Fort McCoy / Lake Oklawaha KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 04, 2019
Love to ride the trails and this is the best location for doing that. Easy access. Camp sites could be marked better. It is hard to tell what angle and sewer is yours.
Nov 04, 2019
If we had a 4 wheeler we could have used the trails but we stayed one night, everyone was very good helping us get picnic tables delivered to our site! All the facilities were in good order! Thanks
Nov 04, 2019
Our stay was a short, two night stay, however it was very quiet and the staff was helpful. It is a little tricky figuring out how to park because the spaces are not well defined. Other than that, we will definitely be back for a weekend get-away. Oh, one last thing, if you need supplies, you have to drive about 20 minutes to a Dollar General in Salt Springs or Fort McCoy grocery store.
Nov 03, 2019
Nice and quiet. The pool was well kept and the water temp was perfect. My only complaint! Ants. And lots of them. This is the worse year I've seen for them. Welcome to Florida!
Oct 29, 2019
The staff at this KOA are outstanding, I wish I could remember all there names from the office staff to the park personnel and security staff. They made the stay pleasurable. There were down downsides, the biggest was the water pressure. It was nonexistent. THey tried to get more pressure by removing the reducers, but to no avail. We used our MH water supply and pump while here. Beautiful p
Oct 28, 2019
Unique
Oct 28, 2019
Staff very nice and helpful.
Oct 28, 2019
Great place! Clean and the facilities were newish. Our outlet at spot 363 was worn out and wouldn’t handle a plug. The atv tours company never did return our phone call, but I know that doesn’t necessarily apply to the camp site.
Oct 28, 2019
The park was very quiet and satisfied our overnight needs. We're a very long distance from home in California, so it's nice knowing we can rely on KOA Campgrounds nationwide.
Oct 22, 2019
We have stayed at this campsite many times and usually park at the same site, site 11, though it is only a 30 amp site and we have a Class A motor home, we had never had a problem before, but this time the inside power information panel stated No Service, though we did have electricity, , when we arrived home and plugged in the power panel indicated the power source. I would check site 11.
Oct 21, 2019
This property needs to do some updating of it's site equipment. Ie.... Electric pedestals, outlet plugs, landscaping etc
Oct 17, 2019
Should not be a KOA. Terrible location, sites not maintained, nothing of quality, almost impossible to locate any site, no site pilot, zero KOA quality, zero staff support. PLEASE assess this site.
Oct 16, 2019
Unique
Nice place,safe and perfect for kids The only thing I put complaints is about ac have problems ..the rest everything is ok
Oct 16, 2019
Our stay was amazing, our first camping trip there. Don’t forget the mosquito spray
Oct 15, 2019
Nice place with alot of room and it was quiet.
Oct 14, 2019
Saw one of your local bears, and rode some awesome trails.
Oct 09, 2019
Once again people are nice. However it would be much easier if owners would mark off each site. And maybe attempt to level some sites.
Oct 07, 2019
Great place with good access to National forest, yard staff very nice, but office staff can be rude at times. Bathrooms are reasonably clean, and accessible. Pool is nice but needs attention, lot of black mold on the skimmer edges. Store hours are not convenient for access and not much variety. I give it an 7/10 against other KOA. Will use it again for ATV weekends.
Oct 07, 2019
Always a good stay, grounds and amenities are kept nicely.
Oct 03, 2019
In general, the stay was great. The small black ants on the property are a problem though. It's probably to close to the lake to use large amounts of insecticides to control them, so campers should be warned to bring their own ant control products, such as Home Defense. Other than that, the campground is clean, the sites are large, and the roads are paved, plus they are ATV friendly.
Oct 02, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
We have been coming to this campground since before it was a KOA. We love the park, we love that we have access to the trails. The only down point is the last 2 times we were there we were invaded by sugar ants. They sprayed 2 times the last time we were there, but it didn't do any good. Now I have to bomb my RV.
Sep 28, 2019
We had a wonderful time. The only problem was ANTS everywhere.
Sep 27, 2019
We had an amazing 8 days here in the Forest ��. We are a homeschooling family who camps a lot and this was one of our favs. Will definitely be back. Hi ��� to Diana and Tammy our camp advisors who were great. Even spent an evening away from camp with sweet Diana eating burgers and playing bingo. If you have an off road vehicle, this is your heaven. This is going to be an often trip for us.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Unique
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
No Problems. Enjoyed our stay , Will return when running from Storms or Camping.Thanks for everything.
Sep 10, 2019
Very relaxing week-end. Will be back.
Sep 10, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
We had a very relaxing time. Campground is very maintained. Staff was very friendly. Pool was refreshing. Our dog loved the dog area. Thank you KOA!
Sep 09, 2019
The sites needed to be mowed, the pool was dirty with lots of debris, staff friendly.
Sep 08, 2019
Very little staffed. They basically said go find a site and come back and tell us where your at. Lots are in the grass and nothing is level. I had to fight ants the whole time and had to fumigate the RV after to get rid of the ants.
Sep 05, 2019
Had a great time , but the ants are taking over they need to treat the grounds for ants .
Sep 02, 2019
thousands of ants in our trailer. had to “buy” a can of bug spray from the office. Spent many hours vacuuming! moved spots to avoid more ants. When we were ready to leave, 2 employees drove up and said we had to move our trailer by 3 feet! Employee drives utv around with cigarette hanging out his mouth. I expect more from a KOA. Park is beautiful and spots are big! Tammy in office was nice!
Sep 01, 2019
Ants! Ants everywhere. I know ants are everywhere but there are measures that y'all can take to help eliminate them. The fact that you do not move the picnic tables when you mow proves you're not giving it your all. The pool had mold in it and they couldn't keep the pump working. The pool deck was even covered with ants. 1. Kill Ants 2. Mow better! 3. Keep that pool in good working order.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
Unique
always clean and quiet.a great place if you ride atvs or sxs.
Aug 12, 2019
The gass was not mowed and very long the electric was not good we had problems with the out side box getting very hot and when ssomeone came to look at it he did not know how to fix it. This KOA did not meet the standards of a KOA park Needless to say we will not be staying at this KOA again. Needless to say it is too far from a town should we needed some essentials.
Aug 12, 2019
This campground has lots of promise - but needs a lot of work as well. The camp staff are outstanding - helpful, friendly, informative. The electrical supply to the various sites needs to be upgraded. Areas closest to the hall/office should have 50 amp available as well as 30 amp. Grass wasn't cut prior to group (expected) arrived. Appreciate the improvements that have been made,
Aug 12, 2019
It was great. The guard the first night was helpful. The guard the second night was to quick to complain. We had our friends pass and we barely stopped at the site and he stopped and wanted it up now. I told him when they came through the gate I had it. Other than that it was great and we will be back
Aug 12, 2019
They stay was good, quiet. The grounds are beautiful & well kept. We enjoyed the change of scenery. The pool was nice, however, poolside chairs, lots were damaged & not usable. We enjoy hiking, unfortunately we did so & took our dogs with us & were inundated with ticks - I know the forest has ticks, but we are still fighting them a day & half after leaving...ugh. That was the only bad part.
Jul 31, 2019
Friendly staff, was not too crowded. Read other reviews before visiting but the site we chose was rather flat and we did not see any bears. Only complaint was that the ATV trails for riding were not always labeled properly, we got lost twice but made our way back after a bit but the campground itself was nice. Pool and bathrooms were clean.
Jul 30, 2019
Absolutely enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and super informative. Already planning the next trip.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
Staff was very nice and helpful. I didn't give it 5 stars because the fire ants were very bad and pool could have been cleaner. Would come back.
Jul 18, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
The place has potential but is not well cared for. The pool water was clear but black algae was growing in the sides and there were lots of leaves in the pool. The playground was not kept up and full of ants and wasps. The RV sites were plentiful but it was pick your own site and let us know where you are. It was hard to determine a site as none were marked with gravel. We will not return.
Jul 15, 2019
Unique
We stayed in a park model. Beds were not the most comfy but it is “camping”. Wished we had a grill as advertised. We came during 4th of July weeekend and it rained the whole time so we would try again maybe in spring or fall. Nice clean campground, friendly staff and direct ATV trail access was a bonus!
Nov 30, 2019
Beautiful scenery, all the necessary amenities and four wheelers/ ATVs are permitted.
- Teresa Phillips on Google
Nov 27, 2019
Perfect for us. I don't know what it's like at other times of year, but we loved it. Quiet. Scenic. Great staff.
- Dawn Dowd on Google
Nov 25, 2019
Nice place in the heart of Real Florida very well kept and good fishing. Only bad part of the whole 6 months I lived there was all of the whiney yuppies this place attracts. I mean come on folks your camping out. Why worry about wifi and mosquitoes it's the woods people have became too doggone soft. Very sad to see children raised by these clowns. Looking forward to our trip there next weekend. Definitely recommend
- Mike Paul on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.