Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email This Campground

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations, Cabins, Deluxe cabins, Lodges

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2018
It was very nice - the bathrooms and laundry were exceptional. However, when driving to your campsite, their work bldg, vehicles, etc are the first thing you see and it looks bad. They need a big fence. Also, without a satellite dish, there is no TV reception. No cable and no ability to pick anything up with your own antennae.
Sep 21, 2018
Great stay and best internet in the business something that is becoming more and more important to stay connected. I would recommend to all. You won't regret it
Sep 21, 2018
Clean park. Clean bathrooms. Quiet.
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 19, 2018
Excellent service and very helpful. Bathrooms/showers were very clean. Very nice laundry area. Highly recommend!
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 19, 2018
We truly enjoyed our week long stay at Custer KOA. The accommodations were perfect for us. It is so centrally located to a number of must see South Dakota parks, monuments and a lovely downtown.
Sep 19, 2018
This was a great location for us to see a lot in the area. The staff was very friendly. Restrooms and laundry room were kept very clean. There was not a lot of grass and some sites were not real level.
Sep 19, 2018
Clean, showers were awesome.
Sep 19, 2018
Rented a very nice cabin at the Custer/Mt. Rushmore SD location. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Very friendly campground staff. Very conveniently located to many tourist destinations. Will stay here again.
Sep 18, 2018
Lovely place! Loved the rabbits and very friendly staff. Clean facilities and campground.
Sep 18, 2018
Very nice park - everything was well attended. Trash cans were located throughout the park and were emptied daily. Bathrooms were clean and not very busy. The store and office were well attended and staff very friendly. Great location for day trips to all parts of Black Hills.
Sep 18, 2018
Nice campground ... enjoyed our stay!
Sep 18, 2018
Other than the lack of sewer connections at the campsite, our stay was fantastic. The office staff were very courteous and hard working.
Sep 18, 2018
Very nice spots with a place for a campfire. Nice amenities and shaded campground. Beautiful location.
Sep 18, 2018
very friendly staff very clean bathrooms very quiet with great view of river
Sep 17, 2018
Owners are the best ever been going there for 40 years.
Sep 17, 2018
Deb & staff are great.
Sep 17, 2018
The staff and grounds were fabulous. We had a fantastic vacation!
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Great campground,clean laundry and restrooms, nice pet area....every staff member ends every conversation with...." let us know if you need anything, we are here to help you"...very quiet sites and close to all Custer attractions..Thank You
Sep 15, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
I cannot think of anything that could have been done better. The best KOA ever. Great wifi, very active and attentive staff, super clean bathrooms and laundry. Thank You!
Sep 15, 2018
Staff very helpful and friendly. Cleanliness of baths, showers and laundry one of the best we've ever seen at all the KOAs we stayed at.
Sep 15, 2018
The worst: wild rabbits everywhere and if you have hunting breed dogs, that might drive you a little crazy. My dogs were crazy for bunnies! The sites were a little close together. But I expect that at most KOAs. Especially in a touristy area The best: staff were awesome, location was awesome. We even extended our stay an extra day! Easy to get to he scenic sights, Custer state park is a must
Sep 15, 2018
Very clean and friendly people it’s in a great place for the area attractions.
Sep 14, 2018
The site was awful! Very narrow. We had to move the picnic table to even get in pull through site. There was no grass for our site. We asked for another site. They said there was none available. They offered us a deluxe patio site for $100/night. We were staying 4 nights. We declined. They offered a refund to leave and go else where. This was our first time in the area. Would never stay here again
Sep 14, 2018
Clean bathroom and laundry, quiet, nice hosts that fill your propane and bring you firewood.
Sep 13, 2018
This KOA was our favorite in SD. We loved the trees and cabins. Everything was clean and well taken care of. We are so glad we stayed here!
Sep 12, 2018
The kids loved the big jumping pillow. The first stall shower door didn't stayed locked very well. The friendly bunnies are a fun touch :)
Sep 12, 2018
Junk/maintenance area front left, noticeable from the road. Tent camping on uneven Hills with 12 foot by 12 foot gravel tent pads, too small for our tent. Separate men's and ladies bath units (dormitory style) clean. Friendly staff.
Sep 12, 2018
Great Facilities and People!!
Sep 11, 2018
We used this site as our base camp. The deluxe patio sites are level, concete, with grill, fire pit, table/chairs etc... Great staff!
Sep 11, 2018
The office was so friendly and helpful. I felt like they were happy we were there. Nice surroundings...nice site...just a super pleasant KOA.
Sep 10, 2018
Get cable. Some of us don’t do satellite.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cable is not available in our area. Sorry. You were informed of this at check in.
Sep 10, 2018
Had a great time, camp was located near sites and was quiet and peaceful,
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
The receptionist charged my credit card for two days more than I stayed. She tried to undo it, but one week later it is still showing up as a negative on my bank statement. I caught the mistake right away. She said the head KOA office had to correct it. It is still undone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The correction has been made. The overcharge you speak of is due to your leaving earlier than the reservation you made. Also, you made partial payment on a credit card and the rest in cash. We refunded you card and you wanted the cash returned. This caused additional transactions to your card.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 09, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff, rest rooms and showers were always kept clean. Staff informed us of local events going on during our stay, a very relaxing fun vacation.
Sep 09, 2018
We had a lovely site and enjoyed our pine tree view. The clean and efficient laundry facilities were appreciated. The map and attractions info was very helpful. Love this area very much!
Sep 09, 2018
We were traveling home from Yellowstone/Grand Tetons. Chose this campground as it was close to Black Hills, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Wind and Jewel Caves, Hot Springs, Deadwood and Devils Tower. Bathrooms clean, staff super friiendly and helpful. Camp sites a little dusty but we were camping - lol. Def. would choose to stay here again.
Sep 08, 2018
Fabulous campground!!! The nicest, newest bathrooms we have ever seen in a campground!!! This one is a winner!!!
Sep 08, 2018
Oh my. The deluxe site was just super and worth every penny. Big and spacious. Close to the bathrooms and the laundry. Bathrooms were clean and nice. Laundry new equipment and well ventilated. Everything worked perfect. Really enjoyed the gas grill.
Sep 08, 2018
Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great facilities.
Sep 07, 2018
The campground was clean and well organized, the staff was very helpful. My only concern is that there was not enough shower facilities. Otherwise it was great
Sep 06, 2018
this was third visit to this KOA, it was like old home week!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy