Ventura Ranch KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 18, 2019
love it there staff is very friendly
Nov 18, 2019
Great weekend expereince. Need cable TV for us to become more frequent visitors.
Nov 18, 2019
The staff was friendly and helpful
Nov 18, 2019
Very clean camp with lots of activities. I wish the store was open for basic supplies, I had not stopped before we arrived. Also the check-in trailer closes early, so buy wood right away if you need it.
Nov 18, 2019
Really beautiful and quiet and peaceful stay with friendly and helpful staff.
Nov 16, 2019
I pulled in after dark and was surprised at how lovely the campground was when the sun came up in the morning. A lovely site, easy to get to from the little town of Santa Paula.
Nov 15, 2019
We were in Alder for three nights - November 10 -12, 2019. We have a teardrop trailer so no self-contained toilet or dish washing facility. We've stayed at several other KOA's in which we always had access to a nearby restroom and sinks and water for dishes. The restrooms for Alder were nearby but were closed for repairs. It was a quarter mile to the restrooms and no dish pit anywhere.
Nov 14, 2019
We really enjoy this spacious campground, their cleanliness. and customer service. We’ve been coming here for years and plan to visit many more. It would be nice to have the store back, zip line, cable, and maybe a heated pool.
Nov 14, 2019
Nov 13, 2019
This is our go-to campground for weekend camping. The location, connection to nature, and family activities keep us coming back. However, it has some drawbacks. An $85 a night site shouldn't take three leveling blocks on one side of the trailer to level out, any basic city park has a better playground, and the jumping pillow seemed half inflated. Overall, a good campground but overpriced.
Nov 13, 2019
The campground was clean however, they do not have cable nor can you use an antenna to receive tv stations. The biggest disappointment was no internet. I understand the fire took out their cell tower, but it would have been nice to know that ahead of time. That info should have been told to us before we arrived. Some people work and need to know so they can make other arrangements.
Nov 13, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Great relaxing area. More importantly the kids had a blast. Unfortunately some of the activities that available there were out of commission due to fires the previous year. Only reason for the 4 stars and not 5 is that not all sites have sewage and it’s a little (barely) tight for rigs 37’ and above. 100% going back for as long as we camp.
Nov 12, 2019
Need more showers near the River Edge camping
Nov 12, 2019
I would not go back. There was a rat in one of our teepees, there was insects in the other teepee. The showers were not all in working order, the jump pillow was half way deflated. There was a huge domestic disturbance and no staff around to control the situation. The worst KOA I have ever been to. In fact I want my money back! I spent 400$ for those horrible conditions. The teepees were awful.
Nov 12, 2019
Rats and insects inside the teepees. Holes in the teepees and spider webs like if nobody ever swept under the furniture. Worst experience I've had at a KOA.
Nov 12, 2019
Great campground with very peaceful setting! Coming back in January.
Nov 11, 2019
Super great campground. I will say I was disappointed with the Bigfoot walk. We stayed before the fires and loved the actual Bigfoot sighting with the clacking rocks in the distance setting the stage. Please bring it back. Too much complicated talking before the walk for little ones.
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
Tent camped with friends who were RV camping. Enjoyed the tent site much better because it was empty, the bathrooms were closer and much more trees. There were a lot of people at the 7pm Big Foot tour which made it difficult to hear the docent. After the tour, we found out there was a later tour which I wish we would have known about. Otherwise, great stay!
Nov 11, 2019
Nov 11, 2019
It was very nice and quiet. The only thing I would recommend is when you are done rebuilding maybe think about offering coffee.
Nov 11, 2019
Campsite 7 was the best- private and a great view overlooking the river bed. Shaded enough to have tables under the tree. Nice climbing trees nearby. Fun at the river, even in November
Nov 11, 2019
Nice restrooms, nice big campsites for tent camping, activities were fun. Zipline was not open, but that would have been fun.
Nov 08, 2019
Would be nice if the gem mining was included and not an extra price
Nov 07, 2019
While we miss the way it used to be before the fire, we hope it will one day return to the same place we love to visit. Spot 24 at Alder is still unsafe and basically non usable except to park. As paid guests we were a little miffed that we were repeatedly harassed by the non permitted film crew to keep our kids quiet.
Nov 07, 2019
Everything was great except the site we had was on a slant. Close to everything we wanted to do and plenary to do in the camp ground as well. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
LOVED the site. Only bad thing was they were filming something and the people filming kept asking our kids to be quiet. Not good. Also not sure if it was the camp host but he was not very friendly. He asked us to turn the fire of shock we did willingly but he was very mean about it. And on our last night he again asked that we turn down the volume when the kids were watching a movie.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
Friendly staff, our cabin was beautiful with a wonderful view of the valley. Activities during the day were perfect for the kids. It all looks so wonderful and the work put in after the Thomas Fire shows! Well done. We will be back soon!
Nov 04, 2019
We had as fabulous time! This is a huge property, sitting in the hills between Santa Paula and Ojai so lot's to see and do. My only negative were the restrooms. They could be taken care of much better. They weren't that clean and the showers have little room to move around in, leaving it difficult to dress after a shower without getting your fresh, clean clothes wet and dirty.
Nov 04, 2019
I gave it 4 out 5 stars because I felt like that could have informed us better on the campfire situation. I called and was told yes we can have a campfire and found out while checking in we couldn’t on Friday. Then all of the sudden Sunday morning we found out we could have Saturday night. A simple email or not on the info board would have cleared up any confusion. Other then that we had a blas
Nov 04, 2019
This is the second time we did the Teepees. Our kids had a fun time.
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin #4. We had a wonderful time but I do think that the tent was a bit overpriced. Adding a coffeepot and a broom to the deluxe tent would be a welcome addition! When booking our cabin the website stated there was a heater, we so we didn't bring our heavy blankets. First night was ok. The second night of our stay the temps did dip down and there was no heater!!
Oct 31, 2019
Amazing recovery for this KOA after the largest and most devastating Thomas fire, my hats off! The staff is very friendly and responsive, great Halloween activities for my girls, they had so much fun! From Captn Jack and the hayride, to the haunted Ocracoke Island which was amazing, we will be back again, especially in October!!
Oct 31, 2019
We love it there! Our only complaint was the noise level. Some campers were having a really loud party until well past 11. It kept our kids up and ruined our ability to enjoy the nighttime sounds. Please enforce the quiet time! It makes a big difference to us.
Oct 30, 2019
The Halloween activities were fantastic!
Oct 30, 2019
Great stay! Given that your campground was affected by the Thomas Fire two years again...it’s a beautiful place. Too bad the power was out the last night. Overall a great time.
Oct 30, 2019
This was our first visit and we were excited for all of the Halloween activities! We had a great time but when it came time for our Hayride that we bought tickets for we couldn’t get on as it was full. We were a group of about 20 (including young kids) and were told the next one would be 20-30 Mins later. We walked to the haunted house as our kids wouldn’t wait. Besides that we had a great ti
Oct 29, 2019
we love getting a group together and coming to the Ventura KOA, the kids have so many activities and the family campfires at night are the best!!! Thank you!
Oct 29, 2019
We love this campground so much! Such a great time every time!
Oct 29, 2019
We stayed in the deluxe cabin w/ it was very clean and equipped with everything you need all we had to bring was food and water. Everyone was so nice, I wanted a cabin further in and they accommodated me with no problem. I absolutely love the October activities they have for the kids, the decorating contest the trick o treating, the hay ride. Lots of fun. We definitely will be returning next year.
Oct 29, 2019
We love visiting. You make it so much fun, especially in October. Thank you!
Oct 29, 2019
The staff was extremely accommodating and answered all my questions in regards to booking. It was my first time at KOA and will definitely be back!
Oct 29, 2019
I had a fantastic time with the grandkids. This is a beautiful spot and the Halloween activities were great. I'm sure I'll be back
Oct 28, 2019
The staff here is absolutely amazing and accommodating. We threw together a last minute wedding and they went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect from set up to clean up. They were amazing and provided excellent service!
Oct 28, 2019
Great fun for the kids and staying in one of their newly refurbished cabins is "glamping" in the highest order. Also - we loved the halloweens actives and Oracoke island was really well designed.
Oct 09, 2019
Very nice.
- SANDRA EVANS on Google
Oct 07, 2019
We had a very nice time. The activities that the campground provided for an October camping experience were fun & well executed. The weather is warm during the day & cool at night. Great for sleeping & very nice for outdoor activities.
- Julie Schoonover on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.