Tent Reviews

Feb 16, 2024
The tent sites were horrible. Bumpy, muddy and the smallest sites I have ever seen with no privacy between them. No wonder no one else was camping in tents there. The tent sites at the Winthrop Wa. KOA weren't much better. Your focus is obviously trailers and motorhomes. I will likely never stop at another KOA. To your credit, the washroom was clean and I had a nice shower.
Sep 14, 2023
Sep 05, 2023
We love grandy creek and are frequent flyers. Did not have a great experience this time on a few levels. Mainly due to one of the not so friendly staff named Bambi. If she's there next time we will be looking for somewhere else to stay.
Sep 05, 2023
Nice camp ground
Sep 05, 2023
I just learned about KOA campgrounds from a friend who brought us to the Port Angeles site for Summer camping. I must say that I'm really happy to have discovered it. The ranger was so nice in the Concrete campsite. We will always look for KOA campsites wherever we go now. �ϸ
Sep 04, 2023
Friendly staff, clean, and large sites made the holiday weekend stay fun and relaxing.
Aug 28, 2023
Prices were a bit high for what was provided, also in the tent area more shade trees would be nice. Between the water boil order and most showers being out of order, a price reduction would be nice to compensate for inconvenience.
Aug 28, 2023
Our family had a great time.
Aug 25, 2023
We came back! THAT is the best review ever! The calmness, quiet and peace, combined with the uber family friendly setup, make it irresisitible!
Aug 21, 2023
Thank you; this was a lovely campground with beautiful sites. We appreciated the range of activities for children going on and enjoyed the family atmosphere. It was a great place to stay, offering access to the Cascades and local attractions. We would definitely recommend it.
Aug 15, 2023
I loved our stay the only thing I wish I could have seen is more presents of staff around the grounds. There were a few trouble makers running around and I think if there was more presents of staff some things may not have happened. Otherwise it was a great stay!
Aug 14, 2023
The campground itself was lovely. Nothing was on time. The pool opened late, the jumpy pillow opened late, the carnival was 2 hours late. It would have been nice if things were on time especially with children who are so excited to do all the things when they are suppose to be ready.
Aug 12, 2023
Aug 09, 2023
We enjoyed our first day, but our second day there was a large group of people (15-20) in the pool for 4+ hours that seemed to be from concrete. They had concrete high school shirts on and were loud/crazy and drove all the families out of the pool for the second half of the day. My kids were disappointed. We were also dealing with the water pump issue that day. We decided to leave early.
Aug 08, 2023
Had a great time and the campground facilities were great.
Aug 08, 2023
Fun for everyone! We enjoyed our stay!
Aug 07, 2023
Tent sites are small and close together. Pool is too cold for my liking. Kamp k9 is a nice little feature but could use some clean up. Overall we did enjoy our stay.
Aug 07, 2023
Overall the stay at the KOA is mediocre. Swimming pool and the jumping pillow for kids were awesome. Pool water was little salty.Other issue was the unclean bathrooms near swimming pool and lots of bugs and no bug repellents. Other toilets away from pool was neat and cleaned on time.
Aug 06, 2023
Restrooms are filthy, there are no family restrooms. Pool and playground is unmonitored and people do not maintain etiquette. Just one utensil washing station No quiet hours enforced.
Aug 05, 2023
Nice campground, unfortunately on arrival we were told that there was no water, apparently the pump broke. No shower after a week of boondocking. Stayed one night and then moved on to another campground where we could shower and spend a couple of days relaxing.
Aug 04, 2023
No water. We left a day early. I’m sure it’s a great campground and I appreciate the difficulty you were facing but no water is a big deal.
Aug 04, 2023
A beautiful, amazing spot, enjoyed both by an adult, and my 9 1/2 year old daughter: "There are at least 11 great things to do here" And the best review of all: "Dad can we stay another night?" Great pool, spotless grounds, "bouncy pillow", a rocking couch under the branches of a weeping willow tree, the funnest game ever, inside a wooden octagon, loved seeing the dogs area, and staff rocked!
Aug 02, 2023
We stayed for 2 nights on July 30th/31st. We were on motorcycles in a tent. The tent site was ok but a little walk to the bathroom. While there were other sites available, we were next to a family of 8 or 9. Not sure why we had to be right next to them instead of having some sites between us. The pool/ hot tub and shower facilities we well maintained and nice to have.
Aug 02, 2023
The facilities and amenities are great! I just wish we knew how windy it would be. We were in the primitive tent sites in the open field. We were not prepared. Our tent was flying away as we tried to set it up and stake it down. Even when staked down, it ripped in a few places.We also attempted to set up a pop up canopy for shade with no luck due to wind. This could be shared in the description.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We will add a better description in the PT description field to reflect no shade. Hopefully it wont be as windy during your next stay.
Jul 31, 2023
Very noisy after hours. Several sites were overloaded or overbooked. A number of sites had campfires in spite of a county fire ban. However, there are a lot of fun activities for kids.
Jul 31, 2023
Didn’t like road noise from our tent site.
Jul 31, 2023
Nice environment and the amenities are great. The creek is fun and the grounds are very clean. The only complaint we had was a rather large group staying up till 1am drinking alot of alcohol and playing music too loudly. Overall though we really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2023
Dirty bathroom, refuse from previous camper left in my campsite, ugly campsite, loud neighbors and no enforcement of quiet hours. I would like a refund.
Jul 30, 2023
Restrooms were clean upon arrival but status deteriorated over time, no toilet paper on mornings and no soap. Staff attitude towards speed limit was rude. Saturday breakfast was a huge deception: no pancake left by 8:20am, we took what was left of the scrambled eggs, had to almost beg to get juice as none was left and the kids in front of us had a much fuller plate than us who paid full price.
Jul 30, 2023
We had a tree fall at night behind our campsite and scared our kids. The bathrooms were shut down for a period of time and outhouses weren’t conveniently located. Our kids were so scared about the tree falling that we went home early. We also had several branches that fell at our site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As we are in a heavily wooded area, some branches may fall and we understand that fearsome. If ever you feel unsafe in our campground, please let the Ranger know and we can see if there's a more convenient site for your stay. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you
Jul 25, 2023
Jul 24, 2023
Nice showers, nice setting.
Jul 19, 2023
Great staff and facilities were clean. Great place to stay!
Jul 18, 2023
The staff was wonderful. The facility is staring to look tired and need of a refresh. My husband said the men’s room was good. The women’s was dirty. The last stall close to the wall had dirt all along the sides. The drain was very slow and I ended up Standing in water. I had to move the bench to close the door. At 7 pm cleaning sign said 0800. Next morning it was all filled in. Great for kids
Jul 16, 2023
Jul 13, 2023
We arrived Saturday and enjoyed all the planned events however I wish there was breakfast on Sundays and a few events as well.
Jul 12, 2023
It was good. We had a lovely stay. The only thing is that the restrooms werent clean, no toilet paper.....
Jul 11, 2023
It was really nice, but the store wasn't open on Sunday or Monday and we couldn't buy ice or anything else.
Jul 10, 2023
Jul 10, 2023
Nice campground and staff. Clean. Things for kiddos to do
Jul 05, 2023
This is a super nice KOA with some great sites and fun amenities for the kids. The bounce pillow alone is worth the stay for them. Make sure and check what site you are getting, many are wonderfully treed but some are full sun. The camp store is well stocked. Their hours and staffing were super unpredictable. Be prepared for them to be closed randomly all the time and not open or close when said
Jul 05, 2023
Great staff, clean toilets and good amenities for great family time !!!
Jul 03, 2023
I loved buying toys (Written by 5yo)
Jul 02, 2023
We had a great stay! Site was well maintained and the ranger was very polite and helpful.
Jun 24, 2023
This campground is definitely not to KOA standards. It is obvious that it was/is a Thousand Trail affiliate. Pay for WiFi and even with multiple calls to tech support, WiFi goes in and out. Children’s activities, bounce pillow etc are fee based. It was very difficult to level RV on site. Camp store was frequently closed during “open” hours.
Jun 12, 2023
Lovely facility and very well taken care of. We would definitely come back again - thanks to the staff for making us feel welcome - especially Crystal!
Jun 11, 2023
The office was closed. The rec room closed early (before 10 PM). We were assigned to the second furtherest tent sites even though there was no one else tenting. The pool was nice. The ranger was helpful and friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I was hoping to reach out to you regarding your stay. The office is open during regular business hours however, if it was closed, we may have been out in the field assisting. Our system is set to optimize all sites, please let us know next time and we can change your site to a closer one.
Jun 05, 2023
Easy to book, get in, relax, and get out.
May 30, 2023
Thanks to ranger Chris we were able to jumpstart our car in the morning. Very helpful!!
May 22, 2023
Dec 17, 2023
We stayed at this KOA last fall while we explored North Cascades National Park. Nice RV park with great amenities. We upgraded to one of the premium spots and the patio with Adirondack chairs and log bench swing were nice additions.
- Brian C on Google
Oct 27, 2023
Grandy Creek KOA is a great place. ALL Staff works very hard to make everyone stay awesome. I'm not someone who has only been here one time, I've been coming for over 5 years and always happy. It saddens me to see review of people complaining about stuff when I know there doing the best they can. Thank You Grandy Creek Staff. :) The Menzies
- Simon Menzie on Google
Oct 03, 2023
With the imminent close of the 2023 camping season, we had time for one more quick trip before winterizing the Grizz for year. Previously, we had made reservations for the Grandy Creek KOA, but we were forced to cancel due to extenuating circumstances. However, we remade our reservations for the campground, and were not disappointed. Experience the beauty of nature nestled at the foot of Mount Baker, with convenient access to North Cascades National Park, Baker Lake, and the serene Grandy Creek flowing by the campground's edge. Embark on a day adventure to Bellingham, the San Juan Islands, or British Columbia and explore the stunning Northwest at your leisure. Getting to the campground is really easy if you can follow directions. But use caution if you are using Google Maps. Using Google Maps will send you up Baker Lake Road, and there are limited areas up there to turn around. From Interstate 5, head east on highway 20 for about 23 miles. Take a left on Russell Road (just past Baker Lake Road), and head straight toward the mountain. After approximately 3/4 of a mile, you'll find the campground on the left, with a giant yellow KOA sign. Check-in is painless. After turning left off Russell Road, you'll be greeted by a two-lane entry. Take the left lane to go to the “guard shack” and get checked in, with the right lane being secure entry for guests who have already checked in. The nice lady at the guard shack took our names, and gave us the map and other documentation for the campground, as well as answering the few questions we had about the place. We opted for a premium pull through, and navigating to the site was fairly easy, even though some of the interior roads are a bit narrow. For example, I would have liked a wider road where we could swing wider to pull into our spot. The site we stayed in had a beautiful old pine tree next to it that required some careful maneuvering to dodge both the tree and the cement patio (with fire pit, chairs, etc). We ended up disconnected the toad in the middle of the road, as well as moving some of the furniture, to make the needed wide turn in to the spot. Once we were in the spot, all was right and good with the world. The gravel spaces are mostly level, and minimal work was needed by our levelling jacks to get the Grizz solidly planted. Utility connections were a breeze. The power connection was a clean 50 amps as reported by my tester and the Hughes Power Watchdog that we use for the connectivity. We noticed no brownouts or other drops during our stay. This being the weekend after Labor Day, the park was approximately a little over half full, so that may have contributed to the power cleanliness. The sewer connection looked to have been recently updated, sporting a PVC screw-on connection for our Camco right angle adapter. If you don't know, this gives you a solid connection when dumping, without the need to put a rock or have someone stand on the connection to prevent spillage. No poonamis. Water pressure was good, and with the pressure regulator that we always use, we had a steady 40psi of clean water.
- Derek Wirch on Google