Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Lodging Reviews

Nov 06, 2019
Overall, our stay was great. The only complaint I could make is that, in any 99% empty campground, we had neighbors in the cabin directly behind us. Even that would have been OK, but their fire ring was only a few feet from out back window. They were very polite, and tried to keep their conversations low, but it was a little tough to get our grandkids to sleep.
Nov 05, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed Halloween weekend festivities at the KOA. The wine tasting was great, too. I would definitely consider coming back again next year. My only negative feedback was the cost of the cabin- it was overpriced. I haven't stayed at this KOA during the year, so I don't know if the price was high because of the special weekend festivities or if it is that cost all year.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed here several times and every stay has been perfect. This time the cabin refrigerator has blood in it, there was food and ants all around the bed as well as dirty socks and underwear at the side of the bed. There was also ALOT of trash (broken toys, cans etc) around the cabin. Not sure what changed but was very disappointed.
Nov 04, 2019
It was excellent we started a family camping trip last year and loved it here this year .We will be back it was 12 of us this year
Nov 04, 2019
We had a wonderful time and definitely will be back. The only thing that we had an issue with is our cabin had a thick layer of dirt on the floor. It looked the the cabin may have flooded and the dirt from the rain water was left behind. Other than that everything was great!
Nov 04, 2019
The floor of the cabin we stayed in was extremely dirty. There was such a thick layer of dust that it got all over everything. A couple of cob webs are to be expected, but theres just no reason for that dust. There should be better upkeep, as that’s a cheap, simple quality control step. There was also a significant gap under the door so pests could come in. Showers were also incredibly run down.
Nov 04, 2019
Fantastic stay! Our cabin was great and we loved the amenities.
Nov 04, 2019
Everything about the campground was great except for the bathrooms and bath houses!! Even after going in after they had been clean they were still disgusting. This is my third trip to this KOA with the same experience.
Nov 02, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Love this camp ground very family friendly only draw back I did have ants in my cabin but can’t stop Mother Nature if you want a place where kids can be kids then welcome home
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the people and the camp grounds. There was lots fun things to do, and the lodging was great as well. We will be back! Thanks for everthing.
Oct 28, 2019
Our family enjoy this KOA! The staff are always friendly and helpful. The store had everything we needed, each time we remembered that we forgot something else LOL It’s a great place to vacation.
Oct 28, 2019
We reserved to come back next year. Great time.
Oct 26, 2019
We like camping. We weren’t informed of the buy two get one free night. If we would’ve been we would’ve taken advantage of it. In addition we are coming back this up coming weekend and had to pay an extra $20 to reserve a site next to our family members who had previously made reservations. As a member we shouldn’t have to pay extra to reserve a particular site as sites are assigned ra
Oct 23, 2019
Campground was not very crowded since it was off season, but cabins are way too close together. I would never book one for a busy time of year. The cabin we were in was not cleaned very well. There were cobwebs in all the corners, dirt on the floor and the toilet was filthy.
Oct 22, 2019
Loved it! We had to remind 2 more times to deliver our firewood after ordering, otherwise loved it! Thank you!
Oct 22, 2019
Beautiful and well maintained camp grounds with everything you need to have a great experience.Great people. My family always has a great time at Harpers Ferry KOA. Helpful and friendly staff who work hard and take pride in making your stay the best it can be. We would not think of going anywhere else for camping.
Oct 21, 2019
Site 129 very unlevel side to side and front to back, I think you should address this. You also need to add an additional bath house near all the cabins and tent areas without bathrooms.
Oct 21, 2019
Pros: beautifully breathtaking scenery, friendly employees, clean facilities, the 2 for 1 deal and great activities for kids. Cons: arrived at night to our cabin and we could not decipher where our driveway was until morning, the hill to the cabin was very steep as we fell several times and bathhouses were kind of far away for walking
Oct 21, 2019
We had a wonderful stay in one of the deluxe cabins.
Oct 18, 2019
I rented a cabin and came through the week seeking peace and quiet. Frankly, this is not the campground for peace and quiet. It's more like a big RV parking lot tailgate party. That's not a bad thing if that is what someone wants in their "camping" experience, but it just wasn't right for me. It's probably a blast for kids and for adults who like to sit in between huge RVs drinking beer.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
We stayed in the deluxe cabin that had a bathroom, fridge, and microwave. It was cozy and cute. We were, unfortunately, misinformed from a KOA employee before our arrival that we had a stovetop and toaster, too. Those are only in the larger lodges. Our 3 year old loved the playground, arcade, and special events held over the weekend. Great location to hikes and parking for bus into Harper's ferry.
Oct 15, 2019
We were pleasantly surprised with the 1 room cabin. We especially liked the rustic setting and privacy. We had 2 large dogs and they had plenty of room in the area. The only problem we had was all of the garbage in the woods. My dog kept finding someone's garbage that had been thrown in the woods. There is still a good bit there and it needs to get cleaned up.
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Was told by staff my dog was restricted breed even with emotional support Animal identification. That is illegal. Been coming to this campground for 15 yrs. I think I’m done now.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not allow Rottweilers, Dobermans, "Pit bulls", or mixes there of. Animals covered under the ADA are always welcome and have been trained or work to perform takes with those with disabilities. Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify as service animals under the ADA.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Great time will definitely be back again
Oct 12, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
Smoke alarm went off at drop of dime. Pancake hut is becoming delapidated. Activities were fun as always.
Oct 09, 2019
We enjoyed our camping cabin, I loved how it was tucked away at the edge of the camp ground. But, our cabin was infested with stink bugs. I know they can’t always control it but there were so many dead ones on the floor it seemed like no one took the time to clean. They landed on us and crawled all over us as we slept. Other than that, we had a nice stay!
Oct 08, 2019
The cabin was very spacious and came with almost everything we needed for a great camping weekend! We will definitely be returning!
Oct 08, 2019
Always a great time!
Oct 08, 2019
My cabin had a broken window (wouldn't latch) that was a stairway to heaven for stink bugs... they were overwhelming and even though I was supposed to be "camping," they were even more difficult to tolerate given the lack of campfires allowed. No, not a KOA mandate, but given that camping and camp fires go hand in hand, paying full price for a stink bug infested hut felt selfish and insensitive.
Oct 07, 2019
Our deluxe cabin was lovely except it had ants, door knob into bunk beds loose, toilet seat loose, blinds cracked and dirty, no access to brand new patio-need a step and a railing, hay netting out front a trip hazard. I'm lucky I only have a scraped up body and not 2 broken wrists from a fall10-6-19. Lots of activities 4 kids. Hay ride had a flat tire no back up tractor?? Pancake hut great!
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Alittle sad no camp fire but do know that's not KOA's fault. Would have been nice to be notified of that.
Oct 01, 2019
We stayed in the deluxe cabins with a large group. Everything was great the only thing that took away from our experience is the air pillow was not inflated for the kids on our last day.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Very Nice grounds. Cabin was very comfortable and had a nice chair for sitting and writing at the wall shelf. Bed mat was comfortable. This is first KOA that had a bunk over the full bed thus limited headroom. Office/store closed at 6:00 but I was not aware of that. Another camper and myself went at 6:15 - disappointed. Was not informed when I checked in.
Oct 01, 2019
The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We did have a few issues during this stay but they were all quickly fixed. The jumping pillow wasn't inflated and that was disappointing to our kids. The games in the game room took the tokens but didn't allow play, this was fixed by the front desk. Our curtains in the room all had about 25 stink bugs on each panel.
Oct 01, 2019
The moon bounce was not open on Sunday. And they would not accommodate opening the activities that we paid for.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The jumping pillow is open 4-8 Friday, 10-6 Saturday, and 8-12 Sunday during off season. All other amenities are self guided and available.
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campground. Stayed in a deluxe cabin w/bathroom. Only real complaint was very frequent septic smell that blew through the cabin area. Was with a group of 18 families, so we certainly had a great time. But, the smell was a bit of a turn-off.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 26, 2019
We loved our Cabin and your campground!! We stayed right beside our friends with their camper and we all had a fantastic time! Can't wait to go back!
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google
Nov 02, 2019
Our first RV camping experience happened here. The staff were great and the amenities were excellent. Its the only campground I know of that is also a battlefield. The gift shop was great also. This KOA is about a mile from Harpers Ferry town and right next door to the parking area for the historical park transit system. We will definitely return.
- only1kirk on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.