Charlottesville KOA

Open March 15 - November 12

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Reserve: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

Info: 434-296-9881

Email

3825 Red Hill RD

Charlottesville, VA 22903

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Tipi

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2017
Great small KOA about 10 miles south of Charlottesville, VA. We stayed Sunday through Tuesday, so there were not a lot of people, which was great! Wi-Fi capacity is drastically reduced with more people. Overall, the campground seemed nice and clean. It is small, which is OK.
Aug 03, 2017
Very peaceful, we'll kept
Aug 03, 2017
Needs to level the spaces some
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Sites are to small. Pond is overgrown
Aug 02, 2017
Did not have cell service is the only complaint. I felt like we were in the twight zone. Had to call 911 from a pay phone. Not good when your sick.
Aug 02, 2017
We stay at this campground multiple times a year and recommend it to everyone we know who's looking to camp in the area. Fantastic and accommodating owners and employees. Great location spring, summer, fall. Only wish they were open at least until end of November to accommodate a Thanksgiving camp out weekend.
Aug 01, 2017
had a good time lil leaving employee told me i was holding up the drive way when i was only stoped 2 min to make sure i was good for my trip home safety is good
Aug 01, 2017
Campground needs a lot of work. Very overgrown on campsites and at the pool.
Aug 01, 2017
very nice campground, clean and quiet. A little bit off the beaten path, but close to all the tourist sites.
Jul 31, 2017
nice area and good amenities
Jul 31, 2017
Great little site. Quiet and not overwhelming in size.
Jul 31, 2017
Wonderful campground! We will definitely be back!
Jul 31, 2017
Dane was very helpful and nice. The women's bathroom was clean but needs air conditioning. It was extremely uncomfortable in there with all hot showers being taken and hair blow dryers being used and the amount of people in there all at the same time.
Jul 31, 2017
The camp ground is run down. Over grown trees scratch the rv, over grown trail, pond and pool area. Nice staff but!!!
Jul 31, 2017
The staff were very friendly. The bathrooms very clean. The grounds were clean . The tent electric campsites were packed in together . Luckily it rained so people didn't show. The reason for the 5 is how tight and close the spaces were
Jul 30, 2017
Three needs: 1. Change machine in game room needs to include 1, 5, 10's. 2. Office should be open until 8p. 3. Women's bathroom by office not bad w/o ac; but put a circulating fan in. And adjust the motion sensor for the light to turn on when the door opens. Many times I was standing in darkness at night with the door closing. Looking forward to returning very clean. Thanks!
Jul 30, 2017
This is a good place if you are looking to get away from it it all for a weekend. Staff is friendly, sites, especially back in ones that face the woods are spacious. If you want to stay connected to the outside world, this is not where you want to be. It is in a data dead zone, and Wifi is completely unreliable. If you are able to connect, it is incredibly slow and kicks you off constantly.
Jul 30, 2017
We stay at this KOA about 2-3 times a year. The owners are super friendly and accommodating. The store, restrooms, dog run, and pool are always kept very nice.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Great place, staff was very professional.
Jul 28, 2017
Cabin was clean and in good order. The bed was already made when we arrived. The only thing that could be improved is that the top sheet and blanket were not full size. They were twin size and had been put on side way. Other than that all was perfect.
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay was short but very enjoyable. Park is extremely convenient for visiting Montecello.
Jul 27, 2017
It was a nice stay for the weekend. Office people are nice and helpful.
Jul 27, 2017
A swimming pool is needed.
Jul 27, 2017
My grandchildren and I enjoyed our stay and plan to go again soon. I especially liked Dane-he always had a warm friendly smile and went out of his way to make are stay enjoyable.
Jul 26, 2017
Stayed in your new teepee. Perfect site. Bathrooms VERY CLEAN. POOL excellent Had a very relaxing. Campground seems to draw quiet, respectful and very friendly people. Thank you
Jul 26, 2017
Jay who works there was very nice and helpful
Jul 25, 2017
The sites were smaller than we had hoped for and poison ivy was abound, to include right next to walking paths. Wi-fi was not reliable at all. Those would be the reasons I would not return. Other than that, it was a nice campground.
Jul 25, 2017
This was a family/couples friendly KOA with great access to Charlottesville which was 10 minutes away. The people were friendly and th staff went over and above to help is with a camper issue!! There is an oversized pool, but it is old. The bathrooms were very clean but old. There are multiple uses here, fullhookup pull throughs, tenting, teepee, cabins of all sizes. This is a great place!
Jul 25, 2017
It was quiet and a nice size. The staff was very friendly.
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
This was a very pleasant overnight stay for us on our trip. The only downside was s-lo-w to no wifi.
Jul 24, 2017
Wow. The staff st this KOA went above and beyond for my family when our travel trailer was having electrical problems. Everyone was super helpful and accomodeling. They even stored some of our perishables in their refrigerator. Very nice Camping with pretty spacious sites for a KOA. We loved it.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Great, small campground with good amenities.
Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful two-day stay in Charlottesville! We got to see Appomattox and Monticello. The KOA was very convenient for us and the facilities were excellent. We met a lovely family while doing laundry. My wife and I were traveling together, the other couple was traveling with 3 kids and a dog. That mom was amazingly organized!!
Jul 24, 2017
Clean grounds but nature trail and pond left little to be desired. Close to all the area attractions.
Jul 24, 2017
The only thing I have a problem with is the fact that the pool is painted olive green. It makes the water look nasty and I'm not sure how you can see a problem with the water.
Jul 24, 2017
I have been to a number of KOA campgrounds. For tent camping with another family, the site we had was perfect for both convenience and privacy and range of play for our collective there boys. They had the opportunity to do together ball, play in the playground, swim every day, and go on the nature hike. As adults, we had the opportunity to hang out without feeling either crowded or neglectful.
Jul 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the amenities offered, especially the pool. The hot weather while we were there made the pool a must! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Thanks for a great experience!
Jul 24, 2017
The tent sites were extremely small and close together, they make state parks seem spacious. The entire campground was very poorly lit, I walked right by my tent. The bathrooms are old and there aren't enough of them for the amount of camp sites they have crammed in. My family and I have enjoyed many nights at several KOAs, they generally are a cut above most campgrounds, this one wasn't.
Jul 24, 2017
Sites were conveniently located to bathrooms, however they were not very clean. One shower had feces in it which made the whole bath house smell. The pool was over chlorinated and very dated. It had not been cleaned in many days, as the steps had build up and were slippery from that film. Overall we were only there one night so it was doable but I would not have stayed much longer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The second someone informed us that someone had pooped in the shower I cleaned it up. By the size of it, it looked like a child probably had an accident while they were bathing and either didn't tell their parent or they told their parent and their parent was too inconsiderate to clean it up or inform us about it. I'm so sorry you had to witness other people's indecency during your stay with us.
Jul 23, 2017
It would be nice to have a few more trash cans around the campground.
Jul 23, 2017
Staff seems to hate their job. Campsites pretty much in a gravel parking lot. Will not be returning.
Jul 22, 2017
Always wishing the bathrooms would be newer, cleaner, better maintained. That's what keeps us away from camping. The bathrooms here were similar to other KOA's, not great.
Jul 22, 2017
Very pleasant stay and very close to everything we wanted to see.
Jul 22, 2017
This is a great park. Clean and nice with a great staff!
Jul 22, 2017
The proximity of this KOA to Monticello and Charlottesville is great. Poor cellular coverage made it difficult to connect to internet. Restrooms/showers and laundry facilities are clean and maintained. We would stay here again.
Jul 21, 2017
beautiful campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals