Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 03, 2019
Probably one of our favorite KOAs ever Nestled in the pines, off highway so very quiet. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Loved their dog park. We will stay here again when we come through.
Oct 16, 2019
The majority of the pull behind trailers were situated in an area of the park that had very little shading and basically unappealing camp sites.Very little room between trailers, smoke from your neighbors campfires went in your windows. No grass, all gravel in these sites, Fire pit grate had been run over. Wood ties for terracing coming loose. For $56 night @ 5 nights we will not be coming back
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Very friendly, very clean! Had a great stay!
Oct 01, 2019
Just let people know that they need cooking and eating supply, we knew from your web site we needed bedding, but we were surprised you had no silverware, small cost sure, but a need to know for late arrivals. VERY good and understanding employees, they were AWESOME!!!!
Oct 01, 2019
We are returning campers here. It is always nice to be greeted warmly here, like a returning friend.
Oct 01, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Nice area, good people. Very clean facilities.
Sep 29, 2019
We had to cut short our stay due to a family illness. We were impressed with the bathrooms and cleanliness of the grounds. Very helpful staff
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
Very nice campground. We had a nicely treed site. Clean bathrooms and showers.
Sep 27, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
A wonderful stay at the Custer KOA - clean campground, washrooms, VERY helpful and friendly staff. |Thank you
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 26, 2019
Very weak wifi.
Sep 25, 2019
nice place to stay, but bring your satellite. There is NO cable, and local stations I could receive were PBS stations.
Sep 25, 2019
Great stay, friendly staff, good location. Clean facilities.
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Great Campground just outside of Custer. Some sites are super close together but not all are like that. Dog park is grassy and spacious compared to most. Wifi is EXCELLENT! Laundry room is small but adequate. All in all a great place! After driving around the area and viewing other campgrounds, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat!
Sep 24, 2019
Very clean
Sep 24, 2019
Had a great time and the owners and crew were very helpful . Would definitely return. And hope to do that soon.
Sep 23, 2019
The site was fairly low key - no real landscaping, some industrial buildings and heavy equipment parked along drive. Just not very scenic. Our site was a bit close to neighbors with no shrubbery or anything for privacy. Biggest challenge for us was that the site was not level - it took considerable effort to get our Class C leveled. The staff, however, was kind and gracious and efficient.
Sep 23, 2019
We were put in a very small site which was made smaller by the way the people in the next site had parked their trailer. The trailer was encroaching on our site be 3 feet. Their slideout was past both the water and electricity hookups.
Sep 23, 2019
A pleasant campground where we had access to all the wonderful sights such as Mount Rushmore. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the grounds well kept. We met some great people and would probably stay again.
Sep 22, 2019
Very nice place to stay, everyone was very helpful and nice, a very convenient place to stay close to everything.
Sep 22, 2019
beautiful camp with extra large dog run. staff were extremely friendly and helpful. highly recommended
Sep 21, 2019
We stayed in our 35ft 5th Wheel in a very nice and big pull thru with full hookups. I used the laundry facilities which were in great shape and clean. This KOA is located very well to Custer city with restaurants, groceries, Brewers and shops. Great location and just 30 min. To Mt Rushmore and 50 to Deadwood.
Sep 21, 2019
Stayed one night however the campground was amazing! Our site was nice and the restrooms were very clean.
Sep 21, 2019
Cabin was very nice, but if you put a window in the door, you need to put a curtain over the window.
Sep 21, 2019
Jim and Debi and associate Debbie could not have been nicer ; so patient!!! Lynn, Tom and Rooney
Sep 20, 2019
We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful clean RV park and great location. people that worked here were friendly and very helpful on suggesting things to see and do in the area. Would have been nice if they had cable hook-up but we managed without it- LOL! We would stay here again!
Sep 19, 2019
The staff couldn't be friendlier. Seemed they went out of their way to help you out. Simple things like delivering wood to your site really make a difference. When in the area again, we will return here.
Sep 18, 2019
Kabin was clean and conveniently located near office and bathroom. Front desk folks friendly and welcoming. Can't asked for anymore than that.
Sep 18, 2019
Very clean KOA with very nice staff. Our site was probably the smallest site we have ever stayed in, though, and we didn’t even really have a spot to park our tow vehicle.
Sep 18, 2019
Huge space with grass. Had a clear view to set up my Dish tv. Super close to Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, and Mt Rushmore. Loved my stay,
Sep 18, 2019
We had a wonderful time. It was our first time camping with our puppy and the setting and dog park were great. We would definitely come back again.
Sep 17, 2019
Great location, freindly staff and close to many attractions in the Black Hills.
Sep 17, 2019
Modern, clean restrooms. Pleasant staff. Beautiful surroundings. Would like larger camping sites but size was typical for most KOA campgrounds. Thank you for 4 enjoyable nights in your csmpground!
Sep 16, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean restrooms, and grounds.
Sep 16, 2019
A beautiful site! We tend to travel in the early spring and later fall seasons and even this late in September the crew was upbeat, friendly, courteous and helpful. A wonderful time for us.
Sep 16, 2019
The staff were very unfriendly and the sites left a lot to be desired. The hook-ups were at the front of the site and we could not hookup anything and yet we paid for it. Would not go back there!
Sep 16, 2019
Just need better WiFi Nice Managers & Workers-very nice shower room
Sep 15, 2019
Stayed a few days in a camping cabin, spending quite a bit of time outside on the porch, where we enjoyed the privacy of fencing between some of the cabins. Appreciated that the very clean restrooms were close by and that the lights popped on automatically, so you weren't blindly walking in the dark. The KOA was close enough to Custer to easily access restaurants and things to do near by.
Sep 15, 2019
Great place to camp! Keep up the great service Paul &Kathy
Sep 15, 2019
We had a wonderful spot and nice neighbors. It was convenient to a lot of different places. It was staffed with a really friendly group of people.
Sep 15, 2019
Very clean and neat facilities. Staff friendly. Only stayed 2 nights, but lucky we got 2 nights
Sep 15, 2019
Facility was very clean and well run. My only issue is the price is too expensive when all the additional amenities are closed or no longer offered after Labor Day. I think the price should be reduced as you are providing less services.
Sep 15, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
Perfect stay. Good laundry room. Fast wifi. Nice site. Friendly hosts.
Sep 14, 2019
Very nice campground. A little. noisy with a small number of campers. Water in showers was tepid at best. Wifi terrible!
Sep 21, 2019
Our stay here in a Kabin was perfectly nice and comfortable. Everything perfectly maintained and squeeky clean. Such nice bathrooms! Outstanding. Recommended!
- Paul Brabenec on Google
Sep 03, 2019
Staff are super friendly. Sites are clean and well maintained. We had a pull thru RV spot - water pressure was great and no issues with 30 amp. Pool was well kept and clran...but best of all...heated! We will definitely be staying again.
- Kristofer Phillips on Google
Sep 19, 2019
We are here now and pleased with it. Requested a pull through and wanted to put us in the backend. Showed them the reservation and changed it. Nice and quiet. Will comeback. Here for 5 days.
- Steve Ward on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.