Tent Reviews

Nov 24, 2020
Great location. Very quiet, and great star viewing.
Nov 21, 2020
It was great except we went during off season so convenient restrooms were being remodeled so had to walk to get to bathroom
Nov 15, 2020
The staff was super friendly. First time stay at a KOA, Will definitely stay again
Nov 10, 2020
The men’s bathroom near office was under construction and it was obvious men were using the women’s restroom because they would leave the toilet seat up. The park was pretty run down.
Oct 27, 2020
We enjoyed our stay and amenities were clean. Unfortunately the tent camp site was a far walk from the restrooms and the men's restroom facilities were limited. It wasn't a big problem but mostly inconvenient. Also the site is right off of the highway so it was pretty noisy. Also, not too many trees so it feels like there was not much privacy.
Oct 26, 2020
Everything was great. Thanks !!!!!
Oct 22, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Carlsbad KOA is misleading as it's nearly 40 miles from the Carlsbad caves. The men's bathroom was under construction and required a 400 yard walk to use the rest rooms. I've stayed at many KOA's and this was the worst one of the bunch. Especially because it leads one to believe based on it's name that its actually close to the caves. It should be named the Akota KOA as this city is closer
Oct 08, 2020
This site needs a lot of help, only 3 working bathrooms for entire populace, everything worn out and needing replacement. Restrooms not super clean and even the paper towels were empty. Too far from town and even further from the Caverns! Positive points are wildlife we saw and friendly staff and patrons.
Oct 02, 2020
Ratings would be good were it not for the fact that the restrooms were closed for remodeling and the only available bathrooms were 3 ‘camping’ bathrooms, which were continually and completely disgustingly dirty during our 3 night stay. They were so dirty that we opted to not shower during that time. Toilets had poop inside and out, showers had hair, sinks were visibly dirty, paper towels empty
Oct 01, 2020
Staff was friendly. The bathrooms closest to the tent village were closed so we had to walk far or drive to the bathrooms. Another thing is that the tent village is infested with flies as soon as the sun comes up, it was in bearable.
Sep 25, 2020
Sep 21, 2020
I would have given it a 10, but the internet is bad.
Sep 15, 2020
we met a really nice landscaper named Doc who chatted with us and gave us helpful suggestions :) the camp was really nice and we loved the facilities would definitely recommend!
Sep 09, 2020
I was a little miffed at getting there at 8:30pm and being out next to the only other person camping. There were 20+ open spots and we were in these guys’ laps. We figured we would stay, but then all of the roaches changed our mind. Hundreds of roaches all over camp 7. We moved two spots over and waited for roaches to cover our tent again but they did not.
Sep 08, 2020
Very clean, well kept, a lot of amenities available! Easy check-in & check out!
Sep 03, 2020
Really appreciate the late check-in option. Great facilities and well-kept
Aug 23, 2020
Tent camped in the covered area. It was great to have power and water on our site with shade. I was able to set my hammock up between the pillars. Showers (hot)/ bathrooms and laundry facilities were clean. Liked the little store, they do sell ice if you need any. Had a great stay!!
Aug 05, 2020
Tidy, charming and friendly with great bathrooms. We have rented here a couple times and like the big grassy sites.
Aug 03, 2020
The tent "grass" area had no grass at all. Pictures online show to be grassy but that's not the case. We were unhappy with the upkeep of that particular area.
Jul 06, 2020
Tent camping for 2 nights. Sites have plenty of room and a small fence on which to hang our drape camping equipment for airing/drying/ folding Most have a couple of trees for shade. The sites are relatively flat but watch out for small weeds that have stickers which can penetrate your ground cloth and air mattress. Staff is friendly. Some noise in early AM when RVs leave for fishing.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 14, 2020
Signs up everywhere stating "masks required." Not one staff member wore a mask, and they let tourists in the office with masks. Nearly empty campground, they put us closest to the highway. Said they couldn't rent a cabin to us because we came from out of state, but we saw a van from out of state staying in a cabin. AND the flies were terrible!!! The campground was clean, restrooms very clean.
Jun 12, 2020
We like it a lot this place is great and we enjoyed ourselves This was the first time camping here and we had fun Thank you staff for all the hard work you all do .� see you all next time .
May 29, 2020
The bathroom was really clean! Thank you!
May 26, 2020
great place to stay!
May 26, 2020
We had a great experience at KOA camping site. It’s our first time staying at the camp site and we will definitely be coming back.
May 04, 2020
Those moths were attacking with every sound!
Apr 17, 2020
Wonderful people and very clean restrooms
Apr 12, 2020
Extremely clean. A little expensive nightly, but you get what you pay for.
Apr 07, 2020
Nice stay! It would’ve been nice to been able to purchase some firewood from the KOA but I understand why there wasn’t any given the current circumstances of covid 19.
Mar 23, 2020
Staff respectful and kind. Areas clean and with sufficient space for the family to play with kids. Restrooms are always Clean. We loved it will come back soon.
Mar 21, 2020
Very nice and unexpected.
Mar 18, 2020
We tent camped at a KOA for the first time. Enjoyed it but only complaint was that the tent area needed to be mowed or weed whacked. Other than that enjoyed our stay.
Mar 13, 2020
We camp a lot, we stay at KOA often. Carlsbad KOA was one of my top ever. Nice facilities, clean, very friendly. I might suggest a privacy fence along the road side of the campground. There is a lot of oil traffic in the morning.
Mar 10, 2020
A little pricey for tent camping.
Mar 04, 2020
Awkward tent site when having van with only needing electrics - but the gal on site locator buggy persevered and was so helpful getting me settled. Thank you - it all worked out!!
Feb 16, 2020
Stayed at the tent site. Has bathroom, laundry, showers, firepit, picnic table, and a place to connect a hose all on site and since its congested everything is close by! Amazing stay and if you forget firewood dont worry theres a store
Jan 23, 2020
Jan 05, 2020
Could not of asked for anything better.
Jan 05, 2020
Our stay was fine but I thought the price was too high for just tent camping, especially since we did not use any of the other amenities or facilities.
Dec 07, 2019
Owners and staff are absolutely wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. Bathrooms are immaculate! Laundry room very clean. The campgrounds are very well kept.
Nov 08, 2019
Nice place, i really enjoyed the Tent Villiage, it made for a great night to have a plug for my heated blanket. Nice bathrooms and showers.
Oct 29, 2019
Not the most picturesque location but sunsets/night skies make up for it. Staff are friendly and helpful. They leave a large room open 24/7 - tables, lounge chairs, big screen TV, ping pong.Great for tent campers who don’t want to get in their tents when it gets dark early.They also cook food to order in the evenings (not sure if just weekend nights).Super clean bathrooms/showers.Highly recommen
Oct 17, 2019
This KOA is managed well, but it was full of oilfield workers who drove past my campsite over and over again all night long shining headlights into my tent. Not the owners' fault, of course, just thought you should know. We stayed in the tent village - the site was spacious and well-equipped. The people who work on this KOA property do a great job. The hot dinner was delicious. Thank you!
Oct 15, 2019
Wonderful campground. We had a marvelous time.
Oct 15, 2019
Mosquitos are huge and horrible. The grounds are nice and have amenities. We were placed directly next to campers on a 6 ground covered tent area...extra money($45 a night) and all other 4 were empty. Says they are in Carlsbad, but they are not, in the next town north....an hour away from Carlsbad Caverns.
Oct 13, 2019
Nice shower facilities. Camping is good if booked in one of the covered areas with electricity etc. Great if it rains but they do not keep them clean (they are dusty, dirty and muddy.) They are quite pricey also. This Place is way north of Carlsbad and a LONG drive if you want to go into Carlsbad, Carlsbad Caverns or Guadaloupe Mountain National Parks.
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
We arrived after hours . Price was listed on check in board. Found out in am that price was wrong . Employee said” it figures” told another employee they may want to remove the old prices. Retort , well the price was on the envelope. I could not verify what was on the envelope since they had it . In ladies bathroom showers floors needed cleaning.
Jan 19, 2021
Clean campground. Not very close to the Carlsbad caverns but it was close enough. The staff were accommodating and welcoming. We only stayed a night but it was a nice quiet campground to relax for the evening.
- Katie Hackett on Google
Jan 10, 2021
We loved our stay here, we had a patio spot with swing & fire pit. It was clean, level & spacious. They have several amenities here with different ways to enjoy them; cabins, tent & RV spaces. The staff is friendly & will even bring fresh smoked BBQ to your RV upon order. This a great place to stay!
- Dee 113 on Google
Dec 27, 2020
Nice gravel/level pull thru spots. Laundry facilities are spotless and have new commercial machines.
- Melody Fesperman on Google