.... However, we got the best possible spot in the entire campground! A cute little cabin on the end up against the woodline, away from the chaos of all the other guests. It was quite wonderful. I loved the breakfast offered, but unfortunately it's only offered amidst an intense throng of people. The wine and coffee shop there was UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Nov 12, 2019
Cabin's heater was broken - they gave us a space heater but it didn't really do the trick. the Wi-Fi is horrendous. Camp store was out of stock of a lot of items. In the summer it might be a nice place, but after Nov 1 the place is a ghost town and it shows in the people working there.
Nov 11, 2019
Great location and place.
Nov 11, 2019
Our cabin that I paid a lot of money to be in for two nights - didn't have working heat. They had to bring us heaters. A fuse blew - they had to come over for that, then in the middle of the night the toilet stopped working so had to open up and fix that. Just not an overall good weekend.
Nov 11, 2019
Great stay at cabin. The cabins are heated. Clean. No bugs late fall camping. Best time to camp.
Nov 10, 2019
I had to change my dates and staff there made it very easy. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Nov 06, 2019
Overall, our stay was great. The only complaint I could make is that, in any 99% empty campground, we had neighbors in the cabin directly behind us. Even that would have been OK, but their fire ring was only a few feet from out back window. They were very polite, and tried to keep their conversations low, but it was a little tough to get our grandkids to sleep.
Nov 05, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed Halloween weekend festivities at the KOA. The wine tasting was great, too. I would definitely consider coming back again next year. My only negative feedback was the cost of the cabin- it was overpriced. I haven't stayed at this KOA during the year, so I don't know if the price was high because of the special weekend festivities or if it is that cost all year.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed here several times and every stay has been perfect. This time the cabin refrigerator has blood in it, there was food and ants all around the bed as well as dirty socks and underwear at the side of the bed. There was also ALOT of trash (broken toys, cans etc) around the cabin. Not sure what changed but was very disappointed.
Nov 04, 2019
It was excellent we started a family camping trip last year and loved it here this year .We will be back it was 12 of us this year
Mar 16, 2020
Outstanding location and impressive camp store!
- Stephen Otto on Google
Mar 12, 2020
One of the best camping trip I went to. Tent camped. It was impressive never going to a koa before. They had a sleeping area, arcade, and something was always happening.
- James Braun on Google
Feb 06, 2020
We rolled in at the end of January for one day but stayed two because Harpers Ferry is awesome. My husband and I are on a journey to decide where we want to live next and eventually retire. We found it in Harpers Ferry. The KOA was nice even though most amenities were closed for the season. I returned first week in February on our trip back to the west coast, but just had to stay there one more time. While in the area I signed a lease and will be living close by. Thank You Harpers Ferry KOA. You’ll always be a part of our story.
- Stephanie Cruz on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.