Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email This Campground

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations, Cabins, Deluxe cabins, Lodges

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
The location is great for Custer State Park! The access to Internet is horrible if your campsite is on the back row! We had to stand in the middle of the road to gain connection. Later we had to walk down the road towards the bathroom before an Internet connection was achieved. Staff said we must be using the wrong password as a reason for this. Funny, that password works in the other areas!
Jul 15, 2018
This place is still like it was in 2012 and not getting any better. Basically no internet and damned lucky if your cell phone will work. Sites aren't close to level most places. It's a camp and that's about it.
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 14, 2018
We stayed at one of the new delux campsites and had a great time! The extra room provided by the upgraded site was perfect for our group of 11! We will be back again next summer.
Jul 14, 2018
The staff was amazing . . . .the restrooms / showers were the best ever !!!!!!!! We were on a two week trip and stayed at other campgrounds and there was absolutely no comparison. Thank you Custer KOA !!!!!! BRAVO :-) Candy and Bill
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
The employees were very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were clean.
Jul 13, 2018
Great stay!! We were notified about the pool being closed and had began to look for other arrangements. So glad that it didnt happen and we stayed put. The nicest front office/camp store we have seen, welcoming and helpful staff. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin that was clean and comfortable. Big bunnies were running around everywhere. Best KOA yet, great people, great experiance, Thanks again
Jul 13, 2018
Disappointed in swimming pool not being available and the offer of no cancellationn fee was really not enough of a discount to offset this. The bouncy area was nice though
Jul 13, 2018
Very nice campground and very nice staff. Very clean bathrooms and shower areas. After I booked the site I received and e-mail shortly afterwords to let me know pool was under construction and if I wanted to cancel my reservations there would be no cancelation charge. I thought that was very honest of them to let us know ahead of time and no surprise after we got there. No pool, no problem!
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
Poor WiFi and cable. Beautiful tree filled park. It would be nice to have a cement patio.
Jul 12, 2018
Friendly staff in the office, clean facilities. My kids were disappointed the pool was not open. We were super close to the wash sink so that was great.
Jul 11, 2018
The location to Custer and major sites in the Black Hills area was awesome. There was a ceiling fan in the cabin, but how about an air conditioner? Also, I had received a message a few days before our arrival that the pool wouldn't be operational, which was nice, but the new construction of the pool was right outside our cabin. Perhaps a courtesy discount of some kind would have been nice.
Jul 11, 2018
We stayed at the KOA for 3 nights. There pool was not open due to construction problems but we were notified ahead of time. They had a jumpy pillow that my 15 and 9 year old loved. Kids could ride their bikes around camp. Staff were very friendly and site was clean at all times. Showers were great and everyone was super friendly.
Jul 11, 2018
Friendly and helpful staff! Very clean! We'll be back!
Jul 10, 2018
the camp is well kept clean ,staff are friendly , to bad the pool was not functional , we only wish they had told us sooner than a few days before our stay otherwise it was great
Jul 10, 2018
Great accommodations. Staff was very friendly and facilities were extremely clean and well kept. Thank you for an enjoyable stay
Jul 10, 2018
We stayed a total of two nights while visiting the black hills area. The staff was friendly, tent site was well situated. The bathrooms and showers were both very clean. Would not hesitate to stay there again.
Jul 09, 2018
I made reservations months ago, found out one week before our arrival date that the pool was not operational. We were not offered any type of reduced rate or refund. As it was the Fourth of July weekend there were no other campgrounds to stay at ! Other than that our stay was good
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Very nice campground with lots of large trees and shade. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers are clean and well kept. The pool was not available when we were there, but that wasn't an issue for us. The wi-fi is not good. It chokes when a lot of people are on it. I finally just turned it off and used the cell phone LTE network which was pretty good.
Jul 09, 2018
Great staff! Nice KOA with decent spaces. Clean facilities and really good wifi which is a rarity at a lot of KOA campsites. Staff is really helpful in showing you all the things to do in this historic area.
Jul 09, 2018
Great staff. We arrived late and everything was ready for our stay, even late. Very nice shower houses.
Jul 09, 2018
My stay was not long enough...would have stayed longer but home was calling
Jul 08, 2018
Very friendly staff, updated and clean bathrooms. Sites were comfortably big to allow for privacy.
Jul 08, 2018
Pool under renovation - the app does not clearly let you know this.
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
Staff was very friendly and it was a very nice location for us.
Jul 08, 2018
Best KOA site I’ve been at. Clean, efficient, nice people, well organized. Facilities are top notch, shower clean and useful. Already booked next stay!
Jul 08, 2018
Nice KOA. Near Custer State Park. Very nice bathrooms. New pool being installed should be a great addition.
Jul 07, 2018
Super nice koa friendly helpful staff and very knowledgeable poor internet
Jul 07, 2018
Nice campground with nice staff the bathrooms were clean and it was close to attractions.
Jul 07, 2018
The staff was very nice. The sites were pretty close together. We enjoyed the tour offered there.
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
We were there over the 4th of July and still the campground was very peaceful and quiet... bathroom cleanliness was superior.
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
Wonderful stay...
Jul 06, 2018
We left. The pool was broken. There was broken glass all over the camp site. We left within hours of arriving and will never be back. Very disappointed!!!
Jul 05, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Very nice, very clean. Close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. A lot of things to do and see in the area.
Jul 04, 2018
nice and clean
Jul 04, 2018
There was no pool to cool off in and we we're not compensated for the lack of a working pool
Jul 04, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award