Tent Reviews

Jan 19, 2022
Easy to find and had everything I needed!
Jan 16, 2022
Jan 07, 2022
Really like how the tent spot was set up with the walls great idea.
Dec 29, 2021
Kids were very happy with the stay, the game (multi purpose) room is a BIG plus.
Dec 04, 2021
Tent site okay; not as cleaned as hoped it to be even at this time of year (November 2021); water pressure was weak; suggest sand or small gravel for tent sites as dirt was not the best.
Nov 29, 2021
All night long you get hit with a horribly strong sulfur smell. It would wake me up from sleeping even. There is also quit a bit of highway noise if you are tent camping. It may not be as bad in an RV or trailer. Bathrooms are a long walk from any of the tent sites.
Nov 25, 2021
Nov 23, 2021
Easy checkin w late arrival-difficult to locate sinzge for T1 so just used unused tent spot. But all good. Thank you.
Nov 20, 2021
Nice place to stay before visiting the park.
Nov 16, 2021
I did not like the location. It was almost one hour to Carlsbad and Roswell. Since it is located in the desert there were cockle burrows everywhere which covered my dog’s fur. The amenities were fine. I stayed in the tent area as I did not need electricity
Nov 13, 2021
Generally appeared well maintained and they repaired the camper's sink promptly when notified that it was broken. The biggest issue is the very loud road noise and the air quality from the nearby oil well gas flares, which did not improve the ambiance. The deluxe camping shelters with electricity were very nice though and made late arrivals easy to manage.
Nov 12, 2021
Tent campers beware. This KOA is very close to an oil refinery and all night our tent smelled so strongly of off gasses that we couldn’t sleep. Some reviewers on Google and the Dyrt mention other issues, just do your due diligence before booking.
Oct 05, 2021
Bathrooms were impeccable! Staff was very pleasant. Nice tent site (covered) Only issue was road noise, unavoidable in that location.
Sep 30, 2021
I was there 3 nights and no internet and pool was closed..those 2 things were the reason I chose that location. I believe I should have been notified that they were not available..I would not have come...the campsite was great except it was not cleaned...I am traveling cross country and had reservations for 5 different KOAs..this is the only 1 I had issues with..great location tho
Sep 29, 2021
Sep 27, 2021
They were great with our Boy Scout Troop and very accommodating for us.
Sep 22, 2021
Sep 15, 2021
We arrived late and had no troubles finishing the office and box with our site info. Map was perfect and all the info was helpful. Site was clean and just great. The grounds are super clean and has lots to do. The giant chess and checkers are awesome!! Bathrooms were spotless and even smelled great. We'll be back soon!
Sep 13, 2021
Beautiful facility. Exceptionally clean. Very helpful, courteous staff. I’ve stayed at many KOA’s and this one stands out from the rest.
Sep 07, 2021
We loved the tent site. Location was excellent and bathrooms were like being in a hotel. First time staying at a KOA but it won’t be our last. Looking forward to staying here again in the future.
Sep 07, 2021
Did same day checkin and the tent site was perfect for our single night away. Thank you for the giant games and places for the kids to play!
Sep 06, 2021
Sep 01, 2021
We asked to switch to a cabin and they said no same day reservations. It says Carlsbad but was about 20 miles outside of town and about 50 miles from the caverns
Aug 31, 2021
That being my husband and I first time ever staying at a KOA we loved it. From the courtesy staff to the very clean restrooms, showers, and pool. The ppl staying there were all so friendly. We definitely plan to go again but this time bring our whole family.
Aug 28, 2021
Besides fire ants + mosquitoes + flies in excess our stay would have been perfection! The camp was beautiful with lots of fun things to do, our personal site included. We certainly expected a level of insects + critters but constantly stepping in a pile of fire ants while being simultaneously swarmed by flies + mosquitoes made us eager to get out of there! You may want to spray!
Aug 26, 2021
Great people. Great site. We enjoyed very much!
Aug 18, 2021
Staff very friendly and informative, campm grounds clean
Aug 11, 2021
Love your grounds!
Aug 10, 2021
This is a very nice KOA. I only gave it four stars because the men's restroom was closed for renovation, which seems odd in the middle of the summer. My husband had to go to another one and would often have to wait while families were using the facility. Our tent site was sufficient and there was a nice room attached to the office if you wanted someplace to sit. Overall, a good KOA to visit.
Aug 10, 2021
Trashy campsite with spider webs and campers on top of each other (at a premium price). Did not meet a single employee that wasn't rude. Horrible experience, would not recommend this place to anyone.
Aug 06, 2021
Positives: Friendly staff with great amenities including 24hr rec room. Negative: Mens restroom is closed. We had to walk across the site to use the restroom and shower. I was charged an early check in fee even though the site was empty. Lots of flies.
Jul 27, 2021
The tent spaces are next to the road where all the traffic goes by, all night long. The restrooms are closed at night.
Jul 27, 2021
Late arrivals being very noisy after quite hours.
Jul 20, 2021
The design of the campsite in tent village was not ideal for air flow though the campsite. We found that because of the solid walls and fence surrounding 3 sides of the site we had stagnant air most of the time. This also attracted massive amounts of bugs and flies. Great idea in theory but I definitely wouldn’t want it again. Super friendly staff and overall nice experience.
Jul 20, 2021
This review has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 19, 2021
A tent camper checked in and setup at 2:00 AM he was POUNDING on stakes setting up a tent for over half an hour! They woke up me and my family, along with who knows how many other guests! I politely advised the man that it was quiet hours, he used profanity and made physical threats! I cannot have my family around this type of people, so packed up my camp at daylight and we left. NEVER AGAIN
Jul 18, 2021
The constant harassment from the campgrounds “security” worker, made the trip unbearable. While I never sped or even drove over the 9.8 limit, he continued to come and be incredibly rude to me in front of my peers, even when I wasn’t even driving a vehicle.
Jul 17, 2021
The hosts were very kind and the game room was a fun respite from our hot tent, but the men’s restroom in the main building was being remodeled and the only other option was halfway across camp.
Jul 15, 2021
Everything was great except for the fact that the tent camping sites were smooshed together and right next to the main building which meant the lights were glaring into our tents all night long and we were woken by the RV traffic throughout the night as they drove past us writhing 15 feet. A little more seclusion would make it worthwhile
Jul 11, 2021
Great facility, only downside was one of the bathrooms was being renovated so there was a shortage of men's facilities
Jul 09, 2021
Nice amenities, and safe place to stay but way over priced for tent camping especially for one night.
Jul 08, 2021
Jul 04, 2021
First of all was not happy to find out the campground was so far from the caverns. But it all worked out well and I liked the campground
Jun 27, 2021
The campground and staff where great. The people who came in at midnight yelling and threating their kids and their dog that tried to bite at my son thru the wooden fence
Jun 20, 2021
My one major reservation with the Carlsbad KOA are the 3 individual combination bath shower units. The problem is that the floors are not properly constructed to drain towards the single central drain. As a result, there are standing puddles of water everywhere making the built in seats designed for changing socks and shoes unusable. There are few dry places on the floors to put things.
Jun 20, 2021
The campground itself is well maintained with nice grassed areas and huge recreation room. But then there’s the tent area. Not the community area, the basic tent area. It needs a lot of love and seems to be forgotten compared to the other areas. Even so, we had large trees which gave nice shade. We also had 2 snakes which the staff promptly removed even though they weren’t poisonous ���
Jun 18, 2021
Everything about this KOA was amazing. The only thing was this weird muddy pile in the middle of our campsite. By the time we left, everyone in our group had accidentally stepped in it at least once. Plus it (or something nearby) really stunk the second night (Tuesday night). Other than that- a great visit. The A/Ced Rec room was such a nice break and the employees were friendly.
Jun 18, 2021
Arrived kinda late so it was nice and quiet. Nice campground and friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2021
Jun 17, 2021
Pretty good campground, one issue was the main men's bathroom was closed during our trip (they were renovating it), so all the dudes had to use the other restrooms and there are only 3 stalls of those, luckily most folks who use this KOA come in RVs so they could use their own toilets. Overall a good spot to tent camp overnight, very hot but to be expected, close to Carlsbad Caverns National Park.
Jan 23, 2022
Great place to stay. Clean and full of activities for all. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Internet is a little in and out. But it is a country setting so...
- Cindy Achatz on Google
Jan 18, 2022
ITS RATED #1 FOR A REASON!
- Sherroda Jackson on Google
Jan 07, 2022
Despite the fact that one of our neighbors decided to bang on who knows what and literally yell and laugh back and forth at each other trying to talk over the sound of their truck exhaust at 04:30 because they wanted to leave early, we found this RV park to be excellent. Sorry, I just had to get that out, we both had such a hard time falling asleep again. Rude. Anyway... The park is very easy to get to, it's well marked and right off of a main road. Though it is far enough off of it that road noise was not a problem. It's bordered on one side by an orchard which I bet is pretty in the spring, summer, and fall, and it is nearby a lake, which can be hard to come by in New Mexico Nice wide flat lanes and sites, some with cute little shade structures, all with picnic tables and fire pits. The sites are nicely spaced apart so you're not right on top of others. There are two fenced in areas for dogs that you can actually use, with a spot to sit and keep an eye on your fuzzies. The staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The communal facilities appeared clean and well maintained. The grounds are about 30 minutes from Carlsbad Caverns, but we liked it so much if we visit again this is where we will stay.
- Sara Hudson on Google