Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email This Campground

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 13, 2017
Places nice and clean, way too many trains
Sep 13, 2017
Great camp ground will stay there again.
Sep 13, 2017
Lot was extremely small. We have dogs and short tie outs for them and we're unable to use the tie out for them at all. We had to park the camper clear at the back of the lot so it wouldn't be right on top of the fire ring. The playground was great, we have an 8year old boy who rated it the "best playground ever". I would only return if we were able to get a premium.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have bigger sites (premium) but where not available during your stay. Our bigger sites always book first so get those reservations made if you would the perfect site. Very nice to hear your family had a blast with us. GM
Sep 12, 2017
RV Sites, Pools and Recreation facilities were wonderful (5 star!). However, restrooms and showers needed more frequent cleaning and retrofitteded with bug deterrent lights (2 star).
Sep 12, 2017
Everyone was so nice and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The cabin I stayed in was extremely comfortable, and the camp was clean, and well taken care of. The pools were warm, and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to the sandusky KOA. Thank you for having me!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
We had a nice time. Cabin was great. Wish we didnt have to hear the trains run all day and night and have those big signs to look at while sitting by the fire.
Sep 11, 2017
We stayed in the delux cabins. They were amazing. Really clean and well equipped and roomy. Would definitely stay in one again and would recommend to anyone.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
We had a great stay! Lots for the kids to do and had everything we needed.
Sep 11, 2017
The park was very clean and the staff very friendly. We had a pull thru full hook up and man do you pack them in tight. I would have been very disappointed had we paid the normal price. We were offered a back in site upon arrival and declined but then find out it was a deluxe back in that was never mentioned. Would have rather had that spot instead.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry that you may have gotten confused, the reason we you were offered a back in was because of the space. We try to gap our pull thurs when we get busy. We thought it was a nice jester to offer a better bigger site for your stay. Sorry if that was not disclosed or explained properly. GM
Sep 10, 2017
Nice campground, level sites.
Sep 08, 2017
This is a very friendly, well-run campground. It has a good vibe and the location is great.
Sep 07, 2017
Overall the stay was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The only issue I saw was that the bathrooms weren't cleaned very often. A dirty diaper laid on the floor by the trashcan for 2 days and there was toilet paper all over the stalls for an entire day. Other than that the place was clean and the rustic cabin we stayed in was very nice. We will definitely be back.
Sep 07, 2017
The lots was to small, the fire ring is to close to other lot, the shower heads are to low, and I was lied to two different times about not having any full hook ups open. When I seen 3 or 4 open all weekend long. That was really disappointed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Being a holiday weekend campers make reservations for 2 days 3 days or even more.If it was a requested site they may have not arrived for a day or 2. I know our grid was filled with no room so unfortunately you were not lied to.the length of your stay may have overlapped a camper coming in a day later or so, the site you were on was open for the duration of your stay. GM
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Everything was nice ...kids had a blast and plenty of space and fun.. only complaint is how loud the train is around there and running all the time
Sep 06, 2017
Train kept waking me up all night
Sep 06, 2017
Nice time.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Our family group of 8 enjoyed our stay and the kids had a great time. My only disappointment was not being able to bring our furry child with us. We boarded our pet at a kennel, but arrived to find several dogs not only at the campground, but running loose.
Sep 06, 2017
The yellow jacket/bees were terrible!!!! My sister had one stuck behind her glasses and was stung in the eye, we had six children across two campsites, 4 of the 6 were stung at minimum 4 times each, it was awful! There were children stung on the playground as well, so we avoided it. We stayed in our camper most of the time, camp was close to Kalahari!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.I(GM)came down and spoke with you,explained we had multiple wasp traps located around the campground,food and drinks left out on the table attract wasps.I even added more wasp traps around your site and even added 2 to your camper to help,after seeing you later I asked how everything was & was told they are working and its better.sorry you feel nothing was done. GM
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was absolutely awesome!!!
Sep 05, 2017
Office staff were wonderful! Very accommodating. Only down side was being too close to the train tracks and neighbors on one side of our cabin who didn't think that the 11 PM "quiet time" rule applied to them!!!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Awesome campground! Sites are spacious and super nice, stamped concrete pads, brick fire pit with a cooking grate built in, table and chairs, and a glider! Highly recommend you camp here, hidden gem for sure!
Sep 05, 2017
It was the busiest time we've stayed there but it was very enjoyable. Staff is always nice.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Very kid friendly, stayed 3 weekends in a row. Just the train goes all night, not your fault though. Thank you
Sep 05, 2017
Please have a worker on site at the bouncing area, too many big kids were ruff housing and the little ones were getting bounced around and or knocked down!!
Sep 05, 2017
Great activities. Staff need to continue to monitor behavior on the jump pad, it gets a little unsafe. Great pools. We will stay again!
Sep 05, 2017
We were able to switch sites to a quieter location without any problems. It was busy, but enjoyable. Only complaint was the times were switched for the activities without notice. My kids were very disappointed that they didn't get to participate in the marshmallow shooters or the movie. It needed to be advertised correctly.
Sep 05, 2017
This campground is very friendly and very well run. Kudos!
Sep 05, 2017
The campground itself is nice lots to do. The lots however i could reach out and touch my neighbor but i can deal with that. Might have wanted to say that every hour of every day there a train is going to come blaring through and honking its horn. Did not get barely any sleep for three days. Very disappointed as this was an extremely expensive campground in comparison to others we've been to.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train that runs off our property. GM
Sep 05, 2017
"Accessible"cabin was not ADA accessible. Could not fit a walker thru the door, no hand rails and entrance ramp was a joke. Woke up at 1 am to park employee directing a camper in and then talking and using a drill to unhook trailer. They should have just told camper to back up truck in pullthru spot and unhook in the morning if they were having issues. Lost 3 hours of sleep b/c of this mess.ð¡ð

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. Unfortunately we do not have "Accessible" ADA Cabins,during your reservation we explained that we had a ramp that we could add but our cabins are not designed for wheelchairs,not sure why your walker did not fit?We do not advertise that we have handicap accessible cabins.GM
Sep 05, 2017
This was our second visit to this KOA. We were not very happy. There were several issues with kids on the jump pad and playground not handled very well, bathrooms were not kept very clean and stocked and the worst part was they had a garbage truck come through at 7:15 am on Monday to empty dumpsters. Also the activities sheet they gave had times which were not followed. Our first stay was better

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We did have a few very large family reunion and they kept my staff very busy that weekend,We have a lot of traffic through our facilities and having a wet campground does bring muddy shoes.Our g staff works hard to keep all 5 bath/shower houses clean everyday.Being its a holiday weekend trash was overflowing,we where not expecting that early. GM
Sep 05, 2017
I have stars at other KOA camp grounds and this is my least favorite by far. No trees in our area, no organization with kids crafts, they closed tye dye 30 minutes early on us, no one watched the bike rental had to hunt people down for that. They even turned off the bounce pillow multiple times

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We had to shut the pillow down to excessive rough housing.We had a few very big family reunions that cased a bit of problems that weekend,the safest thing to do at that point was to shut it down. Tye Dye was from 10am to 12pm very busy and had tons of kids.Rentals are watched but if campers don't return on time we have to find them. GM
Sep 05, 2017
A lot of activities for children- pools, jumping pillow, bikes, fishing, etc. and it is close to Cedar Point. But there was constant noisy train traffic nearby at all hours of the day and night. Also the bathrooms were clean for about a quarter of the day and it was all down hill after that. No special cleaning for a busy holiday weekend. Soap completely out one day, and no paper towels the next

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad stay. Unfortunately we have no control over the train that runs off property so we do apologize for the bad stay.During holiday weekends we have a day crew and night crew who maintain the bathrooms. Unfortunately we can not control the cleanliness of other campers. We try hard to keep our facilities clean, we have a campground with over 400+ sites with 5 bath/shower houses. GM
Sep 05, 2017
Way over priced given the poor quality conditions: the non stop train horns all night, the tight roads inside the campground making it nearly impossible to navigate a large RV (how about one way direction signs to help prevent turning down a road that is impossible to get out of without damaging your rig?!), the unsavory clientele. All of those things made it extremely unpleasant for the cost.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the you had a bad experience. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the trains that run off our property so we do apologize.Red arrows on our map indicate the direction on which way you need to navigate,all of pull thrus are in one section,our map key shows that past the direction arrows are just tent camping which would not have room for RV's.Sorry had trouble reading our map.GM
Sep 04, 2017
we had a lovely time but there is a train that runs all nite and blows its horn even at 2:20am It took us 3 of our 5 days to learn to sleep thru the nite with the use of a fan running in the bedrooms. Take the train out and it is 5 stars
Sep 04, 2017
Everyone was really friendly and the park was the nicest we have ever been to.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Nice park, little shade for pull though sites, site was ok, had to clean debris off of patio area from grass being cut as they just mow grass and don't clean up after.
Sep 04, 2017
The activities during the day were a blast.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals