Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2017
it was great that we were so close to Cedar Point. And the bathrooms were bright and clean. However, the noise from the very busy railroad tracks kept us from getting any decent sleep. The streetlights were also too bright, keeping our tent from getting dark while we slept. And quiet hours were not enforced very well. Other campers were noisy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train so we are sorry for that. We do have security lights located around the grounds and bath houses for safety reasons so do apologize for that, we have over 450 sites and a very big campground. We always have a few loud campers and security tries hard to address everyone. Sorry for the bad stay. GM
Aug 18, 2017
Enjoy our stay very much
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Our family had a great time. Lots of things for the kids to enjoy. Nice and friendly staff. We were near the seasonal campers who were did a great job to make us feel welcome. One thing I would suggest is for someone to lead you to your sights. We did see a few people struggle with getting into some of the sites and a guide would have been a great help.
Aug 18, 2017
The park is nice, staff is friendly. The sites are extremely tight, we actually had to be moved because original spot they put us in, there was no way we were fitting in( 40 ft Class A) They were very friendly and moved us without hesitation. It is a nice stop over place, if going to cedar point but wouldn't stay longer than a couple of days. The Wifi is non-exsistent and no dog park.
Aug 18, 2017
This is a large campground with many amenities. Unfortunately, the kids' activities that were scheduled didn't happen on one day because they were short staffed. The site was narrow and a bit tight with our slide out - it was right up against the neighbor's patio. Still, the sites were tidy and nicely prepped for new campers. The bathhouse was clean. It is conveniently located to Cedar Point.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Love the entire stay..staff,grounds. Everything was great my family will return
Aug 18, 2017
Campground was clean and staff was helpful. Pull Through site are long and narrow. We felt like we were in a parking lot. Our visit was scheduled for 5 nights we only stayed four and had 3 different neighbors. They supply a nice plastic picnic tables however, our table was broken on top and hazardous The bay view had nice wooden seats to hang out , view was small due to over growth on lake .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us.We do have a bigger section with more space but it was not available during the time you stayed with us. We have campers stay 1 or up to 10 day with us so it is not uncommon for campers to come and go on a site throughout the week.We sorry for the table if it was as bad as you were saying we could of switched you out if the front office was notified. GM
Aug 17, 2017
We stayed in one of the cabins, it was very clean and nice and quiet. We enjoyed the pools most everyday, we really enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back again.
Aug 17, 2017
We really liked the staff, ease of parking our trailer, the location that was close to many points of interest. Trailer spot was roomy but we wish we could have been in a location that had some shade. Otherwise, the campground had lots of amenities for families, even though we were a couple of just 2 people. We will recommend your KOA to family & friends.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
This is a great place to stay. We didn't have enough time to enjoy all the amenities so we will have to come back!
Aug 16, 2017
Everyone was very friendly, we were there 4 yrs. ago and they have updated since, patio pavers and new swimming pool. On the weekends its very busy and i think they should clean the restrooms twice a day instead of once a day. Over all a great experience, we are looking forward to next year.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff who seemed concerned not only with my stay but the place in general. We look forward to visiting again and look to enjoy the upcoming changes and improvements. Our rustic cabin was clean and professionally built and will definitely stay in one at your facility again.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
We stayed one night, pools were clean and it was nice to have an adult pool, over age 14.
Aug 16, 2017
The cabin that I rented was fine, but the matress was way too soft and would sink all the way down to the box spring. I asked the staff to replace it to no avail. There seemed to be a lot of confusion as to if there were a firmer mattress available any where on the property. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep due to the mattress and the nearby freight train noise that seemed endless.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. Unfortunately we do not offer different mattresses.The confusion was the question, we do apologize but the Deluxe KOA 1 Room Kabin you stayed in has very nice amenities, along with a nice comfy queen size bed. We do have many different campers stay with us and unfortunately everyone has different comfort levels. Once again sorry you had a bad stay. GM
Aug 15, 2017
The cabin and amenities were perfect for our needs, but there are heavily used train tracks 200ft from the site that caused a ton of noise all week. The customer service experience was outstanding and they exceeded our expectations in friendliness and trying to accommodate our needs. We would go again, but request a different cabin area away from the the tracks for a better experience.
Aug 15, 2017
The stay was very enjoyable. Love the location. Was not thrilled with the campsite I chose; will choose one near the park trailers next time.
Aug 15, 2017
We liked the campground but the campsite behind were loud and drinking alcohol late at night. We called several times. We feel that there was more that could have been done with that situation. The 2nd night they left and we were able to sleep
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
11 others and I went camping for one night at this campground for a Cedar Point trip. When requesting two campsites online, I could not figure out how to ensure that we could get two campsites next to each other, so I gave them a call. The customer service at this campsite is wonderful! They allowed me to get two sites next to each other, which worked great for the large size of our group!
Aug 15, 2017
So clean and the staff was lovely!
Aug 15, 2017
Campground, drive-way, restrooms and showers were so good, clean and comfortable. Not even a single negative aspect did I come across during my stay.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground for kids, so much to do. Brought my nieces and nephew for the weekend to spend some time with them before school starts, they loved it! The staff were all great and really friendly, thank you for the memories!
Aug 15, 2017
Great place to stay for our cedar point trip and very affordable!
Aug 15, 2017
They could not get wifi to work, cable tv wire had been cut, spaces are really cramped.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the WIFI problem, we are looking into what the issue was. The cable line was not cut, that was the old line, the new line is on the back of the electrical box, We have the location of the cable box on the site map. We are adding new sites that have more space at the end of the season. Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Aug 15, 2017
The gentlemen at the gate were very friendly and nice. The girl at check-in wanted to be anywhere but there. Our lot, 103, was so small that it couldn't be enjoyable. The next lots dump was literally outside our door and the small lot was so unlevel that I had to use leveling blocks on our chairs. Trains blowing their horns and some kind of truck pulling competition sounded like we were there. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us. We do have bigger sites but they may have not been available during your stay.We unfortunately do not have any control over the train so we do apologize for that. Also our town had our annual fair, rodeo and tractor pull that weekend. Once again we are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Aug 15, 2017
Friendly staff, well maintained and clean. Nice pools and restrooms. Cabins and campers were way too close to each other. Park model was very small considering the price. Quiet time was not enforced. Even after we called security, our neighbors kept us up most of the night. This was the most disappointing part of our stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do apologize for the bad experience. The cabin you had is in a tight location on the corner.We plan on moving those to give a better camping experience. I will address the concerns about quite hours with my security. GM
Aug 15, 2017
Extremely disappointed. This campground didn't meet the standards of a KOA. Really narrow pads on extremely narrow lots. Very little privacy. The neighbors were loud when they came back to their site at midnight. Don't even get me started on the trains that rolled through. There were more than one per hour (I lost count at 14), each blowing its whistle about a half dozen times. We barely slept.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have a bigger section with more space but they may have not been available during your stay. Cedar Point does not close till late so we do get a few campers returning. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the trains so we do apologize for the bad experience. GM
Aug 14, 2017
Should update camp site map, as site 74 has changed since 2017 (it's smaller). They now use part of this site for golf cart parking by the pool.
Aug 14, 2017
We have been to this campground three times, twice this year and are coming back in October. We enjoy the campground itself as it's clean, family friendly, has helpful staff and a good atmosphere. We also enjoy the close proximity to Cedar Point which is a big plus for pass holders like our family.
Aug 14, 2017
This is our third time at this campground. Even though it was crowded due to people visiting the amusement park, everything is always clean, to include the showers and restrooms. The areas around your campers are cement, therefore no dirt. I like this.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Full service sites need work on asphalt and are a little tight for a unit as big as ours (41ft)
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
This is the second time this summer I have stayed here and both times have been great. The cabins have been clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and check in and out easy. The location near Cedar Point is great. We will be back twice more this season and am looking forward to both times.
Aug 14, 2017
Amazon
Aug 14, 2017
Very curteous staff. Very convenient location, and the park was clean and maintained. Nice place, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 14, 2017
Nice campgrounds, more shade on some of the sites would be nice. A lot of activities for kids to do.
Aug 14, 2017
The campground is super clean and well patrolled. The playground and the pools were in great shape too. The only downside is the proximity to the train which seemed to be running all the night during the night. So, it may be optimal for one night but not so for longer stay. The cabins were right by the train too. So take a look at the camp map before you book your stay.
Aug 14, 2017
Staff was fantastic! And the kids play area and crafts were very good. The only thing I wished is that my site had been shaded and a little wider (105). Other than that we had a nice stay, actually stayed one extra night.
Aug 14, 2017
it was good
Aug 14, 2017
Great place to stay for Cedar Point and I am sure for other reasons as well! Stayed in the cabins, very clean (better than hotels) and comfortable!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy