Mount Shasta City KOA Reviews

Come enjoy and relax at our KOA camp.

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 25, 2020
I stayed overnight enroute from Portland to Tucson. This location is beautiful. I have fond memories from childhood of passing through here. I do wish I’d had a spot more conducive to a quick night, could have used a longer site to remain hooked up to my toad for a quick getaway in the morning. I will be more specific in my request on my return trip north in the spring

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you stopped by our campgrounds and enjoyed your memories. If you have a problem on your return trip please come into the office. We will be happy to asst you.
Oct 25, 2020
I would have rated it higher except..Internet sucks, restrooms still look like they did in 2005, some improvement but not much, and cable TV is marginal. Location is great, beautiful with the pines and near town...love it!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. We are in the process of upgrading the internet. It does take time. Please come enjoy our campgrounds again.
Oct 24, 2020
Stay was great! Place was great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy to know your stay was good. Please come stay with us again soon.
Oct 23, 2020
Very clean restroom.
Oct 22, 2020
We were in #9. In #8, there was a resident who has ugly tarping around their eating space, and junk everywhere. An old camper on jacks in their space collapsed as we set up. In #10, there was an old motorhome that was actively leaking out its sewer hose onto the ground. It was evident that this had been going on for some time as there were stains all over the site under the motorhome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We saw the camper collapse as he was backing up to reset it back on their truck, accidents do happen. A repair guy is schedule to come out to fix it. Guest are allow to put up canopy over their picnic area if they would like, sorry you was upset by this. We walked around & never found this.
Oct 21, 2020
No lights. Poorly lit

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

yes some area are darker then others. We will look into this...
Oct 21, 2020
RV Park is in a heavily forested area, lot of pine trees and lots of pine needles. We understand pine needles are a fact of life, but our assigned lot had not been cleaned of needles for a very, very long time. All the patio chairs, tables, and concrete was buried under needles. Plus there was trash from a previous visitor.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I spoke with you when you came into the office, as well as with the maintenance person. I did apologize for this. Please come back and see us again.
Oct 20, 2020
Oct 20, 2020
Needs upgrade Nice people Nice park
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Great family stay, loved being in the mountains. Easy drive to Redding.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. Glad you had a good time. Come see us again.
Oct 19, 2020
Our stay was wonderful as always.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are pleased to know you have visited us several time and you enjoy our facilities. We are here for your visit anytime.
Oct 19, 2020
Very nice campground. Staff are friendly and professional. Close to Shasta city (nice place), and great views of Mount Shasta within a few steps. Good for pets and kids too. Love the sounds of the trains passing not far away. All good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are pleased to know you had a good stay and you enjoyed our camp ground. Come visit us again soon.
Oct 19, 2020
Campground needs to be cleaned a bit. Not as clean as it was a few years ago.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Fall is here, and leaves as well as pine needles are falling. We try to stay on top of these. We will work harder.
Oct 18, 2020
Oct 18, 2020
My stay was not positive. I arrived after hours (8pm), there was no message for me on the white board. No maps, nothing (I later found out my site was #2). Instead I found a vacant site that apparently belonged to someone else which caused middle of the night issues and early morning issues. It seemed that Shasta KOA lost my pre-paid reservation and I had to prove I wasn't an errant freeloader :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear this, But if you did read the white board there is a phone number to call as well as available sites. The person on the other end would of taken care of this right at that moment. As they did when the other person called, she moved them into another site for the night.
Oct 18, 2020
During these pandemic times. Mount Shasta KOA . Gets an A+ everything was great

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you
Oct 18, 2020
The gentlemen that checked me on Friday Oct 16 did an outstanding job! Then I needed propane and what a professional... The sites were nice and clean and it was easy to get and out... Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the lovely comment... I let the gentleman know and he lite up with joy....
Oct 17, 2020
We have stayed here before on our way to Oregon and Washington. Nice place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you
Oct 16, 2020
Very friendly staff, beautiful grounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you
Oct 16, 2020
Campground has tremendous potential with its location and offered facilities, but the park needs a lot of TLC and clean up, e.g. grade driveways and camping spots, gravel and eliminate extreme dusty areas, and due routine clean-up, eg. leaf cleaning, painting tables, and upgrading abandoned campsites, etc.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you....We are working on upgrading things this winter....Come back and see us...
Oct 15, 2020
Oct 14, 2020
We were a large rig, placed in a small end spot, though we liked the end, we kind of hung out, but we did make arrangements on the fly. Park was in a nice town, Mount Shasta was beautiful. Dog park needs some help, but otherwise, was a nice park.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit. We are working on improvements. They do take time. Come stay with us agian.
Oct 14, 2020
My stay at this camp was relaxing and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I’ll stay again and I highly recommend this KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy to know you had a good stay. Come see us again soon.
Oct 14, 2020
We enjoyed our stay. We were particularly happy about the recommendation on your website for the McCloud River Falls hike--very beautiful and worthwhile. The bathrooms were good and very clean. The only complaint is shower curtain needs a weight--it kept moving & sticking to the person showering (reason for 4 stars)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit. We will look into that for your future stay. Come stay with us soon.
Oct 13, 2020
We had a great time! Beautiful scenery, cute and clean cabin and nice staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

thank you for your visit. Glad you had a wonderful time. Come visit us again.
Oct 12, 2020
Oct 12, 2020
Excellent! Very pleased with our stay. Very clean. Easy check in instructions.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. We are happy to know you had a good time. Please come visit us again.
Oct 11, 2020
Oct 11, 2020
Love this campground! Such a beautiful location and the sites are well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad we where here for you . Glad you loved our camp grounds. Please come visit us again.
Oct 11, 2020
Thank you for everything it was very easy and all of our needs were met.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Happy to know all of your needs where meet. Come back to see us again.
Oct 10, 2020
Typical Koa, same as the rest. Good place to stay. Lady in the front office who lives on site in space 8 is extremely grumpy. Needs classes on friendly customer service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you felt this way, will have a talk with her about her grumpiness...
Oct 09, 2020
We had a great spot under the trees. It was a very pleasant and relaxing three day stay. Would definitely stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Happy to know your stay was good. Come stay with us again.
Oct 08, 2020
It was short and sweet. Clean facilities and quiet. Very helpful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Happy we where here for you. Come visit us again for a longer stay.
Oct 08, 2020
This was a perfect overnight stop on the way home. The hosts were super nice and allowed us to change our spot to a shady one with hookups that met our needs. It was an easy walk into town to a little grocery store that had everything. Great place. We will return!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was a pleasure having you and looking forward to your next trip. Stay Safe...
Oct 07, 2020
Oct 07, 2020
Stay there two different times the past week. The first night no one told us about the cable for tv not working. The second night I was expecting not to watch tv, however I was surrounded by long time resident, I would rather have been place in the short time stay.
Oct 07, 2020
We had a great stay and would stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit. Happy to know you had a good time. We would be glad for you to visit us again.
Oct 07, 2020
The store and its staff is beautiful and friendly, but the shower stalls could use some upgrading (they are stained and dingy). Please have more accessible garbage cans.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the lovely comment... we will look into this matter..
Oct 06, 2020
Mt Shasta KAO is clean and tidy like all of the KAO’s we have stayed at. RV services and tent camping are all organized and neat. My only issue was dusty silt everywhere, so our dogs got pretty dirty quick, at least it was dry and didn’t get muddy. Certainly not a deal breaker, but more grass and gravel to reduce the dust (hard to grow maybe in that area). Close to town if you wanted to wa

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. We are happy to know your stay was good. Come see us again.
Oct 06, 2020
Nice place. Clean restrooms. Friendly staff. A little more dusty than we like. Air was smoky from CA wildfires, but that wasn't KOA's fault.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Happy we where here for you. Come visit us again.
Oct 06, 2020
The folks in the office were extremely nice and helpful. Facility was clean and had a great fenced dog area too! We walked to town for dinner and were pleased that they allowed our two dogs to dine with us on the patio. This was a last minute change from Redding and I’m so glad we did

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit, Happy to know you had a good time. Come visit us again.
Oct 05, 2020
Nice grounds, decent but older facilities, WiFi didn't work at campsite, train noise was terrible all night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are in the process of updating the Wi-Fi its a process. Come see us again.
Oct 05, 2020
Only real issue is the noise from trains.
Oct 05, 2020
The people were great. This is in the woods if you like that. I did. It is just up the road from Mt. Shasta town - great town. I had a little trouble navigating through it back to the tent site. It was difficult to tell the road from not the road. But once to my site I was pleased - in the big trees with privacy. It felt like real camping.Small thing - I would work on better road signs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit. Happy to know that you had a wonderful time. See you on your next stay.
Oct 04, 2020
Other than the shooting next to us, it was a nice campground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Something we have no control over and are sorry for this. This is not something we have here. Hope your next stay will be better with no issues.
Oct 03, 2020
The gravel parking areas was very dusty, but the main complaint was the loud train that went through MANY times during the night. If you're not a heavy sleeper, avoid this KOA. Also, had a two night reservation and when we returned late the second night, someone had taken our reserved spot. We had paid extra to pick our spot; management nicely reimbursed that, but it was still very annoying.
Oct 03, 2020
Oct 03, 2020
Poor Wi-Fi reception. Hand out map was wrong. Recycling unacceptable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are in the process of updating the Wi-Fi it is a process that takes a little to do. Come see us again.
Oct 18, 2020
Great location needs some updates but they are working on it nice people
- Jeff Eisenbrei on Google
Oct 07, 2020
Nice location. Just stayed overnight driving thru. Looked close to things in town. Will go back and stay longer.
- Rick Zinn on Google
Sep 26, 2020
Campsites might be a little closer to each other and there is this railroad which is right behind the site, and so it gets noisy at night.. the trains aren't that frequent anyways.. otherwise, one of the best spots.. has shower, clean toilets and a play area..
- Joe Winifred Poobalarayen on Google