Carlsbad KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jan 23, 2020
Jan 23, 2020
My only real complaint is that I took my dog to the dog exercise area and he got covered with tiny sticky seeds. I’m still pulling them out of him and any blanket he sits on and it’s four days later. I spent over a half hour sitting in the cold trying to get them out of his fur before we came back in the camper. If you’re going to have a designated dog area, get the sticky weeds out!
Jan 21, 2020
Jan 21, 2020
Overall a decent park. Restrooms were clean, spacious, and plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The only negative was the smell coming from a refinery a little to the north. It made us sick, and we had to leave the camp after only one night. Also, the laundry price was absolutely ridiculous, at $2.50 a load to wash and .25 for 5 minutes of dryer time.
Jan 21, 2020
Went to KOA for propane and found out that they have been waiting for an inspection for three weeks and we couldn’t get any. Stayed for the night because it was Sunday and we needed go 20 miles to get gas and nothing was open till Monday. The park is nice with good sites but over priced for the time of year and availability of sites and lack of winter amenities.
Jan 21, 2020
Nice folks, great dinner and delivery � service and nice park.
Jan 20, 2020
The 3 W’s that resulted in lost stars... Water- It has an overwhelming metallic taste. The new filter I used did nothing to reduce it. WiFi- There’s two connection points, D Row and M Row. You can connect to them, but there’s no actual internet. Where’s my package- The owner signed for a package, lost it, and was indignant about it. Don’t mail anything here. We won’t be r
Jan 20, 2020
Great place, but 17 miles from Carlsbad...... not very convenient
Jan 20, 2020
Jan 18, 2020
The sites are spacious and we really liked the layout of the park as a whole. It was far enough off the road so it was very quiet. The hosts were nice and accommodating. Propane was not available, the wifi was non-existent at the sites, and the smell from nearby oil drilling was pretty obnoxious. It's also very windy there. Not sure we would stay again for those reasons.
Jan 17, 2020
The most friendly, clean and modern KOA we have stayed at. Very nice. Will definatly stay here again .
Jan 16, 2020
Excellent bathroom and staff.
Jan 15, 2020
Jan 15, 2020
Bien entretenue avec un bel espace pour chacun des occupants du camping. Beaucoup de services. Merci
Jan 14, 2020
The site was very nice and the staff were very friendly. Restrooms at the clubhouse were very clean. The restrooms by the play area, could have been cleaner. The site accommodated our rig and tow car. We were able to ride our bikes to the bird refuge. The wifi was terrible, making it next to impossible to use.
Jan 13, 2020
Stayed two nights, big sites, we were triple towing and could stay hooked up. No real highway noise but had natural gas smell from the oil fields in the middle of the night nothing the KOA can control. Nicest in the area. Staff very nice.
Jan 13, 2020
The park is nice and clean. Our site was large and level. We had dinner delivered to our door and it was delicious.
Jan 12, 2020
Campground is home to pipeline workers. It is clean, and nice, but you won't be able to go out and enjoy it because of the horrific odor from the oil. No where is this indicated on the website. We had to leave because of the vomiting and headaches it caused us and our kids. No refund given, just "yeah, that can happen". They may not be able to do anything about the odor, but they could warn you.
Jan 12, 2020
An oasis in the middle of the desert. Clean quiet, but WiFi was poor. Staff was friendly.
Jan 11, 2020
We loved our stay, the facilities were so clean and the grounds beautifully kept up...the only disadvantage was the fact that you were literally in a city environment. There are apartments and businesses directly behind your RV/site. And we had no fire pit!! Def conveniently located if you are not into nature and/or more rustic camping and would prefer shopping/restaurants
Jan 09, 2020
Jan 09, 2020
Jan 07, 2020
Showers weren’t the cleanest. The knobs and were yucky. Need to replace. The floors were dirty in showers also. Staff was friendly except one person when we left didn’t even say thanks for staying with us or anything. Barbecue was awesome!
Jan 06, 2020
If you like the sound of trains, this is the place,the neighbors barking dogs was the real perk,, the park is very nice with a great playground for kids, the pool was closed when we were there. White Sands is very close, (15 Miles) which makes for easy to and from for day trips. Space mesuem close as well as three rivers petroglyph site. would stay again
Jan 06, 2020
Super nice place, far enough off the highway that traffic is not heard. The best ribs we have ever had!! I would go there just to eat!
Jan 05, 2020
Could not of asked for anything better.
Jan 05, 2020
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The showers, laundry, and game room were very well quipped. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Nice stay.
Jan 05, 2020
Our stay was fine but I thought the price was too high for just tent camping, especially since we did not use any of the other amenities or facilities.
Jan 03, 2020
Jan 03, 2020
Great place to stay - wish we had been able to stay more than one night! Friendly host, great rec room, and yummy BBQ dinner!
Jan 02, 2020
Such a great site. The hosts were very kind, we were greeted and escorted to our site. The grounds were great facilities were clean. Had a nice family rec room and plenty to do for everyone. Definitely will be back.
Jan 02, 2020
The host was very friendly and helpful. Clean campgrounds with clean bathroom and showers.
Jan 01, 2020
Very nice place. Very friendly folks and easy check in. Woul recommendto a traveler. Thank you
Jan 01, 2020
a nice enough campground, it's just out in the middle of nowhere. 18 miles from town and probably twice that from the caverns
Dec 31, 2019
I was there in the “off season,” so it’s probably a different experience than someone would have during peak season. I stayed in a basic kabin. The walk to the bathrooms was a tad long. We could smell the sewers/septic pretty strongly anytime we were outside which definitely wasn’t pleasant. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. We loved the recreation center although we didn’t get to use
Dec 31, 2019
Facilities and personnel were all great.
Dec 31, 2019
Dec 30, 2019
Very friendly, caring & helpful staff in a quiet and secure haven for this grandma-in-waiting... I felt so safe that slept like I was home! Robbie, Carl, & John to my rescue when propane ran out - these gentlemen were angels in disguise & a blessing! Triple Thumbs Up & Kudos to these wonderful folks who made me a truly happy camper � God 's blessings on y'all!! "NANA"
Dec 30, 2019
Dec 30, 2019
We were so excited to see all the amenities the Carlsbad KOA had to offer. Sadly due to our schedule we couldn't take advantage of all of them. Hopefully next time!!
Dec 30, 2019
Very nice campground, hosts were very friendly. Sites were long and wide, easy in and out. The wind blew the whole time we were there, I think everybody was tired of the wind.
Dec 30, 2019
The mattress was covered with a stained mattress cover. We removed it and put our sleeping bags on top.
Dec 29, 2019
Super clean and nice. Would stay again.
Dec 24, 2019
The cabin was nice and toasty, bathrooms were great and not too far out of the way. Entrance was nicely lit at night since the highway had no lights. Looking forward to staying again!
Dec 24, 2019
Permitted us to bring all of our pets. We were assigned a space very near to the dog park. The park itself has few enough street lights to let us see the night sky. It's a quiet park with friendly personnel.
Dec 22, 2019
Cabins were expensive and far from the bathrooms. No TV or fridge. Most employees seemed indifferent to us, like we were being “tolerated” and an inconvenience. Strong sulfur smell every night takes over the campground. They did let us check in very early, so that was nice and I gave an extra star for that. Probably better for RVs than cabin renters.
Dec 21, 2019
Management and Staff outstanding. BBQ dinner awesome. Great location to attractions. Would stay again.
Dec 19, 2019
Arrived after dark, left early, nice showers and friendly staff. A bit pricey compared to other campgrounds we have stayed at.
Dec 18, 2019
Overnight in a pull through, all was good.
Dec 17, 2019
Jan 15, 2020
Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Large, very nice. Excellent playground for kids. Excellent dog park. Wonderful staff!
- tecno gaming on Google
Jan 08, 2020
Great stop
- joey Sigala on Google
Jan 05, 2020
Pretty close to the caverns. Good pizza.
- John Kilbridge on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.