Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
It was dark when we began setting up so we couldn't see how pretty the campground was until morning although our site was a bit grown up with weeds and we were backed up to two houses so it was a little awkward but the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Oct 04, 2017
Very friendly and helpful folks
Oct 03, 2017
Very quiet place to stay.
Oct 02, 2017
very nice campground...starting to get too expensive for those campers who are retired and on fixed income.
Oct 02, 2017
We arranged to take a Golden Circle Tour bus arranged through the campground to the Buffalo Roundup. It was terrible. The staff of the vans were so confused they were late, couldn't find their van, and stated they shouldn't drive in the dark. The $90 expense was a waste. A refund would be in order. KOA has been good other places-this was a disappointment. The campground
Oct 02, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. Great staff. Very accommodating . It's a long trip, but I would go back any time I'm in the area.
Oct 02, 2017
Beautiful area! The cabin was clean and the staff was very helpful!!!! I will definitely be back!!
Oct 02, 2017
It was centrally located for the areas we were visiting. The owners were very helpful in recommending great places to eat and they help with filling our propane bottles.
Oct 02, 2017
This campground was great to stay at! Wonderful accommodations and friendly staff. Clean restrooms/showers, and a good atmosphere. Only tiny thing is that our space for our tent was a little small, so our tent spilled over the sides a bit - but otherwise, would definitely recommend this site!
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Clean cabins,clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Not too far out of the way and not right in the middle of everything.
Oct 01, 2017
Electrical and water are great! Easy access roomy . Plenty of deer and rabbits
Oct 01, 2017
Great dog park. Good location. Surprised no recycling at dump site. We brought ours home. Clean washrooms. Maybe need to add more lighting along roadsides for folks leaving early am in fall
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Nice and quiet
Sep 29, 2017
very nice and qiet place
Sep 27, 2017
Nice place. Some sites were no level. Good bathrooms.
Sep 27, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Space was very uneven/partly on a hill slop. Restroom was was clean and well lighted. Expensive for only power and water. We will pass on this KOA next time we are in the area.
Sep 25, 2017
The staff at office was very unfriendly went into store twice and not once was did the front clerk say Hi, also no coffee was ever made when we went to get some. The outside help was very rude. Felt like all his job was to patrol camp ground like a prison guard. We will not stay at this koa again we will be booking our next outing with the camp grounds next door Beaver Lake camp ground.
Sep 25, 2017
Reserved one of the two room cabins on our way through the Black Hills. Reasonable price, friendly staff, cheap firewood, and comfortable beds. Was an off-season stay, so it was also nice and quiet.
Sep 24, 2017
The only thing that we would find as a negative would be that some of the 50-amp pull-through sites were not level, and you should bring along (which we always do) extra leveling blocks. Bathhouse and laundry facilities were very clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful! We needed to make a reservation change before were arrived, and Roy went out of his way to accommodate us!
Sep 24, 2017
Exceptional service staff. Facility is well maintained. We had a marvelious time in the Custer ares.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Shaded sites. We will stay here again.
Sep 24, 2017
Very nice campground and conveniently located near several attractions.
Sep 23, 2017
We planned our trip around a tour to see the Black Hills and Mount Rushmore. Our stay at the Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA was wonderful. Beautiful park, clean restrooms/showers, very nice laundry facilities and friendly, helpful staff. The only negative comment would be that the park is on land that slopes, and quite a few of the sites slope as well. This made it a bit difficult to level the RV.
Sep 23, 2017
Nice park and realy central to so many things to see. We took the tour, due to no car, and it was well worth it. Custer state park is beautiful! We say Rushmore and Crazy Horse too. We left a day early and were please to get our payment for that day returned. Love KOA!
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA many times. Its best feature is the central location in the Black Hills. The sites for large vehicles are on a bald hill. The staff is friendly and helpful. The worst feature is the WIFI. It was HORRIBLE all week. I require WIFI that works. Can it be fixed?? As with most places in the BH, the cell phone was spotty. Nice rest room and shower building.
Sep 21, 2017
very quite, very clean, friendly. We hope to return.
Sep 20, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly. The sites were normal sites. The dump station was hard to pull up to and you need a longer hose that we have. Will stay there again if ever in the area.
Sep 20, 2017
A wonderful place.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
The folks there were very helpful polite place was clean I liked it a lot thanks to the crew for letting us put up our tint to dry
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
We made reservation; are KOA Kard holders; arrived early (2PM); why were we assigned to the worst site? Water spigot messed up, un-level, overlooking neighbors trash/work pils, & worst of all near septic field!!! Septic gas was HORRIBLE! Both nights plenty of nice, suitable, empty sites. Don't be assigned to NW sites 50 and above. Staff were very kind, especially Roy.
Sep 18, 2017
Wonderful camp. Very nice people. Very clean. Perfect location for Black Hills touring.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay the staff was helpful
Sep 17, 2017
Welcoming, helpful staff. Very clean. Convenient to many attractions. Would recommend.
Sep 17, 2017
We were disappointed when we arrived, the drive thru sites were way to close together! They did let us move to an end back in site which was way better. But very dusty & quite of bit of RV's going by as we were on the corner where they all had to pass. Very nice & friendly staff & clean restrooms. It just seemed like the grounds was lacking some maintenance, such as crushed rock spread out, etc.
Sep 17, 2017
Nice campground. Got questioned more than usual about our specific dog breed at check-in. We have a mix breed terrier dog, and a very well behaved and traveled dog, but that was apparently not quite satisfying the host. I was told that if it was a such-and-such terrier breed, I would be asked to leave. A little shocked now, I threw out the name Cairn Terrier, and that satisfied the host. Whew!
Sep 17, 2017
Extremely great KOA. We went to Devil's Tower KOA next and not only hugely costly, but run down. So with Custer/Mt Rushmore the "Camp standard" hard to like others
Sep 16, 2017
Sites were large and easy in and out. Staff was great to answer questions and help with ideas on what to do. It is centrally located so you can go in all directions to see all the sites.
Sep 16, 2017
So many places to see and lakes to explore. The 24-hour laundry facility was convenient to use after a long day of enjoying the scenery.
Sep 16, 2017
First of all, I am not Linda, I am Terri ( Herbert is correct). Our stay was wonderful as usual, we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. Really enjoy the KOA Custer campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award