Raton KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 13, 2019
Oct 13, 2019
Very nice people. I would stay here just for the owners and staff. The setting is beautiful. Lots to do, Sugarite Canyon State Park is very interesting. The only state park with the remnants of a coal camp/coal mining town in New Mexico.
Oct 11, 2019
friendly staff, filthy dog park, sites so close together we heard our neighbors conversation from inside! Scared to death in the morning while packing up tp leave, some man in a long term spot yelling and swearing, very threatening, kids and dogs outside in the yard listening to it! I was ready to call 911. I stopped at the office to tell them, no surprise there!
Oct 10, 2019
Friendly, good basic services
Oct 10, 2019
Nice grounds and facilities, staff was very helpful. Thanks!!
Oct 10, 2019
Very nice campground and we would stay there again. Rates good and staff and facility great.
Oct 10, 2019
Quiet. A few full time residents. Facilities a little dated and WIFI non-existent (we gave up trying). Folks were pleasant and helpful. But you know that when they give you the WIFI code and a help phone number that will be an uphill effort.
Oct 10, 2019
We just needed an easy in and out for one night and this place was very accommodating. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Oct 09, 2019
Sorry to say it's pretty run down and very noisy and I didn't feel totally secure there.
Oct 09, 2019
We have stayed here before and were in a group of four trailers, all had good sites. This time the campground was not that busy and we got a site that was not a usual KOA standard. The wifi did not work.
Oct 08, 2019
We loved our little cabin. It was just right. We enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. I liked that ithe camp was on the edge of town.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Easy and convenient access, quiet location. We just stayed one night as we were enroute to Albuquerque.
Oct 07, 2019
KOA has been one of our destination spots when headed to TEXAS or back to MONTANA. Grant has always been gracious and this time was no exception. On the morning we went to leave, we discovered a cracked rim on one of the trailer tires. Grant gave us the name of a tire repair service and was gracious enough to hold our spot until we found out if the repairs could be done for us to travel that day
Oct 07, 2019
Staff was very nice and helpful. Grounds were clean, well kept and quiet. Would definitely recommend
Oct 06, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Wonderful staff! Quiet place. Could use additional gravel to cut down on dust with high winds. Sites were long.
Oct 05, 2019
Nice location
Oct 05, 2019
A small, but nice, quiet park.
Oct 05, 2019
Very good - nice campground !
Oct 04, 2019
We like to stay at this park when passing through Raton. We had a problem with our MH step, and the staff were very helpful in making sure we and our dogs could get in and out of our MH safely.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Two night stay as we were passing through. Easy access and a friendly greeting. We were never able to sign onto the WiFi, but everything else was good. If we are passing through the area, we’ll stay again.
Oct 03, 2019
No tp in the men's room. Bummer. Cable TV was very good. Good place to stay overnight.
Oct 03, 2019
People were really nice and lots were clean, laundry was clean
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Very good quiet campground
Oct 02, 2019
One nite stay on way to AZ. Nice continental breakfast served. Very friendly staff and clean sites Nancy
Oct 01, 2019
Simple easy place to stay. Laundry worked fine. Office helped us find day trips so we extended to be able to do them all. Scenic area where you can see mountains, mesas, canyons, mule deer, turkeys, and lots of pronghorns. The highway of legends scenic byway now has an app that tells you about the 20ish areas you pass through which really made the drive (get info at Trinidad visitors center)
Oct 01, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Bathrooms outdated.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Very quiet and easy to get to.
Sep 29, 2019
Wonderful location! Perfect place to leave our camper for a few days while we headed to Denver to see family.
Sep 29, 2019
As one would expect the area is dry, many high-end 5th wheels and motorhomes pull in. The owner and staff are amazing, helpful and always working on keeping the grounds in good condition. I, definitely, will be back.
Sep 29, 2019
I stop there every year, on my way to & from Colorado, the staff is friendly, the place is nice- & the Hot showers are awesome!!
Sep 28, 2019
Nice RV park but the best part is the friendly people they have there. Stayed there many times and plan on it being many more.
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
Dirty bathrooms no dog bags in pet area , trash cans not emptied. Not very nice as this was our 2nd time to stay here and we won’t probably stay again
Sep 27, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
It was a waypoint. Looks very rundown. Office lady ok. Bathrooms �
Sep 26, 2019
The couple that were camp hosts were very helpful and friendly. However the camp itself needs major work. Many sites (ours included) had no picnic table and no grill while others did (did not relate to hookups or price). The bathrooms were not cleaned once the 3 days we were there. So one stall (ladies) had no toilet paper. Lately we’ve found KOA’s not worth extra money.
Sep 26, 2019
Second time we stayed. Great stop for an overnighted. Super friendly host.
Sep 25, 2019
Park is quiet and although neighbors had little yapping dogs, the stays were okay. However advertising free WiFi is incorrect. We could never connect, in all 3 nights.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
People who are there are very nice and friendly put the park and spots are small and very close together ok for just a one night stop though
Sep 24, 2019
Nice quiet place staff was great
Sep 23, 2019
nice place to stop for the evening, not a destination, could use some clean up. a lot of puncture weed
Sep 23, 2019
it was clean and quite
Sep 23, 2019
Great
Oct 08, 2019
The staff was real nice very helpful. He does a good job running it would come back
- John Greenwood on Google
Oct 04, 2019
Great site when all state park camp sites were taken. Amazing people helped me when I struggled with my giant tent.
- Christopher Thompson on Google
Oct 02, 2019
Great customer service and the site was nice too.
- Rosemary McGlothlin on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.