Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email This Campground

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations, Cabins, Deluxe cabins, Lodges

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 17, 2019
Great park. Staff friendly. Camped here early this season. We came in right after some 8 inches of snow fell. They called us the day before and told us it may be difficult to get in and out which allowed us to alter our plans. Would most definitely stay hete again.
May 17, 2019
This was my first time staying at a KOA, I just bought my camper and wanted to see Mt. Rushmore so it was a spur of the moment trip, I was very pleased with what was offered and the outstanding staff was top notch
May 16, 2019
Loved it..
May 16, 2019
Top notch staff, felt like family immediately
May 16, 2019
Very clean, warm bathroom, shower.....quiet. needs more shade trees.
May 16, 2019
Checked in because NFS campground down the road was closed. Off-season price for Kabins was way too high for this area. Tent site was “OK”. Bathrooms were clean and in good repair. Suggest that tent sites be situated as far from Hwy 16 as possible. Very noisy all night in a tent. Picnic table was splintered on the side.
May 14, 2019
The wife and I took our kids who are in their 30s LOL to see Mount Rushmore and the crazy horse Memorial your camp was perfect for our needs and yes we will be back
May 14, 2019
The facilities and staff were absolutely amazing! My family and I really enjoyed our stay. Highly suggest the Jewel Cave tour. And the bounce pit/pad thing was a riot. I had to peel my 8 and 7 year old girls from it, they couldn't get enough. If your a local or from out of town, I would definitely suggest this KOA!
May 13, 2019
Jimi and Debi were absolutely great campground hosts! Very friendly, and helpful. Everything was very clean, well maintained, and convenient. We had a great time there.
May 12, 2019
May 10, 2019
Sorry to rate you so low. Here is why, the parking spots are not maintained to deliver a level or semi level area for the trailers. At the time we were there is was lousy weather, something you had no control of. As a KOA campground it leaves a lot to be desired
May 10, 2019
Oct 08, 2018
pretty campground with pines big shower stalls good, dependable Wi-Fi near Jewel Cave, Rushmore, Custer statepark - convenient location!
Oct 07, 2018
It was a really nice campground. We’d stay there again
Oct 07, 2018
Very clean campground. Bathroom were some of the nicest we’ve been to. Would definitely return to this campground.
Oct 03, 2018
VG
Oct 02, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
The campground needs updating. It is somewhat cluttered. I thought we had registered for full hookups but somehow when we got there we only had water and electric. They said we couldn’t be given another site but the campground didn’t appear to be full. The dump site was very inconvenient to get to.
Oct 02, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Very nice campground. Hosts we're very friendly.
Oct 01, 2018
This campground is in a perfect location! Down the street from Custer, a short drive to Wind Cave National Park and Jewel Cave, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, about an 1.5 or so from Deadwood. The tent sites were perfect! Level and not far from the bathroom. Wood was delivered to my site so I didn't have to carry it. Loved seeing the deer and bunnies every morning and evening.
Oct 01, 2018
The spots are beyond close together. We didn't have a fire because the fire pit was literally 3.5 - 4 ft away from the back of our camper. We were there at the end of September and the store wasn't stocked and the jump pillow not inflated. The playground and dog area are small as well. If you just plan to sleep there it's fine but to actually enjoy nature and just stay there it isn't worth it.
Oct 01, 2018
Nice welcome when I checked in,had help backing in the trailer, beautiful spot, unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate, woke up to about 3 to 4 inches of snow, but still enjoyed my stay and will be back next year.
Oct 01, 2018
Great campground friendly staff!
Sep 30, 2018
Great place to stay! Staff was very nice! Bathrooms, and campgrounds were very clean. The whole place was very quiet. I mean where else can you see a speed sign at 4 7/8 mph!? We absolutely enjoyed our stay!
Sep 30, 2018
A very nice clean campground. The showers and restroom by the office have been redone and are awesome!! Best shower ls ever!!!
Sep 30, 2018
What a beautiful place to stay. The camp host were wonderful and as we were pulling back into the camp we were greeted by deer. Over all a nice very clean place to camp for the night or a week. I hope to get back this way again and if I do this is where I will stay.
Sep 29, 2018
. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and professional. A totally enjoyable experience. The bathhouse was excellent. Clean and very large and roomy. You can tell the camp is well taken care of. Look forward to a return visit!
Sep 29, 2018
Sep 29, 2018
James walked us to our site. He pointed out that I didn’t need the adaptor I had on my electric cord.
Sep 29, 2018
Sep 28, 2018
Wonderfully centrally located. Nice sites Good dog run
Sep 28, 2018
so appreciative that you had a spot for our camper
Sep 28, 2018
Sep 27, 2018
Sep 27, 2018
Sep 26, 2018
Nice campground. Staff very friendly. Clean bathrooms.
Sep 26, 2018
We were only able to stay one night, but we both loved it! Very clean, well kept, cozy, and the staff was super-friendly!! Loved the patio set and 2 person wooden swing �
Sep 26, 2018
Great location and service. Clean restrooms. Site wasn't completely level but we enjoyed the place.
Sep 25, 2018
Very nice people and site.. Able to get satellite reception as well..
Sep 25, 2018
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The dog park was wonderful and very clean.
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Traveling with family to see the sites. Love the area. the folks at the campground were home and friendly. We all had a great time!!!
Sep 24, 2018
Very nice and clean, our site was a bit sloped and hard to utilize the table
Sep 24, 2018
Of all our travels from WI to WY our Custer KOA stay was my favorite! Excellent site with beautiful trees. It felt very natural and the facilities were spotless clean! Thank you Custer KOA!
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Very nice KOA, The staff were all very friendly, Deer and bunnys make it nice, Facilities are all top notch. Thank You all
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
It was very nice - the bathrooms and laundry were exceptional. However, when driving to your campsite, their work bldg, vehicles, etc are the first thing you see and it looks bad. They need a big fence. Also, without a satellite dish, there is no TV reception. No cable and no ability to pick anything up with your own antennae.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals