Campground Reviews

Jan 16, 2022
Jan 16, 2022
Jan 16, 2022
Staff very friendly. Thank you
Jan 14, 2022
Nice and clean!
Jan 13, 2022
We arrived late in the evening and it was way too cold to take showers. The bathrooms should have a heater in them instead of blasting A/C.
Jan 12, 2022
Jan 12, 2022
Very nice staff, always answered our questions. This campground is pretty loud for tent campers. Very close to the airport. Very well maintained grounds and clean facilities.
Jan 12, 2022
Nice place.
Jan 12, 2022
Extremely helpful
Jan 12, 2022
Jan 11, 2022
iT IS A LITTLE REMOTE FROM THE i 40. BUT A NICE PLACE TO STAY
Jan 10, 2022
Jan 10, 2022
Nice park, nice people
Jan 09, 2022
Always a great place to stay for us. Really like that both the bathrooms are open in the winter. You should consider putting small microwaves in the Kabins for heating up meals.
Jan 09, 2022
Second stay here in 3 weeks (traveling back and forth across US). Campground is well-maintained and utilities worked.
Jan 09, 2022
It was very cold (16 degrees) we were thankful for a place to plug in. My complaint with all koa’s is when you are not able to enjoy all of the amenities due to weather I feel like it should be reflected in the price paid ( some sort of discount)
Jan 08, 2022
We stayed one night on our way to Illinois and we found this KOA was easy to access, the staff was friendly and accomodating, they even escorted us to our site. This was the first KOA we stayed at where the cleanout hookup smelled like pine sol! We would definitely recommend a stay at Amarillo.
Jan 08, 2022
A nice park. Not many trees, so not much protection from the ever present blowing winds.
Jan 08, 2022
The restroom we’re clean but very cold no heat temperature was 12° with 17 mph wind not favorable for showering. The dog run was clean and plenty of plastic poop bags. Staff was friendly.
Jan 07, 2022
Grear setup big sites
Jan 06, 2022
Arrived late, after 7pm. Key and instructions were in the pickup box, as usual. Outside temps were in the 20's, but cabin was warm and cozy. No issues or problems. Will be back.
Jan 05, 2022
check in late. Very helpful staff. Very clean. I would stay there again.
Jan 05, 2022
Jan 05, 2022
Jan 05, 2022
Friendly staff, easy check in, and really enjoyed the stay. Thank you!
Jan 04, 2022
The critical issue was water pipes 3 feet above ground and not properly protected in 29 degree weather. Water hydrant and hose both froze.
Jan 03, 2022
Super friendly and super clean. 10/10
Jan 03, 2022
Bathrooms were very clean as well as the cabins.
Jan 03, 2022
Nice clean campground and restrooms
Jan 03, 2022
It was scary. It’s in the middle of nowhere, next to a prison and train tracks. The bathrooms were difficult to lock and felt unsafe. Useless wifi. And the water was frozen (which I guess isn’t there fault) but other KOA’s had working water in cold weather.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

In the 41 years since they built the prison, there have been zero incidents at our park. The spigots froze because it hadnt been above 18 degrees for two days. All building had water. Guests were also warned pre-arrival. The bathrooms are on a keypad lock so not sure why there was a problem.
Jan 02, 2022
Jan 02, 2022
Jan 02, 2022
Jan 02, 2022
Had exactly what we needed for are rv with it being so big it was an amazing stay all except the cold weather that came through the staff on site was very very helpful
Jan 01, 2022
Nice place, great people.
Jan 01, 2022
Dec 31, 2021
Muy bueno.
Dec 30, 2021
Dec 30, 2021
Dec 30, 2021
One of the best kept KOA facilities we stayed at during our trip!
Dec 29, 2021
We had a very nice stay and the people were very friendly. However, we stayed in December and there were not many people there. Even so, the WiFi slowed down and became difficult, causing us to shift to our own WiFi sources. In a more busy time, the WiFi would be unusable. I understand that WiFi is expensive to provide, but it has become a "must have" on a par with electricity and water.
Dec 29, 2021
The KOA Cabin was clean, well maintained, and in close proximity to the communal restrooms. Only issue, legs on the tv were broken, the tv had to carefully be positioned against the wall/window in order to view. Minor inconvenience but also would be an easy fix!
Dec 29, 2021
Great night. Thank you.
Dec 29, 2021
We stayed twice on our trip (too and from), very clean bathrooms and nice set up campground. Very easy and accommodating!
Dec 27, 2021
Very nice and helpful staff. Spaces were nice. Location is somewhat out of the way and near busy rail lines.
Dec 26, 2021
Increased internet bandwidth would be appreciated since we work on the road.
Dec 25, 2021
The campground is not well cared for and needs repairs. The location is very close to a major railroad line that has constant traffic Al night long.
Dec 25, 2021
Dec 24, 2021
Clean park with good location just off the loop. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the 11:00 am checkout time and the warnings posted of 10.00$ fine if late. . I think majority of travelers would prefer 12:00checkout even if it meant 2:00 check in. The train and airport noise were not a problem and pretty minimal actually Definitely recommend this park overall. .
Dec 24, 2021
Had a great time here and friendly staff
Jan 18, 2022
We only stayed one night, but the campground is very well maintained, the bathrooms were VERY clean, and well maintained. Has a nice playground, and there is plenty of room in the campsites. The roads are dirt, and I could see it being dusty on a windy day, but in this part of Texas, dust is just part of the deal, so I'm not faulting the KOA for that. We stay in a lot of KOA's and for a Journey, this one is definitely worth returning to.
- Viking_4Rok on Google
Jan 05, 2022
Great place to stay. Very helpful staff, clean, easy to get to. Very quite at night. a 10 rating.
- Michael Menz on Google
Dec 23, 2021
Very lovely place!
- Lisa Whytock on Google