Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 30, 2017
Great location, great staff, and clean environment. Was an awesome place to be able to see the local sights and have a spacious cabin site to come back to.
Jul 30, 2017
All info was present for a late check in which I appreciate, but the chuck wagon/cook is regularly not there 2 days a week. This is one of the reasons we booked was for this convenience. The website should state this. Disappointing b/c we had hungry kids in the morning with no packed food. Going to a restaurant in town is just not that easy when you're trying to enjoy the morning and then pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our website and directory both state that breakfast is served on "weekends".
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient to area attractions. VERY clean and nice restroom with ceramic tile throughout! We had an awesome time and loved our cabin!
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay at your KOA campground was terrific! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful! The site was clean and the cabin we stayed in was just perfect! We had so much fun during our stay! The Wild Rabbits were fun to watch too!
Jul 26, 2017
Courteous staff, clean facility, good location
Jul 25, 2017
one person at the front desk was pushy and not as friendly as the others. also she called after we left to state the key was not returned despite it being dropped off in the drop box. The manager politely apologized for the error after I called to confirm the key was dropped off
Jul 24, 2017
Great AM staff very helpful and kind. Loved watching the kids bounce around and interact with each other on the huge bounce pillow. Plan on staying here in Sept.so I can catch what I missed this time.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Very Friendly staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
we have never stayed here before. Usually we stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA, this was closer to our activities planned the next day. The husband and wife owners were very nice. It was a very clean facility. They were very good at recommending restaurants. Location was good for activities around Custer. The KOA itself was very peaceful and quiet despite all the activity.
Jul 19, 2017
It was very hot and our camping cabin did not have air conditioning. I requested a fan and at first I wasn't sure they took me seriously.I assured them I was serious. Later they delivered a fan to our cabin. The office, store, and sink for doing dishes were all close to our cabin.
Jul 19, 2017
What a fun time we had.
Jul 18, 2017
The cabin was cozy and the bathrooms were clean and very nice! Great place to stay. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
Our family has always camped on BLM, or at state parks. This was our first KOA experience. It was very family friendly, clean and reasonably priced. We would visit a KOA again.
Jul 16, 2017
Was able to buy things we forgot including food.
Jul 15, 2017
Great location, very good amenities. Would stay here again in a heartbeat
Jul 14, 2017
Fun for kids & centrally located for all the Black Hill must sees.
Jul 14, 2017
The campground was clean all around and quiet. The only problem was my six year old was able to reach the soap on the back wall and the one next to the sink was also empty. The staff was friendly and engaged with my kids questions and conversations. Thank you
Jul 13, 2017
Very comfortable cabin, clean washrooms, and friendly people.
Jul 13, 2017
We loved the area and the campground was nice and clean. The kids loved the pillow jump!
Jul 12, 2017
Fun campground. Clean bathrooms, friendly folks!!!
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins are very close together and felt cramped. Appreciated the good communication from staff about incoming storm and the firewood delivery direct to the site.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins and showers/bathrooms we're very clean. Anything we forgot we found at the camp store. The kids loved the jumping pillow. Will return again if we come back to the black hills.
Jul 10, 2017
First time camping in a cabin and it was AMAZING!! If we're ever back in SD we'll be staying with you again!
Jul 09, 2017
Very nice. Very pleasant people working there. Love the idea of them serving breakfast. The cost is very low and much worth it. Good food. Nice clean camp grounds.
Jul 09, 2017
Very happy with the staff and quality of the campground - staff also responded quickly to handle weather damage.
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and well managed. Was full when we stayed here, yet quiet after hours. Very relaxing 4 days. Wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you!!!
Jul 08, 2017
The facilities were clean, lots of things to do for my kids. The staff was friendly and the cabin was adorable! We can't wait to try a KOA again, and we are planning to return to this location in the future!
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms. Loved it!!
Jul 06, 2017
The KOA in Custer is friendly...helpful and clean...Love staying there..stayed at the one by Mt. Rushmore..dirty restrooms..to busy..awful food.vehicle got scratched up by careless employee..Custer Rules !
Jul 05, 2017
Campground was clean and the hosts and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our kids loved the jumping pillow!
Jul 04, 2017
The staff and camp did their best to deal with a terrible storm that came through right before we arrived, which took out some tents and the electricity...other than that there were no issues.
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
Ho hum, nothing special Internet only worked in middle of night
Jun 30, 2017
Very clean. Nice staff.
Jun 29, 2017
Bathrooms extremely clean. Was impressed with the modern look. Disappointed with having no electricity on our last nite. Wish the campground had a secondary lite source for those that stayed in the cabins ex: flashlights etc.
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
We had a WONDERFUL time!!! The kids were a little sad that the game room wasn't there, but, we enjoyed it anyway
Jun 22, 2017
This is our favorite campground in all of the the Black Hills. The staff is always so friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2017
Great stay (so glad we were in the cabin for the thunderstorm). Great people (guy behind the counter gave me his lighter as they were out). Great place.
Jun 21, 2017
Very nice
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 16, 2017
This is a wonderful campground located close enough to all South Dakota has to offer, but without compromising on a true camping experience. It was clean, fun, and comfortable.
Jun 14, 2017
Great!
Jun 12, 2017
Clean, nice campground. Bathrooms/showers were immaculate and well-stocked and good hot water supply. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Jun 08, 2017
Cabin was very comfortable and the report was clean. Everyone was very friendly. The location was very convenient to all the area parks and attractions.
Jun 06, 2017
Amazingly friendly staff from the front desk to the maintenance staff! Cabin and showers were clean and updated! Campground very quiet and relaxed which is what is needed after a day of fun in the Black Hills.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award