Mitchell KOA

Open May 1 - November 4

Reserve: 800-562-1236

Info: 605-996-1131

Email

41255 South Dakota Highway 38

Mitchell, SD 57301

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Not crowded. Relaxed.
Sep 02, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
It would nice to have an area, either outside or inside, to sit at a table and either visit or use my computer. I used the tables in the laundry room.
Aug 23, 2017
Campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. My only issues are, for the most part, out of the control of the host/owners. First, it was a tad noisy for a tent - too close to the main access road and Interstate. Second, some irresponsible pet parents did not clean up after their pet and made the camp pad stinky - again, not completely within control of the hosts/owners.
Aug 20, 2017
I was kept up all night from a family with 4 children. The kids did not go to bed until midnight and then got up super early. I listened to the parents yell at their kids the entire time.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Pleasant site. Not as well maintained as the sites nearer to national parks.
Aug 05, 2017
Easy to find. Non electric tent site was nice, would have loved access to electric. Nice pool and free mini golf. clean bathrooms and laundry. My girls and I felt safe staying there alone.
Aug 04, 2017
Pool was cooling on a hot day, restroom was quaint with unique sink bowls, and the mini golf was fun.
Aug 04, 2017
Totally impressed with the KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful, it is clean. The showers had hot water. I enjoyed it and I liked South Dakota!!!!!
Aug 04, 2017
Very quit, very clean. Friendly staff best koa this year!
Aug 01, 2017
Great, Thanks!
Aug 01, 2017
It was late when we arrived and didn't know where to go but soon enough someone was there to help us out!! Super nice and welcoming. The bathroom was nice and clean, always a plus. We would stay again if needed.
Aug 01, 2017
stay was great
Jul 30, 2017
It was a quick in and out but the attendant made us feel welcome and answer our needs.
Jul 27, 2017
We were greeted by the manager and owner and made to feel welcome upon our arrival. Everything was clean and we felt safe. We would absolutely stay there again! The price was also reasonable.
Jul 26, 2017
Great tent sites with plenty of shade. Fresh coffee in the morning was greatly appreciated!
Jul 25, 2017
The staff at this KOA is great and the campsites are nice but the location of the campground is EXTREMELY noisy so if you are tenting I would definitely recommend finding somewhere else to stay.
Jul 20, 2017
jim and Jerry always great hosts. Campground always well kept. Loaned me their truck to get to a motel when I was overcome by the heat. Awesome guys will always go back to Mitchell koa.
Jul 20, 2017
It was clean and organized. They have a pool and fenced dog section. It can be quite loud with cars but they can't change that.
Jul 17, 2017
Extremely helpful and polite, even though we arrived late.
Jul 14, 2017
Jim and Jerry were very welcoming and Pete really had a handle on things. The grounds were clean and the overall environment was relaxed and comfortable.
Jul 12, 2017
This KOA had everything I expected and wanted. Availability for tent camping, clean laundry facilities, a nice pool, and quiet atmosphere conducive to rest at the end of a long day driving: Thanks!
Jul 04, 2017
Stayed in several KOAs on our trip and this was easily one of our favorites. We loved the quiet and cozy campground. Very clean and great staff!
Jul 04, 2017
My only complaint is the traffic noise. You can hear cars on I90 all night. Everything else was good.
Jul 03, 2017
Other than a little road noise, everything was great! Very level sites.
Jul 01, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
very nice site only had two faults with it, the men's bathroom door did not close properly all night long the door slamming plus the male showers needed to have shower heads fixed over all great and clean place
Jun 24, 2017
Jun 24, 2017
Nice enough place, but it's right on the road
Jun 23, 2017
We were tent camping and arrived late and left early. Clean showers and restrooms and nice spot.
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 18, 2017
Nice KOA. Very helpful staff. Had a problem with our reservation, but they helped us. Had a beautiful stay.
Jun 18, 2017
Jim is great host perfect camp great service. Will stay again if in the area.
Jun 10, 2017
Campground was well-organized and facilities were clean. Tent area was pretty small and out in the open. We bought firewood and the employees took over an hour to deliver it, despite the wood area being only a few hundred yards from our campsite.
Jun 06, 2017
Manager was helpful and friendly. The place was clean. The pool and putt-putt were a good distraction for my young kids.
May 30, 2017
Good place to stop on route to your destination
Sep 18, 2016
We were able to pick where we wanted to put our tent which was a big area to pick from. It is very windy but they do let you know that it is beforehand. Tents are definitely hard to put up here with the wind.
Sep 05, 2016
Convenient and clean
Aug 17, 2016
The pig farm next door reeks. The reactionary and sexist signs in the bathrooms, men's and "ladies," were really unwelcoming. While as an owner you're entitled to your opinion, you might want to remember that it's a place of business, and that everyone's money is green. I won't be spending more of mine there. And I've already posted photos to warn off all my friends on Facebook. Never again.
Aug 14, 2016
Other than a storm it was a very enjoyable stay.
Aug 07, 2016
thanks
Aug 04, 2016
Great staff!!' Jim was very helpful and active throughout kampground. Very clean and felt very safe.
Aug 02, 2016
Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty of stuff for the kids to do.
Jul 31, 2016
Nice campground, and nice pool, but the water was chilly!
Jul 30, 2016
we stayed here 2 times, the first in a tent site on the way to Black Hills, then on our way back, with a wet muddy tent, we stayed in a Kabin. WONDERFUL! I cannot say enough positive things about this place, clean, friendly and accommodating, THANK YOU!
Jul 26, 2016
Showers are wonderful, staff is friendly.
Jul 24, 2016
Nice location, campground had good facilities including best of all a dishwashing sink easily found by anyone visiting restrooms/showers.
Jul 18, 2016
Great campground. Very nice and good place to spend the night.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award