Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
The campground itself was nice, but the cabin we stayed in (deluxe, style A) needed a good scrubbing. There was quite a bit of dirt around the baseboards. Linens would be nice as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience. I will address the dirt issue with my staff. As for the linen all of our park models have linen supplied, you should of had sets for every room. If you did not we would not of known about it. We are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 29, 2017
Great stay, deluxe cabin (style B3) was well maintained and clean when we arrived. No problem lodging all 6 of us (2 adults, 4 teenagers) very pleased with stay. Desk staff could be friendlier when greeting/answering travellers questions.
Jul 29, 2017
Employees are very friendly. It has a great atmosphere and the scenery is comforting. We stayed in the tenting area with electric. Ground needs to be more level, but we had a great time.
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Every year I stay at bayshore Estates campground. I love how they added the grill tops to the fire rings. They should offer food more then just on the weekends. Can't wait to go back next year.
Jul 29, 2017
Wonderful campground. We had a great time and the staff were extremely helpful.
Jul 28, 2017
I really enjoyed this KOA! I have just started to stay at KOAs so this is only our fourth one but we thought it was really nice. I have quickly learned that pics can make it seem nicer than what you get but this KOA matches up! The grounds were huge but I felt safe and secure. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only part that was a little gross were the bathroom floors but hey it's camping!
Jul 28, 2017
Cabins are very clean and taken care of. Sites are way to close together. Bathrooms are also clean
Jul 28, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
Stay was good but we true to get extra days and stay longer. We were told the park was full but it was less than 1/2 full the entire stay. We don't understand why we could not have stayed longer

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you had a good stay with us.I do understand the concern of the question. During the mid week we start booking up for the weekend starting on Wednesdays we fill up with 3 and 4 day stays, the only thing I can think of was that the extra days you where looking to stay had reservations for the those sites on the day of your check out day. GM
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Nice location. Staff -particularly the women at the front desk were less than friendly or accommodating. Men working around campsites were very friendly
Jul 27, 2017
Was a nice family friendly park..
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Clean shower houses. Flat camp sites.
Jul 27, 2017
Without a doubt this was the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at !! Facilities were wonderful ... very pleasant to walk around in the evening .... Loved the ice cream bar ... Would definitely stay again !!
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
It is convenient for going to Cedar Point but we did not experience a good night sleep - the foam is way too hard to be comfortable and the tall lamp light beside the cabin shines into the window making it too light in the cabin for sleeping - the front door blind does not offer privacy in any way - the air conditioner worked fine but cannot drown out the passing trains !!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do apologize for the bad experience. Unfortunately for the light issue, We are sorry for the location but it is a safety light and it helps illuminate the road way at night so campers can travel safe at night coming and going to the rest rooms and shower houses. Sorry you feel that you had no privacy on the front door blind, we will look into that. Sorry for the trains but we have no control.GM
Jul 26, 2017
only problem never saw the snack bar open during our entire stay. Loved everything else
Jul 26, 2017
Residential campgrounds are not appealing. Sites are too close and the cost too high. Sorry but there is nothing relaxing or fun about a junky campground where your residential campsites look like redneck campsites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you feel so strongly about our seasonal campers.We do have bigger sites in our campground but they may have not been available during the time of your stay. We have a lot to do on grounds, jump-pillow,activities program,pedal cart rentals,volleyball,basketball,ice cream social,weekend breakfast and more.We even had Santa come out for x-mass in July. Sorry you had such a bad experience. GM
Jul 25, 2017
we had an awesome time. so much for our kids to do!!!!!thank you!!!!!!!
Jul 25, 2017
I thank you need a bigger selection of things in your store and your gaurds could be at the gate 100% of the time not 5% of the time.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice KOA with a great nature walk. If you enjoy trains, you'll get to view and hear many of them.
Jul 25, 2017
Family gathering. Peacefull
Jul 25, 2017
Very nice place.
Jul 25, 2017
Absolutely loved the campground and the friendliness of the staff. The only thing I didn't like was the size of the showers in the community bathroom. Just a tad cramped, but manageable. I would definitely come again!
Jul 25, 2017
Traveling across country and mapped out. Called for reservation, but Restaurant closed Sun before we arrived at 4 pm. Trains ran all night long very close to campground. Called to clarify directions and sounded like a kid on phone, who was no help at all. Would not stay again nor recommend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience.Our snack bar only does full menu Fri-Sat 4pmto8pm,Sundays are very big check out days.Unfortunately when we are that slow we don't run the snack bar during the weekday to avoid food waste.Sorry we do not have control over the train.We try to teach our staff the local exits and roads,depending where you were travailing from. GM
Jul 24, 2017
Nice place very close to the cute town of Sandusky and the water access point to Lake Erie. The kids liked Cedar Point park. The staff was very responsive to any small issues we had like a light bulb out in our lodge. Nice place!
Jul 24, 2017
Great local to Cedar Point. Great price too but I should have read the reviews! THE TRAINS! Counted 17 our second night! Tracks rumbling and whistles blowing.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
, great day everyone had fun, polite staff, I only found one laundromat downside cuz it rain, but the kids had a great time, would go back again,
Jul 24, 2017
Camp was nice and clean and extremely friendly staff. Like all the camps, WIFI is extremely slow
Jul 24, 2017
Website did not notify of train proximity to campground. Trains came every 10-30 minutes all night. Terrible, terrible experience. Requested refund, and was denied. I will activately discourage anyone from staying here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train.We do not offer refunds because the train in not on our property and its out of our control. Its part of the surrounding neighborhood and area. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 24, 2017
Nice area restrooms clean laundromat not so much.
Jul 24, 2017
Very friendly and very nice place! We will be back in the future! Thank you The Eldridge's 😊
Jul 23, 2017
Terrific
Jul 23, 2017
Great stay, quiet and clean, when had a problem, someone was sent to clear it up.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Sag Fm sG U
Jul 23, 2017
This campground is too close to train tracks. You will hear trains all night. However This campground is really close to Cedar Point. We stayed in park model and I felt it was a bit pricey.
Jul 23, 2017
Convenient location - not too far from i-80. I think it would be nice to have someone guide campers to their sites. We were in a full hook up that was not very easy to get to. Great pools. The late hours for the pools (9 and 10 p.m.) were very much appreciated.
Jul 23, 2017
Very clean, fun, and friendly staff! I would choose a rustic cabin over any normal hotel room in Sandusky!!
Jul 23, 2017
Packed in like sardines so not much privacy. Needs updating and some good cleaning. Young women staff in the office were very helpful and friendly. Nice people

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. Yes we are making future plans by adding more pull thur and back in deluxe RV sites that are more accommodating. Glad our staff was friendly and helpful. GM
Jul 22, 2017
Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Shower houses were clean for their age. For the most part campground was nice.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Staff was fantastic. The cabin was WAY too small and located right next to the men's bathroom. Poor location. The other visitors and seasonals were very nice. I would go back with a larger cabin more strategically located.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy