Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2021
Owner was unwelcoming, we felt like he watched us all the time. The lake was unusable. There was an additional cost for everything. We will not be returning. I my opinion the owner is not worthy of carrying the KOA name.
Oct 13, 2021
Oct 13, 2021
3 day stay had to leave a day early. Sick child. Couldn't use the laundry to wash bedding . They were ready to close. Would not refund our third day. Not impressed. Won't go back!
Oct 12, 2021
Enjoyed our stay at your campground. Our interaction with the staff was friendly. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again if we decide to visit the area.
Oct 11, 2021
Highway noise is pretty loud. Would give it a 9 otherwise.
Oct 04, 2021
Campsites had no rock, was just dirt and a little grass. One guest was very rude, told us our dog was not allowed on the beach area, The beach was covered in poop. 2 guests who stopped by needed to pay a visitor’s fee because they had been there for more than a 1/2 hour. The host was nice and the young man that I talked to that worked there said our guests were fine since there were only 2 of u
Oct 04, 2021
Oct 02, 2021
The owner and staff were terrific! This campground is a great place to stay. We will definitely be back again. Thank you!
Oct 01, 2021
booked 2 nights..the highway noise was horrible, neighbors sewer hose right next to our picnic table area..couldn't cook or sit out..went immediately to cancel 2nd night..Man in office rude and would not accommodate..said could have booked our spot and would not refund 2nd night..there were 2 vacant spots that weekend..we left after first night...horrible experience
Sep 29, 2021
We stayed in an economy cabin, it was clean and suited our one night stay. Walking path around the pond was very nice. People were very nice in the office and camping there. I would stay again.
Sep 28, 2021
A pretty nice campground, but the site was all sand and got into everything.
Sep 28, 2021
Beautiful spot. The trails around the lakes and railroad tracks were easy to hike and I am sure will be beautiful when the leaves change color. Highly recommend.
Sep 26, 2021
Loved location 15 minutes to Muskegon and White Lake. Short staffed like everywhere so one guy was doing everything. Office wasn’t open much due to just one man doing everything. He was very friendly. Restrooms not cleaned or sanitized while we were there. A little road noise but not big problem. Lake is peaceful and beautiful view. All lots are nice and level.
Sep 26, 2021
The owner and staff were friendly. Plenty of shade. Used the 2nd lake to let our Golden enjoy the water. Our 2nd time here. Easy to get to. Close to the downtown area.
Sep 25, 2021
Was hoping for a better campground. Dirt roads, dirt sites, too close together. Bathrooms were clean. Being new to KOA I thought their campgrounds would conform to higher standards.
Sep 25, 2021
Sep 24, 2021
My girlfriend and I ended up staying in Muskegon. It was our first time camping together. Everything was perfect. The great outdoors was beautiful. We had a really good time even though the weather was cloudy and rainy for the whole time we were there. Looking forward to doing it again soon
Sep 21, 2021
Friendly staff. Campground bathrooms need some attention. Clean bathrooms is pretty much a deal breaker for people. Work on that and you will get more campers to return.
Sep 21, 2021
Quite and Friendly
Sep 21, 2021
We have been there several times. Always clean and quiet.
Sep 21, 2021
Host was very pleasant and accommodating. Site needs some serious updating if the goal is to have return traffic. Showers are inadequate and poorly constructed. Shower curtains are cheap, could be changed weekly, current curtains show lack of cleaning and are mildewed on shower side. I would not allow my family members to use the showers.
Sep 21, 2021
Amy who in the office was awesome and very helpful, the cabin was clean and neat
Sep 21, 2021
Nice little KOA. Campsites are nice - nothing fancy, but very comfortable. Campground is really pretty with a pond/lake. Staff are all very nice and knowledgeable.
Sep 20, 2021
This campground has lots to offer. Cabins, a fishing pond, paddle boats, playground and short walking trail around the pond. Camp owner was very friendly. The camp is located next to a 4-lane road, so there is some traffic noise.
Sep 18, 2021
A very nice Journey KOA. Yes there was unavoidable road noise, typical of Journey KOAs. Nice walk path around the on site lake. Camping sites were very nice. The WiFi would bounce you out if you were not actively on line, but very easy to log back in.
Sep 18, 2021
First time ever that we pulled in a KOA and did not stay. Owner very rude, amenities not as advertised, sites very undefined and close together. Drove back 160 miles next day to request "KOA refund guarantee" and pick up our mail/meds that we forgot previous day. Owner shouted "get off my property" and we left. Did refund all but $40, as a charge we didn't agree to for getting mail. Dump - avoid!
Sep 18, 2021
We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our visit. The campground staff was super friendly and attentive. The lots were nice and shady although a bit close together. The only negative was poor WiFi, but as we went to unplug and relax for a few days that wasn’t a deal breaker.�
Sep 17, 2021
Great as always
Sep 16, 2021
We had a very nice staying at KOA Muskegon. My husband and I spent Labor Day holiday + 3 more nights there. The camping ground is beautiful with its lake and a lovely trail we'd hike every morning. The camping site is good for parking and has a lot of trees with enough shades. The staff was really nice and available for us. We brought our dog, he had a lot of fun. We'd definitely come back!
Sep 15, 2021
The campground was extremely quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Very good all around- thank you.
Sep 14, 2021
Stay was great! Wonderful weather and fishing! Women’s bathroom was ok for a camping bathroom, my husband complained about the men’s bathroom being disgusting with feces on toilet seats and tobacco chew spit on the shower walls. Over all we have stayed here several times and other times were cleaner. Staff is always friendly.
Sep 14, 2021
Great time, Very accommodating. Have stayed there about 30+ times. Will return next May for sure.
Sep 14, 2021
Kabins where very nice but not private from other campsites . You can’t have a campfire alone it’s so close to the other campfires . The lake is nasty you can’t swim in it. Needs some up keeping. Bathroom/showers needs some cleaning. I have been to other koa and this one is not my favorite. Will not return.
Sep 14, 2021
Sep 14, 2021
Nice clean campground. Nice campground store. Lovely lake and walking path. Only downside was traffic noise. Staff was pleasant and very helpful!
Sep 12, 2021
Sep 12, 2021
Very nice well kept campground
Sep 11, 2021
We go to Muskegon KOA almost every year and this was the worst year with respect to cleanliness of bathrooms. Sinks did not appear wiped all weekend, shower curtains very dirty, the same pieces of torn papers left by someone on shower floor mats were never picked up during the whole weekend. Our suggestion is that instead of having a person at the entrance way, have that person clean bathrooms.
Sep 08, 2021
The bathrooms were very dirty. For 3 nights stay nobody cleaned toilets or showers. For 10 years of camping I didn't see anything like this.
Sep 08, 2021
There were no slides as promoted , very noisy by the freeway, the bathrooms were filthy the paper towel was never replaced. The " lake" was filthy as well! Definitely wouldn't let my kids swim in it! Just a horrible experience!
Sep 07, 2021
It wasn’t a horrible place like some of the ratings make it out to be and I think I had the least desirable site at the campground. It was actually a decent place with plenty for kids to to. It’s just that there are so many campgrounds around the area that there wasn’t anything special enough to want to come back.
Sep 07, 2021
We had a great time! The campground was clean, our cabin was clean, managment was helpful and friendly, and the extra activities for the kids were much appreciated!! We will definitely be back next year!
Sep 07, 2021
We loved the deluxe cabins, the campground, the playground and bounce mat. The staff were nice and we felt safe. We rented bikes and walked the trails. All this gets 5 stars. What we didnt like so much was the lake for swimming. Lots of goose poop and not much area in water for swimming. It could use some cleanup.
Sep 07, 2021
Restrooms could use an update and more cleaning throughout the day and the roads could use something to keep the dust down. The personal was friendly to us but were rude to our visitors that went to park and walk in to register
Sep 07, 2021
It's a nice campground, but the bathrooms are ATROIOUS! There's a plaque that states the campground won a KOA award in 2010, and going by the state of the shower curtain in the one working shower in the men's room, I'm guessing 2010 was the last time the shower curtain was cleaned. The rest of the bathroom was generally not very clean, either, especially the open ceiling tile.
Sep 07, 2021
Sep 07, 2021
Sep 07, 2021
It was OK. The place needs some updates and TLC
Sep 07, 2021
Unfriendly staff.
Sep 07, 2021
Oct 16, 2021
Nice and quiet, lake was beautiful and calm.
- Brenda Pack on Google
Sep 24, 2021
Friendly people who own and also the workers. Clean and pick up the trash no matter what time it is.
- Al Zemola on Google
Sep 24, 2021
Nice KOA, easy to access from highway and good size twin lakes for kids. The jumping pillow is a nice feature.
- Anthony S on Google