Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2017
We had a fun time with our group. If you are looking for a great place to get away from the attractions this is it. If you are looking for ultimate camping in the woods experience look for something else.
Jul 08, 2017
Bathroom dirty, towel holders broke, staff not all pleasant. Not in a good neighborhood
Jul 08, 2017
CABIN CLEAN SITE CLEAN NO PROBLEM WITH STAFF ONLY PROBLEM, AGAIN, WAS "LIMITED" WIFI REALLY IS LIMITED. NO WIFI IN CABIN; HAD TO WALK AWAY FROM CABIN TO GET WIFI (NOT SO GOOD WHEN ITS RAINING)
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Noisy, muddy, dirty. We are traveling around the USA and this is worst KOA campground we have stayed at. Definitely not worth the money we spent.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had really bad weather and a big storm roll through Friday before the big weekend. We tried our best to dry everything out but you know mother nature kept giving us rain all weekend. Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Love this place everyone is so awesome at sandusky KOA keep up the great work one thing wish the snack bar was open early and was open 7day's a week so that I wouldn't have to leave the camp ground to buy snacks and food but sure you all will expand and grow more best camp ground KOA sandusky rock's💪😊 thanks for good Times.
Jul 07, 2017
I was assured my cottage had a bunk bed, for the children. After I was unpacked I checked the rooms and found each had a double bed. Not wanting to repack, we made it work. Our cabin was near, the very busy, train tracks. A freight train would pass every 15-30 mins, day and night. The floor of the cabin was not clean. I purchased a mop and cleaner and scrubbed the floor 3 times to get it c
Jul 07, 2017
Good KOA of you have small kids. Bathrooms were clean but very old and outdated. Nature trail could be a lot longer and more easily identified.
Jul 07, 2017
In comparison to other KOA campgrounds in the state, this one does not measure up too well. The sites are so tight, very muddy after a rain. And they are well aware of the problem. Our neighbor actually had a dock in their "yard" so you didn't have to stand in water. The store is super small. Pros were the bathrooms were clean, and the entire campground is paved (except the sites themselves),

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry your stay with us was not up to your standard.We did recive quite a bt of rain so we did what we could to get our campers out of the water. We had no other available sites because we were booked solid...Sorry we have no control over nature we just try to do our best when it happens.GM
Jul 07, 2017
Overall the campground is okay. We stayed in. The location to Cedar Point is great. The staff was. Dry friendly and it was clean. The pools (2) looked very clean. Only downfall was the size of the sites. They were very small. They did have a nice concrete patio, but they were narrow. The neighbor next to us put out a tent on their concrete pad and it butted right up to our RV. Okay experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Yes we do have a few sites that are close together but we also have a section with bigger spacing that are back ins, unfortunately they were not available during your stay.
Jul 07, 2017
I was very disappointed in this stay. The neighbors beside us took up almost our whole site. They had 2 tents, a camper, and a shelter. We couldn't even park in our spot.The issue for me were the bathrooms. I know bugs are an issue this time of year. But I would have had someone go in before people get up and clean them up. That and the shower knobs are nasty!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our deluxe tent sites are 30+ X 30+ feet, very large for a tent site. Sorry that you had no room, Please notify front desk next time so we can take care of any situation that may occur. As for the bugs, we do our best with multiple shifts cleaning our restrooms. Nature can be very difficult at times, but we do our best. Sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 07, 2017
This campground is extremely tight to get into. We have a 32 ft travel trailer and struggled to get the camper in the spot that was for a 70ft rig.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a difficult time getting set up. We do have bigger sites but because of availability they were not available during the time of your stay. Sorry for the bad time. GM
Jul 07, 2017
It's a large campground, but the spots are VERY close together even though much of the grounds sit empty w/ non electric sites. They also force the fire rings to be 2 ft. from the road. Cars park in the road (hard to pull in/out) & site person limits don't seem enforced. It's a cheap stay for Cedar Point, so they seem to just warehouse folks. It makes for a less than ideal camping experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have sites that are very big and can accommodate all types of camping. We started anchoring our fire rings down because campers kept moving and burning out our grass making it hard to keep grass on sites. The sites are set up for easy parking and set up, it just depends on how the camper parks. Sorry that you had a bad experience with us.GM
Jul 06, 2017
This campground is amazing! There was so much there for the kidos...awesome sites that's why we came back...see you soon
Jul 06, 2017
Decent things for kids to do however super tight spots. Especially if you don't know the people you are beside, it will feel like you're camping with them. The pools were nice. The view of the bay was nice, but could be cleaned up from the tall weeds. Lots of train noise
Jul 06, 2017
My family and I made this trip a family reunion and everyone enjoyed being there, we even had nice and respectful neighbors which made our stay even better
Jul 06, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Grounds are meticulously kept. Clean facilities throughout. We stayed in a deluxe 3 bedroom park model.... beautiful! We would stay again.
Jul 06, 2017
We always enjoy staying here. We've stayed for years. Each time the stay gets better with more things to do at the campground. It's also very convenient when visiting Cedar Point theme park as it is just down the street. We will continue to come back and tell our friends!
Jul 06, 2017
Staff was friendly unit we stayed in was clean in good condition we had a marvelous time thank you will see you again next year
Jul 06, 2017
Pretty location and good size sites. Really far off the interstate. Good if it is your destination for a few days.
Jul 06, 2017
Wonderful
Jul 06, 2017
What a fun trip and nice campground! Everyone was so nice! It's extremely clean and has so much to offer!!! Our kids really enjoyed the park, jump pad and pool and we loved the breakfast choices. The location is super convenient to everything. We will definitely be back!!
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Campground is located very near active railroad system with loud trains. Otherwise- great location.
Jul 05, 2017
We have stayed here for years and love this KOA. So Clean, Super Friendly and fun!
Jul 05, 2017
We enjoyed our stay during the 4th of July weekend. It was our first time at this KOA and thought it was good. People were really nice.
Jul 05, 2017
This was one of the nicest KOA we have stayed at this season. Well done
Jul 05, 2017
Pros - overall well run and maintained. Cons - pretty expensive, proximity to railroad tracks, tight driveways and spaces for large RVs.
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground, lots of activities, super convenient to Cedar Point. The transmission on our vehicle went out during our stay and we had to rent a trailer to get it home. With the transmission not working we couldn't drive it up onto the trailer and 6 or 7 guys from the maintenance and security staff came and helped us push it up onto the trailer and get it secured. Really helpful staff!
Jul 05, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff
Jul 05, 2017
My children and I had a wonderful stay!! The only recommendation from me would be to have tent sites larger. Felt very much on top of all of our neighbors.
Jul 05, 2017
Very nice, safe and clean place to stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean amenities and friendly staff.
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Tons of stuff for the kids to do! A giant bouncy thing with a nice sandy edge. A huge sand pit. two jungle gyms! A water trough to mine for gems when you buy a bag of sand. 2 Pools. This place was great! Thanks!
Jul 05, 2017
the site had no shade and right next to a bathroom people kept cutting threw the middle of our site at all hours, the site was very uneven ad had holes everywhere they said they had a kamp kitchen when i called to make the reservation so no need to pack cooking things when i got tghere its just a fire ring on your site and a snack bar

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us. Some site have shade some have little or none. We do have many types of sites available. Kamp Kitchen is a place where tent campers can wash dishes and clean cooking utensils. Sorry you were under the impression we had a fully stocked kitchen on our =grounds for you to cook in? We do have nice big fire rings with a grill top for your cooking and fire needs. GM
Jul 05, 2017
Not very friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Fun
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Very nice... Thank you!
Jul 04, 2017
Camp sites are too close to one another. Had some fun kid activities: pudding eating contest and chocolate slip and slip. Park was clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you and your family had a good time with us. Yes some of our sites are close but we do have some sites that are bigger and have more room, unfortunately they were not available during your stay. GM
Jul 03, 2017
Wifi signal not strong enough reach the room.
Jul 03, 2017
All night long Trains and train whistles. The sites for large campers were very small(Narrow)...We felt uncomfortable sitting outside as we could hear our neighbors conversations etc...intermittent Internet and Cable outages. The camp ground was taken care of and was quite clean. The trains are horrible.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. We do have bigger sites but they were not available during your stay. I wish we had control over the trains, so we do apologize for the bad experience. GM
Jul 03, 2017
This was not like any state park campgrounds.!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we are not a state park? We are a family owned KOA Campground. All KOA Campgrounds are different and have there own corky way about them. Sorry you had a bad experience at ours. GM
Jul 03, 2017
Place is clean but it is located in a dumpy city on a massive cement slab for miles! Hardly any grass or trees. No camping feel to it. A very small swampy beach. Train tracks on side of park. They run every half hour or so. All night long. Very loud!! Kids park is decent. Pools cloudy and dirty. A ton of campers sandwiched in. A decent place to rest for a night. But not to have a camping expieren

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience with us.We do sit on a nature preserve/wet lands.I do apologize for the trains I wish we had control. GM
Jul 02, 2017
Pleasant, very clean in bathrooms and grounds...satisfying and will definitely return and refer.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals