Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2017
First the location is next to a trailer park and apartments, they didn't look like the best either. The day we got there we witnessed a fight between 2 groups of black people and both were yelling the n word next to the pool full of kids. Security came and told them to stop, I'm sorry but they should have been kicked out of the campground. The first pool was dirty and then some kid threw up in it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience during your stay, there was a altercation involving a group of campers staying with us. Our security addressed the situation and tried to control the language being used. We do have 2 pools to choose from when one is getting heavy used. Sorry about your bad experience. GM
Jul 01, 2017
The campground was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. The problem was that it is located across the street from train tracks and train whistles could be heard 24 hours a day about every 30-45 min. If you are not used to this type of noise it makes it very difficult to get rest at night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience wit us. I do wish we could control the train. Sorry for the train. GM
Jun 30, 2017
it was very pleasant. everyone was nice and everything was clean
Jun 30, 2017
Sites are very tight you have a camper or rv in your patio. Restrooms clean. Staff helpful.
Jun 30, 2017
Very nice KOA with lots of extras.....snack bar, 2 pools, bikes, etc. Cabin & bathrooms very clean.
Jun 30, 2017
AC in cabin made lots of noise, but did not cool. A train goes right through the back of the campground, so it's pretty noisy. The bathroom has 3 toilets and 6 showers, when it should have been the opposite. Cottonwood was everywhere and I never noticed them cleaning anything. The paper towels in bathroom were constantly jammed and had a note that said "don't push button all the way in"

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do not have any control over the train that runs behind our property. Cotton wood is everywhere for a 2 week period and is pretty hard to control when it is flowering from the trees. We try our best to battle what nature gives us. We do have cleaners and grounds working hard to keep our campground clean, sorry you did not see them. GM
Jun 30, 2017
The sites were very small. The site next to me could have roasted marshmallows from their camper window at my fire ring. My waste line was less than 2 foot from the fire ring of the site next to me. One of the long-term sites across from me looked like a junk yard with all the "stuff" in front of the camper. As a child I remember KOA's being much cleaner. This was very disappointing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites available but may have not been available during your stay. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 30, 2017
Very noisy. Put everyone in tent area right on top of each other. On Sunday night a sight was being belligerent with security and they did nothing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Alcohol is always a fun interaction, unfortunately some campers are those people. Our security staff patrol throughout the night. Sorry for the bad experience GM
Jun 29, 2017
Honestly only thing I would like to see done differently is the showers to be in the back of the bathhouse I feel that would offer more privacy and the toilets in the front. Other then that I wish our stay could have been longer
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
The tent area was area what is great You had the place very clean The workers and the other guest were very friendly We were very surprised to find nice hot showers
Jun 29, 2017
staff was friendly and helpful.Pool was not enjoyable, it was murky.
Jun 29, 2017
Campground is dirty, unmaintained, staff is not friendly, permanent residents are rude to overnighters. Such a bad experience we will never stay at a KOA again. Would never recommend this campground to anyone. Constant trains. Our so-called deluxe patio sire was about 25 feet from the road and lights from the neighboring businesses shined in our windows all night. Gross laundry area. YUCK!,

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We take pride in our campground and grounds and have many hard workers working to make it a nice and clean campground. I am sorry for the un maintained grounds you had to camp in during your stay with us. We are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 28, 2017
Great campground! Kids loved it and wife loved it so that means I loved it!
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
That Internet did not work for Wi-Fi tried several times to connect. Had to use my hotspot on my phone for Wi-Fi for five days that I stayed.
Jun 28, 2017
Every thing was great staff are very friendly and helpful. Only thing I did'nt like the rv site was pretty small on top of each other. I would come again
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
It was wonderful
Jun 28, 2017
It was clean and everyone was friendly
Jun 28, 2017
Good. quite when it needed to be.
Jun 28, 2017
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. She had a blast and the cost and location relative to cedar point made it even better. Thanks
Jun 28, 2017
Very nice staff. Great ice cream social.
Jun 28, 2017
Too many rules and for the price of a lodge let's provide towels

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes unfortunately we do not supply towels or extra linen in our lodging. We try to let all our campers know during the reservation process or in our site description on our web page. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 28, 2017
We were very disappointed with the way we were treated at the front entrance with the men who stand at booth. They were both very rude & disrespectful. Telling us there was no bday party inwhich we planned & talked to registration girls weeks prior. They also told me my car would be towed if I did not move it. In which I was in speaking with registration. They screamed in front of customers!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. I have spoken with my staff about the miscommunication. We have people try and use our campground all the time saying they are here for a birthday party. Some of the guest trying to enter attending the pool party had little information other then they where here for a birthday party. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 27, 2017
Overall ok
Jun 27, 2017
Always went camper camping but once my husband passed it is much better for me to cabin camp so this year that's what I did. Got a deluxe cabin and it met all my needs plus more. Will be cabin camping from now on. Thanks KOA for a wonderful week-end with family.
Jun 27, 2017
The cabin was nice
Jun 27, 2017
Beds are really uncomfortable, better beds and this place would be awesome
Jun 27, 2017
We stayed on a Saturday night and a Sunday night. There was very little camp oversight and people were partying until 2 am. There was also a fight between guests and visitors at the swimming pool. The only thing this camp really has going for it is that it is near cedar point.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have bigger tent sites available. Sorry for the bad experience with us.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
We had a Great vacation! The kiddos loved the things to do.The staff was very nice and polite.
Jun 26, 2017
All of the facilities were clean, and the staff were nice and helpful. My group had a really great time. The only downside about the camp was the location. There were loud trains going by all night which made it hard to sleep for some people in my group. I would come again, but would need ear plugs. It might be nice if they offered some free cheap ones at the main office. Overall was great
Jun 26, 2017
We stayed in one of the beautiful one room deluxe cabins. Everything was great. Here's a comment you probably never received: the toilet paper was REALLY GOOD, not cheap stuff !!! :)
Jun 26, 2017
Very clean and everything was well maintained, the staff very helpful and friendly but that train is a pain!
Jun 26, 2017
Had a great time. People working there were friendly.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
5 minutes from Cedar Point. Very friendly staff, who went above and beyond to make sure our first visit was a pleasant one. I think people have overstated the noise levels here. Of course you're going to have people coming and going later in the night with Cedar Point visitors. As for the train, it wasn't that bad. The restrooms and campground were very clean. We will definitely be going back!
Jun 26, 2017
My daughters loved the pools and fishing pond. They were disappointed with the activities as there was a list of cool activities to do 5-8. None of the activities were available. Only one not on the list.
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
Very clean and fairly comfortable. I like the nature trail
Jun 26, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. The Campground roads need some improving / repairs though.
Jun 26, 2017
We have stayed at a number of KOA's throughout our travels since May 8th. This is by far the worst campground to date. At arrival the counter people during check in were not friendly at all. In fact it seemed we were an inconvenience. The sites are way too close to one another, to the point where you can heat the next trailers TV or toilet flushing. Smoke from fires caused us to have to stay in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. We do have bigger sites but because of how busy we get pickings are slim. We do have new staff and check in can be a little intimidating. Sorry for the bad experience.
Jun 26, 2017
Not impressed with this campground. Pull though site we were given was soo tight that our awning was 1 foot from our neighbors slide out. Cable hook up broken. Right next to train tracks. Location great for cedar point, other than that I would never pay 78 a night for this place again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately we are very busy during this time of the season. We do have bigger sites but they where not available during your stay. The cable hook ups are new an located on the back of the electrical box. The wire you are referring to is the old cable line, sorry for the confusion. GM
Jun 26, 2017
Site was too tight. No room or privacy for eating outside or campfire. Tree on site had limbs too low and scratched my unit. Nearby train wailed all night long. Will not go back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites but because of how busy we are during this time of the season those sites where unavailable during your stay. I wish we could control the train, once again sorry for the bad stay. GM
Jun 26, 2017
Our picnic table at our site was all cracked and I had to put a towel over it so that our son won't get poked by the sharp plastic. I found the bathrooms not to be as I would expect from a KOA. The paper towel dispenser didn't work properly-seems like something that could be replaced easily and not for a lot of money. The air dryer also didn't work. However, the shower was good, water was hot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the table. Sometimes in between campers stay things get damaged, we would of brought you a different table. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 26, 2017
Hi , too bad about the train noise all night , and the other campers not respecting quite hours

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, Sorry about the train, I wish we had control over it. We do have security patrolling at night. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 25, 2017
The view in the morning was beautiful.
Jun 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our time at the KOA Bayshore location. We had a few minor issues throughout our stay but nothing that would prevent us from returning. The location was convenient and beautiful. Most of the staff was friendly. Everything was clean and well maintained. Plus the kids LOVED all the extra activities.
Jun 25, 2017
We had a great time. Our girls had the best time ever it was a safe and great environment for our family.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy